BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


3021 Tripod Legs


Bogen

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Accessories : Camera Tripods

The 3021 Tripod Legs

From the manufacturer:
A very versatile tripod for indoors or out. This tripod features flip-lock levers for precise height adjustment as well as 3 different click-stopped leg spread angles so levelling is easy no matter how rough the terrain. These features are also ideal in confined areas.
The 3021 has a high maximum shooting height of over 70 inches and the adjustable leg spread and telescoping reversable center post combine to allow you to get as low as 10 1/2 inches.


10 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Greg G. Gilbertson

member since: 3/5/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I purchased my Bogen 3021 around 1985. All of the parts of the tripod can be removed with the built-in tool that also acts as a lever to unlock the elevator brake. The legs have 3 positions that change the angle of each leg independently. I added the 3265 ball head, replacing a fluid head that was more suited for movie or video. With the ball head, you donít need to level the legs on uneven ground, just adjust the ball head and you are level. The elevator and head can be removed from the top and put in from the bottom for table top micro photography. I have used the tripod to hold a satellite dish using a custom built mount that replaced the elevator. Zip on covers were added to the legs to give a softer feel on the shoulder when taking it out for a walk. I donít use gloves during winter photography, making the leg covers a nice insulator from the cold metal legs.
3/5/2008 5:40:49 PM
 
Carlton Ward
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Carlton
Carlton's Gallery
carltonwardphoto.com

member since: 12/13/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have been using this tripod for 2 years now with no problems. I like the ability to release the legs to swing out for uneven terrain and the quickness of getting it set up easily. I haul this tripod everywhere and even on those long uphill hikes, I am so glad I carried it as it gives me great options for shooting. I stand it in the mud, in streams and everywhere I go. It cleans up easily and keeps on truckin.
11/2/2007 1:42:52 PM
 
Bunny Snow
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Bunny
Bunny's Gallery

member since: 11/16/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this tripod and use it regularly as long as there is a car nearby for my medium and SLR format cameras.

However, for me, it's just too heavy to for traveling when one is walking a longer distance.

11/19/2006 12:48:32 PM
 
Bob Fowler

member since: 4/24/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Nice set of sticks. I have a 3047 head on mine. I only use it for 35mm and 6X6 (Mamiya TLR). When shooting 4X5 or larger, or if I need some serious height, I pull out the Bogen 3036.

On the negative side - the leg locks (especially the older 90 deg. style) can tend to loosen. I keep an appropriate size nutdriver in my bag for just such an emergency.

4/7/2004 9:19:17 PM
 
RG Rottschalk
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/27/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I'm another who only recently bought the Bogen Manfrotto 3021BPRO (black) By the way, the curent pics on this page are not the Bogen 3021. Go to the Bogen website at http://www.bogenimaging.us/ to get the real scoop on this and their other equipment.
The 3021 tripod is a well thought out, solid tool and is sure to be reliable for almost any application. I added the new 322RC2 Ball head (check that out on their website also) which has a squeeze grip release and locks down immediately and amazingly solid when released. I it has a full 180 degree half globe range and the mounting plate can be set for either right or left hand use or with the camera mounted on top of the handle. This head isn't cheap but like the rest of Bogen products, promises a lot of good service. I find this head to be much more compact and easier to operate than many of the 3-way, more traditional heads. Plus, the 322RC2 is light enough to cosider using on a Bogen momopod as well.

Bogen wants quite a good buck for their cases and straps so I bought a nicely padded luggage strap with metal hooks on both ends. One clip goes to the built in ring near the head of the tripod and the other to a D-ring I added to a substantial velcro strap which secures the legs together. I roll the whole assembly up in a fleece blanket to protect it in transport and doesn't look like anything to a passerby if you leave it visible in your car.
I don't think anyone would be displeased with this or almost any Bogen tripod.

1/28/2004 8:33:47 PM
 
Maynard  McKillen

member since: 3/5/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The 3021 legs have proven durable and flexible, valuable assets for the variety of circumstances where I use them. With a 3265 (pistol grip) or 3047 head, the tripod has served well for close-up work, on location assignments, weddings, and as a surrogate copy stand.
In a pinch, it held a 4x5 studio camera securely enough for sharp still life chromes.
I found one fault with the 3021 legs. The leg lock levers were cast aluminum when I purchased mine, and one broke, without appearing to have been abused. The replacement leg lock lever is plastic. The jury is out on how durable this new lever will prove to be...
6/15/2003 9:02:30 PM
 
doug Nelson
DougNelsonPhoto.com

member since: 6/14/2001
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The 3021 in black was chosen after a lot of searching. First of all, it is reasonably priced. Secondly, it offers a decent working height WITHOUT the extender post. If you're SURE you won't need the post, you can substitute the post end, saving weight.
I added the 3437 head, with adjustment knobs, instead of a protuding stick pan control to catch on clothing or branches. This head has a built-in level, which Bogen doesn't make clear in its catalogue.
1/10/2003 11:00:07 AM
 
Laljit S. Sidhu
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/13/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
An excellent professional quality tripod that is stable, solid, and durable. Importantly, it is quick and easy to use even on the most uneven surfaces.

The only real weakness is the weight. If you purchase one of these, make sure to get a carrying strap or bag. I carry it in my hands, and even on short treks, it can be burdensome.

9/7/2002 11:06:08 PM
 
Johnathan R. Peal

member since: 3/11/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I bought the Bogen 3021PRO just recently and I really like this tripod. It's very sturdy like a pro tripod should be. It's easy to transport, I have the bogen nylon bag to carry it in and the bag is big enough to leave the 3030 head on. It doesn't weigh a lot either. I love the leveling capabilities of the tripod and is very easy to use. The center post comes out so that you can mount it horizontally and do overhead shots. Or you can do ground level shots also by mounting the center post upside down. The legs have a snap clip for the adjustment but be careful and expect to get pinched once in awhile by them. The clamp of the snap clip can be adjusted. It also goes from a fairly short tripod to a very tall tripod in seconds. You can also buy optional feet for mud or wheel's for rolling around the studio. I would highly recommend this tripod to anyone.
 
Rob Talley

member since: 5/19/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great tripod for outdoor work but with some setbacks. First, be very careful with the snap down locks on the legs. I've been pinched more than I care to think about, often when I was in a hurry. Go slow and watch those fingers!! Second item to watch are the feet. I've already lost one and must purchase a set of three. They are not sold individually. Prices start around $20 for the set. Other than what I've noted above, it remains a great tripod for entry level work.
 

10 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright © 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc.ģ All Rights Reserved.