N90/N90s (F90X) SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Oldest Windmill, ...
View photos created with this camera

The N90/N90s (F90X) SLR Camera

  • Autofocus and manual focus modes
  • Wide and Spot selectable autofocus Area
  • Single & Continuous Servo autofocus Modes
  • Focus Tracking - automatically activated when subject moves
  • EV -1 to EV 19 autofocus Detection Range (at ISO 100)
  • Autofocus Lock
  • Shutter-Priority Auto Exposure Control
  • Aperture-Priority Auto Exposure Control
  • Manual Exposure Control
  • Exposure Compensation
  • Auto Exposure Lock
  • Fixed eyelevel penta-prism viewfinder with 92% frame coverage
  • Depth-of-Field Preview Button
  • Flash Recommended/Ready Light
  • Includes Nikon 1 year USA warranty

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


138 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Juju Lutti 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2007 10:24:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2007 10:24:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2007 10:24:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2007 10:24:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2007 10:24:35 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Since I was 13 has been my eye, "she " is my favourite!
12/27/2007 10:24:35 AM
 
Andrew  Livelsberger
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/7/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 5:08:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 5:08:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 5:08:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 5:08:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 5:08:06 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera. Picked one up used winter of 2005 for $150(body, 35-70mm Nikkor lens and SB-22 speedlight). Used it for various applications before getting the D50 body.

It yhas worked great with my Tamron 28-200mm lens. I used it for shooting a wedding and some landscape an still life stuff. It has done an excellent job, no complaints.
Well, the only complaint is that it's not digital! I like verifying the fact that I got the shot and not having to wait for developing.

Other than that a solid performer that can now be found inexpensively. I have not found the need for a back or other frills, so most people wanting to step into the SLR relm will find this camera very capable. Also, the lenses for this camera work on my D50, so that is a bonus as well.

7/7/2006 5:08:06 AM
 
David A. Mock 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 2:43:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 2:43:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 2:43:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 2:43:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 2:43:55 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great all around Camera. Tough as nails and has never let me down.
6/18/2006 2:43:55 PM
 
Donald R. Curry
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/2/2006
wildlifetrailphotography.com
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 4:33:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 4:33:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 4:33:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 4:33:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 4:33:33 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a great camera. It is a work horse. I did a lot of research before I bought this camera and it has lived up to it's reputation. If I ever go digital this camera will be my backup because I know it will do the job.
5/22/2006 4:33:33 PM
 
Surajeet Ray 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 5:28:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 5:28:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 5:28:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 5:28:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 5:28:34 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very hardy & professional body.
5/13/2006 5:28:34 AM
 
Roger Cadillo 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 5:30:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 5:30:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 5:30:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 5:30:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 5:30:33 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my first fully automatic SLR automatic camera and Its a very reliable camera. Its Durable and Takes great photos .The only think that could not like about it is the loud shutter.
5/10/2006 5:30:33 PM
 
Thomas R. Wilson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/5/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 7:44:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 7:44:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 7:44:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 7:44:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 7:44:11 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Another Nikon Winner
5/5/2006 7:44:11 PM
 
David Miranda
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/1/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 11:27:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 11:27:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 11:27:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 11:27:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 11:27:05 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This N90s has been a workhorse.
5/1/2006 11:27:05 AM
 
Ron  J. Bukta 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 12:02:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 12:02:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 12:02:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 12:02:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 12:02:25 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
As for my equipment it servres all my needs and I never worry about getting my image.
4/10/2006 12:02:25 AM
 
lakshmikanth sarede
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/2/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2006 8:47:36 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2006 8:47:36 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2006 8:47:36 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2006 8:47:36 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2006 8:47:36 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
nikon f90x is fine camera in its class.
4/7/2006 8:47:36 AM
 
lakshmikanth sarede
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/2/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 8:02:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 8:02:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 8:02:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 8:02:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 8:02:21 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Nikon f90x is a fine camera.I have been using it for years it is very reliable.
4/4/2006 8:02:21 AM
 
lakshmikanth sarede
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/2/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 7:28:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 7:28:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 7:28:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 7:28:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 7:28:16 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
nikon f90x has served me well over the years ,it is a fine camera.
4/4/2006 7:28:16 AM
 
Scott Boling 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 6:43:47 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 6:43:47 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 6:43:47 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 6:43:47 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 6:43:47 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I bought this Nikon N90s after using a freinds for a little while. i think that the N90s is a great camera one of the best that nikon has made. The only thing that I do not like about the camera is the weight when I have the vertical grip and my 300mm lens on it.
4/2/2006 6:43:47 AM
 
DAYANANDA NARASIMHAIAH 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 7:58:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 7:58:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 7:58:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 7:58:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 7:58:05 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
VERY GOOD & TOUGH CAMERA. BUT AUTO FOCUS SYSTEM IS SLOW
3/22/2006 7:58:05 AM
 
Stephanie Allison 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 5:04:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 5:04:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 5:04:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 5:04:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 5:04:00 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Another gift from my husband (he's so cool!) and I thought this was a fantastic camera (still do)--but for now the Nikon D70s is my camera of choice.
3/16/2006 5:04:00 PM
 
DAYANANDA NARASIMHAIAH 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2006 9:46:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2006 9:46:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2006 9:46:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2006 9:46:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2006 9:46:15 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Fantastic to handle
3/10/2006 9:46:15 PM
 
Tom Campbell 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2006 7:25:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2006 7:25:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2006 7:25:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2006 7:25:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2006 7:25:06 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Tough as nails, easy to use, and best of all it takes amazing shots!
3/6/2006 7:25:06 PM
 
Andrew  Livelsberger
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/7/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 6:12:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 6:12:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 6:12:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 6:12:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 6:12:18 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Got this used from a master portrait photographer who has complettely switched to digital. This is my first SLR and all I can say is that you really have only been takign snapshots with anything other than an SLR. This camera makes me want a DSLR even more!!
2/27/2006 6:12:18 AM
 
Bill Brown
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/10/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 3:14:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 3:14:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 3:14:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 3:14:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 3:14:49 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very well-rounded, well-equipped camera. Auto-focus is very quick and accurate, controls are easy to use. Heavy, but sturdy.
2/24/2006 3:14:49 PM
 
Jimmy Bhogal
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/21/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2006 1:13:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2006 1:13:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2006 1:13:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2006 1:13:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2006 1:13:20 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The War Horse for creating just any type of work in the field of 35mm Format.
2/23/2006 1:13:20 AM
 
Jimmy Bhogal
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/21/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 3:22:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 3:22:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 3:22:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 3:22:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 3:22:03 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My War Horse for 35mm Format. It has all of the stuff that I need to create any type of work in 35mm format.
2/22/2006 3:22:03 AM
 
Henk Meeter 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 10:33:35 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 10:33:35 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 10:33:35 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 10:33:35 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 10:33:35 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
nice camera
2/12/2006 10:33:35 AM
 
Brad Ulrich 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 1:38:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 1:38:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 1:38:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 1:38:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 1:38:15 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Perfect Film Camera to cover action sports...or anything in gereral with a lower price tag than other Nikon models.
2/11/2006 1:38:15 AM
 
Ellen C. Smith 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 7:55:20 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 7:55:20 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 7:55:20 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 7:55:20 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 7:55:20 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
It is an easy to use camera!
1/31/2006 7:55:20 AM
 
Ronni W 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2006 9:47:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2006 9:47:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2006 9:47:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2006 9:47:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2006 9:47:22 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Its good camera, fast AF , vaue money
1/25/2006 9:47:22 PM
 
Jonathan D. Painter 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2006 9:15:38 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2006 9:15:38 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2006 9:15:38 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2006 9:15:38 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2006 9:15:38 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I absolutely love my camera with the exception that it has trouble focusing in dim light, even when I have my SB28 on it. This infrared beam doesn't seem to help.
1/22/2006 9:15:38 PM
 
susan bobrow 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2006 6:50:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2006 6:50:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2006 6:50:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2006 6:50:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2006 6:50:28 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Love this camera, but am now concentrating on learning digital.
1/17/2006 6:50:28 PM
 
Mario Beaulieu
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/3/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 12:03:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 12:03:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 12:03:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 12:03:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 12:03:47 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
One of the best prosumer level 35mm camera on the market at the time. Take high quality negative that can be easily scan and process through Photoshop.
1/3/2006 12:03:47 PM
 
James E. Coleman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/23/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2005 9:35:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2005 9:35:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2005 9:35:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2005 9:35:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2005 9:35:16 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's and older film camera and has all the features that I need. I love it! It is probably considered a semipro model.?
11/25/2005 9:35:16 PM
 
France Freeman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/27/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 7:00:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 7:00:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 7:00:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 7:00:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 7:00:08 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera. Excellent exposures and intuitive handling. Great workhorse. I've used it for weddings, nature shots and even some editorial work. Great film camera.
11/10/2005 7:00:08 PM
 
Carol A. Hoffman 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2005 8:37:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2005 8:37:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2005 8:37:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2005 8:37:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2005 8:37:36 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Very good camera.
10/30/2005 8:37:36 PM
 
Mary Ellen Siegler 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2005 5:27:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2005 5:27:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2005 5:27:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2005 5:27:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2005 5:27:17 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a very smart camera. So far, I've had great results with it.
10/29/2005 5:27:17 PM
 
Peggy J. Maguire
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/23/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2005 6:23:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2005 6:23:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2005 6:23:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2005 6:23:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2005 6:23:00 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
GREAT
10/23/2005 6:23:00 PM
 
Steven M. Gustafson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/5/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 4:26:18 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 4:26:18 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 4:26:18 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 4:26:18 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 4:26:18 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I don't use it because I don't like the functions. I use my 6006 instead. Autofocus response is not good at all
10/6/2005 4:26:18 AM
 
Ben McKinney 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2005 2:22:53 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2005 2:22:53 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2005 2:22:53 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2005 2:22:53 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2005 2:22:53 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Has served me well and I am rough on cameras. I moved down from a 100 to this model when I realized the only difference that would matter to me was price.
9/29/2005 2:22:53 PM
 
Bob Orwig 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2005 8:40:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2005 8:40:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2005 8:40:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2005 8:40:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2005 8:40:07 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I like the ease of use, I usually have it in auto mode, and get incredibly high quality pictures.
9/21/2005 8:40:07 AM
 
Binay Dimri 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 2:17:19 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 2:17:19 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 2:17:19 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 2:17:19 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 2:17:19 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
very sturdy and easy to use and the nikon mount allows me to use older nikon lenses as well.
9/6/2005 2:17:19 AM
 
Vivekananthan.M.R. Vivek 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2005 12:27:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2005 12:27:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2005 12:27:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2005 12:27:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2005 12:27:13 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
i was looking for a medium indian budget camera one of my camera technician sugested this AF camera it is serving me very good iam using every aspect of this . iam very happy & completle satisfied .
8/17/2005 12:27:13 PM
 
Thomas E. Hibdon 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 11:09:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 11:09:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 11:09:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 11:09:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 11:09:41 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really like the various metering choices- matrix. spot, or center weight. Some of the features are a little hard to get used to accessing ie: push mode, while rotating thumb wheel. Also, this camera is GREAT on batteries....one set of 3AA's seems to last foever.
7/22/2005 11:09:41 AM
 
Eric Hill 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2005 10:17:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2005 10:17:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2005 10:17:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2005 10:17:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2005 10:17:38 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
True work horse. I never travel without it.
7/9/2005 10:17:38 PM
 
Rebecca A. Steed
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/6/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 1:08:06 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 1:08:06 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 1:08:06 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 1:08:06 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 1:08:06 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
it's ancient and color tends to be muted, but the focus is great and it can take crisp shots.
7/6/2005 1:08:06 PM
 
Lucia De Giovanni 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 7:16:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 7:16:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 7:16:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 7:16:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 7:16:25 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent camera - I use it for all my B&W work and after all these years and many travels all over the world, it is still in perfect order - it even took a dive into 2' of snow and it never missed a beat - usual maintenance through the years, nothing major - just excellent!
7/5/2005 7:16:25 PM
 
Billy  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2005 11:03:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2005 11:03:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2005 11:03:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2005 11:03:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2005 11:03:03 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
one of the best slr for the price
7/4/2005 11:03:03 AM
 
Robert B. Richards 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2005 11:47:35 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2005 11:47:35 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2005 11:47:35 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2005 11:47:35 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2005 11:47:35 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have had this 35mm SLR Nikon N90S for over 5 years now and find it a teriffic friend in the field. I shoot normaly with a 70- 300mm Nikkor lens. Nature photography is my specialty and this camera does the job for me.
7/2/2005 11:47:35 AM
 
David M. Milstien
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/13/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 8:57:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 8:57:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 8:57:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 8:57:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 8:57:59 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my Nikon n90s. I can do all things with it. Different lenses, filters, and films (even infared). I'm looking at the Nikon F100 for the focusing speed. But other than that the n90s rocks. It's a work-horse.
6/13/2005 8:57:59 PM
 
Lisa M. Rodriguez
lisa-rodriguez-photography.com
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2005 7:56:14 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2005 7:56:14 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2005 7:56:14 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2005 7:56:14 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2005 7:56:14 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I loved this camera!
6/2/2005 7:56:14 PM
 
Bill Russo 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 9:01:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 9:01:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 9:01:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 9:01:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 9:01:15 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I purchase this camera to replace my Minolta SRT-101 when I decided to get serious about photography and build a system. This was a great camera that offered me a vehicle to learn photography using both manual and auto modes, with most of the latest lenses at the time. Its metering was extremely accurate and fast, at least for my shooting. Its limitations were in the relegation of features that had to be programmed and its lack of full screen. Limitations in image quality can be blamed on the photographer.
5/30/2005 9:01:15 AM
 
Anastasia A. Palella 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 8:27:45 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 8:27:45 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 8:27:45 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 8:27:45 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 8:27:45 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera i ahve a few lenses teh only problem i had was with the light meter adn i got that repaired but other wise i have had good luck with this camera and use it for everything.
5/16/2005 8:27:45 AM
 
Michael A. Moore 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2005 12:31:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2005 12:31:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2005 12:31:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2005 12:31:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2005 12:31:25 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The camera works flawlessly, is customizable and the meter is dead on accurate.
4/22/2005 12:31:25 PM
 
Melissa DeMotte 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 7:51:40 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 7:51:40 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 7:51:40 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 7:51:40 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 7:51:40 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Overall, it has been a great first SLR for me. I wish it hadn't gone out of their line so quickly after I purchased it. I wanted more accessories.
4/17/2005 7:51:40 PM
 
Meline Pickus 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 11:20:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 11:20:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 11:20:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 11:20:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 11:20:51 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very good film camera. I am hardly ever using film anymore and have converted almost entirely to digital.
4/11/2005 11:20:51 AM
 
Karen Slagle
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/1/2005
Contact Karen
Karen's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2005 1:23:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2005 1:23:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2005 1:23:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2005 1:23:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2005 1:23:34 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very nice camera.
4/10/2005 1:23:34 PM
 
Karen Slagle
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/1/2005
Contact Karen
Karen's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2005 1:22:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2005 1:22:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2005 1:22:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2005 1:22:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2005 1:22:46 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very nice camera.
4/10/2005 1:22:46 PM
 
Ken W. McChesney 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2005 11:28:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2005 11:28:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2005 11:28:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2005 11:28:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2005 11:28:10 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Has been a work horse
4/10/2005 11:28:10 AM
 
Carol J. Watkins
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/21/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 11:23:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 11:23:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 11:23:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 11:23:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 11:23:57 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera.
3/23/2005 11:23:57 AM
 
Glenn M. Losack 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2005 7:40:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2005 7:40:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2005 7:40:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2005 7:40:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2005 7:40:08 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
greatest camera for film
3/15/2005 7:40:08 AM
 
Alan J. Micklin 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 10:15:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 10:15:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 10:15:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 10:15:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 10:15:59 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Camera very versital. It not only accepts all nikon lenses even older ones, it allows me to utilize Tameron lenses which are very acceptable and function well.
3/5/2005 10:15:59 AM
 
Tina D. McPeek 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 8:23:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 8:23:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 8:23:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 8:23:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 8:23:13 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The only thing I really don't like about this camera is that it is so heavy and doesn't have a pop up flash.
3/2/2005 8:23:13 PM
 
Kenny  Allyn 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2005 3:59:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2005 3:59:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2005 3:59:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2005 3:59:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2005 3:59:06 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A really nice auto focus camera ... even by todays standards ...
2/28/2005 3:59:06 PM
 
claire kipnis
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/10/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2005 6:35:26 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2005 6:35:26 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2005 6:35:26 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2005 6:35:26 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2005 6:35:26 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
great slr
2/14/2005 6:35:26 AM
 
A.T. DIVIAN 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2005 1:09:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2005 1:09:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2005 1:09:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2005 1:09:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2005 1:09:47 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
its a good 35mm camera, that lets u feel like a photographer...u do the work! still, film photography is real photography
1/21/2005 1:09:47 PM
 
Veronica G. Newhoff 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2005 9:48:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2005 9:48:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2005 9:48:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2005 9:48:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2005 9:48:10 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera
1/16/2005 9:48:10 PM
 
Lynn Davie 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2004 10:59:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2004 10:59:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2004 10:59:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2004 10:59:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2004 10:59:30 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Good solid SLR. Rugged, served for many years.
12/31/2004 10:59:30 AM
 
Louis  Breakfield 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2004 5:35:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2004 5:35:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2004 5:35:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2004 5:35:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2004 5:35:08 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent, fast autofocus with the great Nikon lenses. Equally good as a manual focus or exposure. Very good camera. Operates on four AA batteries, just like the "pro" line of Nikons. I'm not so sure this isn't a "pro" Nikon.
12/2/2004 5:35:08 PM
 
Rosemarie  Culver 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 7:13:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 7:13:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 7:13:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 7:13:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 7:13:54 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good Features- Depth of Field Preview, Self-Timer, Manual Controls, Aperture Priority, easy to readsettings in viewfinder. Poor Features - Difficult to find and turn aperture ring
11/23/2004 7:13:54 PM
 
Mel Wilner 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 1:12:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 1:12:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 1:12:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 1:12:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 1:12:32 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
My great film camera before the move to D100 digital
11/23/2004 1:12:32 AM
 
Candy Washburne 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2004 3:53:10 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2004 3:53:10 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2004 3:53:10 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2004 3:53:10 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2004 3:53:10 PM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
I don't like this camera. It's too heavy, and the focus lock gives me fits.
11/22/2004 3:53:10 PM
 
Ron  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2004 11:13:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2004 11:13:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2004 11:13:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2004 11:13:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2004 11:13:54 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Easy to use and lots of functions
10/20/2004 11:13:54 AM
 
Andy Fratterelli 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2004 10:53:21 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2004 10:53:21 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2004 10:53:21 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2004 10:53:21 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2004 10:53:21 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I've shot so many rolls of film through this camera and have never had a problem. A true workhorse. It's done everything I've needed it to do
10/17/2004 10:53:21 AM
 
Lee Norville 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2004 5:33:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2004 5:33:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2004 5:33:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2004 5:33:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2004 5:33:22 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The best 35mm film camera I have ever owned!!!
10/14/2004 5:33:22 PM
 
Bipin P. Mistry 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 4:40:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 4:40:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 4:40:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 4:40:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 4:40:46 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Lots of features with the price I purchased and easy to use, good results, depends how the pictures are taken and what lenses are used, varies with the day, place and time. I am happy with what I have. Based on that I also purchased another Nikon N80 after that say about a year ago which is also equally good.
10/12/2004 4:40:46 AM
 
Paul Batt 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2004 1:37:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2004 1:37:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2004 1:37:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2004 1:37:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2004 1:37:32 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I've had this one for ten years. You could probably use it to pound nails into cork. I've only pounded nails into butter with it before because I don't believe in abusing my gear. This camera is a workhorse.
9/28/2004 1:37:32 AM
 
Vito R. Chimienti 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2004 8:55:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2004 8:55:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2004 8:55:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2004 8:55:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2004 8:55:08 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The N90s is an excellent camera. Its features and build make it suitable for a wide range of users from novice to professional. It is a very forgiving camera and captures exceptional images.
9/17/2004 8:55:08 AM
 
Mike G. Martin 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 2:46:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 2:46:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 2:46:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 2:46:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 2:46:10 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Tremendous SLR for the advanced amateur. Does about all you need, with tremendous reliability. Not as rugged as the F5, but stands tough through day-to-day use.
9/14/2004 2:46:10 PM
 
April L. Brewster
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/2/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2004 4:20:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2004 4:20:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2004 4:20:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2004 4:20:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2004 4:20:17 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I don't have a bad thing to say about my N90S. It's my baby! I like the creative control that I have with an SLR.
8/18/2004 4:20:17 AM
 
David March
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/16/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2004 11:46:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2004 11:46:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2004 11:46:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2004 11:46:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2004 11:46:43 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Before I purchassed the Nikon F90x pro SLR camera, I did my research in all the popular camera magazines. At the time it was one of the top SLR cameras Nikon had to offer. It got a lot of appraisals on picture quality, this and ease of use persuaded me to purchasse this camera. I was not disapointed, it has proved to me time and time again to be all that it was claimed to be! Obviously I will one day go digital but I will always have my Nikon 90x with me as well.
8/17/2004 11:46:43 AM
 
Jesse  5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2004 8:18:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2004 8:18:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2004 8:18:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2004 8:18:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2004 8:18:10 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I LOVE THIS CAMERA! I like the way it handles, I like the weight. I like using it with the MB10 grip. I like the lenses I can use with this camera. What else can I say. I like it!
7/31/2004 8:18:10 PM
 
Michael Howe
mikehowephotography.com
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2004 3:13:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2004 3:13:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2004 3:13:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2004 3:13:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2004 3:13:01 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like the camera very much.... I still need a lot of practice with it!
7/26/2004 3:13:01 PM
 
Daun  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 7:59:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 7:59:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 7:59:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 7:59:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 7:59:10 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
A work horse. I've taken over 60,000 shots with it.
7/17/2004 7:59:10 PM
 
Liz Larrabee 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2004 6:15:51 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2004 6:15:51 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2004 6:15:51 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2004 6:15:51 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2004 6:15:51 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I find the camera too heavy for a weakling.
7/1/2004 6:15:51 AM
 
James M. Daniel 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2004 6:41:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2004 6:41:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2004 6:41:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2004 6:41:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2004 6:41:05 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Do not like it for nature photography...takes to much fumbbling about to get a shot off.
6/28/2004 6:41:05 PM
 
Trina Blanks 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2004 5:40:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2004 5:40:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2004 5:40:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2004 5:40:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2004 5:40:55 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have enjoyed this camera since the day I bought it, just wish it were digital.
6/20/2004 5:40:55 AM
 
Gilbert M. Shannon 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2004 1:37:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2004 1:37:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2004 1:37:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2004 1:37:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2004 1:37:43 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have had this camera for almost 10 years and love it. I love the versitility of film. I have a varity of lense the two I mostly use are my 70-300mm zoom and my Nikor 30-70mm f2.8D I mostly scan my stuff in with a Nikon Coolscan II. This is a timely process but renders very hi-res imiages. I reciently got a Nikon D70 which is very much like my N90 but removes the scanning step.
6/15/2004 1:37:43 PM
 
Pierre-Yves Guyot 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 4:54:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 4:54:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 4:54:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 4:54:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 4:54:56 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Built like a tank, flawless. Great meter.
5/30/2004 4:54:56 PM
 
Diane  Miller 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 9:07:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 9:07:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 9:07:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 9:07:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 9:07:19 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love it! I hesitate to go to digital because I am so atttached to this camera and its features.
5/18/2004 9:07:19 PM
 
Seth  G. Newell 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 9:17:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 9:17:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 9:17:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 9:17:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 9:17:56 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Best camera I've ever owned. It's taken a beating and still looks new. Only thing it needs is a way to take a generic cable release but there are ways around that. It's also a little heavy. Excellent matrix metering. Fast auto focus. High eye point finder. Easy to use.
4/20/2004 9:17:56 PM
 
Marilyn K. Lincecum
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/21/2004
Contact Marilyn
Marilyn's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 1:20:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 1:20:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 1:20:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 1:20:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 1:20:15 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like the camera very much because you can use it all manual, all automatic or any combination of those two.However, I sometimes have problems switching from all manual to all automatic, with forgetting to lock the aperature in at the correct setting or accidentally hitting a button and not being sure of what I did. The thing I don't like about it is: it seems to use up the batteries very quickley and only uses double A batteries. I sometimes feel it is a little sophisticated for my photography abilities.
4/18/2004 1:20:15 AM
 
Nancy C. Inman 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2004 9:25:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2004 9:25:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2004 9:25:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2004 9:25:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2004 9:25:53 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It's a great camera. It is my second Nikon SRL and proves to be everything promised. It knows more then I do.
4/15/2004 9:25:53 PM
 
Nica  Kesby 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2004 12:24:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2004 12:24:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2004 12:24:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2004 12:24:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2004 12:24:20 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It has all the options.I can be lazy and put it onto auto or I can choose to do the work my self. I feel very confident with it. It producers clear sharp photo's every time. I purchased the camera in 1995.
4/10/2004 12:24:20 AM
 
Bob Whorton 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 7:31:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 7:31:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 7:31:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 7:31:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 7:31:02 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I use 4 of these purely for putting in underwater housings. I hate Nikon cameras, so these are just a necessary evil.
3/21/2004 7:31:02 PM
 
Willy Maes
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/30/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2004 2:12:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2004 2:12:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2004 2:12:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2004 2:12:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2004 2:12:21 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
excellent tool, fast and ergonomic
3/5/2004 2:12:21 AM
 
Vicki  Stoltz 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2004 8:05:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2004 8:05:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2004 8:05:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2004 8:05:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2004 8:05:48 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This camera is not my favorite as far as Nikon's go, it has a good metering system and I get good photos. It is a little heavy though, which is a small setback when shooting extensively. Overall it is a good camera, I just haven't developed a good feel for it.
3/4/2004 8:05:48 AM
 
Eric & Sandra Highfield 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2004 9:14:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2004 9:14:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2004 9:14:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2004 9:14:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2004 9:14:44 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
There is nothing that I can think of that I've wanted that this camera has not been able to provide for me.
3/3/2004 9:14:44 AM
 
Szilvia Bognar 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2004 10:37:46 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2004 10:37:46 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2004 10:37:46 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2004 10:37:46 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2004 10:37:46 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like it,because it's fast as i need. It is a strong camera,we survived many phisically things together. I missing the double exposure program,what i had on my Nikon F801's camera.
2/28/2004 10:37:46 AM
 
Teresa Prince 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 7:16:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 7:16:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 7:16:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 7:16:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 7:16:29 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I did not want an entry SLR and could not go top top of the line so it was a good middle ground. I have been really happy with this camera. I will keep it for a long time!
2/17/2004 7:16:29 AM
 
Conrad Olivier 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2004 1:53:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2004 1:53:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2004 1:53:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2004 1:53:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2004 1:53:31 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very fast and accurate camera.
2/1/2004 1:53:31 PM
 
LeRoy C. White, MD 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2004 10:17:39 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2004 10:17:39 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2004 10:17:39 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2004 10:17:39 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2004 10:17:39 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I loved this camera. I wish this were the body that was used to make digital cameras.
1/30/2004 10:17:39 AM
 
Feyzullah -. Yilmaz 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2004 1:29:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2004 1:29:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2004 1:29:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2004 1:29:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2004 1:29:46 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Lesssss price version of F5
1/22/2004 1:29:46 PM
 
Peter R. Edgerly 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2004 6:48:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2004 6:48:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2004 6:48:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2004 6:48:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2004 6:48:34 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Amazing camera
1/21/2004 6:48:34 PM
 
Chelsea E. Morgan 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 8:27:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 8:27:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 8:27:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 8:27:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 8:27:59 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my NIkon N90s. It has a lot of great features. I especially like the metering system, it is quite accurate. Since I often use the camera in an Ikelite underwater housing, I wish the controls were a bit easier to manuever.
1/13/2004 8:27:59 PM
 
Shannon Rokochy 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 9:17:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 9:17:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 9:17:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 9:17:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 9:17:23 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
great camera, it does most of the work for me. Love it!
1/4/2004 9:17:23 PM
 
Siete Meeter
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/1/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 12:42:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 12:42:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 12:42:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 12:42:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 12:42:58 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Gread very fast Camera Perfecft for takeing slides
1/1/2004 12:42:58 PM
 
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 9:27:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 9:27:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 9:27:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 9:27:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 9:27:52 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
My camera is a Nikon N90s I like the Nikon brand and the optics. I find Nikon lenses are sharp and of quality. I am enjoying photography using my Nikon. I purchased this camera 8 months ago and wished that someone would have discussed the comparisons between N90s and the F100. My next camera will be a digital SLR because of the interchageable lenses Nikon offers.
12/29/2003 9:27:52 PM
 
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 9:16:01 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 9:16:01 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 9:16:01 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 9:16:01 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 9:16:01 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
My camera is a Nikon N90s I like the Nikon brand and the optics. I find Nikon lenses are sharp and wonderful. I am enjoying photography using my Nikon. I considered purchasing this camera in the last 8 months and wish that someone could have discussed the comparisons between N90s and the F100 besides the price.
12/29/2003 9:16:01 PM
 
Michael  L. Butkovich 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2003 6:52:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2003 6:52:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2003 6:52:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2003 6:52:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2003 6:52:55 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Nikon N90 has been one of my better purchases in regards to my choices of cameras. In fact, Nikon in general has been a supreme weapon of choice and I've scraped all others for this one brand. I only hold my Nikon FE2 & F3 as anything close to the Nikon N90 for quality and excellence.
12/27/2003 6:52:55 AM
 
Gus P. E. 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 3:31:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 3:31:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 3:31:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 3:31:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 3:31:59 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Awesome,
12/20/2003 3:31:59 PM
 
Phil L. Dotson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2003 6:06:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2003 6:06:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2003 6:06:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2003 6:06:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2003 6:06:22 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Like both my other two nikons, it goes where I go it comes home with me and goes again never a glitch, easy to navigate controls that make sense. the only way it could be better is if it were a F5
11/20/2003 6:06:22 PM
 
Fred Kamphues 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2003 12:20:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2003 12:20:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2003 12:20:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2003 12:20:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2003 12:20:20 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
A realitvely light weigth body with pro quality features. Excellent for a travel phootgrapher. Metering is very good, autofocus is fast (with Nikkor AFS lenses) and accurate. I also like the silhouette program function which allows fast shooting of slihouettes.
10/22/2003 12:20:20 PM
 
Cookie Serletic 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 6:58:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 6:58:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 6:58:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 6:58:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 6:58:16 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
just started using it. more later, so far I like it.
10/21/2003 6:58:16 PM
 
Chris Gimmeson 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2003 3:52:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2003 3:52:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2003 3:52:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2003 3:52:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2003 3:52:24 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I am still trying to get used to the Nikon system after using Canon for a long time. I think the camera is excellent, just need to get a good feel for using it.
10/19/2003 3:52:24 PM
 
Ken Kreeger 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 11:00:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 11:00:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 11:00:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 11:00:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 11:00:35 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
excellent camera
10/16/2003 11:00:35 AM
 
Don Eldridge 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2003 4:39:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2003 4:39:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2003 4:39:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2003 4:39:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2003 4:39:36 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Hello, When I pruchased this camera I had been using a Nikon FE and liked the optics in the Nikkor lenses. So I decided to stay with Nikon and I'm glad I did. I am really impressed with the Nikon N90S. There are so many options and variations to choose from. I haven't had a lot of time to use the camera since I purchased it but am looking forward to learning all that I can from it. I also purchased th SB28 speedlight with it and am very impressed with the capabilities of the combination. It should be alot of fun experimenting with all of the different options. If you are looking for new equipment, i would highly recommend taking the time to take a close look at Nikon. I didn't rate the equipment 10 because of my lack of working knowledge with it. I'll get back to you when I have had more time with it.
10/15/2003 4:39:36 PM
 
Julian J. Zamora 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2003 9:15:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2003 9:15:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2003 9:15:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2003 9:15:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2003 9:15:27 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
gREAT CAMERA
10/15/2003 9:15:27 AM
 
Vicky Vicky Rivero 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2003 6:20:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2003 6:20:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2003 6:20:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2003 6:20:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2003 6:20:04 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Nikon N90s is a perfect camera if your looking for photojournalistic images. First of all his light metering system is great! almost like Olympus OM3. It is lighter than others Nikon cameras and strong at the moment of working on the field (photojournalism)
10/9/2003 6:20:04 AM
 
Arjen Van de Merwe 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2003 2:13:26 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2003 2:13:26 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2003 2:13:26 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2003 2:13:26 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2003 2:13:26 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Reliable, easy to operate, every posibility I could ask for. Takes rechargable batteries 1/250 flash sync
10/3/2003 2:13:26 AM
 
Eric S. Lee 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 6:35:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 6:35:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 6:35:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 6:35:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 6:35:02 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my N90s! Despite the weight (added a MB-10 battery pack/vertical grip), it is great. Super-reliable, and has never let me down once. I am an advanced amature/semi-pro photographer who shoots a great deal of portraits and weddings. This is my work horse. Great flexibility and super fast drive.
9/30/2003 6:35:02 PM
 
Jan K. VanLeer 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 4:05:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 4:05:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 4:05:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 4:05:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 4:05:03 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Enjoy the versatility, love the Nikkor lenses. You can shoot as simply or as intensely as you desire.
9/30/2003 4:05:03 PM
 
JIM STANSBURY 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2003 12:16:23 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2003 12:16:23 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2003 12:16:23 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2003 12:16:23 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2003 12:16:23 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I love it
9/25/2003 12:16:23 PM
 
Walt Paholak 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2003 7:11:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2003 7:11:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2003 7:11:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2003 7:11:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2003 7:11:21 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have two film Nikon;s the 90 and an N70. I absolutely love the Nikon system. It is easy to use and I believe (if you understand and practice all the right stuff, "film, aperture, and shutter speed" the photographic triangle Bryan Peterson teaches in his book) can give a photographer lot's of satisfaction. I even dropped the N70 in a raging river in the Smoky Mountains while shooting their and it stlll takes terrific images. If I upgrade it always will be Nikon.
9/22/2003 7:11:21 PM
 
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2003 4:40:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2003 4:40:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2003 4:40:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2003 4:40:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2003 4:40:49 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It is an excellent camera for all purposes.
9/17/2003 4:40:49 AM
 
David L. Shannon
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/23/2003
Contact David
David's Gallery
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2003 1:49:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2003 1:49:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2003 1:49:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2003 1:49:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2003 1:49:59 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The Nikon N90 is an excellent auto everything TLR film camera with fairly easy to use manual over rides. Comfortable to hold and handle, the auto exposure and auto focus both work quite well and the automatic film advance is fast enough to take nice action sequence shots. Hard to beat the quality of Nikon optics.
8/23/2003 1:49:59 PM
 
Josh Hudson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/26/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2003 5:23:48 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2003 5:23:48 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2003 5:23:48 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2003 5:23:48 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2003 5:23:48 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good starter camera for someone who has moved from amature to semi-pro, but not for the professional photographer due to lack of features.
8/17/2003 5:23:48 AM
 
Stuart  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2003 6:24:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2003 6:24:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2003 6:24:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2003 6:24:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2003 6:24:32 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
One of the better cameras I have ever owned. It is light weight and has all he features one needs except possibly mirror lock-up. The Auto Focusing mode could be faster.
7/31/2003 6:24:32 PM
 
Stuart  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2003 6:23:44 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2003 6:23:44 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2003 6:23:44 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2003 6:23:44 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2003 6:23:44 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
One of the better cameras I have ever owned. It is light weight and has all he features one needs except possibly mirror lock-up. The Auto Focusing mode could be faster.
7/31/2003 6:23:44 PM
 
Marilyn B. Burch 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2003 3:39:36 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2003 3:39:36 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2003 3:39:36 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2003 3:39:36 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2003 3:39:36 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The N90 takes good pictures, but does not have the multiple exposure feature unless the data bank is purchased. I do have the organizer for it which keeps the apature, shutter speed, etc. The camera body will only hold three rolls of 36 exp. film before it has to be downloaded.
7/25/2003 3:39:36 PM
 
Alison V. Pierce 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2003 1:09:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2003 1:09:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2003 1:09:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2003 1:09:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2003 1:09:23 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is the camera that my mentor uses. I think it is too advanced for where I am right now in learning more about photography, but I am really excited to see what I can do with it once I have more experience.
7/20/2003 1:09:23 PM
 
Cynthia Walsh 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2003 6:12:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2003 6:12:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2003 6:12:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2003 6:12:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2003 6:12:44 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I originally purchased this camera because I was working with two different wedding photographers and this is one of the cameras that they used as a second camera for B&W and candids. I enjoy all the features it has, and am still learning...
7/12/2003 6:12:44 PM
 
Milton Durango 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 9:45:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 9:45:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 9:45:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 9:45:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 9:45:22 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
GREAT CAMERA... ITS LIKE HAVING AN AFFORDABLE F5!!!
7/9/2003 9:45:22 PM
 
Kris Keyes 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2003 12:43:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2003 12:43:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2003 12:43:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2003 12:43:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2003 12:43:59 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent.
7/2/2003 12:43:59 AM
 
Shirley D. Cross
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/7/2001
Contact Shirley
Shirley's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 4:27:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 4:27:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 4:27:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 4:27:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 4:27:57 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I've been extremely satisfied with this camera. Of course, when I bought it, I got the special back that has multiple exposure feature and many other great features that add to the usefulness of this camera.
7/1/2003 4:27:57 PM
 
rudy w. cooper
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/15/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 3:43:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 3:43:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 3:43:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 3:43:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 3:43:28 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Wonderful feel to this camera. Very durable. I actually fell into a stream with it going underwater. Let it air dry and it was off and clicking.
7/1/2003 3:43:28 PM
 
Francis Aloise 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 5:57:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 5:57:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 5:57:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 5:57:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 5:57:35 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
IS IT WRONG TO LOVE A MACHINE? FAST, ACCURATE, DURABLE,EASY TO USE, QUICK TO LOAD, GOOD TO THE HAND, LARGE HIGH EYE OPENING, CHANGEABLE BACKS, DEPTH OF FIELD PREVIEW, SYSTEM CAMERA.tHIS CAMERA HAS BEEN WITH ME ON OCEANS, LAKES, JUNGLES AND MOUNTAIN TOPS IN EVERY CORNER OF THE US AND THE CARIBBEAN. I AM PRIMARILY A MARINE PHOTOGRAPHER AND THE N90S HAS BEEN WITH ME FOR MORE THAN 5 YEARS WHILE EXPOSED TO THE HARSH SALT WATER ENVIRONMENT. I TAKE WHAT CARE I CAN TO KEEP FROM HARM BUT THERE ARE MANY TIMES WHEN A SALT WATER SPLASH IS UNAVOIDABLE. IT AS STOOD UP TO THE ELEMENTS FAR BETTR THAN I. iT'S A LITTLE HEAVY, BUT THAT'S OK.
7/1/2003 5:57:35 AM
 
Debbi J. Brucker 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 5:23:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 5:23:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 5:23:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 5:23:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 5:23:51 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
For me this is the perfect camera. It is a shame that they have stopped making it. I own three. The focus could be a bit faster and I wish you could shoot double images with out haveing to use the data back but other than that it is perfect. The matrix metering seldom lets me down and I can now do things almost instantly that would have taken quite awhile to meter before. 2 Thumbs up on this one.
6/18/2003 5:23:51 AM
 
Piper Lehman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/20/2001
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2003 4:43:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2003 4:43:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2003 4:43:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2003 4:43:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2003 4:43:46 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My favorite camera after the D100. Used to think the N90s was heavy until I started using the D100 & vertical grip. Now it feels like a point & shoot in my hands. This camera is so perfect for me, I can work every function by touch alone, so I never have to look up from the viewfinder to find the right button.
6/16/2003 4:43:46 AM
 
Nils  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2002 12:40:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2002 12:40:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2002 12:40:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2002 12:40:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2002 12:40:42 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Overall a good camera. Personally a bit too plasticy (vs FTn, FE, FM2, FE2, F3), with too many bells and whistles. Recently sold mine and acquired a used F3 (w/DE-2) as I didn't use 95% of what was in the N90s and also wanted 100% viewfinder coverage.
9/14/2002 12:40:42 PM
 
alan  5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2002 6:38:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2002 6:38:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2002 6:38:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2002 6:38:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2002 6:38:16 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I feel that Nikon reached a zenith in this camera that for the majority of photographers you just do not need to go beyond. There are bargains on the second hand market allowing you to use the money saved compared with a F100 for instance to purchase enough film to keep the most avid photographer happy for the next couple of years. Combined with the SB28 flash it calculates accurate exposures for complicated scenes that make me feel dizzy just thinking about. For me at least it will be the last silver halide based 35mm camera that I will want or need prior to digital making film based photography a minority interest (like vinyl records and the CD) over the next decade, something
9/9/2002 6:38:16 AM
 
RAJHANS RAUT 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
N90S is a great camera. State of the art metering. Faster & accurate auto-focus.Superb build.This is all time great Nikon.I own F-5 ,F100,F4S& N90S.F-5 has 3D color matrix metering &N90S has 8segment matrix metering ,both are great metering but some situations N90S gives more acceptable results than F-5.In backlit scene if your subject is too small then you need to use compensation or flash.This strategy is same with the F-5.
.N90S is enough rugged for professional punishment or for use any climate.
If you are looking for excellent camera then N90S is the answer.
. I found N90S is most sophisticated performer in F series & N series.
NEGATIVE POINTS-You must own multi control back for full use of this camera.
No VR function compatibility.

 
Gilbert Chatillon 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Nice camera. I've had mine for about 3 years and it has always performed very well.
Obviously Nikon would like all N90s users to upgrade to the F100 wich is possibly 0.01 second faster on the autofocus and has a metering system very much like the N90s. With a price tag up in the sky.
In 2 or 3 years Nikon is gonna introduce the F100x or F200 and is gonna want all F100 users to do the upgrade. Bottom line is professionals used and are still using this camera to capture great shots.
Best buy in the Nikon line.
 

138 Reviews