60mm Micro 2.8-32


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Lenses : Macro Lenses

Friendly Face
View photos created with this camera


4 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Marie Moyers
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/17/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 6:37:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 6:37:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 6:37:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 6:37:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 6:37:12 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I just started using this lense and WOW, it is sharp. I love the short DOF saves me time in PS blurring, and it is nice and fast.
1/30/2006 6:37:12 AM
 
Daniel E. Schwarz Carigiet 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 5:35:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 5:35:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 5:35:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 5:35:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 5:35:16 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a funny lens. Seeing it on someone else's camera, it looks like a plain ol' straightforward standard 50mm or something. Nothing to get excited about. But lock it into your camera and - wow. This is a truly great lens. I purchased it (used) for macro work, and this is where it excels, with long focusing range in the close-up area, so it's smooth to focus manually (as focusing using the AF is too hit or miss in macro work). The surprise for me was that the lens is also perfectly acceptable (even very nice) for portrait-type work. Nice DOF control there too. It is a bit fiddly in the longer renge focus area as that part is compressed to allow more fine control in the macro area, but that's really the only minor problem. Also it isn't an AFS lens (with the high-speed focusing). But who cares as most people I imagine would want to use this lens in manual focus most of the time.

A sweet lens, made sweeter still by the 1.5 factor when using it on the Nikon D100, so it corresponds to a 90mm lens. This is the lens that is on my camera most of the time.

1/24/2005 5:35:16 AM
 
Daniel E. Schwarz Carigiet 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 5:33:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 5:33:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 5:33:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 5:33:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 5:33:56 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a funny lens. Seeing it on someone else's camera, it looks like a plain ol' straightforward standard 50mm or something. Nothing to get excited about. But lock it into your camera and - wow. This is a truly great lens. I purchased it (used) for macro work, and this is where it excels, with long focusing range in the close-up area, so it's smooth to focus manually (as focusing using the AF is too hit or miss in macro work). The surprise for me was that the lens is also perfectly acceptable (even very nice) for portrait-type work. Nice DOF control there too. It is a bit fiddly in the longer renge focus area as that part is compressed to allow more fine control in the macro area, but that's really the only minor problem. Also it isn't an AFS lens (with the high-speed focusing). But who cares as most people I imagine would want to use this lens in manual focus most of the time.

A sweet lens, made sweeter still by the 1.5 factor when using it on the Nikon D100, so it corresponds to a 90mm lens. This is the lens that is on my camera most of the time.

1/24/2005 5:33:56 AM
 
Alan J. Beachler 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2004 10:35:14 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2004 10:35:14 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2004 10:35:14 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2004 10:35:14 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2004 10:35:14 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great lens. I doubt one could be sharper and it can be used in place of a standartd lens almost. 2.8 isn't 1.4 and there is a slight telephoto effect. Only problem with this lens and most macro lenses is learning to control the DOF.
5/21/2004 10:35:14 AM
 

4 Reviews