EOS 1D Mark II Digital SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

King of the Pond
View photos created with this camera

The EOS 1D Mark II Digital SLR Camera

Features:


  • 8.2-megapixel CMOS sensor--3:2 aspect ratio the same as in 35mm
    cameras
  • Compatible with Canon professional EF lenses (except the EF-S
    line)
  • Continuous shooting 8.5 frames per second at full resolution;
    rugged, weather-resistant magnesium alloy
  • Supports both CompactFlash Type I and II and Secure Digital (SD)
    memory cards
  • Powered by rechargeable NiMH battery pack; connects to PCs and
    Macs via FireWire and USB 1.1

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 115 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
KA HAIRSTON 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2006 11:57:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2006 11:57:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2006 11:57:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2006 11:57:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2006 11:57:06 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I great camera. Fast, accurate, and solid. It is heavy especially if using premium glass, but you get used to it. It has been dropped and there was no problems. My only complaint is it could use a bit more dynamic range (like all current CMOS sensors), but it is much better than most anything else out there.
7/14/2006 11:57:06 AM
 
Chris G. Laner
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/25/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 12:13:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 12:13:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 12:13:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 12:13:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 12:13:54 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is an awesome camera. The photographs are fabulous when I take them correctly. I do mostly sports photography and the 8.5 frames a second help me capture the pictures that few others can get without this quality of camera. It's a bit on the heavy side but it is constructed very well. I have only had it a short time and I am still learning what all it's abilites are. My BetterPhoto course I am taking should help me to accomplish this. It has been worth the money to me.
7/7/2006 12:13:54 PM
 
michele c. troisi 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 5:34:18 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 5:34:18 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 5:34:18 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 5:34:18 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 5:34:18 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
I have just received by new camera ... I am not at all comfortable with it at this point, hence, the reason for taking this course. I also have a Canon 10D which I love. In my opinion, it is very user friendly. I am a bit lost with the EOS 1D.
7/5/2006 5:34:18 PM
 
Michael B. Colligon 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 4:26:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 4:26:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 4:26:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 4:26:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 4:26:34 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Phenominal frame speed and excellent focus tracking put this camera on the top of my list.
6/23/2006 4:26:34 AM
 
Ruel P. Tafalla 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2006 6:16:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2006 6:16:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2006 6:16:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2006 6:16:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2006 6:16:38 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Fastest Camera I ever had. Good for sports.
6/21/2006 6:16:38 PM
 
John Trahan 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:17:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:17:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:17:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:17:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:17:01 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have used this camera as well as the 5D and honestly say that this is a much better camera.. Focus is much sharper, body is more solid, battery life (even though its NiMH) is outstanding... Hoping to get another one soon!!
6/20/2006 11:17:01 AM
 
Noel J. Ulloa 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 2:52:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 2:52:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 2:52:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 2:52:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 2:52:29 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Canon 1D Mark II N is fast, great metering, weather sealed, allows me the speed for sports, kids and still takes very good portraits.
6/18/2006 2:52:29 PM
 
JEFFREY  E. BITENG 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 12:31:07 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 12:31:07 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 12:31:07 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 12:31:07 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 12:31:07 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
at 8.5 fps what could you possibly ask for more.
6/18/2006 12:31:07 AM
 
John Burdick 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2006 4:34:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2006 4:34:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2006 4:34:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2006 4:34:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2006 4:34:14 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I LOVE this camera... it's low light capabilty is AWESOME!
6/6/2006 4:34:14 PM
 
Eugene B. Steinberg 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 6:25:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 6:25:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 6:25:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 6:25:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 6:25:32 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I had always used my Canon eos 10d, but since I purchased the mark ii, it has become my regular camera. I was a bit intimidated at first, but now it is a total joy to use. It's a bit heavy, especially when I'm using my Canon 100mm-400mm lens, but it feels so solid in my hands, that it is worth it. It takes great photographs and am currently enjoying using it with my new canon 180mm macro lens for macro photography.
6/4/2006 6:25:32 PM
 
Chris Helm
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/3/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2006 5:51:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2006 5:51:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2006 5:51:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2006 5:51:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2006 5:51:52 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A true Joy to Use.
5/15/2006 5:51:52 PM
 

First 10 of 115 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy EOS 1D Mark II Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com