EOS Elan 7N/7NE 35mm SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Epiphany At Sunri...
View photos created with this camera

The EOS Elan 7N/7NE 35mm SLR Camera

Features:

  • 7-point AF with Eye Control (in Elan 7NE)
  • Exposure: Program AE with variable shift, Shutter Priority, Aperture-Priority, Depth-of-Field AE, Full Auto, scene modes, Manual, w. exposure compensation, and auto exposure bracketing
  • 35-zone TTL w. Evaluative, 10% focus point-linked partial metering, and Center-weighted average
  • Flash sync: 1/125 sec.
  • Built-in flash; guide number: 43 (ISO 100, ft.)
  • Max advance speed: 4 fps (3.5 fps in AI Servo AF)




Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


45 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Walter F. Gremba Jr
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/1/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 5:24:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 5:24:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 5:24:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 5:24:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 5:24:04 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
As an upgrade from my previous 35mm which was a Rebel Ti, this camera is absolutely incredible. The construction is amazing & everything is simple & well placed, being able to change all important settings with the camera still up to your eye is worth alot more than you realize until you have the ability. I would buy a second Elan 7N body before I would even upgrade to the EOS 3 because I love this camera so much. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 star rating is (like almost all Canon cameras & strobes) there is no PC Sync which is a very valueable tool to have. Unfortunately Canon doesn't think their necessary anymore :(
6/23/2006 5:24:04 AM
 
Kristine McKowen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/28/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2006 7:04:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2006 7:04:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2006 7:04:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2006 7:04:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2006 7:04:52 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I upgraded to this last year from an AE-1 Program. Love it, although now I wish I had gone digital instead.
2/10/2006 7:04:52 AM
 
Erik R. Soto
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/24/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2005 11:30:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2005 11:30:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2005 11:30:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2005 11:30:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2005 11:30:14 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I think this is an excellent camera. It has great flexibility and its construction quality is superb. Its very easy to use and fits perfectly within my large hands. I compared several cameras before making this purchase and this the camera that was the most comfortable for me and the best in performance within its class for speed and quality.
11/24/2005 11:30:14 AM
 
Lynn Lynn 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2005 6:14:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2005 6:14:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2005 6:14:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2005 6:14:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2005 6:14:52 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I haven't had this camera long, but so far I love it. I'm still learning. I like all of the options and controls, I haven't tried it all yet. I'll add another review once I've had the chance to experiment with it all.
11/23/2005 6:14:52 AM
 
DyannaLyn Driscoll 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2005 3:59:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2005 3:59:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2005 3:59:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2005 3:59:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2005 3:59:59 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Nice camera to shoot with. Easy to use once set up. Although, the eye control feature can be a bit tricky at first. Over all, the camera has about all the features and creativity options you need to shoot in almost any situation.
8/23/2005 3:59:59 PM
 
Amy Jackson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/24/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 8:49:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 8:49:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 8:49:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 8:49:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 8:49:39 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Had to re-enter my camera. Please read my other review.
7/31/2005 8:49:39 PM
 
Amy Jackson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/24/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 9:52:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 9:52:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 9:52:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 9:52:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 9:52:45 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera. I used to shoot mainly with a Ricoh KR5 Super II and a Canon Sure Shot. I wanted something that was fully automatic and had lots of other options as well. The lens is so much clearer than the ones I used with my Ricoh. I have two children so I wanted something that was faster!
7/24/2005 9:52:45 PM
 
Amy Jackson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/24/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 9:45:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 9:45:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 9:45:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 9:45:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 9:45:22 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love it. I used to use a Ricoh KR5 Super II which was vey manual. I wanted something that was automatic but had a manual option. It has many features which I may never use, but I like to have them just in case. I have two children so I finally felt the need for some speed. I use the portrait mode alot and auto mode right now.
7/24/2005 9:45:22 PM
 
Jeffrey S. Kelleher 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 1:39:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 1:39:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 1:39:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 1:39:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 1:39:57 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera. That's all there is to it.
7/14/2005 1:39:57 PM
 
Nadine C. Lee 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 11:05:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 11:05:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 11:05:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 11:05:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 11:05:41 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My camera has a extrmemly wide selection of lenses and flash equipment which makes it very useful for almost anything. Its a little temperamental to use. Meaning you have to have it on the right settings, which is not always good for candid opportunities whent the autofocus is slow. The eye control is a little bit tricky to use,but handy once you get use to it.
6/19/2005 11:05:41 AM
 
Frank P. Luongo
francislphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2005 11:44:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2005 11:44:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2005 11:44:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2005 11:44:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2005 11:44:45 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great camera. Perfect for beginning or intermediate photographer. Good all around camera with numerous features. It's best feature is its ease of use. Doesn't take long at all to learn all its functions.The rear control wheel makes manual exposure very easy, which I use very often. Eye control is a nice feature, although I don't use it. Bottom line this is the best quality film SLR in its price range.
6/15/2005 11:44:45 AM
 
Larry Barcum
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/9/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 12:56:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 12:56:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 12:56:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 12:56:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 12:56:59 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great camera and fast. Good for field work. Motor noise is very low.
6/7/2005 12:56:59 PM
 
James Lynch 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 6:51:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 6:51:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 6:51:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 6:51:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 6:51:43 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love the eye controlled focus and the 5 fps. So far I have nothing bad to say about it.
5/11/2005 6:51:43 PM
 
Maria Melnyk 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2005 7:17:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2005 7:17:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2005 7:17:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2005 7:17:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2005 7:17:19 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very good and easy to learn to use all the features. I wish it had more focusing points like the EOS 3, and a PC terminal would be nice too. The white light that comes on when using the pop-up flash is irritating, but I don't use the pop-up. For some reason I don't find the auto-focus when used in the dark to be as sensitive as the one on the older Elan II camera.
5/5/2005 7:17:19 PM
 
Gallamore  Photography 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2005 1:00:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2005 1:00:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2005 1:00:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2005 1:00:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2005 1:00:31 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera. It's a perfect fit for my hand and the quality of pictures is amazing. The colors and sharpness are perfect. I even like the eye control function which many don't. I don't have a bad thing to say about this camera!
4/18/2005 1:00:31 PM
 
Stephanie L. Bettencourt 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 8:59:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 8:59:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 8:59:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 8:59:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 8:59:07 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my camera. It is an extension of my body
4/4/2005 8:59:07 PM
 
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2005 12:17:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2005 12:17:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2005 12:17:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2005 12:17:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2005 12:17:32 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love the ease of use - I have just recently completed a leisure learning beginning photography class and was taught about all the bells and whistles on the camera -- As of this time -- I love it -- researched months before purchasing it and feel that I made a very good choice.
3/25/2005 12:17:32 PM
 
Neal Post 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2005 10:47:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2005 10:47:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2005 10:47:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2005 10:47:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2005 10:47:06 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Provides all option i ever need but the cost of film and development kills me, i just wish it were a digital.
3/7/2005 10:47:06 AM
 
Darrin E. Boone 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2005 8:56:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2005 8:56:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2005 8:56:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2005 8:56:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2005 8:56:27 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Shudder speed and 4 fps are the highlights. Light meter could be better.
2/27/2005 8:56:27 AM
 
Jesse Evans 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2005 4:13:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2005 4:13:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2005 4:13:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2005 4:13:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2005 4:13:10 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera has a superb metering system. The only drawback is that the Partial Metering system isn't a true spot meter as it meters about 9% of the center of the frame. No big deal though as the camera usually meters spot-on.

This camera is quiet, fast, and incredibly cheap considering its quality. The only drawbacks are the lack of a true auto-focus-assist beam, and the rear door seems somewhat flimsy. The rest of the camera, however, feels solid as a rock.

2/27/2005 4:13:10 AM
 
Stuart Hershon 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2005 8:01:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2005 8:01:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2005 8:01:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2005 8:01:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2005 8:01:45 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great veritility
2/24/2005 8:01:45 PM
 
Matthieu Fuger
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/7/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 7:30:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 7:30:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 7:30:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 7:30:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 7:30:30 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It's just an amazing camera and the eye control for the autofocus has just simplify my way of taking photos
2/15/2005 7:30:30 AM
 
Michael  Tsosie 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2005 11:33:33 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2005 11:33:33 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2005 11:33:33 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2005 11:33:33 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2005 11:33:33 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I actually just got this camera, but have been amazed with it ever since. it is a good all around camera that serves well. There are still so many features that I haven't reviewed yet. Overall this camera works great and takes awsome pictures
2/8/2005 11:33:33 AM
 
Philip Snowdon 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 10:13:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 10:13:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 10:13:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 10:13:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 10:13:37 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Speed
1/31/2005 10:13:37 AM
 
Alex Cabrall 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 5:20:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 5:20:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 5:20:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 5:20:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 5:20:23 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've had my 7n for over a month now, and I love it to pieces. The rear control wheel makes manual exposure as easy as can be. after playing around with custom functions for a bit, I started to control the camera, not the other way around. A wonderful SLR for under $400 new.
1/31/2005 5:20:23 AM
 
Rob  Fairfield 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2005 5:06:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2005 5:06:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2005 5:06:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2005 5:06:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2005 5:06:04 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
still learning to use the camera but feel good about the pictures so far
1/27/2005 5:06:04 PM
 
Jen  5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2005 12:29:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2005 12:29:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2005 12:29:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2005 12:29:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2005 12:29:56 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera. It has so many options on it, or I can just use it as a point and shoot. I plan on learning how to use all the options.
1/25/2005 12:29:56 PM
 
Jason R. Lyell 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 11:28:05 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 11:28:05 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 11:28:05 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 11:28:05 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 11:28:05 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I just got the camera but it has all the features I need to transition from beginner to intermediate photographer! I have been using a Pentax IQ Zoom 170 point-and-shoot camera along with a Kodak digital 3.2 mp! The Canon I just purchased is an investment for the future and produces quality photos judging from the samples I have reviewed!
1/24/2005 11:28:05 AM
 
Spyros Podaras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2005 10:39:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2005 10:39:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2005 10:39:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2005 10:39:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2005 10:39:36 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like the new black matte finish, its speed. I don't like the AF assist light via the built-in flash.
1/18/2005 10:39:36 PM
 
Michael L. Collie 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2005 8:03:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2005 8:03:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2005 8:03:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2005 8:03:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2005 8:03:38 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have been pleased with the performance of this camers
1/13/2005 8:03:38 PM
 
Brad Lambert 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2004 2:58:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2004 2:58:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2004 2:58:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2004 2:58:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2004 2:58:09 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I really love this camera. In the 35mm catagory I do not believe you can get any more bang for your buck! It has all the essential features that allow you to do just about anything you would want with a 35mm camera, but not all the fancy frils that seem to just complicate and get in the way. This is a camera that I am sure I will never sell!
12/4/2004 2:58:09 PM
 
Sheila Marie
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/1/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2004 10:51:51 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2004 10:51:51 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2004 10:51:51 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2004 10:51:51 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2004 10:51:51 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is my first SLR camera so I have lots to learn but so far I am pleased with it.
11/17/2004 10:51:51 PM
 
Margy McMennamy
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/17/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2004 12:47:27 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2004 12:47:27 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2004 12:47:27 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2004 12:47:27 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2004 12:47:27 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love this camera-My only complaint is that I have had little time to explore all that it will do. So far I have been able to take some pretty awesome shots using auto-focus.
10/17/2004 12:47:27 PM
 
Tessa J. Murray 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 9:42:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 9:42:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 9:42:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 9:42:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 9:42:30 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a great camera. I would tell anyone to get it I have not haad any problems with it and it is a great camera.
10/12/2004 9:42:30 AM
 
Tessa J. Murray 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 9:33:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 9:33:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 9:33:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 9:33:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 9:33:58 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a great camera. I would tell anyone to get it I have not haad any problems with it and it is a great camera.
10/12/2004 9:33:58 AM
 
GREG WALLS
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/4/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 1:04:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 1:04:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 1:04:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 1:04:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 1:04:28 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I just purchased this camera to replace my Elan 7 which I broke while on vacation two weeks ago.The Elan 7 was a great camera, very easy to learn and use, quiet, comfortable and a great assortment of advanced features for an enthusiastic advanced amateur. The new Elan 7N is basically the same with a few improved features, faster auto focus, better TTL flash metering and the display screen is now lighted which is a plus. My only real complaint about the Elan 7 (which is probably applicable to the Elan 7N based on the similar construction) has to do with durability. I would have given it a rating of 10 if they didn't claim it was rugged (because its not). They market it as a "rugged" camera with "alumite" top and front covers. I don't know what alumite is (it sounds like a rugged metal) but this camera is not rugged. I had my Elan 7 for 9 months until I bumped my tripod and knocked it over (1 time) and the camera is dead...dead..dead. The "alumite" got a big chink in it. The focus selector button stopped working. The exposure lock button started selecting the focus point instead. The mirror popped out of its supports. The lens mount screws broke out of their holes. I opened up the outer cover and some broken plastic pieces fell out. So I put it in the kitchen trash can and bought the new Elan 7N. My 70-300 IS Canon lens is also now just an arrangement of blurry glass elements (looks fine on the outside, but...). There is nothing in the Elan 7N brochure which would indicate it is any tougher than the Elan 7 was. Ultimately this is a plastic consumer camera, with some "alumite" to make it look tough. However, it has a lot of great features for the money. Just be aware that the "rugged" claim does not make it as tough as a pro camera. Buy one, DON'T drop it and you won't be disappointed.
10/7/2004 1:04:28 PM
 
John W. DeFeo 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2004 12:04:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2004 12:04:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2004 12:04:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2004 12:04:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2004 12:04:03 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
For the money, it is far and away the best 35mm SLR in it's class. You can find one for $300 bucks, and for that you get great AF performance, 1/4000th sec top shutter, 4FPS continous shooting, and a laundry list of great features. Makes a great primary camera for the amateur, and a worthy back-up for the professional. My only small gripes are a difficult to find mirror lock-up function, an awkwardly placed depth of field preview, and no 2 second option for the self timer. Beyond that, the best dollar for dollar deal available in film.
10/1/2004 12:04:03 PM
 
R J.  3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2004 10:48:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2004 10:48:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2004 10:48:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2004 10:48:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2004 10:48:49 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Second best camera I have ever owned. Very easy to use and was a good camera to lear Photography on. I have upgraded to a Canon 1n hs
9/16/2004 10:48:49 AM
 
Angela D. Beene 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2004 12:31:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2004 12:31:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2004 12:31:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2004 12:31:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2004 12:31:30 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is the first camera I've had that was not fully automatic. It is, but it has manual override. It's complicated at times to remember where everything is and how it works, but I have been very happy with it thus far.
9/15/2004 12:31:30 PM
 
Aline Levasseur 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 9:46:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 9:46:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 9:46:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 9:46:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 9:46:35 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I'm using the 7NE and I've been thrilled with it's functionality. The eye-controlled autofocus is a godsend. I don't see myself going back to any other method!

Pictures are crisp and clean... It does an awesome job with metering. I'm using the 50mm 1.8 and not the kit lens.

Like all of the extra little features, like the quiet rewind and the option to leave the film tail sticking out.

It's also damn snazzy looking! Everyone asks me what it is.

Canon does it again!

9/10/2004 9:46:35 PM
 
Andy 
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/28/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2004 6:42:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2004 6:42:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2004 6:42:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2004 6:42:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2004 6:42:01 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A backup to my 1v. It's much lighter and a lot less features than my 1v. But overall it is a very good prosumer camera. Since I heard a lot of shutter problem with other Canon EOS cameras lately, let's see how long this will last.
7/28/2004 6:42:01 PM
 
Nate Robinson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 10:10:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 10:10:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 10:10:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 10:10:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 10:10:52 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I just bought my camera within the last two weeks, so at this point in time I don't have any negative to say about it. It's relatively simple to use, I am happy with the picture quality, and am pleased as well with the lenses that came as part of the package. Then again, I'm a relative amateur, so... So far I haven't worried too much about what I "wish someone had told me" about the camera...I'm using the trial by error logic. I experiment with different aperture settings and shutter speeds, being careful to write down the setting that corresponds with the picture so when the prints come back I know how I got the effect. If I like it, I know I'm doing something right. If it comes out badly, I know to try another approach. It seems to be working well so far.
7/6/2004 10:10:52 PM
 
Timothy S. Bell 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2004 10:21:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2004 10:21:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2004 10:21:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2004 10:21:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2004 10:21:56 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
this is my 2nd camera and its been a wonderfull camera to work with.i really like the 4 frame per secount shoot it perform
7/4/2004 10:21:56 AM
 
Randy Wolfgram 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2004 12:31:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2004 12:31:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2004 12:31:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2004 12:31:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2004 12:31:42 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
very sharp images,and tough,perfect for outdoor/nature photography,i really havent had it for too long but its better than my old one witch was a rebel 2000.
6/1/2004 12:31:42 AM
 
Larry J. Rhodes 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2004 12:00:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2004 12:00:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2004 12:00:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2004 12:00:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2004 12:00:41 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is the successor to the EOS Elan 7/7e. It now has an illuminated external LCD, Canon's new E-TTL II light metering system (currently available only in the Elan 7n/7ne/30v/33v and 1D Mark II), and a new AF system that rivals that of the 1v. It carries over the same features that made the Elan 7 such a success, with improvements that make it the perfect camera for advanced amateurs, and even professionals who are cost-concious. Its new finish is extremely matte, while the Elan 7 logo is now a holographic raised emblem on a plaque attached to the camera, instead of the old painted on red and white logo of the original Elan 7. This is an extremely attractive body. It's compatible with all the same accessories as the Elan 7, but it now takes better advantage of those accessories, such as distance information from EF lenses that feature distance information. It uses this for its flash metering, which is, perhaps, the best Canon has ever made. There are almost inumerable other features I could discuss, but there's a limit to how much we can type in our reviews, so I'll just close by saying that Canon has finally delivered a mid-level camera that will hold its own very well against even the high-end professional bodies, and outstrips Nikon's mid-level bodies by quite a stretch. I just love being able to say that, and mean it.
5/8/2004 12:00:41 PM
 

45 Reviews