EOS Elan 7N/7NE 35mm SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Epiphany At Sunri...
View photos created with this camera

The EOS Elan 7N/7NE 35mm SLR Camera

Features:

  • 7-point AF with Eye Control (in Elan 7NE)
  • Exposure: Program AE with variable shift, Shutter Priority, Aperture-Priority, Depth-of-Field AE, Full Auto, scene modes, Manual, w. exposure compensation, and auto exposure bracketing
  • 35-zone TTL w. Evaluative, 10% focus point-linked partial metering, and Center-weighted average
  • Flash sync: 1/125 sec.
  • Built-in flash; guide number: 43 (ISO 100, ft.)
  • Max advance speed: 4 fps (3.5 fps in AI Servo AF)




Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 45 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Walter F. Gremba Jr
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/1/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 5:24:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 5:24:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 5:24:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 5:24:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 5:24:04 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
As an upgrade from my previous 35mm which was a Rebel Ti, this camera is absolutely incredible. The construction is amazing & everything is simple & well placed, being able to change all important settings with the camera still up to your eye is worth alot more than you realize until you have the ability. I would buy a second Elan 7N body before I would even upgrade to the EOS 3 because I love this camera so much. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 star rating is (like almost all Canon cameras & strobes) there is no PC Sync which is a very valueable tool to have. Unfortunately Canon doesn't think their necessary anymore :(
6/23/2006 5:24:04 AM
 
Kristine McKowen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/28/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2006 7:04:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2006 7:04:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2006 7:04:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2006 7:04:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2006 7:04:52 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I upgraded to this last year from an AE-1 Program. Love it, although now I wish I had gone digital instead.
2/10/2006 7:04:52 AM
 
Erik R. Soto
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/24/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2005 11:30:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2005 11:30:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2005 11:30:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2005 11:30:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2005 11:30:14 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I think this is an excellent camera. It has great flexibility and its construction quality is superb. Its very easy to use and fits perfectly within my large hands. I compared several cameras before making this purchase and this the camera that was the most comfortable for me and the best in performance within its class for speed and quality.
11/24/2005 11:30:14 AM
 
Lynn Lynn 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2005 6:14:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2005 6:14:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2005 6:14:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2005 6:14:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2005 6:14:52 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I haven't had this camera long, but so far I love it. I'm still learning. I like all of the options and controls, I haven't tried it all yet. I'll add another review once I've had the chance to experiment with it all.
11/23/2005 6:14:52 AM
 
DyannaLyn Driscoll 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2005 3:59:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2005 3:59:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2005 3:59:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2005 3:59:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2005 3:59:59 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Nice camera to shoot with. Easy to use once set up. Although, the eye control feature can be a bit tricky at first. Over all, the camera has about all the features and creativity options you need to shoot in almost any situation.
8/23/2005 3:59:59 PM
 
Amy Jackson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/24/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 8:49:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 8:49:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 8:49:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 8:49:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 8:49:39 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Had to re-enter my camera. Please read my other review.
7/31/2005 8:49:39 PM
 
Amy Jackson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/24/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 9:52:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 9:52:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 9:52:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 9:52:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 9:52:45 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera. I used to shoot mainly with a Ricoh KR5 Super II and a Canon Sure Shot. I wanted something that was fully automatic and had lots of other options as well. The lens is so much clearer than the ones I used with my Ricoh. I have two children so I wanted something that was faster!
7/24/2005 9:52:45 PM
 
Amy Jackson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/24/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 9:45:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 9:45:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 9:45:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 9:45:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 9:45:22 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love it. I used to use a Ricoh KR5 Super II which was vey manual. I wanted something that was automatic but had a manual option. It has many features which I may never use, but I like to have them just in case. I have two children so I finally felt the need for some speed. I use the portrait mode alot and auto mode right now.
7/24/2005 9:45:22 PM
 
Jeffrey S. Kelleher 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 1:39:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 1:39:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 1:39:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 1:39:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 1:39:57 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera. That's all there is to it.
7/14/2005 1:39:57 PM
 
Nadine C. Lee 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 11:05:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 11:05:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 11:05:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 11:05:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 11:05:41 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My camera has a extrmemly wide selection of lenses and flash equipment which makes it very useful for almost anything. Its a little temperamental to use. Meaning you have to have it on the right settings, which is not always good for candid opportunities whent the autofocus is slow. The eye control is a little bit tricky to use,but handy once you get use to it.
6/19/2005 11:05:41 AM
 
Frank P. Luongo
Contact Frank
Frank's Gallery
francislphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2005 11:44:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2005 11:44:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2005 11:44:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2005 11:44:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2005 11:44:45 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great camera. Perfect for beginning or intermediate photographer. Good all around camera with numerous features. It's best feature is its ease of use. Doesn't take long at all to learn all its functions.The rear control wheel makes manual exposure very easy, which I use very often. Eye control is a nice feature, although I don't use it. Bottom line this is the best quality film SLR in its price range.
6/15/2005 11:44:45 AM
 

First 10 of 45 Reviews  (see all user reviews)