Turbo Rechargeable Battery Pack


Quantum

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Digital Accessories

The Turbo Rechargeable Battery Pack

Quantum's high-performance flash power pack, the Turbo delivers non-stop flash and allows photographers to shoot faster than ever before. Turbo offers 350 full-power flashes (GN 110) with regeneration in one second or less.

Main Highlights

  • Custom designed Turbo cables are required for connection to shoe and handle mount flashes, allowing you to power both types with one pack.
  • Power monitor "fuel gauge" tells you exactly how much power remains, and a red warning light shows when power gets low.
  • Reliable rechargeable lead cells. No nicads. No memory.
  • A charger is provided with a charging indicator that gives the status of charge.
  • Semi-soft, slim, comfortable case. Wear it under a tuxedo, over your shoulder, or drop it in your camera bag.


6 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3 out of 5

3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2007 5:08:17 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2007 5:08:17 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2007 5:08:17 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2007 5:08:17 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2007 5:08:17 AM
Rating: 0 out of 5
I recently sent my turbo to Quantum service center for replacing the battery cell and calibration. The item came back in 5 days. It was pretty fast, but later I realized that their technicians just took the old battery out and put the new one without any testing and calibration. The charging cycle now runs forever and the Turbo is practically useless.
The Quantum instruments customer service personnel would not bother answering the customer’s email or giving any technical help on the phone. But if you’re lucky enough to get any emails from Quantum guys it would something like this: “Your battery needs replacement . Send it to us and don’t forget to include $85”. That’s all they care about.

4/19/2007 5:08:17 AM
 
CHRISTIAN  JOHNSTON 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 3:48:11 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 3:48:11 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 3:48:11 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 3:48:11 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 3:48:11 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
I have found the Turbo 2X2 to be unreliable. Not really sure what the problem is. It's recycle time in inconsistent. Sometimes it works sometimes it doesn't. It's turned out to be expensive dead weight.
Any tips would be welcomed.
4/5/2005 3:48:11 AM
 
CHRISTIAN  JOHNSTON 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 3:37:52 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 3:37:52 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 3:37:52 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 3:37:52 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 3:37:52 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
I have found the Turbo 2X2 to be unreliable. Not really sure what the problem is. It's recycle time in inconsistent. Sometimes it works sometimes it doesn't. It's turned out to be expensive dead weight.
Any tips would be welcomed.
4/5/2005 3:37:52 AM
 
Bob Fowler 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2004 9:07:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2004 9:07:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2004 9:07:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2004 9:07:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2004 9:07:17 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
When I shoot with my Nikon SB-11, Sunpak 544, and/or Vivitar 283 flashes, I don't leave home without my Turbo. It's a life saver...
4/7/2004 9:07:17 PM
 
Ed Czuchrey 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2003 3:19:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2003 3:19:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2003 3:19:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2003 3:19:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2003 3:19:55 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I recently purchased another new Turbo and found it wouldn't work with my Canon 480EG Speedlite as they have in the past. A little research provided the answer: The high voltage light on newer Turbo units blinks telling the user it is ready, but the 480EG does not 'like' this feature. Quantum representatives told me this is the only Speedlight that doesn't work with this new feature (blinking light), modified the Turbo at no charge and everything works as before-perfectly! Highly recommend this product.
9/20/2003 3:19:55 AM
 
Christian Boice 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I bought the Quantum Turbo battery for my sports photography. It works better than advertised. I shot over 700 TTL flash exposures in one evening and the "fuel" meter barely left full! The recycle time is awesome. The flash recycles as fast as I can shoot 99% of the time. The only risk of this, according to Nikon, is that it can burn up my SB-28DX. Oh well. It's worth the risk and as long as I give the flash a reasonable break every few minutes, I've had no problems. Overall, a great product!
 

6 Reviews