PowerShot S1 IS Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Tulips and clouds
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot S1 IS Digital Camera

Features:

  • 3.2 Megapixel CCD

  • 10x optical zoom

  • 3.2x digital zoom

  • Optical Image Stabilizer

  • DV-quality movies

  • Built-in flash

  • DIGIC and iSAPS

  • Vari-Angle LCD monitor

  • PTP connection

  • Direct Print















  • Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

    Back to Photo School?
    Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


    121 Reviews  

    Average Rating: 4 out of 5

    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
     
    Anna M. Acosta
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/11/2007
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2007 9:14:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2007 9:14:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2007 9:14:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2007 9:14:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2007 9:14:18 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    I have a LOVE/hate relationship with this camera. It takes amazing pictures! But it's only 3.2 mp. It has a 10x Optical zoom. But it's only 3.2 mp.
    1/11/2007 9:14:18 PM
     
    Katie  L. Hoyt 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2006 3:27:29 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2006 3:27:29 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2006 3:27:29 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2006 3:27:29 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2006 3:27:29 PM
    Rating: 3 out of 5
    I like my camera but it is time for me to update to one that Zooms in more!
    7/1/2006 3:27:29 PM
     
    Raymond Pauly
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/3/2006
    Contact Raymond
    Raymond's Gallery
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 6:49:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 6:49:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 6:49:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 6:49:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 6:49:12 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    This is definitely a great camera. It delivers beautiful crisp colours and has a lot of manual options. It has an amazing 10x optical zoom. I think this Canon series (S1 S2 S3) are the next best thing to DSLRs. I wish it had a bigger lcd screen though, and more megapixels. The S2 and S3 do, but I only found that out when I had already bought this one. The main thing I don't like about this camera is it's limited macro capabilities. It does'nt even have a macro setting. I hope this can be fixed with a set of close-up lenses. You always have the option of adding accesories to your gear.
    6/30/2006 6:49:12 PM
     
    Stevie Jones R. Jones 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 10:36:12 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 10:36:12 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 10:36:12 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 10:36:12 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 10:36:12 PM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    I like my camera.
    6/12/2006 10:36:12 PM
     
    Mal Bas 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 7:47:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 7:47:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 7:47:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 7:47:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 7:47:33 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    This camera takes great photos. It image stabilization and lot of options for semi pro photographers. It has a 10x Optical Zoom and takes movies at 30 frames per second. The one bad thing is that the autofocus does not work well with very low lighting.
    6/10/2006 7:47:33 PM
     
    Greg Fair
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/3/2006
    3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 7:08:26 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 7:08:26 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 7:08:26 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 7:08:26 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 7:08:26 AM
    Rating: 3 out of 5
    Good features but only 3.2 mp's
    6/4/2006 7:08:26 AM
     
    Stan Fadyukhin
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/31/2006
    3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 6:11:55 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 6:11:55 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 6:11:55 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 6:11:55 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 6:11:55 PM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    Pros. Well, what I like about this digital camera is that it can produce beautiful picture. Has great zoom, wonderful features to play around with, remote control (sold separately), you can add lenses to it, and its my first digital camera. Cons. Big (for those who don't like big d.c.), 3.2 mega pixels just not enough for this d.c., heavy for those who is weak. P.S. I only rated my digital camera 3.5 do to that its only 3.2mp (just not enough for me).
    6/1/2006 6:11:55 PM
     
    Brenda L. Werkmeister 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 12:34:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 12:34:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 12:34:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 12:34:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 12:34:11 PM
    Rating: 3 out of 5
    It takes good pictures but not great pictures. For the price it is a great starter digital camera for introducing someone to the digital world at a moderate price. It has many options for creativity if you keep the manual with you so you can follow the step by step instructions. Overall a good buy.
    4/9/2006 12:34:11 PM
     
    Karen D. Kaposy 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 1:15:55 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 1:15:55 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 1:15:55 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 1:15:55 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 1:15:55 PM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    Camera produces amazing color. Needs more mega pixels. Pictures can be noisy above 200 ISO.
    3/31/2006 1:15:55 PM
     
    David M. Furey 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 6:16:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 6:16:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 6:16:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 6:16:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 6:16:03 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    Awesome for movies and great color saturation and sharpness in photos!!
    3/27/2006 6:16:03 AM
     
    Steve Hugen 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 10:26:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 10:26:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 10:26:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 10:26:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 10:26:05 AM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    The Canon S1IS is in a class of it's own. It is more than a point and shoot, but not quiet an SLR. It has plenty of mode and manuel setings. Takes crisp, well exposed photos...when it gets locked in. The bad: It has trouble focusing in low light, and fast moveing situtations. Overall; the S1IS performs well. But I will be looking for a more advanced DSLR.
    3/23/2006 10:26:05 AM
     
    Ayan K. Mukhopadhyay 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 2:46:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 2:46:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 2:46:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 2:46:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 2:46:39 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    Very good photo quality.
    3/19/2006 2:46:39 AM
     
    Nikki Chadwick 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2006 6:08:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2006 6:08:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2006 6:08:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2006 6:08:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2006 6:08:29 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    This is a fantastic little camera. It offers an automatic setting and manual setting options.
    3/11/2006 6:08:29 PM
     
    Deborah Ryder
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/28/2006
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2006 11:38:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2006 11:38:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2006 11:38:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2006 11:38:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2006 11:38:59 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    This camera has many features that make taking pictures a pleasure. The downside is it is hard to remember and make use of all of them. The PowerShot S1 IS interfaces easily with my computer and isn't too battery hungry. Stats: 10x zoom lens, 3.2 mega pixel, and digic image processor/stablizer. It offers direct print mode for printing without a computer and 30 fps VGA movie recording and playback with sound.
    3/6/2006 11:38:59 AM
     
    Jennyfer L. Varner 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2006 8:23:49 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2006 8:23:49 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2006 8:23:49 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2006 8:23:49 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2006 8:23:49 AM
    Rating: 3 out of 5
    I really like this camera. It has a good zoom and quick display. I enjoy using this camera for all of my picture taking.
    3/5/2006 8:23:49 AM
     
    Leslie A. Jones 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 8:45:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 8:45:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 8:45:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 8:45:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 8:45:05 AM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    This is my first digital camera. It is easy to use with lots of features. The 10x optical zoom, flip out and rotate lcd screen, the slr view finder image stabilizer and others help to take good pictures.
    3/3/2006 8:45:05 AM
     
    Scott A. Moore 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 1:05:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 1:05:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 1:05:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 1:05:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 1:05:13 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    Good for a beginner. Lots of zoom.
    2/24/2006 1:05:13 PM
     
    Kate A. Girard 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2006 6:52:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2006 6:52:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2006 6:52:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2006 6:52:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2006 6:52:26 AM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    Love the size and ease of use, but still love my 35mm for the clarity and changable lenses. A great little camera to start out with though- some amazing images have happened!
    2/21/2006 6:52:26 AM
     
    Amanda C. Hancock 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 9:49:51 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 9:49:51 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 9:49:51 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 9:49:51 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 9:49:51 AM
    Rating: 3 out of 5
    I like my camera. I spent a good deal of money of this little guy. This camera takes very nice pictures, better then what I am used to. The only thing I don't like about this camera is when I go to snap the pictures, it take a really long time to snap.
    2/14/2006 9:49:51 AM
     
    Dean Heald 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2006 11:04:01 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2006 11:04:01 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2006 11:04:01 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2006 11:04:01 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2006 11:04:01 PM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    The Canon Powershot S1 IS features image stabilization and 10X optical zoom. It features alot of manual settings in addition to the automatic mode. Although it is only a 3.2-megapixel camera, and the fact that it has been replaced by the S2 IS, it is still a good camera for a wide variety of situations.
    2/3/2006 11:04:01 PM
     
    Dee A. Crider
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/22/2005
    3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 8:14:57 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 8:14:57 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 8:14:57 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 8:14:57 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 8:14:57 PM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    3.2MP with 10x optical zoom plus 3x digital zoom. This camera is a nice point and shoot camera.
    1/30/2006 8:14:57 PM
     
    Autumn L. Azure 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 4:49:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 4:49:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 4:49:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 4:49:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 4:49:34 PM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    It has great usability. The menu is easy to use while I shooting. I like that it gives me control over my zooming and focus. I don't that I can't seem to photograph a good sunset, it catches alot of sun spots. This is my first digital camera after using a analog for 10 years. I am getting used to it.
    1/15/2006 4:49:34 PM
     
    Beth Hardy 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 7:40:51 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 7:40:51 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 7:40:51 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 7:40:51 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 7:40:51 PM
    Rating: 3 out of 5
    Good camera for far away. Nice 10X digital zoom.. up to 32X zoom. Lousy on close ups, has trouble focusing when using the regular lens that came with it. A good feature is the ability to add on telephoto lens or macro or fish lenses. A cheap camera that you can expand to do more with. I have a 1 gig card in it, and this does the trick for me. The avi feature sucks up a lot of space on the card, and quality is so so. Next go round, will spend more $$ for a better camera, but this is not a bad camera for an amateur.
    1/6/2006 7:40:51 PM
     
    Lino V. Almuenda 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 1:12:30 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 1:12:30 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 1:12:30 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 1:12:30 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 1:12:30 AM
    Rating: 2.5 out of 5
    I'm only a beginner so this is just right for me.
    1/6/2006 1:12:30 AM
     
    Lino V. Almuenda 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 1:04:37 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 1:04:37 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 1:04:37 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 1:04:37 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 1:04:37 AM
    Rating: 2.5 out of 5
    for a beginner this is good enough.
    1/6/2006 1:04:37 AM
     
    Vick Soulios 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 4:27:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 4:27:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 4:27:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 4:27:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 4:27:19 AM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    This is a great, simple to use high-end consumer camera!
    1/3/2006 4:27:19 AM
     
    Vick Soulios 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 4:02:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 4:02:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 4:02:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 4:02:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 4:02:39 AM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I got the Canon Powershot S1 IS back in May 2004. This is a great high-end consumer camera. I wish a had a high aperature than F8 and faster shutter speed than 1/2000th of a second. Still, other than that. It's a great camera!
    1/3/2006 4:02:39 AM
     
    Beth Bellar 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2005 5:09:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2005 5:09:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2005 5:09:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2005 5:09:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2005 5:09:22 PM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    Best camera I have ever owned.
    12/31/2005 5:09:22 PM
     
    Lara Del Pino 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2005 7:25:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2005 7:25:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2005 7:25:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2005 7:25:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2005 7:25:38 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    I am new to this camera and happy with it right now.
    12/29/2005 7:25:38 PM
     
    Paula L. Broughton
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/28/2005
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 12:02:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 12:02:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 12:02:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 12:02:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 12:02:36 PM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    Good quality pictures. Many features. Love the image stabilizer.
    12/28/2005 12:02:36 PM
     
    Larry G. Marshall 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/25/2005 6:04:39 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/25/2005 6:04:39 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/25/2005 6:04:39 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/25/2005 6:04:39 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/25/2005 6:04:39 AM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    Very good camera for close and long range with the optical zoom of 10X and with the optional lens, it zooms to the equivolent of 605mm.
    12/25/2005 6:04:39 AM
     
    Bruce 
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/7/2005
    3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 3:49:47 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 3:49:47 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 3:49:47 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 3:49:47 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 3:49:47 PM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    Easy to use with a good zoom (10x optical) with option to add other lenses.
    12/7/2005 3:49:47 PM
     
    Denise Riggs
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/28/2005
    2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 10:29:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 10:29:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 10:29:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 10:29:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 10:29:49 AM
    Rating: 2 out of 5
    I like the camera, especially for its vidio quaity, although my daughter is into showing horses and I like to take photographs of chidren, therefore, I am ooking to upgrade to the Cannon 20D very soon. I need a camera with faster shutter speed and that I can put a lense on.
    11/29/2005 10:29:49 AM
     
    Claire Cheeseman 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2005 11:19:30 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2005 11:19:30 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2005 11:19:30 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2005 11:19:30 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2005 11:19:30 PM
    Rating: 3 out of 5
    Auto focus and zoom. Love the extended zoom and ease of use. Can't change aperture or speed. Very unsure of best settings to use
    11/27/2005 11:19:30 PM
     
    Erin  J. Carlson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2005 8:42:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2005 8:42:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2005 8:42:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2005 8:42:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2005 8:42:36 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    It is very easy to use and user freindly
    11/24/2005 8:42:36 PM
     
    Agnes G. Constante 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2005 3:43:37 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2005 3:43:37 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2005 3:43:37 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2005 3:43:37 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2005 3:43:37 AM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    It took awhile for me to find a camera I could afford and at the same time, meet my expectations. I like all the features included with the camera, including the high-quality movie mode and image stabilizer. However, it lacks a macro mode, and images tend to have a higher CA (purple to be specific) than normal. Because of my budget, I was only able to pick out a camera with 3.2 megapixels. I would have liked to have 5. Aside from its few shortcomings, this camera is what I have always wanted. It is affordable with many features to learn from.
    11/24/2005 3:43:37 AM
     
    Darlene Hebert
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/14/2005
    3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2005 8:35:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2005 8:35:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2005 8:35:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2005 8:35:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2005 8:35:16 PM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    I Love the 10xoptical Zoom I Love the fact its easy to use It takes a great picture for a 3.2mega pixle Im not to keen on the flash it go's off when you don't want it to. Its a little on the heavy side but has a great hand grip feature. truly you can never realy take a bad picture with this camera.
    11/16/2005 8:35:16 PM
     
    Michael Rosati
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/3/2005
    4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 4:48:51 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 4:48:51 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 4:48:51 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 4:48:51 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 4:48:51 PM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    My camera is excellent because it is versatile, easy to use, lightweight and takes great pictures. It's nice to know that if there is a picture I do not like I can instantly remove it from the flashcard with just a couple twists of a button.
    11/3/2005 4:48:51 PM
     
    Edward M. Mattis 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2005 5:14:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2005 5:14:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2005 5:14:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2005 5:14:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2005 5:14:01 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    Good 10X zoom in compat package
    11/1/2005 5:14:01 PM
     
    Linda Kurtz 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 12:25:47 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 12:25:47 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 12:25:47 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 12:25:47 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 12:25:47 AM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    I LOVE this camera. The 10x zoom is wonderful since I enjoy doing close-up portrait photography. I like capturing people from a distance when they are unaware of the camera presence. The quality of photo is superb. Even when photos were taken with email quality they were enlarged to 5 x 7's with amazing quality. The auto focus works great - although I would like it to have more accuracy in low light. Can't wait to buy the Powershot S2 IS Digital with 12x zoom and a higher pixel rate.
    10/25/2005 12:25:47 AM
     
    John McTarnaghan
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/5/2004
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 2:32:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 2:32:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 2:32:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 2:32:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 2:32:54 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    It is a camera that does all the things I want to do. It is very good action shots. The settings make takeing inside pictures with out flash very do able. Like I said it does everything i want it to do.
    10/16/2005 2:32:54 PM
     
    Brian R. Laverriere
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/3/2005
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 1:52:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 1:52:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 1:52:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 1:52:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 1:52:37 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    Canon si is easy to use even for a beginner like me. I like the si because it can be used in manual mode or auto. 10x Optical is great. Priced right. Wish it had 5 megapixels.
    10/3/2005 1:52:37 PM
     
    Michele  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2005 2:12:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2005 2:12:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2005 2:12:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2005 2:12:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2005 2:12:34 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    I'm having a blast with my camera!
    9/29/2005 2:12:34 PM
     
    Nicole Nelson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2005 6:41:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2005 6:41:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2005 6:41:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2005 6:41:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2005 6:41:43 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    The camera has amazing zooming power and the colors come out great. Sometimes it tends to be slow and pictures come out blurry.
    9/20/2005 6:41:43 PM
     
    Lalit M. Shahane
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/20/2005
    2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2005 1:55:09 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2005 1:55:09 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2005 1:55:09 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2005 1:55:09 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2005 1:55:09 PM
    Rating: 2.5 out of 5
    i bought this camera 2 months back. and still learning about it. nice cam
    9/19/2005 1:55:09 PM
     
    Bipin  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2005 1:52:11 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2005 1:52:11 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2005 1:52:11 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2005 1:52:11 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2005 1:52:11 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    A 10 X optical zoom with an image stabilizer. Pretty cheap at a price of 300 plus USDs.
    9/2/2005 1:52:11 AM
     
    Rob Robson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2005 10:21:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2005 10:21:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2005 10:21:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2005 10:21:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2005 10:21:11 PM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    Great little camera for beginners and amateurs. I didn't think I'd like the swivel LCD monitor but thats proven a real bonus. Also, Function button very useful (easy to change shutter, ISO, AV, etc settings) and I like the menu wuindows - easy to navigate.

    Only 2 things to add to wish list... 5meg pixels and Macro mode!

    Camera cost $400.00 NZ (including charger + batts). Quite simply... if you don't like this camera try taking your shades off when snapping photos ;-)

    8/31/2005 10:21:11 PM
     
    K. Bhatia 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 8:42:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 8:42:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 8:42:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 8:42:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 8:42:32 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    This is an excellent camera for Amateurs.
    8/25/2005 8:42:32 AM
     
    Rachel  DiZoglio
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/18/2005
    3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 1:35:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 1:35:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 1:35:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 1:35:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 1:35:20 PM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    I love my camera, its perfect for the beginner.
    8/18/2005 1:35:20 PM
     
    Rachel  DiZoglio
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/18/2005
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 1:26:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 1:26:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 1:26:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 1:26:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 1:26:36 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    I love my camera. Its perfect for one that is just starting out.
    8/18/2005 1:26:36 PM
     
    Jill C. Timms 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 7:47:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 7:47:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 7:47:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 7:47:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 7:47:01 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    The zoom is great...10X but with the image stabilizer the zoom is much greater!
    8/15/2005 7:47:01 AM
     
    Linda K. Bowman
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/9/2005
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2005 12:43:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2005 12:43:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2005 12:43:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2005 12:43:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2005 12:43:58 PM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    This is the first digital camera I have owned. It's easy to use with shortcut buttons. It takes clear pictures and has an anti-shake button which I really need. The price was about $300 which made it affordable.
    8/9/2005 12:43:58 PM
     
    Neven Udovicic 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2005 3:39:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2005 3:39:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2005 3:39:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2005 3:39:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2005 3:39:38 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    A really great camera. For that price, I think only S2 IS is better. I like almost everything about it, but one thing surprised me most: it should have macro at 10 cm (~4 inches) which was so-so to me when I was buying it, but then I tried it, and I can focus for example a flower at only 4 cm (0.4 inches)!!! I don't know if that was supposed to happen, but it's not like I'm complaining :)

    Oh, and they could've put 5 mp and 48x zoom on it, without waiting for S2... :(

    8/4/2005 3:39:38 AM
     
    David Parker
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/19/2005
    3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 10:49:07 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 10:49:07 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 10:49:07 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 10:49:07 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 10:49:07 AM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    I bought this camera for it's 10x optical zoom capability. I read some reviews that expressed concerns about the camera's ability to focus properly in low light or short range shots. I have to agree. In fact, I would rate the focusing ability of this camera (and I've tried all modes) as pathetic. If I'm shooting anything other than near infinity outside I use my truty old 5-year old Olympus.
    7/26/2005 10:49:07 AM
     
    Debbi Young 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 1:32:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 1:32:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 1:32:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 1:32:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 1:32:43 PM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    A little too slow between shots, but I'm learning more and getting better with it the more I use it.
    7/24/2005 1:32:43 PM
     
    Adrian Grosu 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 2:55:18 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 2:55:18 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 2:55:18 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 2:55:18 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 2:55:18 AM
    Rating: 3 out of 5
    I like the Image Stabilization - it really works, the optical zoom - 10x and the overall quality of the pictures that I took with it. Cons: it doesn't have an AF assist lamp and I can't use an external flash.
    7/22/2005 2:55:18 AM
     
    Tena Dawson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 8:04:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 8:04:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 8:04:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 8:04:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 8:04:35 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    Its very easy to use. I am still reading the instruction. I will tell you more as time goes on. But, it takes great pictures. Tena
    7/17/2005 8:04:35 PM
     
    Gary Enloe
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/14/2005
    Contact Gary
    Gary's Gallery
    3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 10:26:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 10:26:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 10:26:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 10:26:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 10:26:31 AM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    the canon s1is has a lot of features. it also has a tilt to different angles screen on it. the only thing i would change is to have more megapixels. overall, nice camera.
    7/14/2005 10:26:31 AM
     
    Katrina Diaz
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/9/2005
    3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2005 7:56:24 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2005 7:56:24 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2005 7:56:24 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2005 7:56:24 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2005 7:56:24 AM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    This is actually my first digital camera, so I don't really know what to judge it against. Some of its features are a 3.2 megapixel CCD imaging sensor, 10x zoom lens, close focus to 3.9 inches, high-speed 1.7 frames per second continuous shooting, and ISO sensitivity: 50, 100, 200, 400 or auto. This camera (I think it may be all Canons) has a tendency to make blues bluer than they really are. It looks as if I have a polarizer on when I don't. That's fine with me though, because I prefer to shoot in Vivid mode anyway for the brighter colors and contrasts. The camera really doesn't have anything I don't like about it. I wish it had more zoom, maybe a 25x, but obviously I would just have to get a more expensive camera for that.
    7/13/2005 7:56:24 AM
     
    Kellie S. Thompson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2005 9:21:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2005 9:21:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2005 9:21:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2005 9:21:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2005 9:21:31 PM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    I love the 10x optical zoom and the image stabilization is wonderful! I would like more megapixels but then you can't have everything! A great Camera!
    7/11/2005 9:21:31 PM
     
    Lee Shaughnessy 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 9:55:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 9:55:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 9:55:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 9:55:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 9:55:44 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    Perfect size and weight, durable and well made. Excellent auto settings with full manual control when the need arises. A little poor in low light and no AF assist, but a winner for the price.
    7/5/2005 9:55:44 AM
     
    Mike Hennessey 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 9:59:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 9:59:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 9:59:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 9:59:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 9:59:01 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    Nice 10x optical zoom with Image stabilization. Lacks a macro mode but with lens adapter and filters can take macro shots. I really want the S2-IS! Canon, are you listening?
    6/19/2005 9:59:01 AM
     
    Rafael Sarres 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2005 10:00:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2005 10:00:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2005 10:00:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2005 10:00:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2005 10:00:46 PM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    Great Camera Great Price. Zoom is fantastic, a little cromatic abberation on very bright scenes. And bad in low light conditions, but workaroundable with custom mode.
    6/10/2005 10:00:46 PM
     
    Peter Daniel 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 10:51:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 10:51:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 10:51:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 10:51:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 10:51:24 AM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    Very easy to use. Stabilization wit h10x optical zoom. Plenty of manual setting. Easy access to manual settings. Great colos ing Photos...
    6/9/2005 10:51:24 AM
     
    Jessica Shepherd 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 9:40:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 9:40:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 9:40:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 9:40:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 9:40:59 PM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    It takes great quality black and white photos. But the sepia is way too orange, within a montha fter purchasing a button got stuck, and the manual focus is hard to work with.
    5/30/2005 9:40:59 PM
     
    Carmen R. Ingram 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2005 8:04:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2005 8:04:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2005 8:04:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2005 8:04:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2005 8:04:44 PM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I love it !! It could be a little smaller in size with more mega pixels, but it is really a nice camera as is !!
    5/28/2005 8:04:44 PM
     
    Deanna J. Weed 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2005 5:18:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2005 5:18:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2005 5:18:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2005 5:18:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2005 5:18:16 PM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    Nothing I don't like about it. Zoom lens is awesome
    5/27/2005 5:18:16 PM
     
    James Duke 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2005 3:51:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2005 3:51:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2005 3:51:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2005 3:51:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2005 3:51:18 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    Most of the functions you can find on an SLR, respectable image size, quality lens, options for filters, converters - an all around great camera for the price.
    5/27/2005 3:51:18 PM
     
    Dylan J. Wiehahn
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/19/2005
    4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2005 11:10:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2005 11:10:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2005 11:10:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2005 11:10:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2005 11:10:11 PM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    I love the versatility of this camera and am a great fan of the digital format. The only problems with it are to do with it being a middle-range camera and not a digital SLR. But i would not have bought it if it had costed a lot.
    5/19/2005 11:10:11 PM
     
    Brad N. Bradford 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2005 9:34:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2005 9:34:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2005 9:34:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2005 9:34:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2005 9:34:13 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    It's able to take great pictures, but it gets difficult to in low light conditions
    5/19/2005 9:34:13 PM
     
    Zack E. Baldwin 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2005 4:26:59 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2005 4:26:59 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2005 4:26:59 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2005 4:26:59 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2005 4:26:59 PM
    Rating: 3 out of 5
    My camera is relativly cheap( about 300)I dow ish it had more mp...but I love the zoom and ease of use. hopefully I can get a better one soon however.
    5/7/2005 4:26:59 PM
     
    Vanessa ML Schoenthal 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2005 11:28:12 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2005 11:28:12 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2005 11:28:12 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2005 11:28:12 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2005 11:28:12 AM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    It take the nicest shots. I don't even have to try and it does beautiful photos. The down size is that it is bulky, and needs good lighting to give you a nice shot.
    5/4/2005 11:28:12 AM
     
    Lisa Howard-Smithies 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 1:43:34 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 1:43:34 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 1:43:34 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 1:43:34 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 1:43:34 PM
    Rating: 2.5 out of 5
    Lightweight medium format digital. 10x optical zoom - good. Suffers from handholding - tripod recommended despite IS.
    5/2/2005 1:43:34 PM
     
    Aaro Keipi 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2005 8:30:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2005 8:30:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2005 8:30:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2005 8:30:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2005 8:30:57 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    Excellent Camera, Awesome Zoom, but flash overwhelms and it sucks batteries.
    5/1/2005 8:30:57 PM
     
    Fermin Garde fj-CDL 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2005 2:08:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2005 2:08:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2005 2:08:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2005 2:08:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2005 2:08:24 PM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    Good things: IS, zoom, manual controls. Bad: lack of detail,
    4/28/2005 2:08:24 PM
     
    Meghan E. McCarthy
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/26/2005
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 8:40:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 8:40:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 8:40:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 8:40:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 8:40:38 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    very easy to use and operate
    4/26/2005 8:40:38 AM
     
    John Rhodes
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/24/2005
    2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2005 9:42:23 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2005 9:42:23 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2005 9:42:23 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2005 9:42:23 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2005 9:42:23 AM
    Rating: 2 out of 5
    Nice camera; good zoom and IS; however, viewfinder virtually useless in low light conditions,
    4/25/2005 9:42:23 AM
     
    Neil R. Shapiro
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/9/2003
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2005 5:40:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2005 5:40:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2005 5:40:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2005 5:40:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2005 5:40:44 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    Great little camera for a big pocket. Good zoom range, great pictures, even up to 200 ISO. Negatives: often can't auto-focus at full zoom.
    4/25/2005 5:40:44 AM
     
    Hussein M. Ahmed 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2005 3:49:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2005 3:49:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2005 3:49:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2005 3:49:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2005 3:49:07 PM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    An amazing wonderful Camera... I asure you that you can never ever find a camera with all these functions bundled in a wonderful sleek body. The price tag of approx. 350 USD is nothing compared to what it offers you. If you want to learn all about of photography, trying ultra zoom, wide anle (limitied a bit to just 38mm), long time exposures of up to 15 seconds, selectable focus point, 4 exposure metering modes, Colour LCD view finder high quality Canon's lens, and a manificent "0" noise with its Ultrasonic Motor found on expensive lenses. If you want a camera with all features you expect and you are not meant to go for a DSLR then you CAN'T find a single model or brand out there to compete with S1 IS..
    4/19/2005 3:49:07 PM
     
    Shelly Thomas 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 9:04:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 9:04:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 9:04:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 9:04:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 9:04:34 PM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    Great pictures but won't focus in low light
    4/16/2005 9:04:34 PM
     
    Brian J. Vogt 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 10:13:42 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 10:13:42 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 10:13:42 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 10:13:42 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 10:13:42 AM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    I really enjoy this camera. The only cmplaint I have is that it doesn't have a RAW or TIFF options. The video quality is good, but the autofocus sensor is hyperactive. Wish you could get a 4 MP version.
    4/13/2005 10:13:42 AM
     
    Kenneth D. Weinert 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2005 4:03:02 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2005 4:03:02 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2005 4:03:02 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2005 4:03:02 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2005 4:03:02 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    Like: image stabilisation, 10x optical zoom, pivotable LCD, available control Dislike: LCD "fuzzy", hard to focus (in auto modes) on close subjects, hard to focus in low light I'm working my way up. This was about the most inexpensive digital I could get that had the features I was looking for (optical zoom, manual control) as I learn to improve my photography.
    4/12/2005 4:03:02 AM
     
    James Millar 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2005 6:34:52 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2005 6:34:52 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2005 6:34:52 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2005 6:34:52 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2005 6:34:52 AM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    Good point and shoot camera with excellent 10X Optical zoom. Somewhat restricted in focal length and ability to use small apertures.
    4/10/2005 6:34:52 AM
     
    Laine Quinn 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 8:57:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 8:57:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 8:57:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 8:57:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 8:57:21 PM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    This is a very nice digital camera. I am able to enlarge to 8x10 with little loss of quality. It is comfortable and compact.
    3/28/2005 8:57:21 PM
     
    Simon Effendi
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/23/2005
    4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 1:46:26 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 1:46:26 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 1:46:26 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 1:46:26 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 1:46:26 AM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    I like the Image Stabilizer that comes with the 10X Optical Zoom.
    3/23/2005 1:46:26 AM
     
    Derek D. Dafoe
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/13/2005
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2005 7:09:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2005 7:09:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2005 7:09:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2005 7:09:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2005 7:09:29 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    Great camera 10X zoom with image stabilizer, lots of manual options. Feels great to hold and shoot with, only slight draw back is its only 3.2 mega pixels, which is okay for most anything, but 4.0 at least would have been better.
    3/13/2005 7:09:29 AM
     
    Mahesh Devarajan 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 6:04:40 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 6:04:40 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 6:04:40 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 6:04:40 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 6:04:40 AM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    Pros : 1. 10x optical zoom 2. Image Stabilizer Cons : 1. Poor auto focus in low light condition 2. Lack of Tiff format support 3. Only 3.2 Mega pixels 4. No support for external flash
    3/10/2005 6:04:40 AM
     
    Katherine M. Hyatt 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2005 6:05:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2005 6:05:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2005 6:05:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2005 6:05:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2005 6:05:03 PM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    I really like the clarity of my pictures and the ease in using this camera. I really dont think there is anything that I dislike about this camera.
    2/26/2005 6:05:03 PM
     
    Heidi Smith
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/17/2004
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2005 3:32:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2005 3:32:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2005 3:32:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2005 3:32:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2005 3:32:17 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    10x optical zoom is awesome! Image stabilization is very handy. It's lightweight and precise with many manual and preset options.
    2/13/2005 3:32:17 PM
     
    Rob Ryan
    Contact Rob
    Rob's Gallery
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2005 8:15:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2005 8:15:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2005 8:15:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2005 8:15:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2005 8:15:13 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    This is a great camera with wonderful features and a great zoom. I really enjoy it.
    2/12/2005 8:15:13 PM
     
    John A. Ford 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 4:24:19 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 4:24:19 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 4:24:19 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 4:24:19 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 4:24:19 PM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    great video camera and fair for stills.
    2/11/2005 4:24:19 PM
     
    Shirley S. Perkins
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/2/2005
    4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2005 9:02:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2005 9:02:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2005 9:02:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2005 9:02:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2005 9:02:23 AM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    Since I am a beginner this is the perfect camera for me. I like the auto function, but when I am brave enough to experiment, I like the option it gives me to try my hand at it. It is slow to focus in zoom, and there is quite a delay when I'm trying to take action shots. I wish someone would have told me this camera would make it clear to me how much I truly don't know about photography.
    2/3/2005 9:02:23 AM
     
    Mariusz  Wasilewski 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 10:56:51 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 10:56:51 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 10:56:51 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 10:56:51 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 10:56:51 AM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    Overall it is a good camera, could be a better and faster focusing, specially in poor lighting condition
    2/2/2005 10:56:51 AM
     
    Lorrie A. Scott
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/25/2005
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2005 3:47:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2005 3:47:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2005 3:47:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2005 3:47:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2005 3:47:34 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    It offers great value for the price. I love the 10x optical zoom and the image stabilization. I wish I could get best quality shots at 8X10 in less than optimal lighting situations.
    1/27/2005 3:47:34 AM
     
    Angela Swicegood 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2005 11:14:22 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2005 11:14:22 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2005 11:14:22 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2005 11:14:22 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2005 11:14:22 AM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    So far so good. I just got this camera.
    1/26/2005 11:14:22 AM
     
    Donna Angevine 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2005 8:50:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2005 8:50:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2005 8:50:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2005 8:50:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2005 8:50:09 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    It take great pictures. NO dislikes yet. I have the camera. Really nothing I figure things out for myself. It is 3.2 meg with 10x optical with a combined total of 32x and I love it. The picture clarity is good as far as I can see now
    1/16/2005 8:50:09 AM
     
    Lukas Jenkins 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2005 8:41:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2005 8:41:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2005 8:41:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2005 8:41:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2005 8:41:15 AM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    Another great camera, only disapointment is that its only 3.2 mp.
    1/9/2005 8:41:15 AM
     
    Dana J. Ramirez 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2005 1:06:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2005 1:06:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2005 1:06:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2005 1:06:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2005 1:06:47 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    The camera is great it won may awards for best camera in it's class
    1/7/2005 1:06:47 PM
     
    Scott A. Watson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2004 4:13:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2004 4:13:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2004 4:13:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2004 4:13:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2004 4:13:56 PM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    Excellent features for the money. Flexible in the settings Light Weight
    11/24/2004 4:13:56 PM
     
    Nicola Gavin 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2004 1:49:46 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2004 1:49:46 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2004 1:49:46 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2004 1:49:46 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2004 1:49:46 AM
    Rating: 3 out of 5
    Only 3.1 million pixels, but 10X optical zoom. Easy to use but gets through batteries unbelievable quick. Small and light, I was impressed with photos taken at low light. Now wish I'd gone for one with more pixels. The anti shake is very good and swivel screen is handy but a little small (1.5inch).
    11/21/2004 1:49:46 AM
     
    Jonathan Crothers 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2004 11:32:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2004 11:32:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2004 11:32:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2004 11:32:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2004 11:32:03 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    I will come back a re-review my comments 171104 I have still got to put time asside to really play around with this camera, at present I have been using a lot of the auto setting and very few manual ones. I have found that the flash is very intensive and need to play to get a better result with close-up flash work.
    11/16/2004 11:32:03 PM
     
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2004 2:00:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2004 2:00:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2004 2:00:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2004 2:00:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2004 2:00:38 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    Like: 10 optical zooms; Dislike: the lens cover, don't have a wide angle
    11/12/2004 2:00:38 AM
     
    Cole Zdenek 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2004 11:49:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2004 11:49:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2004 11:49:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2004 11:49:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2004 11:49:13 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    My first camera, needed for travels and study abroad experience. Love the 10x optical zoom with Image Stabilizer. I am a beginner so don't really know what else to put, besides it hasn't put me down yet! Actually surprised by quality of photos so far, hopefully more to come!
    11/11/2004 11:49:13 AM
     
    carol joyce
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/4/2004
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 6:45:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 6:45:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 6:45:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 6:45:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 6:45:27 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    Easy to use. Fits my hand nicely. Zoom moves to fast.
    11/4/2004 6:45:27 AM
     
    Vicki Holmes
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/8/2003
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2004 9:13:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2004 9:13:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2004 9:13:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2004 9:13:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2004 9:13:18 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    I bought this one for the 10X optical zoom. Comes with an Image Stabilizer, which you really need with the long zoom shots. Also helps with night shots I'm told. Haven't tried that yet. It take great pictures, has plenty of settings, including movie mode. Runs on AA batteries or rechargables. The viewfinder does not seem to be full color, and the LCD is very small. There is no Macro setting, which I do miss, but the 10X zoom does pretty well. All in all, I really like this one.
    10/26/2004 9:13:18 PM
     
    Chris Underwood 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 4:24:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 4:24:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 4:24:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 4:24:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 4:24:57 PM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    The Canon PowerShot S1 IS has 5 main attractions: Blindingly fast 10x zoom Wonderful image stabilised lens Faultless movie mode Manually adjustable everything Speedy and accurate Digic image processing The main features couple together to make one of the most versatile cameras in its class. I wouldn't be without my 10x image stabilised lens now! Only drawbacks are a slightly slow and sometimes imprecise autofocus system backed up only by fiddly manual focus controls, and some chromatic abberation under certain conditions. Overall a superb all-rounder that I can't put down!
    10/7/2004 4:24:57 PM
     
    Kevin Mason 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2004 7:40:31 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2004 7:40:31 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2004 7:40:31 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2004 7:40:31 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2004 7:40:31 AM
    Rating: 2.5 out of 5
    good enough for web, I like it easy to use
    9/29/2004 7:40:31 AM
     
    Ellie van Rooyen
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/15/2004
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2004 12:32:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2004 12:32:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2004 12:32:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2004 12:32:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2004 12:32:34 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    3.2 MEGA PIXELS, 30 fps VGA Movie, 10x optical USM Lens. I like this camera, because it is small and compact, yet doesn't step back when it comes to performance. The camera is auto, as well as manual, so you can easily adjust the settings of your picture, and for me, who is only eager learner-photogropher, this is a great way to learn. It has got a super-smooth, super-fast ultra-sonic motor (USM), which provides all the zooming speed you need. It also has a great image stabalizer. You can take extreme close-ups with this camera, I took a great photo of an ant, really. Its Macro abilities are great. They maybe could've made the LCD screen a bit bigger, as there is lots of space to do so.
    9/29/2004 12:32:34 AM
     
    Tammy Rogers 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2004 5:22:14 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2004 5:22:14 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2004 5:22:14 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2004 5:22:14 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2004 5:22:14 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    Excellent camera. While only 3.2 megapixels, takes excellent quality photographs. 10X optical zoom makes this a step above higher megapixel cameras.
    9/26/2004 5:22:14 AM
     
    Chad A. Eastin 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2004 8:12:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2004 8:12:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2004 8:12:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2004 8:12:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2004 8:12:24 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    The optical zoom and the ability to use filters is awsome, however the 3.2 mp is kind of week.
    9/23/2004 8:12:24 PM
     
    Stephen L. Strickland 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 12:47:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 12:47:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 12:47:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 12:47:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 12:47:54 PM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    very good but could use more mega pixels
    9/14/2004 12:47:54 PM
     
    Nancy S. Winkler 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 7:04:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 7:04:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 7:04:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 7:04:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 7:04:10 PM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    Super easy to take great photos! No shakes.
    9/7/2004 7:04:10 PM
     
    Anne House 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2004 8:48:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2004 8:48:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2004 8:48:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2004 8:48:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2004 8:48:24 AM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    I LOVE this camera!! With its long zoom, crisp pictures, and beautiful colors- not to mention full manual settings...this is just a great mid level camera. If it had a macro funtion, it would be a 10.
    8/16/2004 8:48:24 AM
     
    Kirk Lewis 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 8:26:24 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 8:26:24 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 8:26:24 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 8:26:24 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 8:26:24 PM
    Rating: 2.5 out of 5
    I really like the 10x Optical Zoom, and the Image Stabilization. The thing I hate the most is it seems slow to write the Picture to the Compact flash Disk.
    8/15/2004 8:26:24 PM
     
    jon urquico 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2004 12:52:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2004 12:52:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2004 12:52:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2004 12:52:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2004 12:52:22 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    3.2mp is usually enough for the job, althought for the price tag i would have thought it would be at least 4.0mp...overall its a great camera, the IS works quite well on 10x to 32x..manual mode is a blessing!
    7/26/2004 12:52:22 AM
     
    Pang Sawwee 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 8:48:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 8:48:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 8:48:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 8:48:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 8:48:44 PM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    Image's quality is a bit 'noisy', but quite good in overall performance.
    7/8/2004 8:48:44 PM
     
    Farhan Siddiqui 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 2:00:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 2:00:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 2:00:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 2:00:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 2:00:14 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    Pro's 10X Optical Zoom. Image Stabalization. Full manual controls. AA batteris. Cons: 3.2 MP. Medicore low light performance.
    6/25/2004 2:00:14 PM
     
    Carmen R. Ingram 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2004 6:34:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2004 6:34:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2004 6:34:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2004 6:34:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2004 6:34:18 PM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I really LOVE everything about this camera. It has an excellent zoom, with an image stabilizer. I could not be happier.
    6/4/2004 6:34:18 PM
     
    Huey P. Dufrene 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 12:44:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 12:44:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 12:44:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 12:44:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 12:44:24 PM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    The Canon Powershot S1 IS is a fantastic camera for an enthusiast such as myself. Some of it's features include: 10x Optical zoom with 3.2x digital zoom, 3.2 megapixels, DV Quality videos at 30 Frames Per Second and Flip-out LCD monitor. Image quality is exceptional.
    5/18/2004 12:44:24 PM
     
    E 71 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 3:56:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 3:56:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 3:56:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 3:56:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 3:56:09 AM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    I haven't had my new camera long enough to make a credible review. My old camera is the Canon S200 Digital Elph, a very compact, easy to use camera.
    5/18/2004 3:56:09 AM
     
    Victoria L. Gaudreau 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2004 7:00:11 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2004 7:00:11 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2004 7:00:11 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2004 7:00:11 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2004 7:00:11 AM
    Rating: 3 out of 5
    it pretty a good point and shoot digital.....not alot of pixels but it has stability and long range zoom built in...
    4/26/2004 7:00:11 AM
     

    121 Reviews  

    Buy PowerShot S1 IS Digital Camera from Amazon.com