BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


PowerShot S1 IS Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Tulips and clouds
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot S1 IS Digital Camera

Features:

  • 3.2 Megapixel CCD

  • 10x optical zoom

  • 3.2x digital zoom

  • Optical Image Stabilizer

  • DV-quality movies

  • Built-in flash

  • DIGIC and iSAPS

  • Vari-Angle LCD monitor

  • PTP connection

  • Direct Print















  • Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

    Back to Photo School?
    Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


    First 10 of 121 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

    Average Rating: 4 out of 5

    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
     
    Anna M. Acosta
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 1/11/2007
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    I have a LOVE/hate relationship with this camera. It takes amazing pictures! But it's only 3.2 mp. It has a 10x Optical zoom. But it's only 3.2 mp.
    1/11/2007 9:14:18 PM
     
    Katie  L. Hoyt

    member since: 7/1/2006
    3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 3 out of 5
    I like my camera but it is time for me to update to one that Zooms in more!
    7/1/2006 3:27:29 PM
     
    Raymond Pauly
    BetterPhoto Member
    Contact Raymond
    Raymond's Gallery

    member since: 6/3/2006
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    This is definitely a great camera. It delivers beautiful crisp colours and has a lot of manual options. It has an amazing 10x optical zoom. I think this Canon series (S1 S2 S3) are the next best thing to DSLRs. I wish it had a bigger lcd screen though, and more megapixels. The S2 and S3 do, but I only found that out when I had already bought this one. The main thing I don't like about this camera is it's limited macro capabilities. It does'nt even have a macro setting. I hope this can be fixed with a set of close-up lenses. You always have the option of adding accesories to your gear.
    6/30/2006 6:49:12 PM
     
    Stevie Jones R. Jones

    member since: 6/12/2006
    3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    I like my camera.
    6/12/2006 10:36:12 PM
     
    Mal Bas

    member since: 6/10/2006
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    This camera takes great photos. It image stabilization and lot of options for semi pro photographers. It has a 10x Optical Zoom and takes movies at 30 frames per second. The one bad thing is that the autofocus does not work well with very low lighting.
    6/10/2006 7:47:33 PM
     
    Greg Fair
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 6/3/2006
    3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 3 out of 5
    Good features but only 3.2 mp's
    6/4/2006 7:08:26 AM
     
    Stan Fadyukhin
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 5/31/2006
    3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    Pros. Well, what I like about this digital camera is that it can produce beautiful picture. Has great zoom, wonderful features to play around with, remote control (sold separately), you can add lenses to it, and its my first digital camera. Cons. Big (for those who don't like big d.c.), 3.2 mega pixels just not enough for this d.c., heavy for those who is weak. P.S. I only rated my digital camera 3.5 do to that its only 3.2mp (just not enough for me).
    6/1/2006 6:11:55 PM
     
    Brenda L. Werkmeister

    member since: 4/9/2006
    3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 3 out of 5
    It takes good pictures but not great pictures. For the price it is a great starter digital camera for introducing someone to the digital world at a moderate price. It has many options for creativity if you keep the manual with you so you can follow the step by step instructions. Overall a good buy.
    4/9/2006 12:34:11 PM
     
    Karen D. Kaposy

    member since: 6/7/2005
    3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    Camera produces amazing color. Needs more mega pixels. Pictures can be noisy above 200 ISO.
    3/31/2006 1:15:55 PM
     
    David M. Furey

    member since: 3/27/2006
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    Awesome for movies and great color saturation and sharpness in photos!!
    3/27/2006 6:16:03 AM
     
    Steve Hugen

    member since: 6/25/2005
    3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    The Canon S1IS is in a class of it's own. It is more than a point and shoot, but not quiet an SLR. It has plenty of mode and manuel setings. Takes crisp, well exposed photos...when it gets locked in. The bad: It has trouble focusing in low light, and fast moveing situtations. Overall; the S1IS performs well. But I will be looking for a more advanced DSLR.
    3/23/2006 10:26:05 AM
     

    First 10 of 121 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

    Add your own review

    Buy PowerShot S1 IS Digital Camera from Amazon.com


    Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.