BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Beirette 35mm Camera


Beier

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Point and Shoot Film Cameras


View photos created with this camera

Features:

  • Camera Type: 35mm Brightline Viewfinder
  • Body marked 'Made in GDR'
  • Film: 35mm Loading via. removable back
  • Lens Marked: E.Ludwig Meritar F2.9/45
  • Focal length: 45
  • Relative aperture: F2.9 - F22
  • Shutter speeds: B - 30, 60, 125
  • Focusing: 2ft to infinite


Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


5 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Maria 

member since: 12/2/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I am satisfied with this camera. This is a very creative camera(for this priceII).
Especially because I make many pictures in dark palaces without flash. And without flash, you can make a foto of very natural colour.
I use normally iso200, and shutterspeed 1/30 and f:2.8 is really enough for indoor.
Or, in this christmas season I make pictures in the churchfs, or nicely decorated building outside in the night, then I can use B with shutter-release(with or without tripod).
The colour and the sharpness of this lens:meritar is rather similer to Smena(Russian camera.), which is very natural.
I tried to close up, and with this camera you can close to c.45 cm.(without any close-up lens!!)
The only weaknes of this camera is, shutter.You have to get used to hold the camera very firmly, and I recommend you to put your right thumb under the camera.
It is a nice camera to learn manual-photography. This camera teach you a lot.
I like this much more than the most popular automatic(=boring!)-compact camera anyway!!
12/2/2004 6:48:20 PM
 
Bruce Prevett

member since: 8/16/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Wow! I have shot some amazing pictures with this camera. It rates an 11! I would highly recommend it. Add an adapter and 37mm lens for some additional exceptional shots.
10/22/2004 6:41:21 PM
 
Isabel Monday

member since: 6/4/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Does anyone want my beirette 35mm camera if so emailme isabelmonday@aol.com
or should I not be getting ri of it? How much is it worth?
8/25/2004 2:40:01 PM
 
Isabel Monday

member since: 6/4/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Does anyone want my beirette 35mm camera if so emailme isabelmonday@aol.com
or should I not be getting ri of it? How much is it worth?
8/25/2004 2:39:35 PM
 
Valer Gotea

member since: 4/7/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Hi Jim, First of all, thanks for managing such a wonderful site! It's really impressive! I've been trying to add another camera to my profile, but it was added as "Miscellaneous - Does Not Apply". I guess it was my fault, since I did not provide too much details about it. It's about a Beier Beirette made in GDR camera. I used it for quite some time when I had no money for a better one. In fact it was my father whou bought it back in the late 60s, and we used it quite successfully since then. And it's still working. You can find all the details, including a picture of it, at the following web site: http://www.btinternet.com/~stowupland/beirette1.htm (when you try to access it, a frame page will load, and you'll have to find in the left hand menu a link for Beirette - NOT Beirette VSN). Some of the details: Camera Type: 35mm Brightline Viewfinder. Film: 35mm Loading via. removable back. Lens Marked: E.Ludwig Meritar F2.9/45 Focal length: 45 Relative aperture: F2.9 - F22 Shutter speeds: B - 30, 60, 125. Focusing: 2ft to infinite. My camera was identical to the specifications presented there (including the picture), and I would very much appreciate if you could include that very model in the list of cameras available at betterphoto.com . It served me well, as it was all manual and it has the possibility to adjust the apperture, shutter speed, distance. I've got quite a few nice pictures, even tough they cannot really compare to the ones taken with more modern cameras or latest digital SLR ones. But that's also because of the films that were available in Romania in the late 80's or early 90s. I'm sure many people have used it, especially from the Eastern European countries (I'm originally from Romania), when more expensive cameras were very rare and unaffordable. They will be glad to rediscover it, as it's my case. Thanks for your time, and I look forward to finding the Beirette in the list of the cameras. Sincerely, Valer Gotea
4/21/2004 2:49:15 PM
 

5 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright © 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc.® All Rights Reserved.