BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


PowerShot Pro 1 Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

One for Each
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot Pro 1 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 8-megapixel sensor captures enough detail to create
    photo-quality 16-by-22-inch enlargements
  • Canon 7x optical L-series zoom lens
  • 2-inch LCD screen; movie mode; 1.2-inch macro mode; PictBridge
    compatible
  • Store images on Compact Flash Type I or II cards (64 MB card
    included)
  • Powered by CR-2025 lithium battery (included with charger)


Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 104 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Ding Skal

member since: 11/1/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
excellent camera.....
like the idea of not changing lenses!!!
1/18/2008 10:25:44 PM
 
Tiny Malone

member since: 11/18/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I am on my third Pro-1. Obviously I like this camera, however, as with anything it has it's limitations. I have just learned to work around them. First, it is rather compact, so it is easy to carry it to some of the "off the beaten path" places I go. When I am going to shoot a remote place, I take this camera with me first just to scout it out. This is not a good camera for sports photography. It is just too slow. However, for landscape photography, it can rival some of the pricier DSLRs for image quality provided there is enough light. Noise is an issue about ISO 200. I just keep my ISO set at 50 and work from there. If you have one that is giving you problems, go to Canon's website and DL the firmware update. And get an external flash like the 580EX.
1/3/2007 12:20:01 AM
 
Sandy Yazzie Tsosie

member since: 7/31/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Eazy to use, especially if you are in a hurry, just point and shoot!
6/21/2006 10:45:54 PM
 
Daniel  Hohl
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/19/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent camera, solidly built, pro quality in a small size, great swivel LCD screen. Manual focus is a bit tricky when needed (I photograph art work), but for regular shooting it's super sharp. May be limiting for those who want various lenses as it has a fixed zoom. Overall, a supurb 8mp camera, great for traveling.
6/20/2006 5:09:57 PM
 
Chrystal Black

member since: 6/6/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
For a beginner, it's alright because its low cost, has 8 MP and is fashioned much like an SLR, though you can't change its lens (you have to get and adapter to attach to the existing one). It's compact and lightweight compared to your Rebels and most other SLR cameras, and the flip LCD screen comes in handy. There are limitations of course with this camera, not to mention that the lens is rather small, compared to your standard wide angle lens on a regular SLR. It's a good, inexpensive camera for beginners and amatures. However, I think that professionals and more serious photographers will prefer to spend the extra money on an actual SLR.
6/17/2006 6:13:10 PM
 
Heath  K. Hoffman

member since: 6/16/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Pros: 1) Easy to carry to remote locations 2) Versatile in the selections and features allowing the photographer many different creative choices in composition. 3) LCD display allows the photographer anyone of many different positions for viewing subjects that could never be composed through the viewfinder. Cons: 1)Slow focusing on subject for action scene with wildlife.
6/16/2006 1:59:13 PM
 
Jenna R. Seeley

member since: 6/2/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really like the powershot 1. it is my first digital and it has really exceeded my expectations.
6/2/2006 8:48:21 AM
 
Michelle M.

member since: 5/31/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Size was one of the most important factors in choosing this camera. Because it is so small, I can fit it in my purse. I love the super macro feature. However, shutter lag time is frusterating at times and I regret that there aren't more zoom lens changing options. But, overall, I am fairly pleased with the images this little camera can create. Will need to perfect my photography skills and then reward myself with an upgrade oneday. Give me eagle eyelashes, Canon!
5/31/2006 3:24:47 PM
 
David Helfand Michaels
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/10/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera was given to me by an Aunt who had recently upgraded to a Digital Rebel XT. The resolution on this camera is great, at 8 megapixels, you can crop photos with ease and not lose resolution. the autofocus speed has to be my biggest gripe on this camera, it rarely is fast, and will sometimes fail to focus in perfectly normal conditions. luckily, the ring-style zoom makes manual focusing fairly simple. The 7x optical zool is useful and works well, with little distortion. my main use for this camera is doing longer exposures, with a 15 second max, you can get a lot of fairly cool shots with that, i often make rather trippy photos with that, and the camera works great. it takes a CF card, microdrive compatible, but really another flaw comes out when transferring pictures to a computer, with the higher image quality settings on. the camera is limited to USB 1.1, making you leave it connected to a computer for long periods of time when transferring pictures. the speed of reviewing pictures is rather slow when you have the higher image settings on. overall, this camera works well, i would use it for things that don't move. actions shots are hard to impossible, but a high resolution and many manual setting make this camera work well. i like it, though i also use other cameras.
4/18/2006 12:01:40 PM
 
Daniel C. Toxey

member since: 4/15/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great optical zoom, easy to use, great photo quality!
4/15/2006 1:27:03 PM
 
CHRISTY D. HILL

member since: 3/28/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I LIKE IT VERY MUCH. IF I HAD TO BUY IT AGAIN I WOULD.IT ZOOMS IN REAL CLOSE AND STAYS SO CLEAR.
3/28/2006 8:09:28 AM
 

First 10 of 104 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Buy PowerShot Pro 1 Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.