BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Camedia C-5000 Digital Camera


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Lane
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 34 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Monika Bawdon

member since: 9/14/2007
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
We researched like crazy and purchased this when it first came out, and I'm still using it. The C5000 is a good starter camera, I believe, and provides some decent options. Obtaining the indepth reference manual online from Olympus provides much more information for the user, such as how to decrease the amount of flash emittance, etc. I doubt I would have stumbled onto that one on my own, although I was able to catch on to some other features on the fly (as mentioned in another comment, the users guides that come with the camera are very basic). Bottom line it's gotten me some nice shots, both macro and landscape. Now I have to "upgrade" what's going on behind the camera, ie; increase my knowledge of photography itself, and I'm pleased that this camera has enough flexibility to let me experiment and learn before getting spendy with the next step of high-end camera, filters, lenses, etc etc etc.
9/17/2007 7:13:59 AM
 
Alison R. Foody
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/6/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I haven't had any problems with this camera. It suits my needs for the time being.
7/6/2006 11:29:00 AM
 
MaryPaige Huey

member since: 5/15/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera even though it has it's shortcomings. It needs more a better zoom lens and the flash is too hot. When necessary, I use my old reliable OM 1 SLR.
5/23/2006 1:09:24 PM
 
Shiro Sakamoto

member since: 5/17/2006
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
Olympus Camedia C5000 Zoom is an old digital camera and does not have as other professional digital cameras in market today. It is alos very slow to capture good immages of fast moving objects in little light environment.
5/17/2006 9:44:27 PM
 
Shiro Sakamoto

member since: 5/17/2006
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
Olympus C5000 is an old digitial camera and does not have all nice features as some of other professional cameras, but it takes shotsm but slow and can not capture fast moving objects or in litte darker envirnment.
5/17/2006 9:37:57 PM
 
shawn chamberlin

member since: 4/10/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
it was a good camera to start on, but when getting more technical with manual controls, it was harder to get the results you wanted. the "super macro" option on the camera worked amazing for a point-shoot digital camera.
4/10/2006 10:02:01 AM
 
Ana Claudia Everton

member since: 4/4/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love my camera. I am able to take really beautiful pictures. I wish I had a more powerful zoom.
4/4/2006 12:22:18 PM
 
Lauren Jones

member since: 4/2/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is my favorite of the last two years. The images are clean & sharp, and actual size is poster. I can change settings 'on the fly' or preprogram some favorites, and it comes with some standard settings available at the turn of a dial, too. It has the option for add-on lenses and flashes, as well. It's light & sturdy enough for me to carry with me in my purse everyday (and I do). It's the perfect camera for an amateur that wants professional-looking shots - I've bought others as gifts for family. :) The only thing I would change is the two- to three-second delay between shots; that can be inconvenient when trying to catch an important moment.
4/2/2006 10:57:16 AM
 
Avraam Tsam

member since: 2/2/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
GOOD, BUT NOT SO QUICK ALSO HAS ONLY x3 ZOOM
2/2/2006 2:16:37 PM
 
Joanne M. Lane

member since: 1/20/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really like this camera and it takes beautiful pictures! The lens cap fits too loosely. It is easy to learn to use. I am happy with how it allows you to have full auto or manual. I have trouble with camera shake. The camers is fairly light and I beleive a heaveir camera would help this.
1/20/2006 3:11:07 PM
 
Cody Wright

member since: 1/17/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
can take very high quality, high detailed photographs... that is if you can get the focus to co-operate with you. It can be frusterating, however it offers enough features that if one setting won't focus correctly another most likely will.
1/19/2006 10:14:47 AM
 

First 10 of 34 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.