PowerShot S500 (IXUS 500) Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

My Son
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot S500 (IXUS 500) Digital Camera

Features:


  • 5-megapixel sensor captures enough detail to create
    photo-quality 13-by-17-inch enlargements
  • Canon 3x optical zoom lens combines with 4x digital zoom for 12x
    total zoom
  • 9-point autofocus; movie mode; PictBridge compatible
  • Store images on Compact Flash Type I memory cards (32 MB card
    included)
  • Powered by rechargeable battery pack NB-1LH (included with
    charger)

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


48 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Adrienne Maldini 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2006 6:12:48 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2006 6:12:48 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2006 6:12:48 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2006 6:12:48 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2006 6:12:48 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
this camera doesnt focus on the thinks I would like it to focus on it and when it does get on the thing I want the picture comes out blurry. It can take some good pictures, but the zoom is not good it makes the picture grainy when it is taken up close. Also when you are in side it makes the picture orange. It also takes pictures slowly so by the time it takes the picture you have moved to make it blury or the object has moved. I would not suggest for people to buy this camera if they are looking for a camera. I am not satisfied with the one my parents have.
9/1/2006 6:12:48 PM
 
Linda Anderson 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 1:55:46 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 1:55:46 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 1:55:46 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 1:55:46 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 1:55:46 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Nice little camera to carry around for when I don't have my Nikon D200 with me. The zoom is not powerful enough for very serious photography. 5.0 mega pixels
6/30/2006 1:55:46 PM
 
Linda Anderson 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 1:51:06 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 1:51:06 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 1:51:06 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 1:51:06 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 1:51:06 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Takes great pictures, but the zoom is not powerful enough. It's just easy to carry around with me.
6/30/2006 1:51:06 PM
 
Karen L.  5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 4:16:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 4:16:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 4:16:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 4:16:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 4:16:40 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love it! It's small, compact, and able to take anywhere. We hike a lot and it's easy to take. The picture quality is very good and downloading the pictures is a snap.
6/20/2006 4:16:40 PM
 
Jose J. Corugedo 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2006 10:40:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2006 10:40:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2006 10:40:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2006 10:40:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2006 10:40:06 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Cmpact, great pictures, very versatile for all kinds, not quick for sport photos, nice wide angle, needs extra battery pack,
5/8/2006 10:40:06 PM
 
Sheila K. Skogen 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 7:10:58 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 7:10:58 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 7:10:58 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 7:10:58 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 7:10:58 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The only thing I don't like about this camera is action shots. It does not take action shots well. Otherwise, this is a perfect little digital camera.
4/3/2006 7:10:58 PM
 
Ghetto Yeti
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/3/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 10:40:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 10:40:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 10:40:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 10:40:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 10:40:40 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Market: Point & Click - Pocket Image Quality: Above Average Manual Controls: Average Intuitive Feel: Average Durability: Above Average Battery Life: Above Average Notes: Very compact, nice control lay-out for compact digicam, durable, included rechargable battery is nice
4/3/2006 10:40:40 AM
 
Gerald Scott 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 3:47:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 3:47:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 3:47:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 3:47:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 3:47:53 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very Dynamic!
2/27/2006 3:47:53 PM
 
Anonymous Anonymous
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/12/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 7:00:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 7:00:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 7:00:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 7:00:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 7:00:44 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great pocket camera and my candid snap camera.
2/12/2006 7:00:44 PM
 
Eric B. Scilabro 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2006 7:13:58 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2006 7:13:58 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2006 7:13:58 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2006 7:13:58 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2006 7:13:58 AM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
needs better zoom
1/16/2006 7:13:58 AM
 
Adrienne Maldini 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 5:49:58 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 5:49:58 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 5:49:58 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 5:49:58 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 5:49:58 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
it is not all that great of a camera, because it take a lot of blurry pictures. It also focusses on things you dont want it focus on. But it can also take some good pictures but i would not buy if i where thinging of buying a camera. I would get a better camera.
1/9/2006 5:49:58 PM
 
Michael D. Curtin
strikingimagery.com
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2005 5:33:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2005 5:33:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2005 5:33:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2005 5:33:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2005 5:33:02 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The main thing I like about this camera is its size: it fits in a shirt pocket, meaning I can take it anywhere. I tend to leave it in my jacket pocket, so that I (almost) always have a camera with me.
11/19/2005 5:33:02 PM
 
Olga V 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 7:01:07 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 7:01:07 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 7:01:07 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 7:01:07 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 7:01:07 PM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
This camera has many features, such as removing the yellow tint when you change the option to tungsten light, overexposing or underexposing a picture by a maximum of 2 stops, and automatic features. I usually don't use digital cameras that much, so I don't really understand all the options on there, but it's a decent camera.
10/6/2005 7:01:07 PM
 
Ted Daly 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 6:18:31 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 6:18:31 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 6:18:31 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 6:18:31 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 6:18:31 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Excellent depth of field, very good long exposures. Like most digitals, too many unnecessary and ineffective automatic features.
10/6/2005 6:18:31 PM
 
Jose Garcia 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 4:09:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 4:09:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 4:09:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 4:09:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 4:09:20 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like it is small and easy handle. I don't like it is slow
10/5/2005 4:09:20 AM
 
Xavier U. Gonzalez 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 9:11:38 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 9:11:38 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 9:11:38 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 9:11:38 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 9:11:38 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Strengths: Very easy to use. Very convenient to carry around. Great for travel and shooting on the fly. Weaknessess: Limited for creative photography.
9/1/2005 9:11:38 PM
 
Amy L. Stencler 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 3:32:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 3:32:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 3:32:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 3:32:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 3:32:22 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love the quality of the pictures and the size of the camera.
9/1/2005 3:32:22 PM
 
Ona Fast 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 9:43:16 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 9:43:16 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 9:43:16 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 9:43:16 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 9:43:16 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I am just getting used to this digital camera but I am enjoying the ability to see exactly what I am shooting on the viewing screen. I like this cameras color. It is true to life.
8/25/2005 9:43:16 AM
 
Francis  G. DC
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/28/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 11:11:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 11:11:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 11:11:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 11:11:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 11:11:38 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera. Gives me what i need.
7/28/2005 11:11:38 PM
 
Zach B. Worthington 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 10:21:44 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 10:21:44 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 10:21:44 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 10:21:44 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 10:21:44 PM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
no rapid shoot option. needs tripod for manual settings. great for the occasional poster shot.
7/17/2005 10:21:44 PM
 
Lisanne Jensen 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 10:52:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 10:52:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 10:52:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 10:52:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 10:52:34 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love the photo quality. It's so compact and easy to use, too! The videos are fun to shoot, as well.
7/14/2005 10:52:34 AM
 
Melanie D. Calvert 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 3:56:53 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 3:56:53 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 3:56:53 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 3:56:53 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 3:56:53 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my powershot S500
6/27/2005 3:56:53 AM
 
Mustafa S. Budjaja 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 12:30:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 12:30:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 12:30:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 12:30:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 12:30:00 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
it give's me what I want
6/13/2005 12:30:00 PM
 
Julia Murtha
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/16/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 1:44:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 1:44:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 1:44:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 1:44:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 1:44:37 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love the macro mode on this camera. It allows you to take shots with great detail.
5/16/2005 1:44:37 PM
 
Chloe C. Umali
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/25/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 12:32:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 12:32:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 12:32:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 12:32:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 12:32:41 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
actually, it;s not my camera. it's my uncle's. i borrow it often. what i like about the camera is it's compact size and easy to use menus. i also like it's color quality. what i don't like is that it has a poor zooming lens. the optical zoom reaches only up to 3x. the digital zoom can be as far as 12x but the image gets more blurry.
4/26/2005 12:32:41 AM
 
Cyndee Wanyonyi
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/7/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 6:39:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 6:39:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 6:39:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 6:39:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 6:39:46 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent shots for such a small camera.
4/23/2005 6:39:46 PM
 
Greg Wagoner 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 7:21:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 7:21:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 7:21:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 7:21:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 7:21:20 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I've just had this camera 2 weeks, but I'm still learning. I'm amazed at the quality of the photos taken at the default autofocus. I also like the ability to use manual settings. The only thing I don't like about this camera is that it saves only in jpg format, not raw.
4/11/2005 7:21:20 PM
 
Braden Berg 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2005 1:32:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2005 1:32:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2005 1:32:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2005 1:32:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2005 1:32:43 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great if all you need is a simple point and shoot.
4/9/2005 1:32:43 PM
 
Velle Yeo 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 3:09:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 3:09:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 3:09:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 3:09:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 3:09:09 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
quiet, good resolution and colour. User friendly.
4/7/2005 3:09:09 AM
 
Scott A. Greer 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 8:20:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 8:20:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 8:20:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 8:20:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 8:20:59 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is (in my ever so humble opinion) the greatest (small) camera on the planet. The colors that come from this camera are incredible and my wife has been using it for some time now and I swear she doesn't need an SLR.
4/5/2005 8:20:59 PM
 
Joline Frazier
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/1/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2005 3:21:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2005 3:21:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2005 3:21:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2005 3:21:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2005 3:21:14 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I needed a good "pocket camera" for the times when a tripod just won't do...i.e in my kayak! I am very happy with the performance of this little gem. At 5 megapixels, it gives me great results.
3/31/2005 3:21:14 AM
 
Cherie Moncada 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2005 5:17:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2005 5:17:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2005 5:17:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2005 5:17:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2005 5:17:48 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera, easy to use, very convenient.
3/30/2005 5:17:48 PM
 
Rick M. Staines
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/3/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 7:50:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 7:50:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 7:50:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 7:50:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 7:50:49 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great point and shoot. I had an s200 and upgraded. Carry it everywhere, good quality pictures and easy to use.
3/5/2005 7:50:49 AM
 
Rick M. Staines
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/3/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 7:47:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 7:47:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 7:47:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 7:47:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 7:47:37 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my canon s500, great point and shoot and god quality shots. Although not slim, it's rugged and small enough to carry around all the time.
3/3/2005 7:47:37 PM
 
Alex Whitehead 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 11:28:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 11:28:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 11:28:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 11:28:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 11:28:29 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
perfect, lightweight, quality.
3/3/2005 11:28:29 AM
 
Edie Stephens
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/22/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2005 3:25:32 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2005 3:25:32 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2005 3:25:32 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2005 3:25:32 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2005 3:25:32 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I'm a beginner, so I have no benchmark for comparison. I'm still in the point and shoot auto mode. I have found this camera easy to use right out of the box and am looking forward to learning how to use all of the features.
2/22/2005 3:25:32 PM
 
Jean JP Galea 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2005 1:17:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2005 1:17:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2005 1:17:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2005 1:17:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2005 1:17:08 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Compact, sturdy, great quality
2/21/2005 1:17:08 AM
 
Corey G. Tincher 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 8:27:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 8:27:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 8:27:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 8:27:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 8:27:33 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my first camera, and my first plunge into photography and I am quite happy.
2/15/2005 8:27:33 PM
 
Ari WIDODO 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2005 1:41:59 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2005 1:41:59 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2005 1:41:59 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2005 1:41:59 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2005 1:41:59 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good ultra compact camera, good quality photo, noise at ISO 200 above, needs image stabilizer if capture photo when moving, battery life not too long
1/30/2005 1:41:59 AM
 
Thomas F. Andersen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/25/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2004 6:41:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2004 6:41:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2004 6:41:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2004 6:41:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2004 6:41:52 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
As a compact digtial camera that fits in your breast pocket this one is in a class of its own while at the same allowing for up to 5MP pictures. Not bad for such a small camera!
10/23/2004 6:41:52 AM
 
Bridgette B
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/25/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2004 4:38:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2004 4:38:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2004 4:38:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2004 4:38:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2004 4:38:57 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I cant say enough great things about this camera. The colors captured by this camera cannot be matched!!!!
10/13/2004 4:38:57 PM
 
Sarah Griffiths 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 3:14:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 3:14:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 3:14:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 3:14:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 3:14:17 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent Camera!
9/13/2004 3:14:17 PM
 
Walter Simmons 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2004 12:39:13 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2004 12:39:13 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2004 12:39:13 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2004 12:39:13 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2004 12:39:13 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Excellent travel camera. Be sure to get the leather case PSC-50, goes right on your belt and you don't even know it is there. 5 MP, good flash range, controls should be familiar to Canon users.
8/18/2004 12:39:13 PM
 
Mary B. McGrath
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/11/2000
MaryMcGrathPhotography.com
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2004 4:31:26 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2004 4:31:26 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2004 4:31:26 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2004 4:31:26 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2004 4:31:26 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera is ideal for point and shoot situations, when size, weight and convenience are imperative. The quality of the photos is excellent, although I will probably graduate to a Canon Digital SLR in the near future so I can incorporate my other lenses.
8/7/2004 4:31:26 PM
 
John Setzler 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2004 10:55:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2004 10:55:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2004 10:55:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2004 10:55:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2004 10:55:52 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a great 5mp point and shoot digital camera. Its compact size and high resolution makes it a perfect companion to my other gear.
7/11/2004 10:55:52 AM
 
Summer L. Schoenhals 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2004 7:04:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2004 7:04:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2004 7:04:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2004 7:04:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2004 7:04:10 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This was our replacement from insurance when our other was damaged. So far it is ok.
6/2/2004 7:04:10 PM
 
Menno Olgers 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2004 10:35:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2004 10:35:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2004 10:35:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2004 10:35:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2004 10:35:32 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great camera, sharp shots. Nothing i don't like so far. I advise everybody to buy it.
5/16/2004 10:35:32 AM
 
June R. Cooper 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 11:21:19 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 11:21:19 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 11:21:19 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 11:21:19 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 11:21:19 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I am enjoying it..........
3/31/2004 11:21:19 AM
 

48 Reviews  

Buy PowerShot S500 (IXUS 500) Digital Camera from Amazon.com