BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


PowerShot S500 (IXUS 500) Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

My Son
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot S500 (IXUS 500) Digital Camera

Features:


  • 5-megapixel sensor captures enough detail to create
    photo-quality 13-by-17-inch enlargements
  • Canon 3x optical zoom lens combines with 4x digital zoom for 12x
    total zoom
  • 9-point autofocus; movie mode; PictBridge compatible
  • Store images on Compact Flash Type I memory cards (32 MB card
    included)
  • Powered by rechargeable battery pack NB-1LH (included with
    charger)

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 48 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Adrienne Maldini

member since: 9/30/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
this camera doesnt focus on the thinks I would like it to focus on it and when it does get on the thing I want the picture comes out blurry. It can take some good pictures, but the zoom is not good it makes the picture grainy when it is taken up close. Also when you are in side it makes the picture orange. It also takes pictures slowly so by the time it takes the picture you have moved to make it blury or the object has moved. I would not suggest for people to buy this camera if they are looking for a camera. I am not satisfied with the one my parents have.
9/1/2006 6:12:48 PM
 
Linda Anderson

member since: 1/8/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Nice little camera to carry around for when I don't have my Nikon D200 with me. The zoom is not powerful enough for very serious photography. 5.0 mega pixels
6/30/2006 1:55:46 PM
 
Linda Anderson

member since: 1/8/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Takes great pictures, but the zoom is not powerful enough. It's just easy to carry around with me.
6/30/2006 1:51:06 PM
 
Karen L. 

member since: 6/20/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love it! It's small, compact, and able to take anywhere. We hike a lot and it's easy to take. The picture quality is very good and downloading the pictures is a snap.
6/20/2006 4:16:40 PM
 
Jose J. Corugedo

member since: 2/25/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Cmpact, great pictures, very versatile for all kinds, not quick for sport photos, nice wide angle, needs extra battery pack,
5/8/2006 10:40:06 PM
 
Sheila K. Skogen

member since: 3/30/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The only thing I don't like about this camera is action shots. It does not take action shots well. Otherwise, this is a perfect little digital camera.
4/3/2006 7:10:58 PM
 
Ghetto Yeti
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/3/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Market: Point & Click - Pocket Image Quality: Above Average Manual Controls: Average Intuitive Feel: Average Durability: Above Average Battery Life: Above Average Notes: Very compact, nice control lay-out for compact digicam, durable, included rechargable battery is nice
4/3/2006 10:40:40 AM
 
Gerald Scott

member since: 2/27/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very Dynamic!
2/27/2006 3:47:53 PM
 
Anonymous Anonymous
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/12/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great pocket camera and my candid snap camera.
2/12/2006 7:00:44 PM
 
Eric B. Scilabro

member since: 1/16/2006
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
needs better zoom
1/16/2006 7:13:58 AM
 
Adrienne Maldini

member since: 9/30/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
it is not all that great of a camera, because it take a lot of blurry pictures. It also focusses on things you dont want it focus on. But it can also take some good pictures but i would not buy if i where thinging of buying a camera. I would get a better camera.
1/9/2006 5:49:58 PM
 

First 10 of 48 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Buy PowerShot S500 (IXUS 500) Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.