Medium Format Camera


Miscellaneous

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Other Film Cameras : Medium Format

00 - title page -...
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 15 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Windle Barnes 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 4:27:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 4:27:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 4:27:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 4:27:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 4:27:50 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great medium format pics. You really have to read the old manuals and get used to the camera to achieve success. The camera is bulky, completely manual and very nostalgic. It gives photos like you see in your grandparents photo albums. It is a winner. The bellows are like new and I even got the manual and box with it. Less than $20 for a piece of nostalgia.
4/20/2006 4:27:50 AM
 
Andrew Laverghetta
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/13/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2006 12:47:17 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2006 12:47:17 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2006 12:47:17 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2006 12:47:17 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2006 12:47:17 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
So far it's worked fine mechanically and the black and white negatives I've gotten look well exposed with some good detail. I have yet to make a print from the negatives since I got the camera only a few days ago. I'll comment on the sharpness and quality once I make a print this weekend. Doesn't have very many choices for shutter speeds and apertures. Being used to an electronic 35mm SLR, it's sometimes hard to choose which setting would be the best for developing and printing.
2/23/2006 12:47:17 AM
 
Mariana Nikolova 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 2:44:49 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 2:44:49 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 2:44:49 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 2:44:49 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 2:44:49 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Medium format (6x6), fully manual SLR. Lenses by Carl Zeiss Jena
2/14/2006 2:44:49 AM
 
George Anderson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 2:06:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 2:06:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 2:06:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 2:06:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 2:06:06 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have several old rollfilm cameras, among them a Hapo 66e rangefinder 6x6 folder from around 1952. Great camera, extremely compact and weighs about a pound. Has a fairly unique frame counter for its time, no need to use the red film window. Why get one? Well, it takes photos that put any 35mm or digital camera to shame.
1/30/2006 2:06:06 PM
 
Gary Lange
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/20/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2005 9:32:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2005 9:32:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2005 9:32:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2005 9:32:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2005 9:32:15 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like my Yashica D. Picked it up from Ebay with 7 different filters, a Minolta light meter, a flash, the wide angle and telephoto lens, and the close up adapters, and a hard case for $300. Not a bad deal. The BetterPhoto.com listing has a Yashica D 35mm camera. I believe this to be an erroneous listing. Some of the Yashicas that came out had a 35mm adapter with it but not the "D" model. It is a 120 film size medium format camera that is fully manual from advancing the film to cocking the shutter. Forces one to really focus on composition.It renders some very good images. I don't like the fact that it doesn't have a prism to get the image correct for viewing but other than that, it's great. No batteries to change, only the film. Say what you want about digital, but no digital camera has caught up with the resolution of medium format yet.
10/26/2005 9:32:15 AM
 
Sara Randall  Almirall
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/30/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 4:36:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 4:36:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 4:36:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 4:36:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 4:36:55 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Medium Format camera with a bit of a zoom lens. Made in the 1920s and works perfectly.
10/3/2005 4:36:55 PM
 
Michael Kurtz 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 8:14:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 8:14:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 8:14:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 8:14:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 8:14:30 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera was made back in the 60's, but still works beautifully today. I picked it up for about $40 and I have some of my best pictures taken with it. I love it just as much as my Canon Rebel XT.
9/6/2005 8:14:30 PM
 
John E. Thomas
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/13/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 8:26:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 8:26:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 8:26:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 8:26:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 8:26:34 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great little camera. Has a metering system like the Canon AE-1, shutter priority. Small and easy to use.
8/8/2005 8:26:34 AM
 
RoMilNYC (Roman M.) 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2005 4:47:10 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2005 4:47:10 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2005 4:47:10 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2005 4:47:10 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2005 4:47:10 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Lacks any kind of metering, lacks interchangeble lenses, very dim viewfinder. A positive feature that it is a medium format camera, very cheap with full control over exposure.
5/18/2005 4:47:10 PM
 
Phillip M. Paulk 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2005 5:15:24 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2005 5:15:24 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2005 5:15:24 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2005 5:15:24 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2005 5:15:24 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Older model medium format camera. I truly enjoy its 6x6 square neg. It has no light meter built in and is quite large. I would recomend this camera as an affordable means to enter the medium format arena without costing a mint. I got mine for 150.00, complete with an 80mm 2.8 cz lens.
1/4/2005 5:15:24 PM
 
Sam J. Saladino 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 4:17:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 4:17:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 4:17:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 4:17:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 4:17:02 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I've just started using it, but based on first impressions this camera holds possibilities of being a good camera. Controls and adjustments are straight forward as it's a full manual camera. The square format of this Medium Format TLR will take some getting use to, but I was pleasantly surprised by the picture quality of this sub $50 camera.
6/9/2004 4:17:02 PM
 

First 10 of 15 Reviews  (see all user reviews)