BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


EOS Elan II E (EOS 50E; EOS 55) 35mm SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Alzheimer's d...
View photos created with this camera

The EOS Elan II E (EOS 50E; EOS 55) 35mm SLR Camera

The EOS Elan II E is very similar to the EOS Elan II - the only major difference is that it features eye-controlled focus. This allows the user to control the point of focus by looking at specific parts of the image; an on-board sensor follows eye movement and the lens automatically changes focus as the eye moves to points within the frame.

Features:


  • 35mm SLR camera with built-in flash
  • Distinctive aluminum styling
  • 28-80mm f3.5-f5.6 V USM lens included
  • Choice of 10 exposure modes
  • Eye-controlled focus system

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 75 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Martin Simmons

member since: 7/7/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Great beginers slr its my cheap holiday camera...second hand prices are so low it doesn't matter if i break it lose it or have it stolen
7/7/2006 2:19:04 PM
 
Crystal L. Craig
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/30/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Film camera, very nice images, easy to use, lightweight, all the bells and whistles with ability to go completely manual
6/30/2006 2:11:07 PM
 
Marcelo Gomes da Silva

member since: 6/19/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good, simple,feels good in hand. My camera for 35mm
6/30/2006 1:11:24 PM
 
Robert Wilson

member since: 5/11/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
We have 3 cameras; our first was a Canon film camera, next came the Nikon D70s digital and the most recent purchase last week is the Nikon D200 digital....its a bit intimidating, but we are getting the hang of it and we feel we will enjoy this camera for years to come.
6/21/2006 7:12:45 PM
 
Edin Salijevic
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/29/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great Camera
5/2/2006 10:07:13 AM
 
Mary G. Scafaro
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/8/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
i LoVe this camera, it is very fast for my needs. the only thing i don't like about is the fact that i don't have enough time to actually play with it yet!!
4/14/2006 7:25:39 PM
 
Timothy S. Rohman
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/24/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like this camera. I bought it in Okinawa, Japan. It has alot of capabilities that I am still not real familiar with. I love that it has the panoramic feature on it. I am not real happy with the lens that I currently have on the camera. Takes good pictures most of the time, but I think the lense has something to do with that, or my inabilities.
2/24/2006 9:34:46 PM
 
William  C. Lee

member since: 12/30/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love this camera, performs well with no hesitation. I do however consider a digital canon someday. For now all is well with this one!
12/30/2005 9:04:02 AM
 
Melissa Odom

member since: 11/30/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is actually the original EOS Elan. I was able to receive one factory dircect back in 1990 due to working in a camera shop. It has been a wonderful camera, a tank but now that I shoot with my D20 I hardly ever pick it up. I'm so hooked on digital.
12/28/2005 6:42:26 PM
 
DJ Badger

member since: 8/16/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I started taking photos with the Olympus OM-10. The optics were wonderful with that camera. I swithced to a more electronic model of the Canon. The optics were not there. I chose the Elan 2 E because of the advanced electronics and the eye controlled focus. I really love my camera but I rated it a 3 due to the electronics I desired. I don't take it into the weather and have lost some interesting shots. The optics are great. I have lots of choices on which modes to shoot but still favor an old manual variety.
11/9/2005 11:16:33 AM
 
Dick W. Powell

member since: 10/31/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
comfortable to handle, compatible with canon and non canon lenses.
10/31/2005 8:15:53 AM
 

First 10 of 75 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Buy EOS Elan II E (EOS 50E; EOS 55) 35mm SLR Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.