BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


D70 Digital SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras

Today's Lunch
View photos created with this camera

The D70 Digital SLR Camera

Features:


  • 6.1-megapixel resolution for 3008 x 2000-pixel images and
    photo-quality poster-plus sized enlargements
  • Includes Nikon's 18-70mm Nikkor lens created for this camera's
    DX format CCD
  • 1.8-inch LCD screen; built-in pop-up flash; shoot JPEG, TIFF, or
    RAW
  • Store images on CompactFlash type I/II memory cards; Microdrive
    compatible; no memory card included
  • Powered by a rechargeable lithium-ion battery pack (included
    with charger); connects via USB 1.1

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 1335 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
George R. Dow II

member since: 4/15/2008
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
I have recently lost my treasured nikon f4 and several lenses. and am considering digital. BUTT i'm not convinsed of the image quality, it seems much time must be invested on adobe manipulation to render an image that is close to film.I have 56 years experiance, am a certified medical imager, and have shot for local F.F.A. and 4 H kids for years, plus agricultual magazines for fair stock and breeding animals.I,m now using my my Linhof technocardan (5x5) beautiful images but film cost are almost prohibitive.Is the D70 accepable for my needs? Thank You .
4/20/2008 10:51:24 PM
 
George R. Dow II

member since: 4/15/2008
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
I have recently lost my treasured nikon f4 and several lenses. and am considering digital. BUTT i'm not convinsed of the image quality, it seems much time must be invested on adobe manipulation to render an image that is close to film.I have 56 years experiance, am a certified medical imager, and have shot for local F.F.A. and 4 H kids for years, plus agricultual magazines for fair stock and breeding animals.I,m now using my my Linhof technocardan (5x5) beautiful images but film cost are almost prohibitive.Os the D70 accepable for my needs? Thank You .
4/20/2008 10:50:24 PM
 
Biji A. Varghese

member since: 2/8/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
itz a really worth for the money.anybody can operated it easily.i have taken some good photographs with this one and I am very satisfied with this camera.
2/8/2008 4:07:51 PM
 
Carl Pfranger

member since: 9/26/2007
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love the camera. I wanted to get a digital SLR after using my Nikon N65. I looked at the D40 and did not like the camera looked at the D80 and did not like the price. So, I went on eBay and got a D70 for 399.
9/26/2007 2:00:57 PM
 
Tim G. Stout
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/8/2007
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I actually went to purchase a D100 and came home with the D70. The firmware was better, as well as a couple of features. It does lack in a couple of areas though that drive me crazy. No cable release and no PC Synch without an adapter. Overall I love the camera, but wish I would have waited for the D70s. I am getting ready to add a second body and it will probably be a D200, even though it is a bit on the heavy side.
9/17/2007 12:57:46 PM
 
Lea J. Cook
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/15/2007
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I've shot Canon 35mm SLR's for over 20 years, brought up in a photographic family and have always been pleased with film results. I have moved to digital in the past 6 years, starting out with Sony, moving to Mavica D400 with good to better results. Last year I received my Nikon D70 as a birthday present and boy am I sold! Had to upgrade all my photo equipment to Nikon but will not look back with any remorse. I am very impressed with the results I have gotten. Although only 6.1 mega pix I find this camera to be able to handle anything thrown at it. Scenic, portraits, experimental and most of all low light. I do a lot of concert photography and this camera pumps it out without skipping a beat. I am currently thinking about getting either the D200 or D2x in addition to this camera only due to needing the larger format.
Happy in Seattle, Hawaii or anywhere in between. Great Camera!
2/15/2007 5:05:57 PM
 
Rajesh Tavakari

member since: 12/25/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
After owning couple of SLR cameras, I switched to DSLR, I like D80 and love to experiment with it. Great photos and easy to use.
12/25/2006 7:24:42 AM
 
Roy A. Meeks
Contact Roy
Roy's Gallery

member since: 10/21/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I shoot 30-45 weddings a year with two nikon D70's and I really love them. great camera for the money
11/22/2006 11:03:18 AM
 
Richard L. Rondot

member since: 10/16/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
i love this camera..im thinking about buying it so I dont have to use my N65 and stop wasting money on film and developing.
10/30/2006 5:15:38 AM
 
Stage4det Stage4fotografik

member since: 10/5/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have devoted well over 30 years as a photographer,couldn,t wait till the day that I could afford a nikon Ftn back then the primo of cameras in 35mm The D-70 never let me down, only downside about all digital cameras is that things can go wrong and unlike mechanical cameras what ever is wrong is not easily detected, but other than that It is a great piece of equiptment.
10/6/2006 1:01:01 PM
 
Mike Rossi

member since: 8/4/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
When I finally went from film to digital, I looked at and tried out several cameras and the D-70 was the top choice. Between the many features it offers, the simplicity of use,and the versatility of this camera, it would be very hard to beat for the money. Many,more expensive outfits, cannot compare to the D-70. I don't us anything else!
8/6/2006 11:48:28 AM
 

First 10 of 1335 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Buy D70 Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.