*ist 35mm SLR Camera


Pentax

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Primary Colours
View photos created with this camera

The *ist 35mm SLR Camera

Features:


  • World's smallest 35mm autofocus SLR camera (March 2003)
  • Multi-mode exposure system; 16-segment multi-pattern metering
    system
  • 11-point autofocus system; 1/4000-second high-speed shutter
  • Large LCD panel with multi-data LCD viewfinder indicator
  • Retractable auto pop-up flash

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 11 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Emanuele Schembri
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/3/2007
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2007 12:57:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2007 12:57:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2007 12:57:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2007 12:57:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2007 12:57:32 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very compact, light and easy to use camera, with a satisfactory functions range and enough informations both on the viewfinder and the display. Ideal for a non professional use.
Only defect is the impossibility to manage the former non-auto lenses (K mount).
1/4/2007 12:57:32 AM
 
channy bess
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/31/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 8:52:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 8:52:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 8:52:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 8:52:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 8:52:52 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love everything about this camera, simple to use, and it is great for all picture taking esp. with landscapes and portraits.
1/31/2006 8:52:52 PM
 
Elaine  I. Ward
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/9/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 9:42:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 9:42:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 9:42:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 9:42:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 9:42:37 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is my first "real" camera, I've had it for a year now. I really like it. It's good for a beginner in my opinion yet (to me) it seems like as my skills and knowledge increase I don't have to worry about upgrading my camera.
1/5/2006 9:42:37 PM
 
Arthur K. Tripp 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 9:22:07 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 9:22:07 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 9:22:07 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 9:22:07 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 9:22:07 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
A very good beginner's camera. I would suggest this to beginners, such as Christine Clark.
11/3/2005 9:22:07 AM
 
Sean E.  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 6:08:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 6:08:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 6:08:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 6:08:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 6:08:32 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The *ist was my very first camera (now I'm moving onto more professional film cameras), so I don't have any other brand cameras to compare it to. But it's excellent features really helped me get the hang of photography, and now I'm ready to take on manual cameras. Pentax deserves more recognition for its wonderful cameras
1/29/2005 6:08:32 AM
 
Sean E.  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 6:06:31 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 6:06:31 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 6:06:31 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 6:06:31 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 6:06:31 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The *ist was my very first camera (now I'm moving onto more professional film cameras), so I don't have any other brand cameras to compare it to. But it's excellent features really helped me get the hang of photography, and now I'm ready to take on manual cameras. Pentax deserves more recognition for its wonderful cameras
1/29/2005 6:06:31 AM
 
Tina M. Andres 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2005 5:04:32 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2005 5:04:32 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2005 5:04:32 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2005 5:04:32 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2005 5:04:32 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's all manual, so it takes some getting use to.
1/21/2005 5:04:32 PM
 
Sandra S. Beyers 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2004 1:09:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2004 1:09:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2004 1:09:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2004 1:09:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2004 1:09:25 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I purchased the Pentax *ist only a few months ago and am still familiarizing myself with this camera, but so far it is a wonderful camera. I love it. I have used a K1000 SE for 5 years and will never give it up, but the *ist has proven Pentax strong once again. Pentax prides itself on the size and weight of this camera, rightfully so, but sometimes when I am in a hurry and trying to adjust the shutter speed or aperture, the size can be a slight downfall. But that is it. Otherwise, it's a wonderful camera.
10/4/2004 1:09:25 PM
 
Kathleen Y. Parr 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2004 11:19:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2004 11:19:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2004 11:19:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2004 11:19:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2004 11:19:38 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my very first camera,I used it alot for photo shoots,the photos are clean and life like. I loved they way you can double expose the settings to make out of the world pictures. I like how you can chage the len sizes and that the camera has a hot shot. The only I can complain about this camera is that it is heavy and having to buy film. Number One in my book.
7/19/2004 11:19:38 AM
 
Patrick Plante 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 4:47:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 4:47:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 4:47:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 4:47:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 4:47:10 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I find the Pentax *ist 35mm slr very usefulll in all aspects of photography because of its many options and personalised settings. This is not quite a "professional camera, but it will suit the needs of many from the beginner(with it's aout modes) to the more demanding photographer.
3/28/2004 4:47:10 PM
 
Joy A. Connelly 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2004 9:32:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2004 9:32:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2004 9:32:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2004 9:32:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2004 9:32:01 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
TTL autofocus, auto-exposure multi-mode 35mm SLR with built-in retractable TTL auto flash (RTF).
3/18/2004 9:32:01 AM
 

First 10 of 11 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy *ist 35mm SLR Camera from Amazon.com