BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


DCS Pro SLR/n Digital SLR Camera


Kodak

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

Hollow
View photos created with this camera

The DCS Pro SLR/n Digital SLR Camera

Features:

  • 13.7 megapixel (effective)
  • RGB-filtered CMOS sensor
  • ISO of 160 - 1600, in 1/3-EV steps


Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


10 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Ellen S. LeRoy

member since: 1/27/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Easy to use, great software, great resolution and full frame sensor. Don't like noise and grain on low ISOs.
1/27/2006 7:24:29 AM
 
Kelly D. Wallace

member since: 8/18/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It gives, clear, good pictures.
8/18/2005 12:12:26 PM
 
Paul Rohal
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/13/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like the low ISO capability. I like it dynamic range. I like Full Frame. I think it's weaknesses are: shadows must be carefully exposed or they become noisey. ISO above 400 is too noisey.
8/13/2005 6:39:03 PM
 
Jack Riggs
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/27/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Camera has a fair amount of noise in black areas
3/27/2005 5:23:40 PM
 
Mark Groves

member since: 5/28/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I think that I couldn't ask for a better camera. It has performed every thing I have asked.
11/19/2004 10:36:01 PM
 
Kittie R. Deemer

member since: 10/5/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my Kodak. I was on a 6-8 month cycle of upgrading as my skill set, and technology improved. I'm now able to log into the Kodak website and download upgrades to my camera and the file software from the Kodak site. The customer support absolutely rocks, and they are located in the USA. The camera fits my hand. When I first put it on, I just relaxed. As a wedding and portrait photographer, these cameras get a workout. They are pretty tough. I feel is worth every cent I paid.
10/10/2004 3:40:03 PM
 
Carolina K. Smith
CarolinaSmith.com

member since: 3/28/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I can't give a proper review, as I have only had this for a week, and this is my 1st digital SLR. Having said that, I am having great fun, and it is nice to recapture a VERY WIDE view, as this is a full frame sensor, and I bought the Sigma 12-24mm zoom (along with the Nikon 80-400mm VR lens). I also like the Photo Desk software, and there seems to be very helpful forums for this camera (dpreview.com and Ron Gailbraith's forum). Also, the customer service folks have been friendly. Good support was an important factor in my decision to spend the bucks for this 13.8 MP one. I look forward to getting to know the capabilities of this camera.
10/9/2004 7:11:50 PM
 
Tommy Luca
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/9/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
For pros and advanced amateurs, the 14-megapixel DCS Pro SLR/n shines with a resolution 2 times greater than most SLR cameras on the market today - close in resolution to a medium format film camera. The greatest benefit is more detail, especially when shooting events, group portraits or weddings. Maximum print size is a somewhat pressed issue used to compare cameras with different megapixel ratings. The SLR/n, it's safe to say, can produce quality enlargements measured by the foot rather than the inch." Kodak has made significant strides with the SLR/n. The SLR/n delivers pictures with beautiful, true-to-life color and remarkable detail." The image quality and key features made Kodak DCS Pro SLR/n the must-buy professional digital camera in the market today." It's the camera of choice for Portrait, event, commercial and wedding photographers or for anyone who wants to show off some enormous excellent quality family album shots.
10/9/2004 4:41:36 PM
 
Charles Haire

member since: 4/16/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I agree with Bob; it's one of the best that has come down the pike. I hope that Kodak can reduce the price so more photographers can afford and enjoy this fine digital camera.
4/20/2004 9:30:52 PM
 
Bob Whorton

member since: 3/21/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is certainly the best quality image producing digital camera yet conceived. Ease of use and access to the Nikon range of lenses make it unbeatable. Great updatable software and firmware upgrades - Free.
3/23/2004 1:36:18 AM
 

10 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.