SB-28 Speedlight Flash


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Accessories : Flashes

The SB-28 Speedlight Flash

  • Weight: 11.8 ounces
  • Size: 2.7" x 5" x 3.6"
  • Provides TTL Auto flash control on all Nikon AF SLR cameras


2 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Norman Fortin 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2004 10:00:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2004 10:00:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2004 10:00:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2004 10:00:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2004 10:00:49 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very Powerful flash.Extremely versital with not only the tilt feature, but also swivels. Controls are somewhat confusing till you learn what buttons to push for each feature.Flash head will automatically zoom with certain cameras, or it can be manually set for 4 different focal lengths. Also contains a built into the flash head is a diffuser as well as a white plastic bounce card.Power of the flash is variable, based on all information delivered by the camera, or manually entered, such as ISO, F-Stop, Shutter Speed, Distance and focal lenght, or can be maually set to stay at one output setting. Refresh rate is somewhat slow, especially when using a drive motor or taking several shots within a very small time span. An external battery pack is suggested in these instances when quick refreshes are needed. For the Serious amatuer , consider the NIKON SD-8 or SD-8a battery pack or you can go all out and get one of several different styles made by quantum battery.

Please be warned, there is a great learning curve to this flash, mostly due to the power output that you may not be used too. You can very easily overexpose till you get use to using it properly. This is totally different than the one that may be built in on your camera, or the small flash units that you can buy for $30.00 or less.
So Practice Before Taking Any Serious Photos With This Unit.

Overall, I have had some very good experiences with this flash, and have been very pleased with the results.

I should also mention that I use this as my primary flash unit on the following cameras:
Nikon F
Nikon FG
Nikon N50
Mamiya M645J

8/1/2004 10:00:49 PM
 
Idalene B. Robertson 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2002 10:52:27 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2002 10:52:27 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2002 10:52:27 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2002 10:52:27 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2002 10:52:27 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I would like to turn perfessional. I love doing photos. I just don't have enought experience doing this and i'm in desperate need of help. is there anyway of doing this in payments
10/20/2002 10:52:27 PM
 

2 Reviews