Ricoh XR-p 35mm SLR Camera


Ricoh

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

Roxanne Turtle
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


6 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Jake Lester 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2008 9:40:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2008 9:40:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2008 9:40:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2008 9:40:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2008 9:40:54 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a fantastic camera that takes all Pentax K-mount lenses and compatibles. It is so sophisticated that it even have modes for shooting images from television at two different scan rates (NTSC and PAL). I find the exposure to be superb. One caveat only: The foam light seals in the camera are made from a low-grade material that has normally deteriorated. I bought one, with winder, for $26 and replaced the foam myself (strips cut from $2 self-adhesive foamies sold at Michaels).

One weakness is that the camera, with all its features, does not have a depth-of-field preview.

1/5/2008 9:40:54 AM
 
Tom R. Walker
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/7/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 5:52:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 5:52:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 5:52:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 5:52:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 5:52:33 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Fantastic camera, 3 program modes, aperture priority, manual, TV mode for shooting shots of a CRT, DOF, multi exposure button, AE lock, built in intervalometer, 2 speed self timer that also has a position to allow it to be used as a left handed shutter release
1/9/2006 5:52:33 PM
 
Megan Steffen 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2005 12:47:17 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2005 12:47:17 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2005 12:47:17 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2005 12:47:17 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2005 12:47:17 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
i think this is the one i have... functional, simple, manual 35mm camera. a little heavy for me.
1/6/2005 12:47:17 PM
 
Dominic A. Yount 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 9:22:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 9:22:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 9:22:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 9:22:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 9:22:26 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
great camera not alot of lenses
10/7/2004 9:22:26 PM
 
Catrina Rioux 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2004 10:37:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2004 10:37:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2004 10:37:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2004 10:37:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2004 10:37:55 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
When I bought this camera I wanted something that was fully manual. I bought it back in 1997 so now I want more of an automatic camera. It still works great though.
6/20/2004 10:37:55 PM
 
Tom Walker 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 8:57:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 8:57:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 8:57:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 8:57:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 8:57:23 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Very well built, 3 program modes: aperture weighted for depth of field, shutter weighted for stop action, and normal. Also has aperture priority AE and manual. Speeds from 1/2000 to 24 sec. Also has multi eposure feature. With winder can be set to take timed exposures at different intervals.
3/20/2004 8:57:23 AM
 

6 Reviews