EF 70-200mm f/4.0 L USM Lens


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Lenses : Zoom Lenses

The EF 70-200mm f/4.0 L USM Lens

Features:

  • Focus Drive: Ultrasonic
  • Groups/Elemens: 13/16
  • Angle of View: 34 - 12
  • Minimum Focus: 3.9 ft.
  • Minimum Aperture: f/32
  • Filter (diameter): 67mm
  • Length: 6.8"
  • Weight: 1.56 lbs.
  • Includes Canon 1 year USA warranty


6 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Bunny Snow
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/16/2004
Contact Bunny
Bunny's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2008 7:12:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2008 7:12:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2008 7:12:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2008 7:12:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2008 7:12:46 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I always use a tripod because at age 65, I'm not as strong as I was once. But, also, I shoot when the light is low and as light as this lens is, it's too heavy to eliminate all camera movement when the light is low.

I increase the sharpness of my images by using the mirror lock custom function and a remote control while shooting on a a sturdy tripod, which gives this lens the best it can offer me. The only thing needed now are sharper eyes. :-)

2/13/2008 7:12:46 PM
 
Bridgette B
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/25/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2007 11:45:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2007 11:45:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2007 11:45:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2007 11:45:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2007 11:45:53 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Very sharp,..light weight!! Well worth the money!
10/24/2007 11:45:53 AM
 
Michael  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 6:20:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 6:20:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 6:20:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 6:20:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 6:20:16 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is an excellent, lightweight telephoto lens that takes crisp, sharp pictures. Why not a perfect "5?" It doesn't have IS, so unless you're using a tripod, pictures can be blurry. At my price point, however, IS wasn't an option at the time. If price is less of a problem for you, spring for the IS...you'll be happy you did.
12/6/2006 6:20:16 PM
 
Tim R. Stratton 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2006 12:50:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2006 12:50:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2006 12:50:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2006 12:50:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2006 12:50:32 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is an excellent L series lens. Light weight is this babies strong point. Image quality.. well it's an L so goes without saying it's great.

However, I'd trade mine in (and likely will) for the 2.8 IS. Yes, that's about 4x the cost but having 2.8 and IS is worth it.

For a sub-$1000 L series Lens, this is the best, infact its top 5 for Lenses under $1000 (canadian) period.

If price is no object, go for the new F4 IS or F2.8 IS (skip the non-IS, IS is that good).

9/16/2006 12:50:32 PM
 
Brian J. Mauritzen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/6/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 10:40:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 10:40:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 10:40:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 10:40:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 10:40:51 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It is a perfect lens. Very sharp and very fast.
4/4/2005 10:40:51 AM
 
Donna R. Moratelli
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/23/2000
Contact Donna
Donna's Gallery
DonnaraePhotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2002 4:27:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2002 4:27:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2002 4:27:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2002 4:27:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2002 4:27:28 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my favorite lens... It is SUPER-SHARP, light-weight, quiet and very fast. I carry it with me at all times! I think that the quality is equal to any prime lens. I give it a 10!
8/26/2002 4:27:28 PM
 

6 Reviews