BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Dimage Z2 Digital Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Twins E-1
View photos created with this camera

The Dimage Z2 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 4-megapixel sensor captures enough detail to create
    photo-quality 11-by-15-inch enlargements
  • GT 10x optical lens system combines with 4x digital zoom for 40x
    total zoom
  • TV-quality movie recording; 1.2-inch super macro mode;
    1.8-second start-up time
  • Store images on Secure Digital (SD) memory cards
  • Powered by AA-size batteries

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


74 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Debbie Scheunemann
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/6/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera. I've owned a couple of digital cameras and this is the best so far. The only thing I think could be improved with this camera is the low light features. Low light pics tend to be grainy, but most of my photos are taken in the daylight, so it's not that big of a deal to me.
7/6/2006 9:51:13 PM
 
Wes Phillips

member since: 6/26/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
The Minolta Z2 is a versatile digital point and shoot camera which features 10x optical zoom, extremely close up focusing abilities and 4.0 megapixels. I would recommend this camera to beginners because of its excellent auto focus mode and detailed manual mode. My only dislike about the camera is its tiny LCD scene at 1.5 inches and it small megapixel count. Alternative: Minolta Z6
6/26/2006 8:17:24 PM
 
Kate Downing

member since: 6/24/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera
6/24/2006 11:35:20 PM
 
Arleen A. Barnes

member since: 6/15/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my first digital camara, so to me it is the best until I get out and shop around.
6/15/2006 11:19:33 PM
 
Peggy J. C

member since: 5/30/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really enjoy my camera. It is simple to use for basic use and as I learn more about it I can get into using more options that it offers. I am going to try and learn to do the set up manually and see what neat ideas I can come up with!! There is so much to learn!
5/30/2006 11:38:14 AM
 
budi raharja

member since: 5/6/2006
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
My Camera konica minolta z-20..have a good colour and contrast,but it very troublesome with noises.. Standard ISO I can use is between 50-100..more than that,the noise is uncontrolled..
5/6/2006 9:47:42 AM
 
Krishan Kant
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/24/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Good powerful camera, with 10 X zoom & 4 M Pixel resolution.
5/1/2006 10:45:52 PM
 
Sara Connaughton

member since: 4/25/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
It takes amazing photos when the natural light is good, but in dimly lit areas or inside it isn't the best choice of camera.
4/25/2006 4:45:03 PM
 
Amber  L. King

member since: 3/9/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It takes excellent outside pictures, but night or inside they are blurry and out of focus. May not be all of these types, maybe mine has a flaw.
4/4/2006 9:53:09 PM
 
Suzanne Saunders
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/7/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love the crisp clear day shots. Fast and easy to use
3/7/2006 3:26:33 AM
 
Robert D. Williams

member since: 2/23/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera!! Works great with simple poses.
2/23/2006 11:18:24 PM
 


member since: 2/19/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
One of the best.
2/19/2006 8:43:22 PM
 
Patrick Larivée

member since: 2/2/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Not that I have tried many digital cameras, but the results that I have up to date are rather pleasing. where I am the most pleased is with the macro-function. the part that I am the least impressed with is the built in flash. therefore, most shots that I will be submiting into my gallery are for the most part very well lit or longer exposure times.
2/2/2006 6:49:56 AM
 
Sandra  Sm

member since: 1/27/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
This Minolta Dimage z2 is a great small point and shoot camera, it is a wonderful camera for a beginner.
1/28/2006 7:53:56 AM
 
Gary Cole

member since: 1/26/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Okay as a point and shoot camera with a 10X zoom but too slow in recording images.
1/27/2006 4:24:01 PM
 
Rowena M. Trapp

member since: 3/31/2002
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like the automatic features combined with the manual features. I would prefer it if the lenses were replaceable
1/20/2006 12:43:58 PM
 
Michele N. Yamrick

member since: 1/16/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Dimage Z2, a first digital camera for me, and for the money, a great little performer. Has a seriously nice Super Macro close up mode, 4 megapixel resolution, and a lot of nice settings on it. I found it easy to use, and its software is quite nice too. I still use it from time to time even though, I've recently acquired a Nikon D50.
1/16/2006 12:15:37 PM
 
Gerrit Van der Merwe

member since: 1/11/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
It really makes taking photos a breeze. With nice functionality to use full Auto for the fast pic or full on manual if you have more time.
1/16/2006 2:15:35 AM
 
Philip Burdick
philburdickphoto.com

member since: 1/8/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
The Dimaze Z2 is light and easy to carry, it has a great 38 to 380 zoom lens. Sometimes it pictures are blured due to low light conditions.
1/14/2006 8:11:04 PM
 
Kitty R. Rodehorst-Hanna
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Kitty
Kitty's Gallery

member since: 1/14/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
My camera is very easy to grip when when taking photographs. It has 11 different Exposure-modes including video with sound. It has a 10X optical zoom lens. It is light weight without being to light to hold steady. Cables to view your photos on either your computer or television was included with the camera. So far the only thing that I don't like about it is, it didn't come with a camera case so I purchased a fanny pack to carry it in. It works well because it frees up your arms so you don't have to set the case on the ground or other places while you take your photos.
1/14/2006 3:23:17 PM
 
MELISSA A. CHRISTENSEN

member since: 7/17/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Its better then a basic camera, has lots of features, pretty simple to use.
12/31/2005 1:04:42 PM
 
J. A. Wallen
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/29/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I give this camera a five out of five for a point and shoot fixed lens. With this camera there is not much you can't do. The zoom is great, the digital zoom is very impressive...the macro shots can be unbelievabe. It is cheaply priced, and the newer models come equipped with the ant-shake feature. It was a great camera for me and now it is my wifes new toy. I just wanted to upgade to a higher resolution. There is not one negative thing to say about the DimageZ2.
12/30/2005 1:02:29 PM
 
Nella  Weisman

member since: 11/23/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
It worked great when i bought it, but then it fell and had it fixed and it never worked the same...it focuses when it feels like it.....
12/1/2005 11:11:23 AM
 
Hemi  M. Hmielewski

member since: 11/15/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The best camera i have ever had... Hemi~
11/16/2005 1:06:15 PM
 
Hemi  M. Hmielewski

member since: 11/15/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great camera.... Hemi~
11/16/2005 12:59:43 PM
 
Hemi  M. Hmielewski

member since: 11/15/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like it a lot but im learining all the settings on it and i wish i knew how to make the shutter speed quicker on auto..
11/15/2005 5:10:22 PM
 
Beth Maschmeier
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/28/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great camera, great options, manual focus , apature and shutter speed options. 4.0 mega pixels got mine at Sams club and it came with a free 256 mg card. Black and white option is great! over all awesome camera.
11/15/2005 11:33:20 AM
 
Wolfgang Wagner

member since: 11/2/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Nice camera, excellent optical zoom and color sensor, noise reduction.
11/2/2005 4:26:52 AM
 
Vincent P. Brennan

member since: 10/30/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Easy to use, virastile, wide range of applications.
10/30/2005 4:31:28 AM
 
Ronald G. Martin

member since: 10/15/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a really great camera it's a 38 to 380 zoom and I use it for wildlife. I know people like to use the super Zoom lenes and the fancy stuff that goes along with it but given a limited income this will do the job if you have patiences and perservence. I happened to pick this one up from my son-in-law who bought it and never used it. and for a hundred buck investment it has paid out in big divedends.It takes great pictures. It has really good fexability for multi use. it's not Nikon, or Hassablad but it will get the job done. It also takes a pretty good movie. And it is pretty simple to use. Which is great for those just starting out in Digital photography. I believe in the principal of kiss where cameras are concerned. (Keep It Simple Stupid). This Camera will do anything it you need it to do. The rest you can do in the darkroom.
10/22/2005 8:19:12 AM
 
Monica Roche
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/3/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very good!!
10/2/2005 4:04:37 PM
 
Emily Bontempo

member since: 9/21/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Pros: Very easy to use, 10x optical zoom, camera has been great for learning functions Cons: somewhat bulky due to large lens, fixed lens, manual functions somewhat difficult to find in menu
10/1/2005 12:15:08 PM
 
Melanie Thayer

member since: 8/7/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Decent for a first digital with bells and whistles. I have problems with shutter lag and blur. I've heard these are relatively common problems with digital cameras, though.
9/25/2005 12:56:31 AM
 
Mary L. Crookston

member since: 9/13/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
My konica Minolta Dimage Z2 is a great beginning camera. It doesn't cost much, $269.00 to $469.00, and is quick and effective for a first timer. For a digital camera the speed is good for the price but often not what I would like it to be. Also I have trouble controlling the lighting and time expo, but that could be my inexperience.
9/15/2005 9:14:51 AM
 
Stephen Zacker
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Stephen
Stephen's Gallery

member since: 6/6/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Does a lot for a point and shoot digital camera
9/10/2005 3:28:50 PM
 
Jenn Tyler

member since: 9/9/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
10x optical zoom, 4.0 million effective pixels (4.2 million total), easy to use exposure-mode dail includes portrait (warm, soft skin tones), sports action (maximizes shutter speeds), landscape (sharp, colorful), sunset (rich, warm), night (deep, subtle), and auto mode which produces great pictures every time.
9/9/2005 10:52:31 AM
 
Barbara England

member since: 8/29/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love the ease of my Minoltas. I also own a Minolta Maxxum 35mm. It is a great beginner/intermediate camera. They both take awesome photos!
8/29/2005 5:37:50 PM
 
Kandis K. Glasgow

member since: 8/10/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the 10x zoom. It has all the bells and whistles as far as Manual, Automatic, Speed, App, mpeg,,,,etc. It can be tough to focus during action shots and, like all digitals, it's tough to focus in faint light. The macro zoom is a wonderful feature as well. Over all, for the type of work I do, I love this camera. It's light and compact. The zoom allows me to get the shots others miss.
8/10/2005 8:56:32 PM
 
Allison D. Campbell
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/25/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera!!! The only thing is that i suggest is to get rechargeable batters and a bigger card for your photos.
6/25/2005 10:00:48 PM
 
Amanda L. Myers

member since: 6/2/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Its a great camera once u figure the darn thing out! Focusing can be hard especially inside in low light. You have to play around with the settings. You definitely need rechargeable batteries and more than 8mb card if u plan on using the video feature! And be prepared to get them off the Memory card cause they take up space fast! I have a 512mb card and 5 1 min movies with 200 pics was pushing it--but overall I love the camera and very glad I chose it!
6/2/2005 12:46:57 PM
 
Donna Mack
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/12/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I don't have alot to compare too however I love this camera It takes great pictures easy to learn and I feel It has been a great choice for a beginner... can't wait to upgrade to something bigger and better !!!
5/22/2005 3:01:56 PM
 
Tommy Chong

member since: 4/15/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent zoom but no AE lock.
5/4/2005 11:08:47 PM
 
Cherrie L. Kreiger

member since: 4/29/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very easy to use. Has 10x optical zoom. One draw back is the only way I have found to get a clear picture with the optical zoom is if you use a tripod and the wind is still.
4/29/2005 5:56:43 PM
 
Cherrie L. Kreiger

member since: 4/29/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very easy to use. Has 10x optical zoom. One draw back is the only way I have found to get a clear picture with the optical zoom is if you use a tripod and the wind is still.
4/29/2005 5:54:00 PM
 
Heather Harpel
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/5/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my Z2, it's great for portrait photography and close ups, which is the type of photography I most enjoy. I haven't had very good luck with action shots, but as a beginner it may be a problem on my part and not with the camera. The Z2 is very sturdy, it has held up to a lot of accidents. I have dropped it, others have dropped it, knocked it off tables, knocked over my tripod with the camera still attached, and the camera still works great. It's also easy to handle, I can hold it, zoom in on a subject, and take a picture all with one hand. All in all I would say that it's a great camera for beginners.
4/5/2005 6:03:54 AM
 
Nickii Zammit La Rosa

member since: 4/3/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
What i like most about my camera is the Super Macro function and it's excellent zoom. Sometimes it has problems focussing but not that it is a let down. Its got a comfortable grip so handling is easy and its quite lightweight.
4/3/2005 1:05:17 PM
 
Doug C. Neiner
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/2/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
This is my roomate at college's camera, but I have had a few opportunities to use it. Some of its manual controls are hard to use. Manual focus is almost not worth trying to use. However, the photos where it focuses properly come out exceptionally well.
4/2/2005 5:08:44 PM
 
Rosemary McClain

member since: 3/5/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was a gift to me from my daughter a week ago. I'm still learning about it. I love the automatic focus, and the zoom is working great for me.
3/25/2005 2:04:47 PM
 
Mary Reyes

member since: 3/24/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I Love My Camera..........I am just starting out. I am in my first semester of Digital Imaging.
3/24/2005 10:11:38 PM
 
Lance D. Prybylla

member since: 3/22/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
its a good camera with lots of features, high quality pics
3/22/2005 7:41:08 PM
 
Esteban Solís

member since: 3/20/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent zoom, good battery life...
3/20/2005 9:06:16 AM
 
Ted Mullen

member since: 11/27/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
price -fast auto focus - 10x zoom - small -batt life- [4]. full modes. ideal for a newbe like me
3/18/2005 10:34:59 AM
 
Elnora M. Moss

member since: 2/28/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
for now I really enjoy the camera...could be better. I do wont more out of a camera then what this one will give, but it's not the camera it's the person behind the camera that makes the picture
2/28/2005 9:37:41 PM
 
David Bond

member since: 5/7/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I enjoy this camera, its not one of the nigher priced digitals, but for just point and shoot with some added features its a good deal for the money
2/26/2005 5:15:40 PM
 
Burhanudin  GUNAWAN

member since: 2/21/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Because it has 10X digital zoom and I love it very much.....
2/21/2005 3:07:37 AM
 
Burhanudin  GUNAWAN

member since: 2/21/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really like the camera, especially zooming capability until 10X for optical zoom.
2/21/2005 2:58:42 AM
 
Stan Koehler

member since: 8/25/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Of course it's my camera so it gets a ten, and I do like many features about it that help me produce some awesome shots. But, and this is by no means limited to Minolta, I'm disappointed by the tendency of the market to make accessories so manufacturer specific. Thus, the new doesn't work with the old, and some models within a family don't cross; the driving force in why I remain behind the current trends, until the dust settles so to speak.
1/18/2005 5:56:23 PM
 
Marybeth  E. Nemec

member since: 1/4/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is the first digital camera I have used. I am very pleased with it for my first camera. The only thing i dislike is that it is a little slow for fast aactions.
1/4/2005 11:32:32 AM
 
Path J. Snyder

member since: 12/10/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The Z1 is a great entry level camera for beginners. The buttons and menu are easily accessible and convenient. I also like the fact that I can use manual settings. The quality of the photographs is fantastic for a 3.1 megapixel camera. I produce very nice 8x10 prints. Only drawback is the stability for dark shots. It has a hard time focusing.
12/10/2004 9:46:31 AM
 
Berry W. Lee

member since: 11/14/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great Camera
11/14/2004 4:29:54 PM
 
Dave Cyphert

member since: 10/5/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
So far I love it...I like the fast speed for the zoom and the great ability to stop action. I am still experimenting with it's various priority settings. Overall is a great camera, 16mb SD card that came with it is useless, only holds 9 pics at highest rez...purchased 2-256mb cards.
10/6/2004 3:13:19 AM
 
William S. Nichols

member since: 9/28/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
small, lightweight, good zoom (10x)
9/28/2004 12:51:01 PM
 
Prakash Babu Thanasekaran

member since: 9/14/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Pictures are great. Night shots, Macro and supermacro modes are excellent. The camera is very filmsy and while holding at times you might touch the lens.
9/14/2004 8:16:48 AM
 
David A. H. Doherty

member since: 8/23/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
ok
9/10/2004 6:07:25 AM
 
John C. Schwentner
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/24/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Just another note about my Z2. I find it kind of funny some people talk about it like they are the greatest photographers in the world and this camera is "good for the novice" or " a good point and shoot"I too have had very expensive cameras running in the thousands of dollars, but this little Dimage is capable of coming close to the most expensive state of the art cameras out there.(for normal photography)
9/3/2004 2:18:41 PM
 
John C. Schwentner
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/24/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I researched in on epionions.com and Steves digicams. High reviews everywhere, and I am pleased with its overall capabilities. No camera I have seen has the 10x optical zoom, ae and all manual functions this one has for the money. It is probably the best buy for anyone from point and shoot to professional function. I had the Dimage Z1 first, and upgraded immediately to the Z2 when it came out since it had a little higher resolution of 4.2 mp
9/2/2004 8:04:26 PM
 
Anthony  Nazzaro
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/24/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Excelent camera, I love the trough the lens viewing. The manual settings are fantastic, I only wish it had " anti shake feature"
8/27/2004 8:56:52 AM
 
Terry Bromfield

member since: 11/27/2002
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is my least expensive digital by a few dollars, but I love to take it when I don't want to carry a lot of accessories. It is fairly small and light and has a big built in zoom.
8/12/2004 8:28:10 PM
 
Laurence Lovelady

member since: 8/12/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
The Dimage Z2 is a super digital camera. medium build, light wieght and very easy to use, a great camera for the novice. freinds using this camera with little knowledge of photography have commented how it has helped them understand the effects of various settings and digital photography. perhaps not everything for the serious photographer but its got it all for me, value, performance and great results.4.0meg pix, rapid AF, high quality svga movie,10x optic zoom, 4 x digital zoom. a must bye for cost V results. Regards Laurence.
8/12/2004 11:18:14 AM
 
Linda Proctor
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Linda
Linda's Gallery

member since: 8/5/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Colors not always true Love the zoom lens which is why I bought it Only had for 2 months so have to try longer for final verdict
8/5/2004 9:20:12 PM
 
Michelle Marsan

member since: 3/15/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Iam really happy with this camera. It's a great choice for the serious hobbyist. I like the size, quality of pictures, optical zoom length, and options to use in programmed modes or manual settings. I can't think of anything I don't like about this camera. Optional equipment includes wide angle lens, tele-converters, and filters. Great buy for the price!
8/5/2004 8:29:41 PM
 
Nancy I. Miller

member since: 10/15/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Takes great pictures, with practice. Includes many features of Higher priced cameras. Love the 10X optical zoom.
7/18/2004 11:51:38 AM
 
Janice Edwards
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/7/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Always room for improvement. This is my third digital camera. I have taken small steps in my purchases and have decided that this camera has what I am looking for at this time. The ease in use and learning the functions of the camera has been a blast. This camera has given me many unique pictures. I am looking forward to learning more. I love the Rapid AF - the 4.0 mp and of course the 10x Optical Zoom glass lense. The auto focus is great - I do love to do my own settings and this gives me that ability.
6/2/2004 4:22:12 PM
 
Patricia M. Hecht

member since: 4/24/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I am a novice in Photography and wanted a camera I could use as point and shoot and learn manual settings, as I go along. I needed Zoom, as I show dogs in obedience and I needed fast action for the dogs doing the Obedience exercises and for my fast moving grandchildren. This camer lives up to everything I wanted. Patti Hecht
5/27/2004 3:42:13 PM
 

74 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy Dimage Z2 Digital Camera  from Amazon.com


Copyright © 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc.® All Rights Reserved.