BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


RTS 35mm SLR Camera


Contax

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

via delle volte
View photos created with this camera

The RTS 35mm SLR Camera


Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


6 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Harry J. Miktarian

member since: 12/18/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
The RTS is a very rugged and durable camera and has the benefit of a very extensive system. Lenses are why I bought my RTS, I love the Zeiss lenses for it. It is also a benefit to know I have the option to save money by getting the decent Yashica lenses if needed.

Where I think the RTS falls down is with its design...I personally find it unintuitive...especially the shutter speed dial swapped with the film speed/compensation dial. I also dislike the shutter release, which for my clumsy hands can be too sensitive. The separate metering on/off button is a mixed blessing, I go back and forth on whether I like it or not.

Another aspect I was disapointed in is the finish. The material used quickly started to mar, disintegrate, and in places turn sticky. I have replaced it with leather which is a great improvement. Also the black coating on the brass/metal seems less durable than my other cameras. I have also had to replace all the foam/felt light stops, though I am not sure these went any faster or slower than any other camera...but it was sure harder to clean out the old sticky material than my other cameras...it had really turned into a tar like goo.

So as a system camera with solid durability it does its job...It misses on the finesse to be a truly legendary camera.

12/18/2006 12:05:06 PM
 
Joe S. Cullin

member since: 2/8/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A lovely camera to use. Feels solid, reliable work horse. These can take a bashing and still work!...
However, Like many Contax cameras, this one is prone to light trap felt material rotting, and poor leather/leatherette.
Getting a bit long in the tooth specificationwise now, but this is a camera for real photographers not for those pretenders who prefer the flashing lights, bells and whistles to show off to their mates!
If you looking for one, go for the RTS2 (II) instead. same as RTS, but uses the allegedly more hardy metal shutter instead of the RTS cloth shutter.
In summary, the RTS is a lovely camera, but if you want a toy to play with, go look for another model!
2/8/2005 5:26:24 AM
 
Andy Blackmore

member since: 1/5/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Best 35mm film camera I have used. Carl Zeiss optics also help.
1/8/2005 6:09:27 PM
 
Kalle Heiman

member since: 12/6/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
It was really Rolls Royce like camera.
12/8/2004 3:39:38 AM
 
Glen 

member since: 10/12/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
The RTS is the original 35mm SLR born of the partnership between Zeiss, Yashica/Kyocera and Porsche design. Built to a last-generation standard, this camera is heavy, mostly metal, and very tough. Downsides are controls placed differently than most cameras, rather weak sealing against dust/moisture, and age - parts are no longer available for this old camera.
10/12/2004 1:41:59 PM
 
joyce chadwick

member since: 7/6/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
great camera...sharp images
8/9/2004 7:57:06 AM
 

6 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.