BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


4A-107 TLR Medium Format Camera


Seagull

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Other Film Cameras : Medium Format

Flower
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


4 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
ERIC NOWELS

member since: 8/1/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I guess I got lucky with mine. I hear all over sites like this that they have light leaks and poor lenses; mine was perfect. My first med format camera, and I still use it occasionally today. So simple to use and light weight. Great for nature, street and some light studio work, but the 50mm fixed lens doesn't quite cut it for portraits, the 1/300 max leaf shudder is a bit slow but workable, but it's a great camera for beginning medium format photographers: cheap, sturdy and modest to good image quality.
8/1/2004 11:43:17 PM
 
clifton Mair
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/17/2002
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Must be the cheapest medium format camera on the market. Made in China with a metal body, twin lenses and if your lucky a fairly sharp lens. The lens quality can vary from camera to camera due to poor quality control during manufacturing. Completly manual, tough and lots of fun to use, it's great value for money, medium format photography for around $150.
7/22/2004 1:23:54 AM
 
clifton Mair
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/17/2002
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Must be the cheapest medium format camera on the market. Made in China with a metal body and if your lucky a fairly sharp lens. The lens quality can vary from camera to camera due to poor quality control during manufacturing. Completly manual, tough and lots of fun to use, it's great value for money, medium format photography for around $150.
7/22/2004 1:22:45 AM
 
Kelly P. Bevando

member since: 2/5/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I borrowed this camera from a friend because I wanted to try it out. He didn't like it, but I had a lot of fun with it. There were a couple problems with it though. I couldn't get my strobes to fire when they were hooked up to it, and I think I was loading the film bad, because the first two pictures on the the rolls that I shot were cut off. I like the fact that it is an inexpensive medium format camera. The quality of the photos was extremely better than what I get off my Holga. There is no meter, so all my exposures had to be calculated with another meter or approximated (which I mostly did). It took a while for me to get used to the image in the viewfinder being backwards from what was in front of me, and it was a little awkward controlling the focus and the shutter release while holding it steady. But, overall, I thought it was a great little camera.
5/25/2004 12:50:36 AM
 

4 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.