Mini Trekker Camera Backpack


Lowepro

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Accessories

The Mini Trekker Camera Backpack

This pack offers one excellent way to carry your equipment. It is small enough to easily carry around and yet roomy enough to fit a surprising amount of gear. Highly recommended!

From the manufacturer:


  • Smaller than our other Trekker Backpacks, the Mini Trekker is designed for photographers who want to take a 35mm SLR on a day trip instead of an expedition.
  • The Mini Trekker slides right under airline seats so you don't have to worry about whether your gear will get to where you're going.
  • The flexible interior dividers can be easily arranged to fit Medium Format or Video equipment.
  • Color choices: black or green.


8 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
John Pover
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/30/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2005 5:13:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2005 5:13:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2005 5:13:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2005 5:13:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2005 5:13:59 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I picked up a Mini out of desperation one day when my old pack fell apart in the field. It was the only one in the shop remotely big enough that wasn't priced out of my league and as I had no option I bought it.
I was therefore pleasantly surprised when I found my Canon 350D, 100-400 zoom, 105 macro, standard zoom, extension tubes, telephoto adaptor, notebook, pencils, bird guide, batteries, memory cards, waterproof trousers (are you getting the idea yet?) all slipped in in-spite of the fact the Mini was about 20% smaller then my old pack. The Mini is comfortable to wear, even when fully loaded although the sternum strap is a little high (having said that I don't tend to use it so it doesn't bother me). The first time I did a lens change (up to my ankles in water) I appreciated the layout of the bag, the compression straps stopped the main flap from falling wide open and dumping my kit into the mud and everything was easy to get at (the pockets inside are clear plastic so you can see what’s where; I didn't need to put the bag down. Also, I ride a motorcycle, regardless of weather, and the bag seems capable of keeping my kit dry and clean. The only down side is the tripod strap on the front; it can make life a little awkward but not enough to take anything away from what is essentially a great piece of kit.
9/12/2005 5:13:59 AM
 
Larry Randall
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/4/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2005 7:33:11 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2005 7:33:11 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2005 7:33:11 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2005 7:33:11 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2005 7:33:11 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
A good photo pack for short walks or instead of a shoulder bag. Too small and uncomfortable for more serious hikes. I am 5' 9" and it's too small for my torso - the waist strap rides too high, as does the sternum strap, which almost hits my throat. The waist strap is also not padded, making it uncomfortable over any distance. Since the tripod retainer cords are stretchy, the tripod bounces around when walking, which is annoying and uncomfortable. The fact that the tripod attaches to the back (as opposed to the side) makes it difficult to get into the pack without removing the tripod. If you want to carry extra clothes (for warmth or rain) you're pretty much out of luck - there's little extra room. I've been a hiker/backpacker for 40+ years and have owned probably 15 packs of various kinds. This ain't the best nor is it the worst.
1/4/2005 7:33:11 AM
 
Richard  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 10:57:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 10:57:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 10:57:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 10:57:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 10:57:00 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
LowePro's Mini Trekker is another fine product from this company. It's small, yet fits a lot of equipment. I use it to carry my Pentax K2 and ZX-5n bodies, two zooms, filters, flash, batteries, film, and a variety of other odds and ends. The interior is customizable, with moveable foam and velcro dividers. The Mini Trekker also comes with a generous outside pocket and several interior zip pockets for stuff like cleaning supplies or other equipment. It also features a fold-out tripod carrier on the back of the pack. I didn't like the bungee cords designed to fasten the middle and upper part of the tripod, so I replaced them with straps. The Mini Trekker is comfortable to carry, although for anyone over 6 feet tall the hip strap will not rest on the hips, which can be a definate problem when hiking for more than an hour or so with all the weight on the shoulders. Overall, however, this is a solidly constructed back pack that the average photographer will find can carry just about everything she or he will need.
11/30/2004 10:57:00 AM
 
Jeff Bond 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2003 7:44:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2003 7:44:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2003 7:44:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2003 7:44:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2003 7:44:39 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my Mini Trekker. I bought it last year after trying to carry my camera and tripod up a trail to a waterfall in the Smoky Mountians. After fight the tripod most of the way, I figured out quickly that I need to get a bag that would accomodate carrying a tripod. The Mini Trekker has been wonderful. For long hikes, it might get heavy with the pack fully loaded with gear.

In general, I keep two bodies, a flash unit, four lenses, filters, hoods, film, cable release, etc. I have yet to fill every available space in the bag as of yet. It even has a little clip inside the outer pocket to hold my keys.

6/11/2003 7:44:39 AM
 
Ian Stanley 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2003 5:06:57 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2003 5:06:57 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2003 5:06:57 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2003 5:06:57 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2003 5:06:57 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Haven't got the mini trekker - though I have got it's baby brother the micro trekker [http://www.lowepro.com/pages/series/trekking/mictr100.htm] a fantastic backpack with room for one SLR w/ telephoto lens and 7 other compartments - as with all the lowepro range the compartment dividers are attached with velcro so you can reorganise to make room for second body. 2 additional flat internal pockets.
The outside houses a generous compatment suitable for 2 pens a 2" pocket and a 5" pocket for your camera manual or notebook. This outside pocket is easily accessed via the zip rip cord and is 1.5" deep 6"x9" suitable for containing numerous films.
Also on the outside there is a webbed pocket and left and right loops siutable for holding a tripod.
The backpack is well built as you can expect from lowepro with chest and waist straps and plenty of 'attachable loops'

Overall a good package for those wanting to travel light. If you feel this is too small the I can recommend you look at the Micro Trekker 200 or the mini Trekker

5/6/2003 5:06:57 AM
 
Bill McFadden 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2003 5:59:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2003 5:59:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2003 5:59:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2003 5:59:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2003 5:59:20 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A great pack for someone who wants to store and carry photography equipment for relatively short trips. Its small size is an asset when flying commercial air or using trains.
My current load includes theee lens of moderate size, one camera, two flashes, a flash meter, a BP-50 battery case for my Elan II and a tele-converter. The pack allows us to add two flash/lens pouches, so we can add one of each, if needed. These accessory pouches do not come with the pack.
The pack has a tripod holder on the front. It can be used for small tripods, small light stands (for example the Bogen 3373 has a closed length suitable for this purpose) or a monnopod. Of course, batteries, cords, slaves/mounts, a small umbrella/flash holder and film are also carried. I switched to using screw in lens hoods, to allow me to carry one more lens.)
The pack could be used to carry 2 cameras each with attached lens. You can add additional lens and/or flash combinations but room in the side pockets becomes tight when two cameras are stowed.
The weight distribution can be a problem as pointed out above.
My pack when loaded with four lens, one camera, three flashes, a flash meter, a light stand, etc weighes about 30 pounds. The pack, thank God, does have padded shoulder straps. However, it is too small to have a waist/hip belt.
The pack keeps equipment clean and allows people to switch the inside compartments to suit their needs.
1/20/2003 5:59:20 PM
 
Ash Newell 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2002 10:12:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2002 10:12:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2002 10:12:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2002 10:12:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2002 10:12:12 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I've hiked around England, Ireland, the Joshua Tree Desert and San Bernardino Mountains with the Mini Trekker and have found it to be a great piece of equipment. It's straps are shaped correctly for the most comfortable fit even when fully loaded with a tripod on the back of it. I should know....I've gone through several painful sessions of spinal injections for a back condition this year. This backpack is the BEST!!
12/24/2002 10:12:12 PM
 
Matt  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I used the Lowel mini-pro on my last trip; 5 weeks through New York, London and Bangkok to Australia.
I was pleased to find a quality pack that was compact and did not draw attention to itself. The price was good too. It still looks and works like new after the trip and lots of abuse. The cons as I have found are as follows: It barely fits the Nikon N90 body with 70-200 f2.8 lense attached. The size of the lense compresses the surrounding pockets so try before you buy if you think it's going to be a tight squeeze. In addition to the body and zoom I had a second 35-70 and 28-40mm lenses and Nikon flash leaving just enough room for a spare roll of flim and a few filters. Fully loaded the bag was quite heavy and despite the well padded strapes, tiring, because of the way it sits on your back. This would probably be a problem for any bag that size fully loaded. In short; well made, compact but barely enough for the equipment illustrated in the ad's.
 

8 Reviews