Camedia D-360L Digital Camera


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

She loves me
View photos created with this camera

The Camedia D-360L Digital Camera

Allows you to control aperture but not shutter speed.

The D-360L has all the convenient consumer features you need in a filmless digital camera, including a compact, lightweight design, low price, all-glass aspherical lens system, and 2x digital telephoto mode. And thatís just the beginning.

The new autofocus D-360L isn't just an improvement over its predecessor, its a whole new style of entry-level cameraóbecause it has advanced features previously found in only the top-of-the line filmless digital cameras. Features like selectable ISO ratings, exposure compensation, selectable digital ESP matrix, spot metering, auto or preset manual white balance, two compression ratios in Standard Quality mode for more imaging options, and a six-mode automatic flash with a new slow syncro flash.

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


25 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3 out of 5

3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Lynna Kay M. Parker
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/17/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2006 3:04:55 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2006 3:04:55 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2006 3:04:55 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2006 3:04:55 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2006 3:04:55 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I enjoyed this camera, it was my second digital camera. It was a good starter camera. The quality of the pictures were great! The negatives ended up outweighing positives for me, though. It was all personal preference issues, except one thing. The thing that drove me crazy was the wait time between pictures before it would take another one. There was a 5-10 second lag! That doesn't work with children that are active, keep that in mind!
5/17/2006 3:04:55 PM
 
Crystal Rogers
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/12/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 10:15:15 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 10:15:15 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 10:15:15 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 10:15:15 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 10:15:15 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This was my first digital camera. Not a lot of options, but a decent 1st camera.
5/13/2006 10:15:15 PM
 
Edelgard L. Rieder 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2006 11:05:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2006 11:05:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2006 11:05:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2006 11:05:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2006 11:05:38 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Considering the number of megapixels this camera takes beautiful pictures. I am impressed also with its underwater performance.
1/12/2006 11:05:38 AM
 
Alison K. Toye 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2005 9:54:51 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2005 9:54:51 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2005 9:54:51 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2005 9:54:51 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2005 9:54:51 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Good little starter family camera. My first digital.
11/4/2005 9:54:51 AM
 
Diane Rodgers 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 10:02:01 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 10:02:01 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 10:02:01 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 10:02:01 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 10:02:01 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
No problems with this 1.3 gem. Not high end, but then neither was the price. I've gotten some great shots and I'm definitely sold on the Olympus brand.
7/26/2005 10:02:01 AM
 
Misty Hunt 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2005 11:47:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2005 11:47:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2005 11:47:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2005 11:47:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2005 11:47:58 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great lil 1.3mp ;)
5/17/2005 11:47:58 PM
 
Brad E. Gibson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/7/2005
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2005 3:01:52 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2005 3:01:52 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2005 3:01:52 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2005 3:01:52 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2005 3:01:52 AM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
This camera has 1.3 megapixels of resolution; I could do much more with a digital camera with 6 megapixels or more. I don't know how it is compared to other digital cameras, but this camera seems to take long to get around to actually taking a picture once you press the button. It takes the picture about one second or two after you press the "take-a-picture" button, unless you press the button halfway and hold it (this locks the focus), then when you're ready to take the picture, you press the button the rest of the way down. However, this still takes 1-2 seconds, and could cause you to miss a good picture, even if you're all ready with the camera and everything. Plus, if you try to lock the focus by pressing the button halfway before the subject comes into the right place so that you can just press it the rest of the way when the subject is in the right place, the focus may lock on something closer or farther away than the subject (that is, if the subject is moving too fast to lock the focus on it, since it takes about a second or two to lock it and the subject may be gone in that amount of time) and the subject may turn out to be blurry. After the camera takes a picture, it takes a while to store it in the data card, depending on the quality of the picture. With the highest quality of pictures, the camera can take over 30 seconds to store one picture, during which time you can't use the camera for anything else. Also, I'm not sure how fast of a shutter speed other digital or normal film cameras have, but I could use a faster speed for many pictures I would like to take. I would also like my camera to be able to use very slow shutter speeds, in case I wanted to take pictures of things like fire in order to catch the movement of the fire for several seconds, and capture all the movement in one picture to make a neat effect. I also wish my camera had a zoom function, so that I wouldn't have to get so close to something to take a picture of it. Especially if I want to take a picture of something in, say, someone's yard that would otherwise require me to be close to it to get a good picture of it, and I don't want to have to ask them if I can take a picture of whatever is in their yard but I don't want to just walk into their yard and take a picture. Despite all of the above, I still very much enjoy using my digital camera (it is actually my family's) and can still take decent pictures with it, without having to use rocket science.
5/9/2005 3:01:52 AM
 
Carol Hayes 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2005 8:14:44 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2005 8:14:44 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2005 8:14:44 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2005 8:14:44 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2005 8:14:44 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like this camera because the pictures have turn out well for me. I would like a newer one of the same brand. The zoom is not very good. But it is easy to use the camera. I hope to getting one of the new cameras with changing lens but they are still price high.
4/24/2005 8:14:44 PM
 
Janine N. Venezia 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 6:52:20 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 6:52:20 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 6:52:20 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 6:52:20 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 6:52:20 PM
Rating: 1 out of 5
I've already replaced this camera
3/23/2005 6:52:20 PM
 
Susan Verberg 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2005 3:35:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2005 3:35:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2005 3:35:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2005 3:35:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2005 3:35:37 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
good camera, little low on the res. but it's already five years old
2/9/2005 3:35:37 PM
 
Misty Gray 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 3:45:13 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 3:45:13 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 3:45:13 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 3:45:13 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 3:45:13 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Fantastic camera. Great quality. Could be a little more compact.
2/2/2005 3:45:13 PM
 
Jennifer A. Richards 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2005 3:54:51 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2005 3:54:51 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2005 3:54:51 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2005 3:54:51 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2005 3:54:51 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
The pictures aren't too bad, but it is very slow and the buttons are hard to press.
1/27/2005 3:54:51 PM
 
Tracy Manning 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2005 3:53:02 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2005 3:53:02 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2005 3:53:02 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2005 3:53:02 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2005 3:53:02 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I like it, the battieries run out quickly
1/2/2005 3:53:02 AM
 
Johnny R. Wylie 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2004 3:50:07 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2004 3:50:07 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2004 3:50:07 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2004 3:50:07 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2004 3:50:07 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
its a good camera , but old and slide on front is loose so have to pin it back ,,,
10/11/2004 3:50:07 PM
 
David W. Wingfield
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/15/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2004 12:43:10 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2004 12:43:10 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2004 12:43:10 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2004 12:43:10 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2004 12:43:10 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
We bought this one about a year after starting out with the D-340R. It's a step up and has more features. My wife finds this one harder to use than the D-340R. It is, however, quite user-friendly, and does a good job of recording basic images that work well in both print and on the internet. We have appreciated the camera very much.
9/17/2004 12:43:10 PM
 
Scot C.  Krueger 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2004 6:42:14 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2004 6:42:14 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2004 6:42:14 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2004 6:42:14 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2004 6:42:14 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This is only a 1.3 mp camera, but works great if you are going to primarily work with 4x6 images.
8/28/2004 6:42:14 AM
 
Mark Chou 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 4:08:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 4:08:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 4:08:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 4:08:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 4:08:06 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Considering that I got this camera 3 years ago, it has performed remarkably well. Great 1.3 megapixel camera.
6/23/2004 4:08:06 PM
 
Kim M. Haley 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2004 8:09:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2004 8:09:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2004 8:09:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2004 8:09:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2004 8:09:09 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is the best camera I have ever had.
4/17/2004 8:09:09 PM
 
Herbert Richardson 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2004 10:56:35 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2004 10:56:35 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2004 10:56:35 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2004 10:56:35 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2004 10:56:35 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
OLYMPUS D-360L is user friendly but has avery low mega pixels and dose not hold settings once the shutter has been closed. Its a agreat starter camera.
2/6/2004 10:56:35 AM
 
Fax Sinclair
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/3/2004
fax-sinclair.com
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 10:08:21 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 10:08:21 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 10:08:21 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 10:08:21 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 10:08:21 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Really good camera. Got me started. Interesting effects in Macro (to 4 inches)because the subject AND the background will often be in good focus somehow.
1/4/2004 10:08:21 AM
 
Line Kallmayer 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2003 9:14:20 AM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2003 9:14:20 AM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2003 9:14:20 AM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2003 9:14:20 AM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2003 9:14:20 AM
Rating: 1 out of 5
This is a camera I borrowed from a friend. It is cheap and old, but somehow got to be a loyal companion in my newly discovered snapshot adventure.
11/26/2003 9:14:20 AM
 
Sara West 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 12:21:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 12:21:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 12:21:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 12:21:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 12:21:45 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I liked this camera a lot. The night shots I took with it did excellent. Unfortunately I sold it so I could get the Oly 3000Z because I wanted to take shots with zoom lens. I have wished a thousand times I had it back. Macro shots were easy with it also.
11/22/2003 12:21:45 PM
 
Pamela Morgan 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 6:11:31 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 6:11:31 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 6:11:31 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 6:11:31 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 6:11:31 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I think this is a great camera.
7/17/2003 6:11:31 AM
 
Michael R. Murphy 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 6:32:35 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 6:32:35 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 6:32:35 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 6:32:35 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 6:32:35 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Takes nice quality shots, for a lower megapixel camera, this was my first digital camera and I was so pleased with the quality I upgraded to another Olympus, C-740
6/18/2003 6:32:35 AM
 
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera is very friendly to use and easy to understand the manual instructions.
I have a webtv-+,no computor. The D 360L has a wonderfutl depth of color for outdoors. great for indoor photos. Quick review of the photo by the good size led window.
All digitals use the battery power up fast so get a good battery charger and some extra batters.
Shop for this at your local stores. ( cauction when useing the auction places.)
When conecting to your vcr / tv, for viewing. be sure you turn OFF everything and then connect the camera ,then turn on the vcr/tv & camera.
 

25 Reviews