FinePix 1400 (MX-1400) Digital Camera


Fuji

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Dec. 2011
View photos created with this camera

The FinePix 1400 (MX-1400) Digital Camera

From Cameraworld.com:
Taking a great digital picture with the FinePix 1400 Zoom is as simple as using a 35mm camera. Just slide open the lens cover, turn the Mode Dial to Auto, aim and press the shutter button. In addition to taking standard images with 1,280 x 960 pixels or 640 x 480 pixels, the FinePix 1400 Zoom is web-ready with its resolution of 320 x 240 pixels when you use the resize feature. This provides the perfect size for a homepage or e-mail, saving you the extra step of resizing your images with graphics software.

Equipped with nine elements in six groups, the optical 3x zoom Fujinon lens is ready for all shooting opportunities. It covers the 39117 mm range of a 35mm camera. For increased zoom power, use the digital 2x telephoto mode and get a maximum zoom effect of 6x. It's simply designed to help you expand your creative horizons.

The FinePix 1400 Zoom has a USB port to make transferring image files fast and easy. Images are stored on reusable SmartMedia cards, so you can also use the optional floppy disk adapter or optional PC card adapter to transfer files to your computer.

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 11 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Deborah  Anne Calnan
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/11/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 2:43:18 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 2:43:18 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 2:43:18 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 2:43:18 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 2:43:18 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Easy to use. Nice color but few options. Minimal pixels.
5/11/2006 2:43:18 PM
 
Ray R. Urrutia 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 12:16:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 12:16:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 12:16:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 12:16:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 12:16:21 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The Fuji FinePix is a great camera it takes really good pictures and fast, the viewer dosent work all that great which makes setting up your EV almost unmanageable durning daylight unless you have alot of knowledge about your proper setting. Setting up your Ev at night is easier. The camera does have and auto mode and the draw back is that the shutter speed slows up and my images wouldnt come out with the stillness quality that I was looking for. The price of this camera with the new memory card was close to $500, and I'll score it with a 92.
7/8/2004 12:16:21 AM
 
Steve N. Olson 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 4:01:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 4:01:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 4:01:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 4:01:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 4:01:07 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Takes great close ups. One of the only draw backs I've noticed is that it doesn't take low light pictures very well.
6/23/2004 4:01:07 PM
 
Kimberly O. McCarty
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/10/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2004 4:04:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2004 4:04:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2004 4:04:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2004 4:04:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2004 4:04:06 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This has been a really great camera for me. I needed something with more power and that is why I upgraded. The Fuji has taken some very fine photos and has a great owners manual.
4/11/2004 4:04:06 PM
 
John Kratz 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2004 3:47:14 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2004 3:47:14 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2004 3:47:14 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2004 3:47:14 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2004 3:47:14 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Not bad for 1.3 megapixels. Bought it at the wrong time though - doesn't seem like I've had it that long, and now I could get one on eBay for ten bucks! Oh well - it takes fine pictures, can zoom, and has the usual benefits of digital. It's good as a second camera, because I'm not about to take my N65 to the beach!
3/22/2004 3:47:14 PM
 
Denise  M. Prichett
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/24/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 12:31:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 12:31:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 12:31:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 12:31:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 12:31:36 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great starter digital camera. I've had mine for a few years now. It's a good reliable small camera.
1/7/2004 12:31:36 PM
 
Trevor Sammons 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2003 7:45:47 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2003 7:45:47 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2003 7:45:47 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2003 7:45:47 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2003 7:45:47 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I've been very pleased with the Finepix 1400Zoom. After using it for 3 years, my only complaint is the shutter cover spring has broken so I have to hold the shutter cover open to keep the camera on. This also means I can't take timed photos.
11/2/2003 7:45:47 PM
 
Del Bueno 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2003 7:11:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2003 7:11:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2003 7:11:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2003 7:11:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2003 7:11:15 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Works great
9/16/2003 7:11:15 AM
 
Del Bueno 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2003 7:07:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2003 7:07:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2003 7:07:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2003 7:07:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2003 7:07:53 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great workhorse camera. Throw it in the glovebox or tacklebox and it's ready to shoot in seconds. Sliding lens cover is the only way to go; lens caps are nuisances. A little heavy with 4 batteries, but long life between charging is very handy. I've found that using the 'forced flash' mode gets the best results most often. Uploading is a snap.
9/16/2003 7:07:53 AM
 
michael j. moylan 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
too heavy on batteries
 
Denise  M. Prichett
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/24/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera!!! The idea of not having to deal with film and being able to instantly see your pictures was the first thing that sold me on this camera which I received as a gift. It wasn't the camera I was wishing for, but it turned out to be a better developmental tool for me than the camera I wanted. This camera is great for getting real great close-up shots of things. It's small enough to carry in your hand or the large pocket of a jacket. One day I may invest in a top-of-the-line digital camera, but it won't be as endearing as this first digital camera was for me. If you are looking to get started with digital photography, this is my top recommendation. Enjoy!!!!!!
 

First 10 of 11 Reviews  (see all user reviews)