BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


N60/F60 SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs


View photos created with this camera

The N60/F60 SLR Camera

Feature Highlights

  • Easy access to camera controls with new exposure mode select dial
  • General Purpose Program for simple point and shoot operation
  • Vari Programs for automatic control with personal control
  • Activates Continuous Servo AF and Focus Tracking
  • Comprehensive exposure modes to flex your photographic skills:
    • Manual
    • Aperture Priority
    • Shutter Priority
    • Auto-Multi Program
  • 6 segment, 3D Matrix Metering for superior results - even in difficult light conditions
  • Powerful 28mm built-in speedlight provides for Matrix Balanced Fill-Flash, Red-Eye Reduction and Slow Sync for outstanding flash pictures under low light conditions
  • Built-in AF Assist Illuminator for when ambient light is insufficient for autofocusing
  • Focus Tracking for moving subjects
  • Long Time Exposures

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


53 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
SUCHISMITA  ROY

member since: 2/9/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
GOOD LENS, BODY, HANDY, VIEW FINDER
2/9/2006 2:18:36 AM
 
Raneil A. Ibay

member since: 11/28/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
A good camera. Light, easy to use, has automatic settings as well as manual.
12/8/2005 10:05:56 PM
 
Chris Eller

member since: 12/8/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
Consumer body that is lacking several key features (DOF preview, PC socket, viewfinder shutter) but it is a Nikon and is not bad to learn with or have as a backup.
12/8/2005 6:54:33 PM
 
Shane Elliott

member since: 11/20/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
the N60 was my second auto focus camera, the first being a N2020. and I love it, it does everything I want it to. it is easy to use, I have misplaced my instruction book but with my knowledge of cameras I can figure most everything out on it.
12/5/2005 3:34:31 PM
 
david W. stuido

member since: 9/15/2005
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
the nikon n60 will take pitcure good on reqular lens only but when I want to close up to object with 80mm-200mm nikon af to take pitcure of bugs they are so little on grass the bug see clear in view of lens that good part but when it is time to develope film its blurr no see but all green and black color thats weird the next one i used on lens was 14mm-25mm nikon af its wide lens so i took pitcure of building of texas tower its bank building so its clear view this time i can see but not close enough i was about 5 feet from building and its seems so far off in pitcure is it the len doing it or the camera doing it or the setting i am set it up wrong??
9/19/2005 4:25:31 PM
 
Rae M. Bage

member since: 8/10/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I would recommend this camera as a general purpose. I have had this camera for 6 years and I must say that it has been beaten and abused but is still kicking!
8/10/2005 6:33:58 PM
 
Allison Troutman
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/23/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this old standby. It's the perfect weight in my hands and a comfortable/stable grip. Very easy to use.
6/23/2005 6:01:22 AM
 
Mark C. Mulder

member since: 4/23/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
a great beginner autfocus SLR. my first real camera. bought in 1999.
4/23/2005 2:05:37 PM
 
Maribel Cintas

member since: 4/21/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have this camera since 1999, and with the progress of digital, it was a little bit left, cause I buyed a Coolpix 5700.But I prefer to make photos wit F-60,cause it´s a very Trustworthy camera and I enjoy making photos with it.
4/22/2005 1:48:07 AM
 
Aleem M. Shah

member since: 3/25/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
It has given me fairly satisfactory results so far!
3/27/2005 7:17:25 AM
 
Satya 

member since: 3/6/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good camera for beginers
3/6/2005 6:37:45 PM
 
Katie S. Ging

member since: 2/2/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Since I just started taking an interest in photography, I have been using my parents camera. I like the versatility of this camera which allows me to take pictures on auto as well as manual. I also have two different lenses which allows me to take close up and far away pictures. I am now researching digital cameras. Will possibly purchase a Nikon D70 that will allow me to use the lenses from this SLR.
2/2/2005 2:17:21 PM
 
Gilbert Lacson

member since: 10/6/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
no cable attachment!!
12/13/2004 3:19:53 AM
 
Loren Palmer

member since: 11/3/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
A great camera. The only drawback is that a remote shutter release is not available. Easy to use - takes amazing photos.
11/3/2004 11:39:41 PM
 
Guillermo Alejandro Martín Carretero

member since: 10/10/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A really good reflex, if a little heavy.
10/10/2004 1:38:41 PM
 
Felix 

member since: 8/21/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
ease of handling,light,no time lag in film wind or flash recovery,flash does not wipe out skin tones,excellent for family pictures. nature photographs are undistinguished as are colors. pictures are not needle sharp as with other nikon cameras such as n70. the n60 is a good point and shoot camera but little else. my wife paid $750 for camera and 2 lenses[35-80/4.5-5.6 macro zoom,80-200/4.5-5.6 macro zoom].
8/22/2004 12:13:57 AM
 
Megan M. Hamilton
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/5/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera for film work and someone who wants to convenience of auto modes while learning everything else! The newer version is the N65.
7/31/2004 8:24:20 PM
 
win2004 

member since: 5/2/2003
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I ought my F55 Nikon 2 years a go. As long as i used it, i have made a lot of picture..and its work good enough. Great contrast, sharp, less abberation... But it less color.. But i like it for all, & i glad have a chance to use it...
7/8/2004 5:21:19 AM
 
Beth A. Goheen

member since: 6/10/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera has worked great for me. I purchased it in 2001. I am just a beginner and am still learning all the in's and out's, but so far it has helped me catch some great "moments in time". One thing that I really like is the duribility of the body. It's a little heavier than some of the other SLR's that I looked at, which may be a pain for some people, but I was sold on the fact that the heavier body made it more durable while toting it along on my travels.
6/10/2004 7:56:53 AM
 
Reza Lisni

member since: 5/3/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
My first Nikon, and I very love it. It simple camera with much function.
5/7/2004 8:09:34 PM
 
Dennis A. Revet

member since: 5/4/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I am quite pleased with the performance of this camera. I use it in all applications for all my photography needs.
5/4/2004 11:02:05 PM
 
Lora K

member since: 4/29/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I've owned two of these cameras now, and while I agree that Nikon has come out with some wonderfully further advanced cameras in recent times, this is about the best place to start off and progress to advanced or serious amature/student that I've seen.

One of the things I love most about this camera is its slightly larger dimensions and weight compared to it's sister models. I like feeling the camera, something which I have difficulty in getting with the newer polycarbonate bodies.

4/29/2004 7:33:27 PM
 
Lisa Johnston

member since: 3/14/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera...I had a professional photographer help me decide on which one to chose and I'm happy with my decision. It's easy to use, I can tell it what to do or have it tell me what it would like to do. I like using an SLR because to me it's pure photography, you can't "cheat" like you can using a digital. You have to know your stuff to get good photos.
4/1/2004 6:58:36 PM
 
Tracy L. DeAtley

member since: 3/13/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
great starter camera to learn the in's and out's of photogrphy
3/20/2004 6:11:27 PM
 
Laura McGinnis

member since: 3/11/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
A good camera for the serious ametuer. It has a nice light weight and a great selection of the Nikon lenses. The autofocus gets confussed or seems slow in certain situations. I like the metering system and the ability to manually focus when I need to. I have found myself pushing this camera beyond its limits though as I move into professional work.
3/18/2004 11:50:15 AM
 
Rachel T. Hammer
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/7/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
It's durable, good quality, and easy to use.
3/7/2004 7:53:23 AM
 
Bruce A.  Overholt

member since: 3/3/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Advanced Amatuer Camera
3/3/2004 3:53:40 AM
 
Angie G. Childers

member since: 2/23/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I love my camera! It is my first, good quality camera and I am ready to get a newer model. But for the model and type of camera, I do really like it. It is easy to operate and handle and takes very good pictures.
2/23/2004 5:38:37 PM
 
Sunder R

member since: 2/9/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
easy to use.good results.
2/9/2004 12:22:12 AM
 
Cara L. Terracciano

member since: 1/30/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my camera, it has a lot of accessories you can add on.
1/30/2004 1:32:42 PM
 
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I really like my camera, it is the first good one I've had though. It was a gift from my parents on my wedding day. I'm planning on going digital SLR this summer with Nikon so that I can still use my lenses.
1/26/2004 1:48:16 PM
 
Justin D. Miller

member since: 1/23/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good quality and consistency
1/23/2004 10:10:36 AM
 
Teresa Brice

member since: 2/11/2001
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
great sharpness, but slow release
1/22/2004 7:09:50 PM
 
Adrienne Lahr
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/22/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great starter camera, but the bigger the lense, the slower the camera is....drains the batteries. Has taken many great pics for me.
1/22/2004 3:07:31 PM
 
Pablo Prieto

member since: 1/15/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
very good
1/15/2004 8:46:34 PM
 
Jim J. garavaglia

member since: 1/10/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
takes good pics, easy to use, no cable release port.
1/10/2004 8:20:44 PM
 
JUSTYNA K

member since: 1/1/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I LIKE IT
1/1/2004 8:47:15 PM
 
John Armstrong

member since: 12/17/2003
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
A very good camera for the price. Enough features to satisfy the amateur photographer, although lack of ISO setting, slow FPS, and slow AF are major hinderances. I like the battery power and the design is extremely comfortable with a good weight and practical placement of buttons and dials.
12/17/2003 2:41:45 PM
 
Mike 

member since: 10/31/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
nice solid entry camera. nice balance of metal and plastics. Electronics gave me issues a couple of times but between Nikon and my camera shop, they picked up the cost to repair. I picked the Nikon for the interchangable lenses and the F60 for the price. I didn't need all the bells and whistles of the F80 for the price increase. Some day I would like to puchase one though.
10/31/2003 3:52:44 PM
 
Lois E. Stiklestad

member since: 9/21/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My camera takes beautiful photos. I feel the only limitation that my camera has is me. I bought this camera while I was working for an advertising company and I had a desire to shoot wedding photos. I enjoy my camera because I don't have to know alot about aperture or shutter speed.The camera is designed to take most of the problems out of shooting photos.
9/21/2003 4:47:56 PM
 
Gaizka Gorostiaga ispizua

member since: 9/9/2003
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
is very easy and I need something that this camera don´t have.
9/9/2003 2:03:40 PM
 
Teresa C. Dail

member since: 2/28/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I just love this camera and all the possible shots I can take with it. I love the extra lenses and the filters are so much fun....I could spend a year's worth of film taking pictures with this camera in just one month....lol
9/2/2003 8:52:16 PM
 
Martin J. Wells

member since: 7/6/2002
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Lacks some useful features of the higher end models, but still a great piece of kit for the beginner.
8/21/2003 3:15:31 AM
 
Paul Ferrer

member since: 3/17/2001
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love it for a starter.
7/24/2003 12:20:53 PM
 
Melissa B. Helms

member since: 7/16/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really enjoy this camera because it has so many options and modes. I like the fact that the flash is under my control because from what I've heard newer models it pops up automatically. I've not figured out how to use it to its full advantage yet. I really just don't understand a lot of the technical jargon associated with photography. I'm not sure how to use the lenses to their full advantage either. Once in a while I'll get a picture out of a roll that's blurrier than the others and Im' not sure if it's something I'm doing or it's the camera. I'm still experimenting.
7/16/2003 11:33:35 AM
 


member since: 7/15/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The Nikon N60(F60) is a good choice for beginnner/amateur photographers. Pros: easy to use. It has most of the basic SLR functions. Cons limited in advanced features, preferably not the camera for professionals.
7/15/2003 2:00:06 AM
 
Amalia Sylvia Arriaga Salinas
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Amalia Sylvia
Amalia Sylvia's Gallery

member since: 11/1/2001
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
It is a camera for beginners so it is very simple,although it has the capability of controlling the aperture and shutter speed and has several programs as well as an automatic setting; besides it is 4 years old, so the new models are better than this one. Its advantage is that is very light and easy to handle. It does not have the depth of field preview option, it does not have the possiblity of taking multiple exposures and the film cannot be pushed.
6/23/2003 9:37:34 PM
 
Sharon J. Wilson

member since: 1/16/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is an excellent basic camera, but lacks the little extras. Spend a coupld ofc extra hundred and get an N80. Otherwise, easy to use and very dependable. Takes rough treatment in field use well.
6/18/2003 7:11:16 AM
 
Sharon J. Wilson

member since: 1/16/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
A good solid camera. The lack of a screw type remote contol cable is a problem. I wish I had a spent a couple of hundred more for the little extras, but this is a really good buy for the price range. Easy to handle and easy to use.
6/10/2003 6:55:26 AM
 
Victor E. Best

member since: 9/24/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good solid chunky camera with the best handgrip of any I've used. Easy to get the hang of and soon becomes second nature. A lack of spot metering is the big drawback along with no screw thread cable release. Don't bother with the infra red cable release, just use the self timer instead when using your tripod. All in all it's as good as it gets in this price range, beware the Nikon 'G' series lenses-they're a bit suspect.
9/24/2002 7:06:33 PM
 
S.Swaminathan 

member since: 9/7/2000
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The build quality and autofocusing are quite good. The absence of spot metering is a minus point.
9/7/2000
 
Mike Blaze

member since: 9/27/2001
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It's a pretty sturdy camera. Can take great looking photos. The only problem is the situation of it's features. It's not so easy for the fingers to grapple with the buttons to get the expected features at the right time.
3/28/2000
 
Erik S. Nielsen

member since: 11/13/2000
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
An excellent beginner's camera - VERY easy to use. However if you can afford it, buy the F80. The extra couple of hundred dollars are VERY well spent. Some things to consider is TTL flash metering if you are using an external flash. Also spot metering and grid lines are VERY useful.
 

53 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright © 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc.® All Rights Reserved.