BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


645 1000S Medium Format Camera


Mamiya

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Other Film Cameras : Medium Format

EVERYBODY NEEDS M...
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


10 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Jimmy Bhogal
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/21/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
A good cam for using mamiya lenses.
2/22/2006 3:31:28 AM
 
Tom R. Walker
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/7/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Not a large negative by medium format standards, but fairly light to use handheld
1/9/2006 5:43:00 PM
 
Linda A. Gordon

member since: 12/27/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's old, all manual, but I love it for landscapes.
12/28/2005 5:23:21 PM
 
Harald Deis
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/26/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The Mamiya 645 1000s, is a pretty good decision if you plan to enter the world of medium format photography. It is a 30 year old workhorse with no electronical gadgets at all. You learn a lot about photography, when using one of these. The quality of the lenses is just great. The look and feel is very close to an old Hasselblad. One drawback is the lacking opportunity to use polaroid magazines.
7/26/2005 4:27:04 AM
 
Peter J. Goodin
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Peter
Peter's Gallery

member since: 6/23/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Superb quality, relaiable, hard to find photo shops that develop and print medium format @ a reasonable price in the Bangor Maine area.
6/23/2005 4:35:13 AM
 
John E. Thomas
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/13/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is the best camera I've had to date. It's versital (with the 4 lenses (45mm, 80mm, 150mm, and 210mm) I have). I can do with this, just about anything I could do with my 35mm cameras. It's a bit pricy to use though. Equipment cost is on the high end and film development is higher than 35mm. Also, the weight of the camera is quite a bit more than 35mm cameras. However, you can't beat the image quality you get from it. It's great for weddings (I've shot my daughter's so far and will shoot my son's shortly.) and portraits. I wouldn't trade it for anything!
1/13/2005 8:03:13 AM
 
Roger L. Kinney

member since: 4/11/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have been really happy with this camera - have used it for many years on mostly portrait & wedding photography. It is very user friendly and works like a 35mm, but with the benefit of the larger negative. It is hard to find a scanner to handle this size negative/positive so I can convert them to a digital file.
11/19/2004 2:17:03 PM
 
Tom Walker

member since: 3/12/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent camera for non-studio work. Light enough to carry around for a day and still have a negative 3 times the size of 35mm. I particularly like the two shutter releases, no matter how you hold the camera there's a release under your finger.
3/20/2004 8:39:38 AM
 
Joseph Wilkerson

member since: 2/23/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This medium format camera of 2.25x2.25 negatives is an excellent median for portraits and stiff life. The pure size of the negatives results in high quality enlargements of subject matter.
3/16/2004 9:08:19 PM
 
Jeffrey B. Jones
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/5/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera, it provides excellent glass with true aperture and speed as well as quality. The format affords a lot of latitude for getting a great shot. If you understand the perimeters of the camera you will truly appreciate what a superb instrument it becomess.
2/10/2004 1:36:50 PM
 

10 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.