SD10 Digital Camera


Sigma

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras


View photos created with this camera

The SD10 is a successor to the SD9. The SD10 has an updated 10M X3 sensor from Foveon, the new sensor promises improved dynamic range, color response and sensitivity. The primary differences between the SD9 and the SD10 are extended ISO sensitivity (up to 1600 in extended mode), longer exposures, a single battery power supply, 1/3 EV steps, wireless TTL flash support and image processing enhancements provided by Sigma Photo Pro 2.0.

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 21 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Lazlo I. Gyorsok 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:07:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:07:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:07:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:07:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:07:16 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
superb resolution
3/7/2006 1:07:16 PM
 
Brad Barker 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 6:57:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 6:57:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 6:57:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 6:57:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 6:57:43 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like my Sigma SD10 camera because of the Foveon X3 sensor it has in it. The sensor produces sharp images and with Sigma's software, it allows me to post process the images easily. Two things that I do not like about it is that only sigma manufactures the SA mount lenses and I wished that it had a faster consecutive shoot speed. It only shoots at 1.9fps on high res...
2/22/2006 6:57:43 PM
 
Richard Lynch
BetterPhoto Member
PhotoshopCS.com
Richard's Photo Courses:
4-Week Short Course: Correcting and Enhancing Images
4-Week Short Course: Looking Good in Print and On the Web: Color Management
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 6:50:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 6:50:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 6:50:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 6:50:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 6:50:42 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Solves many of the low-light and noise problems apparent in the SD9. All my equipment transferred and I don't think I could have a better setup.
1/9/2006 6:50:42 PM
 
Lynette Miss van der Gryp
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/16/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2005 11:06:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2005 11:06:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2005 11:06:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2005 11:06:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2005 11:06:43 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Pro and Con: Only shoots in RAW. Pro: better creative control, Con: uses up a lot of space on memory card.
12/26/2005 11:06:43 AM
 
Gurol Bicer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/10/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 11:28:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 11:28:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 11:28:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 11:28:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 11:28:14 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love the colors and sharpness. Hate the low light performance.
10/10/2005 11:28:14 AM
 
John G. Clifford Jr
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/18/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2005 4:30:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2005 4:30:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2005 4:30:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2005 4:30:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2005 4:30:37 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my SD10. Pluses: Great image quality for a 3.4 MP camera; photos are better than any 6 MP dSLR in resolution of fine detail with vivid yet realistic colors I like the 'sports finder' (Sigma has masked off the 35mm viewfinder to show just the sensor area but the extra is visible thru a grey silkscreen... helps in framing shots and in anticipating moving subjects) Can view histograms for each color channel, helps when fine-tuning exposure The camera's control placement is well thought-out, making it easy and intuitive to manipulate the camera to get the picture you want Build quality is excellent; this is a large, heavy camera and is very comfortable to shoot with, even with big lenses Especially well-suited for any type of deliberative photography, e.g., landscape, wildlife, portrait, studio Minuses: AF not great (but then again neither are most other AF dSLRs) High battery consumption; keep several sets of charged Ni-MH AAs on hand Not as suitable for low-light action photography as Canon and Nikon competitors You must be a good photographer with good post-processing skills to get the most out of this camera, but it will reward you with stunningly superb images. Sigma is rumored to be coming out with a 5 MP Foveon-equipped successor to the SD10. Based upon the performance of my SD10, I'll buy it.
9/25/2005 4:30:37 PM
 
Laurentiu posarlie 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2005 4:46:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2005 4:46:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2005 4:46:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2005 4:46:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2005 4:46:43 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
the best thing abuot this camera is the saturation of colors i really love it!,Not the best autofocus, and not very good in low light,still and excelent camera .
9/19/2005 4:46:43 PM
 
John G. Clifford Jr
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/18/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2005 12:11:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2005 12:11:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2005 12:11:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2005 12:11:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2005 12:11:40 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I would give this camera a 4.5 overall.

Buy this camera if you want FANTASTIC images and you aren't shooting a lot of critical-focus, high speed action shots. This camera can do that (action photography) but the AF system is not as sophisticated as offerings from Nikon or Canon.

One "drawback" often listed is that this camera ONLY works in RAW mode. Every image must be converted into a standard format (TIFF or JPEG) via the supplied post-processing software (Sigma Photo Pro), but the benefit you get is that extra level of control over the image. The software lets you automate the production of JPEGs or TIFFS, or you can go in and manually tweak all sorts of values that can turn ordinary shots into beautiful ones. In my opinion, this "drawback" is actually a feature because you will always have the raw image data to work with and as the raw processing software improves you can go back and revisit your photos.

The SDx series of cameras from Sigma are the only dSLRs that use the unique Foveon image sensor. This sensor is different from a standard Bayer sensor as used in every other dSLR in that each pixel location (photosite) has 3 separate sensors (1 each for red, green, and blue), whereas Bayer sensor cameras have a matrix that assigns 50% of the pixel values to green, 25% to red, and 25% to blue. Bayer sensors effectively provide 1/2 the given sensor resolution, i.e., a 6 MP Bayer sensor really has, at best, 3 MP of effective resolution, and the "fill-in" data provided by red and blue photosites is used to generate guesses and then the resulting data is up-rezzed to the given sensor resolution. Because each photosite only captures 1/3rd of the required data, Bayer sensor-equipped cameras must 'guess' what color is at each location, and while firmware and available computer-based raw image processing algorithms are pretty good there is an inevitable and unavoidable loss of resolution on finely-detailed subject matter.

There is considerable debate as to what the true pixel count is on this camera. Sigma proudly labels this camera as 10.2 MP (3.4 MP x 3), meaning there are 3.4 million photosites (discrete light sensing locations) but each photosite captures 100% of the available color information so there is no guessing. The ability of this camera/sensor to capture single-pixel detail is unmatched by conventional Bayer sensor-equipped competitors with more than twice the base resolution. Extensive testing shows that the SD10 image quality and resolution exceeds conventional 6 MP dSLRs and is very close to 8 MP competitors, but without the disturbing moire artifacts that are an unavoidable aspect of Bayer sensors.

What does all this mean? I can tell you that I have up-rezzed SD10 images (using third-party software with sophisticated algorithms, not the provided SPP with bicubic up-rezzing only) and the resultant images are as sharp or sharper than 'native' 8 MP images from competitive dSLRs.

If your primary usage was for photojournalism where you needed to produce lots of JPEGs that will never go larger than 8"x10", don't get the SD10... look at Nikon or Canon cameras that produce JPEGs in-camera.

What this camera excels at is fantastic, detailed photographs. If you are into landscapes, portraiture, or other areas where image quality is extremely important, if you are into the craft of photograpy, if you are willing to post-process raw images for the ultimate in photograph quality, then the SD10 deserves a serious look.

8/19/2005 12:11:40 AM
 
Jeff Scheerer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/1/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 7:54:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 7:54:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 7:54:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 7:54:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 7:54:37 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
i like every thing but placement of shutter control
6/1/2005 7:54:37 PM
 
Andrew D. Rivers 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2004 5:52:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2004 5:52:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2004 5:52:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2004 5:52:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2004 5:52:08 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love love love my camera.And as for the extra power pack that seems to be such a big deal! try using the new crv3 litiuim rechargeables out on the market. They fit the AA battery slot for the camera and last hours and hours more then AA Ni cads. I can get two days of photography on one charge.at least 300 images. The Ni cads I own last half that long but take a lot more then just 15 shots. the previous review comments on just 15. Try a rechargeable with the most amount of Nmh.. ( mine are 2300nmh ). other then that The camera has been holding up very well to almost everyday use. Have a good one peeps and use that sigma well.
11/5/2004 5:52:08 AM
 
David Hughes 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2004 12:19:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2004 12:19:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2004 12:19:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2004 12:19:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2004 12:19:37 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It is a great camera in patient, capable hands.
10/28/2004 12:19:37 AM
 

First 10 of 21 Reviews  (see all user reviews)