BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


PowerShot S10 Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Covered By a Rain...
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot S10 Digital Camera

The Canon PowerShot is an amazingly small, 2.1MP, 2X zoom digital camera. It has an extremely compact design, with a volume of 247 cc and a weight of about 270 grams. For extra portability the full flat and stylish body adopts a retractable zoom lens that extends out from the camera only when shooting.

Fully compatible with Type I and Type II compact flash memory cards, it also supports the 340MB IBM Microdrive. Plus, it features a high resolution, low distortion, all-glass aspherical Canon 2X zoom lens as well as a built-in flash, 2X/4X digital zoom, new Omni Selector, selectable ISO up to 400, and much more! What's more,the PowerShot S10 is equipped with a 2.11 megapixel 1/2" Charge-Coupled Device (CCD). Captured images feature a high resolution of up to 1600 x 1200 pixels.

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


21 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Lara Del Pino

member since: 12/29/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I am new to this camera but love it so far.
12/29/2005 7:44:44 PM
 
Chad Stewart
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/6/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great Camera to get into Digital Photography with. Only 3.2mp so it was rather limiting for print sizes and cropping options. I liked everything it did though, Color was great, a little bit of lag time, In all though very happy with it. Only problem was I wore it out :) Thats gotta be a good sign haha
12/8/2005 5:34:12 PM
 
Johan N. Damm

member since: 10/26/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
One of the first Canon digital cameras. Excellent for dig pics.
10/27/2005 4:45:54 AM
 
Kimberly Ann Billings

member since: 8/1/2005
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
It's alright for point and shoot. However, the shutter lag was very irritating.
9/28/2005 8:19:44 AM
 
Nicola L. McAndrew

member since: 9/20/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like that you can take black and white shots or colour!
9/20/2005 10:31:56 AM
 
Deanna J. Weed

member since: 5/27/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
There is nothing I don't like about it........the Zoom is awesome
5/27/2005 5:15:53 PM
 
Anette Mossbacher
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/21/2004
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
The batterie is very fast empty.
4/20/2005 2:55:15 AM
 
Victoria E. Watkins

member since: 4/4/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like the fact that my camera has a 10x optical zoom lens. That was very important to me when buying a digital camera. I like the view screen on the back of the camera, especially the fact that it pivots. That is very convenient. The only thing I do not really like about my digital camera is it's size and weight. It is a little bit bigger than I would have liked.
4/4/2005 5:04:53 PM
 
Karen Walzer
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/24/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I've been taking pictures for years with an instant 35mm camera. My Canon PowerShot takes great pictures but at first I was overwhelmed with all the various options it offers. As I learn more about it I'm becoming more comfortable and enjoying it more.
2/24/2005 7:23:13 PM
 
Brie S. Washuck
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/22/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
My camera has been very easy and enjoyable to use. The colours always come out vibrant. The only area I seem to have trouble with on occasion is focusing.
2/22/2005 3:31:12 AM
 
Cole Zdenek

member since: 11/11/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my first camera I ever bought. I needed one for my travel experiences as I am studying abroad in England. Love the digital capabilites, 10x optical zoom is fantastic. Takes really well photographs, but thats coming from a beginners standpoint. Has an Image Stabilizer that comes in handy when zoomed in close. Overall I am very pleased.
11/11/2004 11:02:44 AM
 
carol joyce
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/4/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Easy to use. Fits nicely into my small hand. Zooms is too fast.
11/4/2004 6:47:08 AM
 
Jerome D. Brown

member since: 10/13/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
A great compact digital. There are some issues with chromatic aberration in very bright areas, but the effect is minimal and correctable within psp or ps. Battery life is fantastic and the hot shoe lets me overcome the limitations of the built in flash.
10/31/2004 4:49:06 AM
 
Stephen L. Strickland

member since: 9/14/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
very good could use more mega pixels
9/14/2004 1:01:22 PM
 
Sharon A. Nosil

member since: 9/5/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I have just purchased this camera and have not used it yet.
9/5/2004 7:07:33 PM
 
Noneng Ruff

member since: 8/23/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera! It's really great. It takes really good, clear and bright pictures. The video function is also awesome! But sometimes at night it gets hazy. And the digital zoom is a little fuzzy. But all in all its a great cam!
8/24/2004 5:19:02 AM
 
Barbara S. Nicholson

member since: 6/13/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera
6/13/2004 5:40:22 PM
 
Laura Berman
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/23/2004
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
very good--for its time
4/24/2004 10:08:31 PM
 
Michel Bordeleau

member since: 8/1/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Ok that's an old one and only 2 megapixel. First appear in 1999, but still a very good one. Gives very sharp pictures. I'm always surprised by the quality of the picture I can obtain from it.
4/19/2004 4:12:23 PM
 
Elizabeth A. Anthony

member since: 4/5/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Takes great pictures for a point and shoot but as it is an older model there is a long delay in the snapshot causing you to sometimes miss your shot
4/13/2004 5:41:54 AM
 
Susi Lawson
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/12/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I know this is not the best of digital cameras but I have been very happy with this purchase. It is reliable and produces nice clean shots. You must have an extra battery when taking a day shoot!
7/13/2003 3:58:32 PM
 

21 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.