PowerShot S10 Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Help Is Coming
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot S10 Digital Camera

The Canon PowerShot is an amazingly small, 2.1MP, 2X zoom digital camera. It has an extremely compact design, with a volume of 247 cc and a weight of about 270 grams. For extra portability the full flat and stylish body adopts a retractable zoom lens that extends out from the camera only when shooting.

Fully compatible with Type I and Type II compact flash memory cards, it also supports the 340MB IBM Microdrive. Plus, it features a high resolution, low distortion, all-glass aspherical Canon 2X zoom lens as well as a built-in flash, 2X/4X digital zoom, new Omni Selector, selectable ISO up to 400, and much more! What's more,the PowerShot S10 is equipped with a 2.11 megapixel 1/2" Charge-Coupled Device (CCD). Captured images feature a high resolution of up to 1600 x 1200 pixels.

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 21 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Lara Del Pino 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2005 7:44:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2005 7:44:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2005 7:44:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2005 7:44:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2005 7:44:44 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I am new to this camera but love it so far.
12/29/2005 7:44:44 PM
 
Chad Stewart
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/6/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 5:34:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 5:34:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 5:34:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 5:34:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 5:34:12 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great Camera to get into Digital Photography with. Only 3.2mp so it was rather limiting for print sizes and cropping options. I liked everything it did though, Color was great, a little bit of lag time, In all though very happy with it. Only problem was I wore it out :) Thats gotta be a good sign haha
12/8/2005 5:34:12 PM
 
Johan N. Damm 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 4:45:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 4:45:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 4:45:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 4:45:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 4:45:54 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
One of the first Canon digital cameras. Excellent for dig pics.
10/27/2005 4:45:54 AM
 
Kimberly Ann Billings 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 8:19:44 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 8:19:44 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 8:19:44 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 8:19:44 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 8:19:44 AM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
It's alright for point and shoot. However, the shutter lag was very irritating.
9/28/2005 8:19:44 AM
 
Nicola L. McAndrew 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2005 10:31:56 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2005 10:31:56 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2005 10:31:56 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2005 10:31:56 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2005 10:31:56 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like that you can take black and white shots or colour!
9/20/2005 10:31:56 AM
 
Deanna J. Weed 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2005 5:15:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2005 5:15:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2005 5:15:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2005 5:15:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2005 5:15:53 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
There is nothing I don't like about it........the Zoom is awesome
5/27/2005 5:15:53 PM
 
Anette Mossbacher
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/21/2004
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2005 2:55:15 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2005 2:55:15 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2005 2:55:15 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2005 2:55:15 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2005 2:55:15 AM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
The batterie is very fast empty.
4/20/2005 2:55:15 AM
 
Victoria E. Watkins 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 5:04:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 5:04:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 5:04:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 5:04:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 5:04:53 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like the fact that my camera has a 10x optical zoom lens. That was very important to me when buying a digital camera. I like the view screen on the back of the camera, especially the fact that it pivots. That is very convenient. The only thing I do not really like about my digital camera is it's size and weight. It is a little bit bigger than I would have liked.
4/4/2005 5:04:53 PM
 
Karen Walzer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/24/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2005 7:23:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2005 7:23:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2005 7:23:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2005 7:23:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2005 7:23:13 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I've been taking pictures for years with an instant 35mm camera. My Canon PowerShot takes great pictures but at first I was overwhelmed with all the various options it offers. As I learn more about it I'm becoming more comfortable and enjoying it more.
2/24/2005 7:23:13 PM
 
Brie S. Washuck
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/22/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2005 3:31:12 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2005 3:31:12 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2005 3:31:12 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2005 3:31:12 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2005 3:31:12 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My camera has been very easy and enjoyable to use. The colours always come out vibrant. The only area I seem to have trouble with on occasion is focusing.
2/22/2005 3:31:12 AM
 
Cole Zdenek 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2004 11:02:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2004 11:02:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2004 11:02:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2004 11:02:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2004 11:02:44 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my first camera I ever bought. I needed one for my travel experiences as I am studying abroad in England. Love the digital capabilites, 10x optical zoom is fantastic. Takes really well photographs, but thats coming from a beginners standpoint. Has an Image Stabilizer that comes in handy when zoomed in close. Overall I am very pleased.
11/11/2004 11:02:44 AM
 

First 10 of 21 Reviews  (see all user reviews)