Maxxum 800si SLR Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Good Morning, Sun...
View photos created with this camera

The Maxxum 800si SLR Camera

  • High-power built-in zoom flash
  • Rear-flash sync
  • Built-in Intelligent-card function
  • Reliable autofocus and auto exposure
  • Sophisticated metering index
  • Includes Minolta 1 year USA warranty

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 17 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Emily S. Cerda
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/21/2006
1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2006 7:22:19 AM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2006 7:22:19 AM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2006 7:22:19 AM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2006 7:22:19 AM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2006 7:22:19 AM
Rating: 1 out of 5
I enjoyed the placement of controls on this camera, but it was very light and felt cheaply-made. The shutter mechanism failed after less than a year of use, leaving an overexposed strip along the side of each frame of film I shot. For the cost, I was very disappointed in this camera.
3/21/2006 7:22:19 AM
 
Sebastien VIDY 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2005 1:53:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2005 1:53:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2005 1:53:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2005 1:53:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2005 1:53:09 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I dislike the noise when I focus.Also it was to slow.I like the feature you have in (deep of field,bracketing,spot exposure.Also it's really good cause I have only one problem in 4 year due to the sand when I change my lense on the beach.
6/10/2005 1:53:09 PM
 
Paspii  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 8:36:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 8:36:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 8:36:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 8:36:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 8:36:46 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
all action I wan`t. too plastic.
5/20/2005 8:36:46 AM
 
Phyllis Lowry 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 8:24:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 8:24:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 8:24:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 8:24:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 8:24:43 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great camera!!!
1/10/2005 8:24:43 AM
 
Glenn W. Tucker 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2004 6:26:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2004 6:26:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2004 6:26:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2004 6:26:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2004 6:26:07 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
my first SLR rugged and reliable a great compaion on my nature hikes.
6/22/2004 6:26:07 PM
 
James Metcalf 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2004 11:34:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2004 11:34:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2004 11:34:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2004 11:34:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2004 11:34:49 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Best of Minolta's SLR Line. I have been using Minolta's for 50 years. Wouldn't own anything else. Lightweight - small - fits in hand good. Takes great pictures
3/8/2004 11:34:49 AM
 
Richard Gates 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2004 1:07:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2004 1:07:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2004 1:07:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2004 1:07:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2004 1:07:05 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A top of the line Pro SLR. Features on the fly functions, quick to change from moving to still shots and easy setup. Features custom functions that can be set to user's preferences without aving to have special cards like the 700si.
1/29/2004 1:07:05 AM
 
Bart C. Mauceri, jr. 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2004 8:05:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2004 8:05:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2004 8:05:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2004 8:05:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2004 8:05:55 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It may not be the same as a Nikon, but the performance of the Maxxum 800si is what I need in a pro 35mm SLR - reliable.
1/17/2004 8:05:55 AM
 
Bill Lewis 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2004 9:10:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2004 9:10:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2004 9:10:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2004 9:10:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2004 9:10:10 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
the features offer a lot of control over the exposure process. aeb in 1/3 and other features that are too numerous to mention
1/15/2004 9:10:10 PM
 
Jennifer Stallard 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 10:00:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 10:00:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 10:00:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 10:00:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 10:00:45 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Bought off ebay 5years ago, works great.
1/12/2004 10:00:45 PM
 
Carol Christy 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 1:14:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 1:14:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 1:14:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 1:14:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 1:14:35 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera allows me the use depth of field preview, however most of my Sigma lenses will not work with this camera.
1/11/2004 1:14:35 PM
 

First 10 of 17 Reviews  (see all user reviews)