DC215/215 Millenium Zoom Digital Camera


Kodak

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Filter fun
View photos created with this camera

The DC215/215 Millenium Zoom Digital Camera

With a 1174 X 884 pixel CCD, you can store 12 to 56 beautiful pictures on the included 4 MB picture card. Focus-free 2X wide angle lens zooms from 28 to 58mm. 1.8" LCD monitor. Stores images in JPEG or Flashpix file formats. Video out allows you to see images on TV. Transfer images to computer via serial port.

Features:

  • 1152 x 864 pixels image resolution
  • 3 image quality Settings
  • 24-bit, millions of colors
  • Included 4 MB Kodak Picture Card stores 12 to 54 pictures
  • 1.8" TFT color LCD viewfinder
  • 2X (29-58mm) true optical glass zoom, focus-free lens
  • 8" macro mode
  • Saves in JPEG (EXIF), FPX file formats
  • Interface: Serial, PC Card
  • Video Out: NTSC, PAL (user selectable)
  • Date Stamp: Optional
  • Self-Timer: 10 seconds
  • Includes Kodak 1 year USA warranty

Package Contents:

  • KODAK DC215 Zoom Digital Camera with wrist strap and lens cover
  • 4 MB KODAK Picture Card
  • 4 AA alkaline batteries
  • Serial cable for WINDOWS and MACINTOSH Systems
  • Video cable
  • Quick setup card, user's guide, registration cards
  • CD-ROMs with software


Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


23 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3 out of 5

3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Todd David Isaacson 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 7:32:19 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 7:32:19 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 7:32:19 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 7:32:19 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 7:32:19 PM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
The Kodak DC-215 was my first real digital rangefinder with zoom. While it only has 1 MP and the max resolution is 120 dpi, as long as you are in great indoor lighting or daylight, the photos are wonderful. It has a decent macro setting, it allows for simulated f-stops(up & down), and it has decent flash settings. The downside, other than 1 MP, is 4 AA batteries that get drained quickly and easily, the battery tray is broken on almost every one I've seen, and unless you have a card reader, the transfer method is slow and laborious. For a first digital (purchased used-4 for $160 on e-Bay) it is a decent camera.
7/6/2006 7:32:19 PM
 
Renda Romanus 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 4:57:22 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 4:57:22 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 4:57:22 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 4:57:22 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 4:57:22 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Good for starting or breaking into digital, easy to use. The thing I don't like about it is I can't change lenses, etc. I still have my Minolta 35mm that I absolutely love.
7/5/2006 4:57:22 PM
 
Cristy Rice 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 6:31:49 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 6:31:49 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 6:31:49 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 6:31:49 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 6:31:49 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This digital camera was given to me by a friend, I like it much better than my old one, but would love to upgrade. It takes average photos.
3/30/2006 6:31:49 AM
 
Cristy Rice 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 6:31:13 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 6:31:13 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 6:31:13 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 6:31:13 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 6:31:13 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This digital camera was given to me by a friend, I like it much better than my old one, but would love to upgrade. It takes
3/30/2006 6:31:13 AM
 
David B. Mirch
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/12/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 11:12:15 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 11:12:15 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 11:12:15 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 11:12:15 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 11:12:15 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
My camera is old and outdated. It is only one mp, and has only 2x zoom. The LCD screen is about 1 in. and the battery life is about 10 minutes; I cannot use the LCD anymore and must take pictures with the optical view finder. I am trying to get a new camera, to take better pictures with.
11/12/2005 11:12:15 AM
 
Sheila  F. Burroughs 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2005 7:01:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2005 7:01:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2005 7:01:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2005 7:01:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2005 7:01:05 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I bought the Kodak DC215 Digital Zoom camera used before I invested in my Pentax and I think it is a 3 megapixal and it takes really great pictures for what I wanted it for. I have put some pictures on the site that I took with the Kodak DC215 and with the Pentax and also a couple that I took back in 1980 with a film camera called the USC Auto-Pak 200 whick I think also took very good pictures. With this camera you had to insert the flash bulbs one at a time but I have also inserted a couple of pictures of my kids that I took with this camera as well and I would really like to get an opinion about the quality of the photo's and also an opinion about my ability as a photographer because I invested $1250 in the Pentax so that I could try and become a part-time photographer taking pictures of my family, friends and customers in the area I live so that I could earn money doing what I love.
10/8/2005 7:01:05 AM
 
Chris Hare 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2005 7:31:13 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2005 7:31:13 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2005 7:31:13 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2005 7:31:13 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2005 7:31:13 AM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
This was my first digital camera. I took almost 5,000 pictures on it before I dropped it. It was okay. Only 1.5 megapixels didn't provide a lot of options, but I did get some really good (some of my friends say stunning) pictures with it. It was relatively compact for its time and had a pretty good zoom.
9/22/2005 7:31:13 AM
 
Vince J. Antonino 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 12:14:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 12:14:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 12:14:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 12:14:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 12:14:33 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Short Battery life. Decent Camera.
6/24/2005 12:14:33 AM
 
Christina Simpson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/29/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2005 3:39:03 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2005 3:39:03 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2005 3:39:03 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2005 3:39:03 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2005 3:39:03 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This camera takes pretty good pictures, but when i upload them to web-sites they seem to be a bit fuzzy sometimes.
5/29/2005 3:39:03 PM
 
Verla L. Chambers 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 8:00:05 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 8:00:05 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 8:00:05 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 8:00:05 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 8:00:05 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Very slow wait betwixt photos, but a super take-along camera!
5/24/2005 8:00:05 PM
 
Kim Bradfield 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2005 10:55:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2005 10:55:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2005 10:55:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2005 10:55:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2005 10:55:49 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I would like to zoom in closer
3/12/2005 10:55:49 AM
 
Mz Miller 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2005 7:20:55 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2005 7:20:55 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2005 7:20:55 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2005 7:20:55 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2005 7:20:55 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
like it, it takes good clear pictures
2/16/2005 7:20:55 PM
 
Colleen Killorn 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2004 10:28:27 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2004 10:28:27 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2004 10:28:27 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2004 10:28:27 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2004 10:28:27 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera takes acceptional photos.
9/12/2004 10:28:27 AM
 
Renee Zernitsky 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 9:10:14 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 9:10:14 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 9:10:14 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 9:10:14 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 9:10:14 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Limited pixels and functionality - user friendly for average photographer Takes excellant photos However, looking to upgrade to Newer Digital with interchangeable lens and more megs Possible a Minolta so that I can use the lens I already have for my SLR camera
4/12/2004 9:10:14 PM
 
NELSON  HAIRGROVE 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 1:01:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 1:01:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 1:01:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 1:01:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 1:01:10 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
IS A GOOD CAMERA FOR A BEGINNER. I HARLDY USE MY 35MM SLR ANYMORE. IT IS MY FIRST DIGITAL CAMERA. I INTEND TO GET A CAMERA WITH BETTER RESOLUTION, BUT THIS CAMERA DOES ANYTHING I ASK OF IT.
1/8/2004 1:01:10 PM
 
NELSON  HAIRGROVE 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 12:49:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 12:49:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 12:49:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 12:49:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 12:49:04 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
IS NOT A BAD CAMERA FOR TAKING SNAPHOTS, AND FOR BEGINNERS. IS MY FIRST DIGITAL CAMERA. I HARDLY USE MY 35MM SLR ANYMORE BECAUSE OF THIS CAMERA'S EASE. I AM GOING TO BUY A BETTER CAMERA EVENTUALLY, BUT THIS CAMERA DOES EVERYTHING I ASK OF IT.
1/8/2004 12:49:04 PM
 
Nikki Oswald 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 1:30:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 1:30:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 1:30:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 1:30:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 1:30:12 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Its a wonderful camera that takes great pictures.
12/31/2003 1:30:12 PM
 
Rich Furman 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2003 5:16:04 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2003 5:16:04 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2003 5:16:04 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2003 5:16:04 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2003 5:16:04 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
A good camera for four years ago before digital really took off. At one megapixal it does ok but not near as sharp as some other one MP cameras I have seen.
10/7/2003 5:16:04 AM
 
Rich Furman 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2003 4:39:33 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2003 4:39:33 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2003 4:39:33 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2003 4:39:33 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2003 4:39:33 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I have printed good 8x10s from this camera using the highest setting. They have a very soft but clear appearence. For the price and photos it is a great little camera to have around for those unexpected shots.
8/22/2003 4:39:33 AM
 
Sherry Sanford 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2003 4:33:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2003 4:33:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2003 4:33:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2003 4:33:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2003 4:33:55 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Takes great pictures. easy to use. but my dream now is the coolpix4300!
7/15/2003 4:33:55 AM
 
Carol Ann Newman 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2003 6:31:20 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2003 6:31:20 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2003 6:31:20 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2003 6:31:20 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2003 6:31:20 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
It's only good for print's up to 5x7's.
7/2/2003 6:31:20 PM
 
Amber Grzyb
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/12/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2003 4:18:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2003 4:18:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2003 4:18:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2003 4:18:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2003 4:18:00 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera is ok but I have only gotten up to 13 pictures stored on the 4mb card and sometimes only 10 will fit. Also the pictures are not always very clear. I like the camera but hope to get a better one soon.
6/20/2003 4:18:00 PM
 
Floyd m. Strohl 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
Its ok on the highest resolution setting, poor on the lower two. I keep mine on the highest, printed 8x10's...very poor. printed 5x7's....poor,although not bad looking at it from 8' feet away. Have not printed 31/2x5 yet. All these prints where done off a machine at Meijers. This camera is ok for real close-up pictures. good for e-mails
 

23 Reviews