DC215/215 Millenium Zoom Digital Camera


Kodak

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Filter fun
View photos created with this camera

The DC215/215 Millenium Zoom Digital Camera

With a 1174 X 884 pixel CCD, you can store 12 to 56 beautiful pictures on the included 4 MB picture card. Focus-free 2X wide angle lens zooms from 28 to 58mm. 1.8" LCD monitor. Stores images in JPEG or Flashpix file formats. Video out allows you to see images on TV. Transfer images to computer via serial port.

Features:

  • 1152 x 864 pixels image resolution
  • 3 image quality Settings
  • 24-bit, millions of colors
  • Included 4 MB Kodak Picture Card stores 12 to 54 pictures
  • 1.8" TFT color LCD viewfinder
  • 2X (29-58mm) true optical glass zoom, focus-free lens
  • 8" macro mode
  • Saves in JPEG (EXIF), FPX file formats
  • Interface: Serial, PC Card
  • Video Out: NTSC, PAL (user selectable)
  • Date Stamp: Optional
  • Self-Timer: 10 seconds
  • Includes Kodak 1 year USA warranty

Package Contents:

  • KODAK DC215 Zoom Digital Camera with wrist strap and lens cover
  • 4 MB KODAK Picture Card
  • 4 AA alkaline batteries
  • Serial cable for WINDOWS and MACINTOSH Systems
  • Video cable
  • Quick setup card, user's guide, registration cards
  • CD-ROMs with software


Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 23 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 3 out of 5

3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Todd David Isaacson 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 7:32:19 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 7:32:19 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 7:32:19 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 7:32:19 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 7:32:19 PM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
The Kodak DC-215 was my first real digital rangefinder with zoom. While it only has 1 MP and the max resolution is 120 dpi, as long as you are in great indoor lighting or daylight, the photos are wonderful. It has a decent macro setting, it allows for simulated f-stops(up & down), and it has decent flash settings. The downside, other than 1 MP, is 4 AA batteries that get drained quickly and easily, the battery tray is broken on almost every one I've seen, and unless you have a card reader, the transfer method is slow and laborious. For a first digital (purchased used-4 for $160 on e-Bay) it is a decent camera.
7/6/2006 7:32:19 PM
 
Renda Romanus 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 4:57:22 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 4:57:22 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 4:57:22 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 4:57:22 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 4:57:22 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Good for starting or breaking into digital, easy to use. The thing I don't like about it is I can't change lenses, etc. I still have my Minolta 35mm that I absolutely love.
7/5/2006 4:57:22 PM
 
Cristy Rice 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 6:31:49 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 6:31:49 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 6:31:49 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 6:31:49 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 6:31:49 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This digital camera was given to me by a friend, I like it much better than my old one, but would love to upgrade. It takes average photos.
3/30/2006 6:31:49 AM
 
Cristy Rice 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 6:31:13 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 6:31:13 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 6:31:13 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 6:31:13 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 6:31:13 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This digital camera was given to me by a friend, I like it much better than my old one, but would love to upgrade. It takes
3/30/2006 6:31:13 AM
 
David B. Mirch
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/12/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 11:12:15 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 11:12:15 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 11:12:15 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 11:12:15 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 11:12:15 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
My camera is old and outdated. It is only one mp, and has only 2x zoom. The LCD screen is about 1 in. and the battery life is about 10 minutes; I cannot use the LCD anymore and must take pictures with the optical view finder. I am trying to get a new camera, to take better pictures with.
11/12/2005 11:12:15 AM
 
Sheila  F. Burroughs 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2005 7:01:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2005 7:01:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2005 7:01:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2005 7:01:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2005 7:01:05 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I bought the Kodak DC215 Digital Zoom camera used before I invested in my Pentax and I think it is a 3 megapixal and it takes really great pictures for what I wanted it for. I have put some pictures on the site that I took with the Kodak DC215 and with the Pentax and also a couple that I took back in 1980 with a film camera called the USC Auto-Pak 200 whick I think also took very good pictures. With this camera you had to insert the flash bulbs one at a time but I have also inserted a couple of pictures of my kids that I took with this camera as well and I would really like to get an opinion about the quality of the photo's and also an opinion about my ability as a photographer because I invested $1250 in the Pentax so that I could try and become a part-time photographer taking pictures of my family, friends and customers in the area I live so that I could earn money doing what I love.
10/8/2005 7:01:05 AM
 
Chris Hare 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2005 7:31:13 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2005 7:31:13 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2005 7:31:13 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2005 7:31:13 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2005 7:31:13 AM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
This was my first digital camera. I took almost 5,000 pictures on it before I dropped it. It was okay. Only 1.5 megapixels didn't provide a lot of options, but I did get some really good (some of my friends say stunning) pictures with it. It was relatively compact for its time and had a pretty good zoom.
9/22/2005 7:31:13 AM
 
Vince J. Antonino 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 12:14:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 12:14:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 12:14:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 12:14:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 12:14:33 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Short Battery life. Decent Camera.
6/24/2005 12:14:33 AM
 
Christina Simpson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/29/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2005 3:39:03 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2005 3:39:03 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2005 3:39:03 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2005 3:39:03 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2005 3:39:03 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This camera takes pretty good pictures, but when i upload them to web-sites they seem to be a bit fuzzy sometimes.
5/29/2005 3:39:03 PM
 
Verla L. Chambers 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 8:00:05 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 8:00:05 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 8:00:05 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 8:00:05 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 8:00:05 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Very slow wait betwixt photos, but a super take-along camera!
5/24/2005 8:00:05 PM
 
Kim Bradfield 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2005 10:55:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2005 10:55:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2005 10:55:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2005 10:55:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2005 10:55:49 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I would like to zoom in closer
3/12/2005 10:55:49 AM
 

First 10 of 23 Reviews  (see all user reviews)