Camedia C-2020Z Digital Camera


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control


View photos created with this camera

The Camedia C-2020Z Digital Camera

With a 2.11 megapixel CCD and a 3X 35-105mm zoom lens, this Olympus C-2020 shares many of the great features of the C-2000 and adds a couple new tricks in the bag. A black and white mode saves you a step if monochrome is what you are after and a Quicktime mode allows you to capture a bit of a movie.

From the manufacturer:
The new C-2020 Zoom is a camera of firsts: the first Olympus filmless digital camera to shoot color or black & white images and the first Olympus camera with the capability to shoot up to 60 seconds of QuickTime movie.
But the C-2020 Zoom is also an advanced camera, for an advanced photographer. Based on the stylish design of the award winning C-2000 Zoom, the C-2020s high-resolution 3x zoom lens (equivalent to a 35-105mm zoom on a 35mm film camera) and 2.11 megapixel capacity capture beautiful, 24-bit color photo-quality images. Other advanced features include fully automatic and true manual controls for focus, white balance, and exposure; a new Wide-View 1.8 LCD, for easy viewing at any angle, even in direct sunlight; a wireless remote control; a new power control dial and better power efficiency; and more user-friendly menus and control

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


20 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Terry Lawhon
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/9/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2006 12:31:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2006 12:31:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2006 12:31:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2006 12:31:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2006 12:31:22 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is now my wife's camera, but it served me very well for 6 years. Only 2.1 mp, but still works very well.
5/31/2006 12:31:22 AM
 
Daniel Harwell 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2006 6:53:38 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2006 6:53:38 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2006 6:53:38 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2006 6:53:38 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2006 6:53:38 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Incredibly ancient by today's standards, I still enjoy using the Olympus 2020Z to shoot in the near infrared spectrum with a Hoya filter. This camera excels in that capacity as the newer cameras feature a much more restrictive infrared filter built into the hardware. This filter was not as efficient back when the 2020Z was state-of-the-art, so with a simple filter, voila! Infrared photography becomes easy!
1/17/2006 6:53:38 PM
 
Charles E. Caraher 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2005 7:19:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2005 7:19:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2005 7:19:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2005 7:19:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2005 7:19:24 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My Olympus 2020Z is a little dated but still takes excellent pictures.
12/31/2005 7:19:24 PM
 
Richard  E. Warsin 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 2:43:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 2:43:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 2:43:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 2:43:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 2:43:05 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like the camera however it is fairly old for a digital, I bought back in 1999. I`m not an professional photographer so the camera works well for what I use it for. However I am very interested in becoming a better photographer, I look at it as an art form. Maybe because I`m an artist!
12/5/2005 2:43:05 PM
 
Jackie R. Evans 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 6:42:19 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 6:42:19 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 6:42:19 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 6:42:19 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 6:42:19 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's great for the price, but not as "professional quality" as I would like.
9/13/2005 6:42:19 PM
 
Gretchen Davis 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 11:31:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 11:31:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 11:31:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 11:31:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 11:31:12 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera has been really, really forgiving to me. After several years of using it for my husband's business, it's been retired for me to use exclusively at the animal shelter. It's been dropped in litterboxes, had kittens hanging off it, and been bitten by hostile tomcats, but it just keeps on working. Long shutter lag, but easy to work one-handed and takes more than passable pictures.
6/27/2005 11:31:12 AM
 
Chad W. Manz
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/16/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 8:06:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 8:06:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 8:06:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 8:06:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 8:06:09 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Pretty good camera back then. A friend has it now and still snapping away with it.
3/28/2005 8:06:09 AM
 
Yuning Ma 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2004 8:37:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2004 8:37:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2004 8:37:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2004 8:37:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2004 8:37:59 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's my first digital camera. I bring it to everywhere. It's heavy but a camera like digital camera, and I like that.
11/7/2004 8:37:59 PM
 
Beth L. Miller 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2004 5:16:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2004 5:16:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2004 5:16:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2004 5:16:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2004 5:16:15 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera for only 2.1 megapixels, this was my first digital camera in 2000. loved it!
10/14/2004 5:16:15 PM
 
Sherry House 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 8:58:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 8:58:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 8:58:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 8:58:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 8:58:34 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
nice 1st digital
9/22/2004 8:58:34 AM
 
Steven Myers 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 10:58:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 10:58:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 10:58:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 10:58:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 10:58:40 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent quality all around - especially, for a 2.1mp camera. I wish the lens were a little more functional (3x zoom is fair, but the camera would be MUCH more useful with a more versatile telephoto lens...it doesn't get quite as wide as I'd like and can't zoom in very well). Macro functions are excllent and image quality is top-notch.
9/10/2004 10:58:40 AM
 
Gary Wonning
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/29/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 8:51:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 8:51:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 8:51:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 8:51:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 8:51:47 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great camera, only a 2.1 megapixel, but gives great prints up to at least 11X14.
9/7/2004 8:51:47 AM
 
Diane Schull 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2004 11:22:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2004 11:22:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2004 11:22:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2004 11:22:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2004 11:22:08 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It is slow in taking the photo from the time you push the button. Also the zoom is not real acurate through the eyepiece but then it is an old camera. I love the photos.
8/31/2004 11:22:08 AM
 
Beth L. Miller 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2004 9:46:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2004 9:46:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2004 9:46:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2004 9:46:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2004 9:46:39 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera for 4x6 or 8x10 photos! Sharp pictures, easy to use, program mode was great. Loved it for my first digital camera
7/14/2004 9:46:39 PM
 
James Tucker 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2004 5:31:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2004 5:31:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2004 5:31:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2004 5:31:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2004 5:31:11 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My first digital and a real workhorse! Looking forward to an upgrade soon.
3/22/2004 5:31:11 PM
 
Lorna D. McMahon 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2003 12:02:44 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2003 12:02:44 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2003 12:02:44 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2003 12:02:44 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2003 12:02:44 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Too outdated now
11/3/2003 12:02:44 PM
 
Carrie Opdahl 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2003 12:59:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2003 12:59:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2003 12:59:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2003 12:59:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2003 12:59:32 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is ideal for outdoor settings and some close up indoor settings. Pictures of large groups tend to appear fuzzy. But overall this is a good camera and I rely on it for my photography business.
10/28/2003 12:59:32 PM
 
Helmi K. Flick 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2003 9:07:57 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2003 9:07:57 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2003 9:07:57 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2003 9:07:57 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2003 9:07:57 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This was my first "working" camera and I shot five cat shows with it. It was easy to use, but I soon needed a high megapixel count and went to the C-3000Z.
10/22/2003 9:07:57 AM
 
Judy Ricker 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2003 10:53:58 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2003 10:53:58 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2003 10:53:58 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2003 10:53:58 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2003 10:53:58 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Complicated menu for a beginner. I wanted to take photos with much more zoom and detail. I wish it were more user friendly.
10/19/2003 10:53:58 AM
 
Ken Cook 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great camera. It took me a long time to learn all the settings but found it took great pictures in automatic mode until I did. I am new to digital photography and am already set to upgrade from a 2.1 pixel to 4.x or 5.x. I recommend the Olympus line for quality equipment and clear pictures.
Ken C.
 

20 Reviews