BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Coolpix 800 (E800) Digital Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Twilight
View photos created with this camera

The Coolpix 800 (E800) Digital Camera

From the manufacturer:
This easy-to-use compact digital camera doesn't sacrifice image quality or features for size.

  • New 2.11 Megapixel 1/2 inch CCD and sharp 2x Zoom-Nikkor lens (38-76 mm) for incredible image quality.
  • Print large, 11 x 14 high-quality prints from this lightweight powerhouse.
  • Fully automatic focus, flash, metering and white balance for great pictures.
  • Shoot up to 40 images at 30 frames per second in Ultra High-speed Continuous mode 2.5x digital zoom uses Nikon's optional wide-angle, fish-eye, and telephoto lenses.
  • Saves images in uncompressed TIFF or one of 3 JPEG modes.
  • Supplied 8MB CompactFlash™ memory card stores up to 200 images.

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


27 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Art Cotton

member since: 5/18/2006
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
Camera takes great close-up photos. Anything over two feet it's useless.
5/18/2006 6:35:18 PM
 
Joe Woo
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Joe
Joe's Gallery

member since: 3/30/2005
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
Camera has chatter problems.
1/15/2006 8:45:48 PM
 
Dan C.
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/31/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very good camera for point-and-shoot infrared.
12/31/2005 1:35:08 PM
 
Helen J. Meier

member since: 12/14/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is the camera I carry in my purse all the time and has been excellent and I've actually captured some of my best shots on this camera!
12/14/2005 5:58:41 PM
 
Peter Coggins
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/25/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Small, so I carry this one a lot - not much to set up a shot - I've had this one a while and like exercise, the best one is the one you do or in the case of a camera, the one you carry.
7/11/2005 6:43:12 PM
 
Margaret E. Walker

member since: 7/1/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Its a great carmera, works exelent and is easy to use.if you want a camera that is simple and easy to handle!
7/1/2005 10:02:08 PM
 
Jon Kolstad
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/10/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
For an older digital, it's still a pretty good camera and I enjoy using it. It has just enough features and compact size to let me take it almost everywhere.
5/13/2005 8:20:20 AM
 
Alice S. McLeod
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/21/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I like what the camera has enabled me to do up until the present time. I would like to upgrade my digital camera to commercial like the Nikon D1H or D1X or better if there is one out there. Of course, the problem is money or lack of it to purchase one these babies. alicem.
3/24/2005 5:59:48 AM
 
Per K. Urlaub

member since: 3/7/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
This camera is fun. 2MP are enough for 6x4 prints. Manual controls contribute to creativity. It is very cheap: You can get a used one on ebay for under 50 $, and you do not have to invest in a battery charger, because it takes AA batteries. And the best: You can attach filters, tele, macro and fisheye add-ons. The lens has a 28mm diameter. This size is very popular for video cameras, so everything that fits on a 28mm video camera lens, will fit on this digital camera. It is hard to find a digital point and shoot camera in this price range with this range of creative possibilites.
3/7/2005 8:57:39 PM
 
David A. Silverstein
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/21/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Good all around practice camera. Limited focal length, Auto focus hunts alot, not very accurate in low light. The 1600 x 1200 pixels allow for a decent quality 8x6 inch print. An 8x10 inch print shows some pixelation and noise. Just fine for 4x6 and 5x7 inch prints. Don't plan on cropping your image with this camera if you want to use 5x7 or 8x6 though.
2/26/2005 11:06:29 AM
 
Mark Spencer

member since: 2/7/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Funky Camera, Great (kind of unnatural) sturated colors.
2/7/2005 12:06:52 PM
 
Elizabeth Hudon

member since: 10/20/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
When I purchased my camera two years ago, I was new to digital technology. All I knew was that I wanted a camera that fit my budget, was easy to use and had at least 3 megapixels so that the resolution of printed photos would be satisfactory to my needs at the time. I wish someone would have told me it was incapable of accepting certain accessories. ie additional flash
10/20/2004 11:31:27 PM
 
Todd Muskopf

member since: 7/8/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It was good to me for years. It still works after 4 years with no problems. My 5700 has been back to Nikon twice.
8/18/2004 9:31:00 PM
 
john scaramucci

member since: 6/4/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
great camera and easy to use
6/4/2004 8:41:57 AM
 
Judy Williams
earmarkphotography.com

member since: 4/24/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
For an inexpensive low pixelated camera, I've been able to do some really amazing things, but I'd like to eventually get a newer one with higher pixels.
4/24/2004 6:35:05 AM
 
Judy A. Arena

member since: 1/10/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
While this Nikon is already "old" by tech age, it remains my favorite take-everywhere-camera. Good res on fine setting even when cropping and enlarging. It's not macro but does well on close ups.
3/12/2004 6:36:15 PM
 
Jennifer Moser

member since: 3/8/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera takes great digital images. The ones taken on the normal setting are able to be blown up into 8 x 10's with great clarity. This camera is very user friendly and easy to learn with. The only thing I wish I had know about it is that it will take night shots but you do need a tripod to use this feature. I have had the lens stay open for almost 20 seconds while taking pictures of the moon and any movement distorts the pictures.
3/8/2004 11:30:15 AM
 
Boots Garrett

member since: 2/1/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love the price I paid for this versatile camera. About 250.00. It was a referb. Have had no problems and I've owned it since 2000. I wish I had more control over speed. I don't know much about photography so I can't really comment yet about what it can and can't do that I wish it could or didn't do! And I wish someone would make a camera for lefties!
1/3/2004 2:26:22 AM
 
Steve Kazemir
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/29/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great for Macro's! Hard on batteries, not the best user interface.
12/15/2003 8:55:41 AM
 
Lesley Brown
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/30/2003
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I bought this camera off of eBay this year because it was what I could afford. I had an old Epson 750z and it broke, so I was desperate for a new camera but on limited funds. I only paid $150 for it! I like the camera, it is very simple to use, and it takes great photographs for what it is. My only complaint is that it's outdated and it's not capable of capturing the quality that I desire in a photograph. So I am trying to save up for a new one. In the meantime, I make the best out of this one.
10/30/2003 8:16:11 AM
 
Rebecca  Raybon

member since: 8/6/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Easy to use. Flash not the best. For the price, a good 2 megapixel camera.
9/11/2003 9:57:03 PM
 
Christopher Higdon

member since: 2/11/2001
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
For such a low res camera it has performed superbly. I have not had ANY problems and the battery life is better than expected. Great starter digital camera.
7/26/2003 12:52:53 PM
 
Cheryl M. Taylor

member since: 7/23/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Auto feature not good for lower light situations. Decent Macro. Easy to use.
7/23/2003 4:28:09 PM
 
Robert Brown
BetterPhoto Member
Robert-Brown-Photography.com

member since: 3/18/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very easy to use digital--good image quality to 5x7. Very limited use because of its lack of manual controls.
7/1/2003 10:22:51 AM
 
Alyce H. Clifford
AlyceClifford.com

member since: 5/16/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera is wonderful. I have had it for two years and love it. I can make perfect 14x11 in Prints.
6/21/2003 1:11:57 AM
 
Guy D. Biechele
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Guy
Guy's Gallery

member since: 7/15/2000
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Best Features: Good image quality, ease of use, takes great infrared photos with IR filters, ability to use Nikon add on lenses, compact size. Worst Features: Cannot manually select aperture or shutter speeds, only 2 megapixels, only 2X zoom.
6/17/2003 8:29:02 PM
 
Alyce H. Clifford
AlyceClifford.com

member since: 5/16/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have had a Nikon coolpix 800 for two years now and I love it.Today a shop in my town started selling my photographs. I make enlargements to 11x14in. and they are as clear as a bell.I would gladly recomend it highly. It is easy for someone just starting out as I was to use it. The directions are simple. It works wonders with Adobe products.
6/17/2003 12:33:57 PM
 

27 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright © 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc.® All Rights Reserved.