BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


EOS Elan II (EOS 50) 35mm SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Road to Hampi
View photos created with this camera

The EOS Elan II (EOS 50) 35mm SLR Camera The EOS Elan II (EOS 50) 35mm SLR Camera

From the manufacturer:
The EOS Elan II is a perfect example of form following function. Key controls are easy to understand, easy to use, and positioned for easy access. Feedback-confirming control inputs and camera functions are provided via two comprehensive displays. With its command dial and metering mode lever, quick control dial, AF mode dial, film advance mode lever and LCD panel, EOS ELAN II offers advanced automatic exposure control for perfect color in any light - indoors or out, day or night. It's as automatic as you want it to be, but as much under your command as required to achieve a creative result. Controls fall, readily to hand, designed and marked for confidence at your fingertips. What's more, Canon's exclusive AIM system integrates standard AE, flash AE and autofocus information for optimum results.

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


69 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Adrian G. Munteanu

member since: 5/8/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Mid-class in terms of value/price. Great acquisition for amateur to semi-pro.
5/8/2006 12:16:44 AM
 
HuHu Lin
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/28/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It's convenient to use!
4/16/2006 10:33:07 PM
 
Joe C. Allen

member since: 12/29/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Really good camera.
4/7/2006 1:24:34 PM
 
Maureen Pinzon
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/24/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Have owned my Canon Elan EOS IIe for eight years and still am very happy with it. I am in the process of purchasing the newer Elan 7ne and keep the older Canon as a back-up
3/29/2006 8:56:07 AM
 
Kristen L. Grady

member since: 3/18/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I absolutely loved this camera. It's been a long time since I've used it however b/c I am having a problem w/ the focus & haven't had the money or time to fix it. Also I thought I'd try out a new digital... so unfortunatly, this is collecting dust, but I'll take it out every now & again. Otherwise, it was VERY good to me while I used it :)
3/18/2006 9:20:02 AM
 
Ujjwal Mukherjee
Contact Ujjwal
Ujjwal's Gallery

member since: 3/21/2001
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent focussing.
3/17/2006 1:02:34 AM
 
Jeanne M. Brown
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/2/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera to have on a low budget. Lenses can also be used on the digital and visa versa. Tamron is my lens of choice if not using Canon lenses.
3/16/2006 6:52:44 AM
 
Rob  Walters
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/4/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my camera. My ideal camera, would be identical in everyway, except it would be digital.
1/5/2006 8:14:37 PM
 
DENISE J. DOHERTY
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/20/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
GREAT UNTIL DIGITAL
1/5/2006 2:43:07 AM
 


member since: 11/15/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
My first Slr. Great camera. Tons of features, at the time i got it, when they first came out, it had all the bells and whistles. now almost what 10 yeas old and still good to me. Currently i shoot slide film with this as i'm experiementing with different mediums,hrnce the aps slr,But i want to go digital soon.
12/5/2005 10:23:54 PM
 
Robert  Lazenby

member since: 7/26/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
My first auto-focus camera. It takes good pictures using my EF lens. I also like how it feels in my hand better than my wife's Canon EOS 2000. I still use it as my main 35mm camera.
11/17/2005 4:08:11 PM
 
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love everything about this camera, it's ease of use, all the options, the quality of the pictures, and the look of it.
9/30/2005 8:00:54 PM
 
Rick Baker

member since: 7/13/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
great
7/13/2005 3:17:55 AM
 
John E. Baldwin

member since: 6/30/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Easy to understand high-end amatuer camera. Controls and options are easily understood and comprehensive.
7/12/2005 8:52:36 PM
 
Evelyn Bage

member since: 6/4/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The best thing about the cannon EOS ELAN II is the ease in which you can change the settings and to go from pre-programed to self-programed.The only draw back to the cannon is the weight. Sometimes the weight pulls on the neck when your trying to walk for long days of picture taking.
6/14/2005 8:35:09 AM
 
Travis M. Rigby

member since: 5/25/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Since I was 13 I've had the Canon ELAN II. Now being 18 as a high school student, I intend on working with my camera for many more years. Not too sure about digital SLR's yet. I currently take pictures of my brother in his track season and pictures never came out so good. I use the manual mode, sometimes automatic, and get best results.
5/25/2005 4:36:55 PM
 
Dale E. Brown

member since: 4/16/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is the best I've ever had... I like the interchangable cameras and lenses of the EOS system... I use a 35-350mm lens on it...
4/16/2005 5:35:07 PM
 
Dale E. Brown

member since: 4/16/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is the best I've ever had... I like the interchangable cameras and lenses of the EOS system...
4/16/2005 5:24:13 PM
 
Dale E. Brown

member since: 4/16/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The only thing I can say is: This camera is the best I've ever had...
4/16/2005 5:21:16 PM
 
Laura Clay-Ballard
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/8/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my husband's cameaa so I don't have much experience with it. However, I like the results! What I don't like is the built in pop up flash. It is hard to control it.
3/24/2005 11:53:13 AM
 
Jim Soliski

member since: 3/16/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I like everything about it except it's a film camera now. Time to get a digital.
3/16/2005 6:23:22 PM
 
Richard Parker

member since: 1/26/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
We have two of these and various power lenses so either my wife or I will have the lense needed for the photo ready. Extremely easy to use and marvelous for outdoor shots.
1/26/2005 6:19:53 AM
 
Doug Bascom
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/5/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent build quality and options for manual use. Able to use my lenses and flash with Canon Digital cameras as well.
12/17/2004 5:21:50 PM
 
H K. G
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/22/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I LOVE this camera, it has taken some excellent action photos for me of horses with my canon 300mm USM lens. Alas, I am tired of so much film and am going to switch to a digital rebel and give that a shot, but my elanII will always stay with me. I know it's an older camera now but I feel it is still top of the line.
11/22/2004 5:48:26 AM
 
Bob l. Peterson
bobpetersonphotography.com

member since: 10/15/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
now aging but wonderful tool over the past 7 years...great range of shooting techniques, lenses and assistance......
10/25/2004 6:02:53 PM
 
Charley Knox

member since: 9/1/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Auto Focus At night really isnt good
9/10/2004 4:16:00 PM
 
Donna L. Jones
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/22/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Easy to use, great results, very pleased!
8/23/2004 7:48:53 PM
 
Maryanne C. Gobble
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/19/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Just took a random pick from a camera catolog. Did not know anything of photography. But it has served me well. People started asking me for professional photos within a year. Eye controlled focus is not really needed. I never use it. I would have just got a rebal as a beginner camera if I new more. very similar in features.
8/19/2004 9:25:26 AM
 
Peter Gooijer

member since: 8/13/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It does what I expected from my first DSLR camera, and accepts all my old Takumar lenses!
8/13/2004 12:31:51 PM
 
Jason M. Vandehey

member since: 3/29/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Except for the funny shaped selector knob and limited AF selection points, I loved this camera! Pretty much full featured SLR with lightweight body.
8/11/2004 8:59:23 AM
 
Shridhar Upadhyaya

member since: 8/5/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have used the ElanII with Canon 50mm/f1.4 lens for over a year now.

Pictures are sharp and I atlast found the perfect camera-lens combo for potrait pictures.

8/5/2004 8:30:53 AM
 
Doug  Murray

member since: 6/25/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like this camera. I have always had Canon camera's. They have everthing I need and are reliable.
7/6/2004 9:34:14 AM
 
Larry E. Johnson
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/16/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a Cadillac of digital cameras. I like being able to change lenses for just the shot you want.You have the best of both worlds digital and 35mm.
7/3/2004 10:43:24 PM
 
Imee S. Balandra

member since: 5/25/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I LIKE IT FOR FILM - GIVES ME GOOD SHOTS AND COLOR. I LIKE IT'S HAND GRIP AND IT'S USER FRIENDLY. ALTHOUGH IT'S BIG, I LIKE IT STILL.
5/25/2004 10:23:11 AM
 
Peter Wuerr

member since: 5/1/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I think this camera is great. At this point its capabilities well outstrip mine. My only quibble is the limitation on continuous shooting - 4 frames and the you are waiting.
5/1/2004 9:55:40 AM
 
Terrance J. March

member since: 4/14/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the eye focus very user friendly and takes good pictures. I considered buying this camera after shooting with a canon rebel for over five years. The rebel became too slow for what I needed the camera for. I wish someone would have told me to invest in a higher end lens if I plan to become a professional photographer.
4/15/2004 7:29:14 AM
 
FRANK E. CHAVEZ

member since: 5/31/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great camera...faster and ease to use...very good manual in many languages...I love it...
4/14/2004 4:47:44 PM
 
Thomas F. Andersen
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/25/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The Canon EOS 50 SLR is a good allround entry level camera allowing for full automatic and full manual shooting modes. It fits all Canon EF lenses as well as an external flash. Today Canon offers newer models probably featuring more focusing points. The spot meter reading function could possibly also be taken from an even smaller area on newer models. I think Canon offers a good solid quality in SLR and I have had no troubles with this model so far.
3/25/2004 5:47:34 AM
 
Melissa C. Layton

member since: 3/1/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the best camera I have ever had. Some one took it.
3/1/2004 12:46:11 AM
 
Tim Mecalis

member since: 2/25/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Beautiful pictures, enough said.
2/26/2004 6:27:08 AM
 
Craig D. Moline

member since: 8/19/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera for the money!
2/18/2004 1:10:08 AM
 
Michael Steinman

member since: 1/22/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I moved up from an Olympus OM-4T , I'm learning all the electronic controls. I do like the camera, it's very responsive and give me the results I want
1/23/2004 2:13:56 PM
 
Fanel Vasile

member since: 1/20/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
i LIKE SO MUCH THE WAY THE SETTINGS FOR ANY PICTURE ARE DONE. iT'S GOT MANY FEATURES THAT CAN HELP YOU TAKE GOOD SHOTS.
1/20/2004 1:37:22 PM
 
Linda Olson
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Linda
Linda's Gallery

member since: 1/8/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Easy to use.
1/8/2004 3:12:34 PM
 
Linda Olson
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Linda
Linda's Gallery

member since: 1/8/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Easy to use, auto focus is excellent, easy to switch to manual. After 6 years of using it, I would now prefer to try digital technology.
1/8/2004 3:08:42 PM
 
Annie Sierra~Hernandez
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/15/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
The Canon Elan II, is my first camera. I am having a lot of fun with it.
11/30/2003 12:07:48 AM
 
Stacey C. Fullen

member since: 11/19/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
My husband and I purchased this camera in 1996. All I have to say, its still going strong. I consider myself an amateur/hobbyist when it comes to photography. I have been told I have an eye for photography but I really know its the camera. I just recently shot a wedding in August and the photos came out great. I really would like to learn more on how to use this camera to its full potential. Portrait photography is really what I'm interested in, I know my Elan won't let me down.
11/19/2003 9:32:26 AM
 
Becky  S. Shepard

member since: 11/16/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I didnt have a clue what I was looking for whenI bought this camera. I was taking a photography class and needed a camera, so I went around to the local pawn shops and found this one. I love it, I think it will take me as far as I need to go, with perhaps some more lens'.
11/16/2003 8:18:43 AM
 
Julie Comeaux

member since: 9/30/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I had an old Sears SLR manual camera I inherited from my Mom. It became unreliable and unpredictable and I wanted to try something more "automatic." I bought my Canon Elan second hand on Ebay in 2001 and love it! I love that I have had the chance to develop "an eye" for subject matter while not having to worry about settings. Now, I am learning a little about settings on my own and having fun snapping whatever catches the eye. I have been using the standard lense, 28-80mm lense (or is that 28-50mm lense?). I will be moving up in the work to 135mm...not yet sure how much of a jump it is, but I'm excited.
9/30/2003 9:08:52 PM
 
Robert M. Dutton

member since: 9/9/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is the best for your money 35mm camera. This will be my travelling work horse. With all the features and acurate AI focus mode, this is the last stop on 35mm for me. My eyes are set on a 645 to gain better image quality.
9/9/2003 4:54:17 PM
 
Nancy B. Brannaman

member since: 9/4/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The Canon EOS Elan 2 has been a great camera for me over the past 6 years. Coupled with the Canon IS lenses, this is superb, affordable equipment for those wishing to shoot film. The camera has lots of great auto features, but is fully manual. The pop-up flash is handy, too.
9/4/2003 6:34:46 PM
 
Allan Farnsworth
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/6/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Got the camera because mirror lock-up and hyperfocal functions were available a camera I could afford. Use these features frequently. For landscapes, leave the camera on aperature priority. Seldom have bad exposures. Portrait flash photography has been a little harder to learn for me, but I am starting to get the hang of it.
8/7/2003 8:57:38 PM
 
David H. Clukey

member since: 7/27/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Easy to use, lightweight, dependable. Wish it had a true spot meter.
7/27/2003 8:41:15 PM
 
Shirley Graham

member since: 2/2/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great Camera. Easy to use
7/22/2003 6:08:59 PM
 
Hayley Brooks Thistlethwaite
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/15/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It's easy to use. I am familiar with the features and functions. It is very user friendly.
7/10/2003 11:26:23 AM
 
Kortney Rivard Ringel

member since: 6/27/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love it!
7/1/2003 2:47:17 PM
 
Tony Scheuhammer
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Tony
Tony's Gallery

member since: 4/14/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A very reliable, high quality camera.
6/22/2003 7:18:05 PM
 
Cathy B. Sylvester
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/1/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my Canon Elan II. It is perfect for serious amatuer/professional. I use it in addition to my Canon AE-1 Program (one of the oldies but goodies). I'll only move up to the Canon EOS III line.
6/19/2003 9:29:54 AM
 
Patricia A. Cale
BetterPhoto Member
photosbyphotobug.com

member since: 3/25/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
After shooting with a Canon AE-1 for many years, the autofocus Elan II was a pleasure to work with. I like the metering system on the Elan. Even when shooting in program mode, I have gotten excellent results. One thing this camera doesn't have that I would like is a spot meter. Also, the DOF Preview button is the same button that is used to lock in AE. The settings are adjusted on a menu system in the camera. So, if I lock in exposure, I cannot use the DOF Preview button. And, there are times when I would like to use both; but I consider this a minor complaint. All-in-all, the Elan II is an excellent camera and I would recommend it to anyone.
6/18/2003 4:52:43 PM
 
Evan 

member since: 6/1/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera for beginners. my first. can learn all the basic and advanced functions while having the opportunity to go independant with manuel. 2.5 fps is really handy. results have been outstanding.
do not buy this camera if you are thinking about taking fast action photos seriously. try getting a camera with more fps, obviously. if thats the case try elan 7/7e instead or another fast camera.
the elan II has a great feel and grip to it. hard to drop, its great.
6/1/2003 2:48:05 PM
 
Bill McFadden

member since: 12/30/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A great camera when new and now an even better buy used, since you can get one for $250.00 or so bucks. Metering modes, maximum shutter speed and numerous options on control allow for a little or as much control as you might want or need. Buying the BP-50 allows us to use akaline batteries (I followed Chris' recommendation.) A used BP-50 costs me about $50.00. I recommend buying a shoe mount flash for any camera since the pop-up flash drains camera batteries and is prone to cause red eye. You can use a Wein voltage regulator or a Nikon AS-15 on the Elan's hot shoe if you need a PC connnector. (The Nikon AS-15 does not protect a camera from the high voltage found in older auto-trysister models.) I have owned and used 2 Elan IIs for a half-dozen years. I intend to upgrade to an Elan 7 but will keep one Elan II as a back-up/2nd camera for at least another 6 years.
1/25/2003 6:36:53 PM
 
Ryan P. Booth

member since: 10/6/2001
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is my first SLR and I couldn't have asked for a better camera. You can't beat the price, the metering is pretty accurate, good auto focus. Overall, it is a great introduction to "automated" cameras. I have noticed, however, that action photography requires a little bit of anticipation as the autofocus is a bit sluggish in some situations. It is a great camera to learn and grow on. I think I'll keep it around...
10/16/2002 12:55:05 AM
 
TRAN 

member since: 10/6/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
It's my second SLR camera. The first was Canon EOS 500N. I'm relly satisfied about it. I think that this Elan II is enough for a amateur photographer. For more effect photos, I'll look for the higher quality lens.
10/6/2002 12:56:28 PM
 
John Templar

member since: 9/6/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Im on my third Canon, AV1 A1 and now an EOS 55 which is basically an EOS Elan IIE (eye controlled focus)

I was Very impressed with the first roll of film shot and the auto focus is magic!

9/8/2002 2:15:53 PM
 
Vladimir Majkic

member since: 1/5/2001
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Marvelous focusing. Film rewind and shuter release very silent. Bulb mode, 30sec and 4000 1/sec it is really enough for start. EV +/-2 in 1/2 steps. Massive body, you really have a filling that camera will never disapoint you.
 
Lauren 

member since: 6/1/2001
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is my first SLR, and I have really enjoyed it. I have gotten better results since I have been using it, but I still have a lot to learn. This is a good camera to learn with.
 
Allison Porter

member since: 8/16/2001
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is my second Canon 35mm, and I have been extremely pleased with it. I find it very simple to use in auto mode, with plenty of control over manual functions when I want to "play". Also it is very lightweight, while still being durable (dropped it once and everything is perfect).
 
Esteban Da Alesandro

member since: 10/13/2001
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is my first SLR and I wouldn`t change it for anything. It`s very confortable and easy to use.
 
Chris Williams

member since: 1/8/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have used this camera for aprox 3 months. I use it primarly for freelance media work in Toronto. easy to use, rugged, and nice looking. Nothing but positive feedback from clients who have bought my pics.(I really recommend the Bp 50 battery holder)
a great choice for semi-pro and novice alike
 

69 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy EOS Elan II (EOS 50) 35mm SLR Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.