EOS Elan II (EOS 50) 35mm SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

In Nature's L...
View photos created with this camera

The EOS Elan II (EOS 50) 35mm SLR Camera The EOS Elan II (EOS 50) 35mm SLR Camera

From the manufacturer:
The EOS Elan II is a perfect example of form following function. Key controls are easy to understand, easy to use, and positioned for easy access. Feedback-confirming control inputs and camera functions are provided via two comprehensive displays. With its command dial and metering mode lever, quick control dial, AF mode dial, film advance mode lever and LCD panel, EOS ELAN II offers advanced automatic exposure control for perfect color in any light - indoors or out, day or night. It's as automatic as you want it to be, but as much under your command as required to achieve a creative result. Controls fall, readily to hand, designed and marked for confidence at your fingertips. What's more, Canon's exclusive AIM system integrates standard AE, flash AE and autofocus information for optimum results.

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 69 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Adrian G. Munteanu 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2006 12:16:44 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2006 12:16:44 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2006 12:16:44 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2006 12:16:44 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2006 12:16:44 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Mid-class in terms of value/price. Great acquisition for amateur to semi-pro.
5/8/2006 12:16:44 AM
 
HuHu Lin
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/28/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 10:33:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 10:33:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 10:33:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 10:33:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 10:33:07 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It's convenient to use!
4/16/2006 10:33:07 PM
 
Joe C. Allen 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2006 1:24:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2006 1:24:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2006 1:24:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2006 1:24:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2006 1:24:34 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Really good camera.
4/7/2006 1:24:34 PM
 
Maureen Pinzon
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/24/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 8:56:07 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 8:56:07 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 8:56:07 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 8:56:07 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 8:56:07 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Have owned my Canon Elan EOS IIe for eight years and still am very happy with it. I am in the process of purchasing the newer Elan 7ne and keep the older Canon as a back-up
3/29/2006 8:56:07 AM
 
Kristen L. Grady 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2006 9:20:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2006 9:20:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2006 9:20:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2006 9:20:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2006 9:20:02 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I absolutely loved this camera. It's been a long time since I've used it however b/c I am having a problem w/ the focus & haven't had the money or time to fix it. Also I thought I'd try out a new digital... so unfortunatly, this is collecting dust, but I'll take it out every now & again. Otherwise, it was VERY good to me while I used it :)
3/18/2006 9:20:02 AM
 
Ujjwal Mukherjee
Contact Ujjwal
Ujjwal's Gallery
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2006 1:02:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2006 1:02:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2006 1:02:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2006 1:02:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2006 1:02:34 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent focussing.
3/17/2006 1:02:34 AM
 
Jeanne M. Brown
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/2/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 6:52:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 6:52:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 6:52:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 6:52:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 6:52:44 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera to have on a low budget. Lenses can also be used on the digital and visa versa. Tamron is my lens of choice if not using Canon lenses.
3/16/2006 6:52:44 AM
 
Rob  Walters
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/4/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 8:14:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 8:14:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 8:14:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 8:14:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 8:14:37 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my camera. My ideal camera, would be identical in everyway, except it would be digital.
1/5/2006 8:14:37 PM
 
DENISE J. DOHERTY
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/20/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 2:43:07 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 2:43:07 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 2:43:07 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 2:43:07 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 2:43:07 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
GREAT UNTIL DIGITAL
1/5/2006 2:43:07 AM
 
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 10:23:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 10:23:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 10:23:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 10:23:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 10:23:54 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My first Slr. Great camera. Tons of features, at the time i got it, when they first came out, it had all the bells and whistles. now almost what 10 yeas old and still good to me. Currently i shoot slide film with this as i'm experiementing with different mediums,hrnce the aps slr,But i want to go digital soon.
12/5/2005 10:23:54 PM
 
Robert  Lazenby 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2005 4:08:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2005 4:08:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2005 4:08:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2005 4:08:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2005 4:08:11 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My first auto-focus camera. It takes good pictures using my EF lens. I also like how it feels in my hand better than my wife's Canon EOS 2000. I still use it as my main 35mm camera.
11/17/2005 4:08:11 PM
 

First 10 of 69 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy EOS Elan II (EOS 50) 35mm SLR Camera from Amazon.com