Dimage G500 5MP Digital Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Fall Colors
View photos created with this camera

The Dimage G500 5MP Digital Camera

Features:


  • 5-megapixel sensor creates 2592 x 1944 images for prints at 13
    by 17 inches and beyond
  • 3x optical zoom and 3x digital zoom (for 9x total)
  • Dual SD/MMC and Memory Stick memory slots; 2MB internal memory
  • Fast 1.3-second startup time; measures only 3.7 x 2.2 x 1.2
    inches and weighs a mere 7 ounces
  • Powered by NP-500 rechargeable lithium-ion battery pack;
    connects with Macs and PCs via USB 1.1

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


10 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
James M. McMillen 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 6:22:24 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 6:22:24 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 6:22:24 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 6:22:24 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 6:22:24 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
you can only do so much
6/15/2006 6:22:24 PM
 
JIM WHITTEN 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 5:31:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 5:31:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 5:31:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 5:31:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 5:31:31 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I REALLY LOVE THIS CAMERA, IT TAKES GREAT EASY PICTURE,S ONLY THING BAD I CAN SAY ABOUT IT IS ITS HEAVY FOR SIZE.
4/15/2006 5:31:31 PM
 
Pauline Nguyen 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2005 6:03:23 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2005 6:03:23 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2005 6:03:23 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2005 6:03:23 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2005 6:03:23 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
red eyes always appear when taking in the dark or using flash
9/12/2005 6:03:23 PM
 
Shirley  Standifird 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2005 9:54:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2005 9:54:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2005 9:54:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2005 9:54:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2005 9:54:09 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera is good for most things and fits into a pocket or purse. However this camera is not the best for action shots or zooming in close.
8/22/2005 9:54:09 PM
 
John D. Reynolds 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2005 4:07:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2005 4:07:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2005 4:07:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2005 4:07:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2005 4:07:00 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great Megapixel for the size of the camera, but some of the menus are hard to get to quickly. Other then that, I love this camera.
5/28/2005 4:07:00 PM
 
Leigh R. Lumpkin
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/22/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 6:06:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 6:06:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 6:06:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 6:06:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 6:06:35 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The camera is very powerful and very small. Great for taking anywhere and getting excellent pictures without lugging a bulky camera! I love it just as much as my BIG Olympus E-10!!
2/2/2005 6:06:35 PM
 
sylvia Williams
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/27/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2004 11:10:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2004 11:10:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2004 11:10:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2004 11:10:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2004 11:10:22 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
i love the pictures,b ut it is ackward to carry around
10/28/2004 11:10:22 PM
 
Alison Pichler 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2004 9:35:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2004 9:35:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2004 9:35:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2004 9:35:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2004 9:35:15 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera - first time digital camera user . The software for the computer is not that user friendly - my friend has an Olympus and that software is fantastic. The Minolta camera itself is fantastic and I'm having a lot of fun with it !
5/24/2004 9:35:15 AM
 
Natalie D. Holl 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2004 8:40:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2004 8:40:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2004 8:40:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2004 8:40:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2004 8:40:31 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
a great value for the features it sports. A common complaint is the difficulty in navigating the menu. A few weeks and I find no difficulty in doing so.I would recommend it to anyone...
1/15/2004 8:40:31 PM
 
Rafael Garchitorena 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 5:00:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 5:00:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 5:00:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 5:00:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 5:00:16 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I had held off buying a digital camera for fear of getting caught in the unending upgrade spiral. But at 5.0 megapix for well under $500 it was difficult to resist. It's ready to take photos 1.3 seconds from startup. And there's an amazing amount that can be done in-camera, from adjusting ISO settings, flash intensity, etc. I've just recently purchased it so I'm not that clued into all the tricks it can do, but I'm pretty happy I finally went digital.
1/4/2004 5:00:16 AM
 

10 Reviews  

Buy Dimage G500 5MP Digital Camera from Amazon.com