BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Coolpix 885 (E885) Digital Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

viva cuba libre-3
View photos created with this camera

The Coolpix 885 (E885) Digital Camera

Features:


  • 3-megapixel sensor captures 2,048 x 1,536 images for prints at
    sizes up to 11 x 14 inches
  • Autofocus lens with 3x optical/4x digital (12x total) zoom
  • Included 16 MB CompactFlash card holds 20 images at default
    resolution
  • Connects with PCs and Macs via USB port
  • Uses 2CR5 disposable lithium battery (included) or optional
    rechargeable battery pack

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


38 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Ingo D. Neufeld

member since: 5/30/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
It was a fantastic camera for an early generation 3 megapixel camera but it has had too many photos taken on it (approximately5500) now and I have since upgraded to a Nikon Coolpix 8800.
6/13/2006 5:34:42 PM
 
Michael T. Morgan
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/30/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This was first digital camera. Too long a shutter delay. Not enough resolution.
3/30/2006 12:31:12 PM
 
Marcel Andre Kuemmet

member since: 1/13/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It was a great little camera for it's age (about 4 yrs) when I got it. It took a good hit in a parking lot, and the menu's stopped working. Then it reset itself. Now the flash always goes off, (even though I had it turned off i manual), and shoots in Normal quality (in full size) with no NR, no white balance preset, and no zoom.
1/15/2006 2:23:43 PM
 
John G. Clifford Jr
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/18/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Decent image quality, really limited to 5x7s or under, though if you want good-looking prints. At 5x7, compares to ISO 200 35mm film. The 885, like all digicams, has shutter lag. It's handy and great for snapshots or online auctions, or even website images and desktop publishing photos, but if you're really into photography you'll do as I did and upgrade to a dSLR muy pronto.
11/6/2005 4:59:21 AM
 
Lynsay Donald

member since: 10/21/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I am very pleased with my camera. It takes very crisp clear pictures. The eight megapixels is great. The zoom is great. Shutter lag can be slow. So far no major complaints.
10/21/2005 11:17:09 PM
 
Barbara Marlett

member since: 10/11/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really like this camera, but it's getting out of date. It doesn't give me the options for black & white, Sepia or anything like that.
10/11/2005 12:51:01 PM
 
Sean Hunt

member since: 7/16/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Being a beginner photographer, I absolutely love my camera. It's a great camera that lets you take quick pictures with the auto settings, or you can play with the setting some to experiment and learn. I'm sure there are better camera's on the market, but this one has been great for me to begin with.
7/16/2005 12:52:48 PM
 
Toni m. Collis

member since: 7/15/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
It's okay, I didn't buy it and it would not have been my choice. It's very slow but takes nice pic.
7/15/2005 9:00:45 AM
 
Kasey E. Grob

member since: 7/6/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have had my coolpix for about four years. I have taken over a hundred thousand pictures with it. For a point and shoot digital camera I love it. Although it can be slow at times, I have learned to anticipate the shot. click before something happens so I get what I was after..
7/7/2005 8:33:50 AM
 
David Earls

member since: 4/15/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
upgraded to this camera from the Nikon Coolpix 5700; composition display grid is a nice feature. I do a lot of macro work, and getting more pixels on a larger image means more magnification. My Menu feature is a real plus; you can place the most frequently used settings on it, and get to them directly through the Menu button, instead of having to drill down through user settings.
6/5/2005 6:29:51 AM
 
Harvinder S. Sandhu

member since: 4/7/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
good
4/7/2005 11:45:21 AM
 
Amin Bensaid

member since: 4/7/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Its good, i dont like the aouto focus...
4/7/2005 9:50:52 AM
 
Steven Wilhite
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/14/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Like this camera although I want more megapixals! It only has 3.2m.
2/14/2005 10:23:09 AM
 
Nick Boren

member since: 2/1/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
The Nikon Coolpix 885 is a nice little digital camera. It is easy to use and has good image quality. What more can I say it's another quality Nikon product!!!
2/2/2005 5:17:31 PM
 
Vicki Hunt
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Vicki
Vicki's Gallery

member since: 12/28/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This camera is only 3 megapixels, but very small and light weight.
2/1/2005 1:40:45 AM
 
Keith J. Anzel

member since: 1/9/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
So far so good. A little confused about all the options.
1/15/2005 6:33:45 AM
 
Fudgemuffin B. Dulce

member since: 11/30/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my parents' camera, so it's not mine. I don't have any other experience with other cameras, so I can't compare. It's a lot of fun (not to mention relaxing) to go out and take some pictures. I have trouble thinking my picture is clear on the little screen on the camera, and then it being fuzzy on the computer, but I don't know what's causing that yet (the camera or the computer).
11/30/2004 8:37:15 AM
 
Kim Young

member since: 11/15/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Good camera for the price. Larger pictures are grainy but 4x6 and 8x5 turn out great!!
11/16/2004 4:55:45 PM
 
Curtis J. Henderson

member since: 10/4/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Works great in natural lighting. Limited on action shots and artificial lighting conditions.
10/30/2004 5:10:12 AM
 
Sylvia Hornseth

member since: 10/17/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
not as sharp as I would have expected. many options to do lots of things.
10/17/2004 8:43:01 PM
 
Kellie Egger

member since: 9/10/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
For a 3.2 mpx this is a great camera. Very durrable too, I dropped it off a flight of stairs and it still works great
10/14/2004 1:30:35 PM
 
Stephen V. Weissberger

member since: 10/3/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Good for snapshots.
10/10/2004 7:52:27 PM
 
Stephen V. Weissberger

member since: 10/3/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good for quick snapshots.
10/10/2004 7:51:27 PM
 
Paul Batt

member since: 9/28/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Nice Phd camera, but I sold it to a mate of mine who was on the way to Ireland. The camera settings were a little hard to get to. Great to stick in your pocket (if you've got slightly baggy pockets.)
9/28/2004 1:31:05 AM
 
Luke Simon

member since: 9/19/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Nice Camera,good zoom lense,high amount of pixels,great quality photographs for a fairly good price!
9/26/2004 1:57:26 AM
 
Dana-kay Black

member since: 3/2/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
its a nice little camera - quite the shutter slag though - it is certainly no good for any action shots - takes nice close ups
3/2/2004 10:57:03 PM
 
Pat Smith

member since: 3/2/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I'm just learning to use this camera. It works ok for me. Hope to get better as I learn.
3/2/2004 10:20:25 AM
 
Adrienne Lahr
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/22/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I had problems with this camera putting a red spot on many of my outdoor photos, so I eventually traded the camera in for another camera. Nikon was very poor and slow about servicing the camera while it was under warranty, but B&H Photo in New York was great about taking the camera back and letting me trade it in for another camera.
1/22/2004 3:04:11 PM
 
SIERRA LeBARON MELLINGER

member since: 1/18/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
EASY TO LEARN THROUGH EXPERIMENTING WITH CONDITIONS AND SETTINGS. THE NEW MODELS NOW HAVE A LENSE WHICH DOES NOT NEED A CAP, BUT CLOSES INTO ITSELF. THE BODY OF MY CAMERA IS NICE AND SMALL BUT AN ODD WEIGHT AND SHAPE FOR SOMEONE WHO NEEDS INSTANT ACCESS TO A CAMERA AT ALL TIMES. THE CASE AVAILABLE FOR THIS SIZE IS ALSO A DIFFICULT ELEMENT TO HOLD THE CAMERA IN, BECAUSE THERE ARE TOO MANY STEPS TO UNDERTAKE IF YOU WANT TO PUT THE CAMERA AWAY IN ITS CASE FOR PROTECTION, WHILE HAVING IT EASY TO REACH IN CASE OF A "KEY OPPORTUNITY" OCCURING..
1/18/2004 6:18:31 PM
 
Elaine Forrester

member since: 1/15/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
It has been more versatile than the Kodak digital. The only downfall is the delay.
1/15/2004 10:37:46 AM
 
Nancy Wilson

member since: 1/2/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great for prints that do not have to be enlarged more than 5x7 or 8x10. It is easy to learn and use.
1/11/2004 8:27:19 PM
 
Allan L. Whitehead
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/27/2001
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Takes fantastic photographs with ease of use and un-complex instructions. Perfect adjunct to my Nikon D100 when I want to take a simpler smaller camera on a shoot
12/23/2003 3:58:15 AM
 
Ed Heaton
BetterPhoto Member
edheaton.com

member since: 12/13/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great point and shoot
12/13/2003 4:50:45 PM
 
Enoch S. Carter

member since: 10/21/2003
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I don't have much to compare it to. the LCD screen is defective, only displays in a monochrome purple color thus making it difficult to know if I've gotten the best shot
10/21/2003 3:58:40 PM
 
Phil W. Woodworth

member since: 9/28/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very new at this so I have nothing to compare it to. So far it seems to be fine.
10/14/2003 4:54:38 PM
 
Sam J. Norris

member since: 8/30/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great little camera. Used extensively. Good for semi macros.
8/30/2003 7:54:00 AM
 
Dee G. Crawford

member since: 8/26/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Since I've yet to find a "perfect" camera...or I should say, been able to buy my "perfect" camera. This is probably my favorite as far as digital goes. I really love the instant gratification that I get when I use this camera. I tend to favor it & forget my others...I am a die hard film buff...but, when this is so easily accessible &, like I said above...instant gratification. The photos are supurb. They are crisp & clean. I use the highest resolution on all because I am a graphic artist...so, I like to print my photos as large as possible.
8/26/2003 12:14:35 PM
 
Karen Howarth

member since: 7/5/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
The digital camera is such a great camera to use, quick to get your results, easy and economical (no paying for bad photos). I am still learning as I wasn't into photography before I got my camera. I have only completed a 4 week photography course which was of great help to me.

I am eager to improve myself with photography but still do not understand all the photography lingo.

7/5/2003 7:14:33 AM
 

38 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy Coolpix 885 (E885) Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.