BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Coolpix 885 (E885) Digital Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

viva cuba libre-3
View photos created with this camera

The Coolpix 885 (E885) Digital Camera

Features:


  • 3-megapixel sensor captures 2,048 x 1,536 images for prints at
    sizes up to 11 x 14 inches
  • Autofocus lens with 3x optical/4x digital (12x total) zoom
  • Included 16 MB CompactFlash card holds 20 images at default
    resolution
  • Connects with PCs and Macs via USB port
  • Uses 2CR5 disposable lithium battery (included) or optional
    rechargeable battery pack

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 38 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Ingo D. Neufeld

member since: 5/30/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
It was a fantastic camera for an early generation 3 megapixel camera but it has had too many photos taken on it (approximately5500) now and I have since upgraded to a Nikon Coolpix 8800.
6/13/2006 5:34:42 PM
 
Michael T. Morgan
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/30/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This was first digital camera. Too long a shutter delay. Not enough resolution.
3/30/2006 12:31:12 PM
 
Marcel Andre Kuemmet

member since: 1/13/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It was a great little camera for it's age (about 4 yrs) when I got it. It took a good hit in a parking lot, and the menu's stopped working. Then it reset itself. Now the flash always goes off, (even though I had it turned off i manual), and shoots in Normal quality (in full size) with no NR, no white balance preset, and no zoom.
1/15/2006 2:23:43 PM
 
John G. Clifford Jr
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/18/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Decent image quality, really limited to 5x7s or under, though if you want good-looking prints. At 5x7, compares to ISO 200 35mm film. The 885, like all digicams, has shutter lag. It's handy and great for snapshots or online auctions, or even website images and desktop publishing photos, but if you're really into photography you'll do as I did and upgrade to a dSLR muy pronto.
11/6/2005 4:59:21 AM
 
Lynsay Donald

member since: 10/21/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I am very pleased with my camera. It takes very crisp clear pictures. The eight megapixels is great. The zoom is great. Shutter lag can be slow. So far no major complaints.
10/21/2005 11:17:09 PM
 
Barbara Marlett

member since: 10/11/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really like this camera, but it's getting out of date. It doesn't give me the options for black & white, Sepia or anything like that.
10/11/2005 12:51:01 PM
 
Sean Hunt

member since: 7/16/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Being a beginner photographer, I absolutely love my camera. It's a great camera that lets you take quick pictures with the auto settings, or you can play with the setting some to experiment and learn. I'm sure there are better camera's on the market, but this one has been great for me to begin with.
7/16/2005 12:52:48 PM
 
Toni m. Collis

member since: 7/15/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
It's okay, I didn't buy it and it would not have been my choice. It's very slow but takes nice pic.
7/15/2005 9:00:45 AM
 
Kasey E. Grob

member since: 7/6/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have had my coolpix for about four years. I have taken over a hundred thousand pictures with it. For a point and shoot digital camera I love it. Although it can be slow at times, I have learned to anticipate the shot. click before something happens so I get what I was after..
7/7/2005 8:33:50 AM
 
David Earls

member since: 4/15/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
upgraded to this camera from the Nikon Coolpix 5700; composition display grid is a nice feature. I do a lot of macro work, and getting more pixels on a larger image means more magnification. My Menu feature is a real plus; you can place the most frequently used settings on it, and get to them directly through the Menu button, instead of having to drill down through user settings.
6/5/2005 6:29:51 AM
 
Harvinder S. Sandhu

member since: 4/7/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
good
4/7/2005 11:45:21 AM
 

First 10 of 38 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Buy Coolpix 885 (E885) Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.