Online Photo Course - Understanding Digital Photography: Beyond the Basics with Susan and Neil Silverman

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

Understanding Digital Photography: Beyond the Basics Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Susan and Neil Silverman
Understanding Digital Photography: Beyond the Basics

Learn Neil and Susan Silverman's favorite digital techniques for making eye-catching photographs. The Silvermans have spent over the past 10 years teaching film and digital workshops and are exciting to be able to bring you this fantastic course - all through the Internet. Whether you are considering transitioning to digital from a film-based camera, have been shooting with your digital camera for some time, or are totally new to digital photography... this is the course for you!

Category: Fundamentals Courses
Skill Level: 2 - Serious Hobbyist
Only $396 USD

Learn more about
Understanding Digital Photography: Beyond the Basics


66 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Marcy B. Reman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/1/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2012 1:06:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2012 1:06:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2012 1:06:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2012 1:06:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2012 1:06:23 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Neil and Susan are amazing instructors, gifted photographers and talented mentors and teachers. Their lessons are well written and easy to understand. Their assignments co-ordinate well with the lessons to help their students understand the concepts being taught. Additionally, they were always there to answer questions and their responses were both prompt and well thought out.

I have taken both of their Understanding Digitial Photography classes and would highly recommend them to anyone who really wants to learn and improve their photography skills. If you are looking to learn how to control your shots and go beyond that "lucky" shot or if you just want better photos, then their courses are for you.

I really want to thank Neil and Susan for a tremendous 16 weeks (both classes). You have been terrific and really helped me to vastly improve. Your classes were the best investment in my photogrpahy that I have made. Thank you again!

11/7/2012 1:06:23 PM
 
Grace Newsom
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/30/2011
newsomfineartandphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2012 8:39:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2012 8:39:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2012 8:39:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2012 8:39:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2012 8:39:35 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I highly recommend this class with the Silverman's. I can't begin to convey how much my photography grew in detail, scope and composition. Their course materials, support and encouragement were invaluable tools throughout the class.
11/6/2012 8:39:35 AM
 
Jane C. Youngberg 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2012 9:11:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2012 9:11:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2012 9:11:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2012 9:11:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2012 9:11:54 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks so much. It's amazing how much one can learn from having a pro look at your photos, and what you missed, it's sometimes incredibly obvious! I get a lot of value out of these comments…Thanks again - much appreciated!
8/8/2012 9:11:54 AM
 
Sofia U. Bettencourt 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2012 7:12:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2012 7:12:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2012 7:12:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2012 7:12:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2012 7:12:46 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Your course was a lot of fun, and great learning. ... Thanks so much for all your support!
5/12/2012 7:12:46 PM
 
sue siluch 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2011 7:01:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2011 7:01:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2011 7:01:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2011 7:01:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2011 7:01:59 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks very much, Neil and Susan. I always get good stuff from your lessons! And I found this latest one to be a very interesting lesson that blew my preconceived notions all to heck!
9/27/2011 7:01:59 AM
 
Tara A. Hollis
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2011 4:29:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2011 4:29:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2011 4:29:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2011 4:29:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2011 4:29:57 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A big thank you to both of you for all your help and encouragement! I have learned an awful lot. ... I felt that it wasn't just a "job or sideline" for you - it was a passion and that certainly came through in your critiques to everyone.
9/9/2011 4:29:57 PM
 
Christopher c. Sheets
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/6/2011
chrisheets.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2011 3:40:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2011 3:40:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2011 3:40:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2011 3:40:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2011 3:40:37 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Susan and Neil, I have really enjoyed both the classes that I have taken. When I first started, I was stuck in the world of automatic, but after your classes, I am in full manual, making all the decisions. This never would have been possible without your guidance and patience. Thanks again for a great 16 weeks of knowledge and fun!
9/6/2011 3:40:37 PM
 
Diana Ringquist
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/6/2010
djrphotographygallery.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2011 8:20:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2011 8:20:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2011 8:20:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2011 8:20:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2011 8:20:27 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks again for the encouragement, the advice, the cautions, and the training. You two have been instrumental in helping me reach my (lifelong) dreams! I cannot say thank you enough!
2/11/2011 8:20:27 AM
 
Chris L. Holicek 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2011 7:25:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2011 7:25:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2011 7:25:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2011 7:25:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2011 7:25:04 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks for this great course! I had just taken one beginning course before this, and this class really helped solidify and refine what I had learned. Also, I appreciated your positive approach to teaching. I have definitely gained more confidence.
1/5/2011 7:25:04 AM
 
Diana Ringquist
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/6/2010
djrphotographygallery.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2010 8:48:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2010 8:48:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2010 8:48:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2010 8:48:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2010 8:48:53 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the second course I have taken with the Silverman's. It builds on the information and lessons in their "Understanding Digital Photography" class, building and refining your skills greatly while adding new to your base and understanding. The Silverman's are great instructors and are very encouraging. Their feedback is well balanced and encouraging. I highly recommend this course!
11/10/2010 8:48:53 PM
 
gaurav masand 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2010 4:05:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2010 4:05:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2010 4:05:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2010 4:05:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2010 4:05:28 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A very nicely designed course with excellent instructors. They do not shy away from providing inputs on any kind of pictures and questions from students.

This course teched a lot and a must for any Photography enthusiast.

11/8/2010 4:05:28 PM
 
Connie Cohen 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2010 7:37:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2010 7:37:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2010 7:37:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2010 7:37:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2010 7:37:05 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Neil and Susan Silverman are great instructors...they respond very quickly to your questions, they are EXTREMELY knowledgeable and offer constructive advice with their gentle critiques. I learned a lot and even though this was just my first class, I feel I am already a better photographer than before.
9/8/2010 7:37:05 AM
 
Cheryl Winn 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2010 1:43:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2010 1:43:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2010 1:43:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2010 1:43:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2010 1:43:42 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Please accept my heartfelt grattitude for all of your feedback. I have really been challenged and thouroughly enjoyed your course... I would love to do your Out and About course and look forward to continuing the journey with you!
9/3/2010 1:43:42 PM
 
Peter M. Tomlinson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/16/2010
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2010 8:42:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2010 8:42:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2010 8:42:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2010 8:42:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2010 8:42:40 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This was a great course. The Silverman's shared their wisdom and the interaction was very good. This was my second course and I learnt a great deal. The key is to keep taking photo's and trying new things. Don't be scared to make mistakes. If you get knocked down 7 times get up 8. Thanks Betterphoto and keep up the variety of great courses.
6/16/2010 8:42:40 PM
 
Sharon K. Edwards 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2009 8:39:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2009 8:39:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2009 8:39:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2009 8:39:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2009 8:39:22 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I just wanted to tell you how much I have always enjoyed your classes. Your class was the highlight of my day, and I loved reading all the critiques and
looking at all the pics. I hope I have another opportunity to take one of your classes. It is obvious you give personal attention to everyone's work. Thanks for such an interesting and enjoyable class!
9/28/2009 8:39:22 AM
 
Peter Lind
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/1/2007
palindphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2008 9:45:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2008 9:45:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2008 9:45:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2008 9:45:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2008 9:45:59 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The course feels like it has ended to soon. I have a lot of information from your course that I look forward to trying.
9/15/2008 9:45:59 AM
 
Carmen Lamoutte 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2008 1:41:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2008 1:41:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2008 1:41:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2008 1:41:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2008 1:41:01 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The course gives you a lot to learn in eight weeks. Even if you don't master a specific skill you gain powerful tools to keep expanding your knowledge of photography.

The instructor's critiques were very helpful. I appreciate thesuggestions on how to improve my photographs and in the end, I think it is that practice and training that helps me improve.

The "extra clicks" make a huge difference. It allowed me to step outside the class and ask any questions I was burning to ask. They give students a great opportunity with that blank slate and it sets this class apart from other Better Photo courses.
9/4/2008 1:41:01 PM
 
Lisen Stibeck
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/25/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2008 12:48:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2008 12:48:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2008 12:48:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2008 12:48:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2008 12:48:22 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course has been a great inspiration to my work.As well as improving my technical skills It has helped me capture the essential feeling that I have being trying to communicate with my images. It has trained my eye, and expanded my vision.
5/29/2008 12:48:22 PM
 
Heather L. Wilson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/4/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2008 2:23:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2008 2:23:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2008 2:23:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2008 2:23:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2008 2:23:30 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I just wanted to let you both know that I have really enjoyed this class. I feel very comfortable with my camera now and I can take the picture that I want with confidence. Your feedback has been very helpful. Thanks again!
5/23/2008 2:23:30 PM
 
Michele E. Myers
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/24/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2007 8:01:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2007 8:01:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2007 8:01:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2007 8:01:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2007 8:01:58 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Hi Susan and Neil,

I wanted to thank you again for this course! I had a great time and learned a ton....... I feel like I now have a solid foundation for beginning digital photography thanks to this course.

6/14/2007 8:01:58 AM
 
Sara Lopez 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2007 8:54:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2007 8:54:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2007 8:54:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2007 8:54:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2007 8:54:52 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This was my first BetterPhoto class experience and I enjoyed it immensely. Susan and Neil were able to convey the concepts clearly and create assignments that helped me understand the application. Reviews were encouraging and provided guidance that will assist me in continuing to improve my skills. Thank you for a valuable experience!
6/9/2007 8:54:52 AM
 
Mike S. Branch 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2007 7:46:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2007 7:46:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2007 7:46:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2007 7:46:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2007 7:46:08 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I want to thank you for your class and all of the advice given along the way. I am planning to use everything I've learned and continue to grow as a photographer.
6/7/2007 7:46:08 AM
 
Kelly Houlihan 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2007 10:17:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2007 10:17:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2007 10:17:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2007 10:17:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2007 10:17:20 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I want to thank you both for these courses and your critiques. I honestly see my surroundings in such a new way and finally feel in control of my camera vs my camera controlling me!
Thanks again, hope this helps!
Kelly
5/24/2007 10:17:20 AM
 
Kathy A. Yergeau 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2007 1:45:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2007 1:45:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2007 1:45:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2007 1:45:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2007 1:45:52 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks so much for your help over the past 8 weeks, I can't beleive it is over already!! Your not getting rid of me that fast, as I am planning on taking your "jump" class so I get more used to my camera and what I can make it do.
3/7/2007 1:45:52 PM
 
Julie Enstall 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2007 6:52:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2007 6:52:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2007 6:52:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2007 6:52:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2007 6:52:11 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Susan and Neil,


Thank you so much for your critiques, your insight and your encouragement. I am hooked!!! All the best to you both.

3/5/2007 6:52:11 PM
 
Angela C. Wood
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/13/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2007 6:50:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2007 6:50:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2007 6:50:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2007 6:50:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2007 6:50:35 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Susan and Neil, I just wanted to thank you for all your critiques and suggestions. I've learned loads in this class. It's a lot of fun, and I think it's really improving my photography skills!
Thanks again!
3/5/2007 6:50:35 PM
 
Darrin Wassom 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2007 6:49:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2007 6:49:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2007 6:49:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2007 6:49:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2007 6:49:13 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks very much for your comments this week. They have helped so much and it seems that the entire class has culminated into this one photo. Great lessons learned!!
3/5/2007 6:49:13 PM
 
Glyn Dewis 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2006 8:12:18 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2006 8:12:18 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2006 8:12:18 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2006 8:12:18 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2006 8:12:18 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Hi Susan & Neil,

I just wanted to say, Thank you so much for all your critiques and advice throughout this course. I must admit, I was a little sceptical that an online photography course would be a good place to learn, but I now feel that scepticism was totally unfounded. Your advice throughout has given me a real confidence boost and a hunger to want to take photography alot further.

I wish you much continued success in the future.

Best wishes.

12/11/2006 8:12:18 AM
 
Cathy Gloria 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 10:14:12 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 10:14:12 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 10:14:12 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 10:14:12 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 10:14:12 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I'm sorry to see the class end! I had a lot of fun and learned quite a bit. Thanks again Susan and Neil.
12/6/2006 10:14:12 AM
 
Simone P. Sisterson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 4:59:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 4:59:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 4:59:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 4:59:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 4:59:10 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A big thankyou Susan & Neil for making this course really fabulous and as though I wasn't sitting alone on the other side of the world but in a workshop.
I especially loved learning from everyone else's photos and questions.
9/11/2006 4:59:10 PM
 
B. DeShaw
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/4/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2006 11:13:21 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2006 11:13:21 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2006 11:13:21 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2006 11:13:21 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2006 11:13:21 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
THANK YOU for a wonderful course and challenging me to further my ascent of the learning curve.
9/5/2006 11:13:21 AM
 
Joseph C. DiPasquale 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:37:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:37:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:37:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:37:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:37:14 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I look foward to taking another of your courses this fall - you guys
are wonderful and the learning experience from reading all of your
critiques was invaluable.
Joseph
6/20/2006 11:37:14 AM
 
Kaye Hamilton-Smith
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/23/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 5:55:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 5:55:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 5:55:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 5:55:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 5:55:13 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I enjoyed this class, and found that it caused a definite improvement in my images. I think the curriculum was relevant to beginners and intermediate photographers. I liked the diversity of topics. The online lectures were very clear, with Neil and Susan's great photos to support the points. The exercises were challenging and caused me to practice for hours and learn new techniques. Susan and Neil provided excellent, timely feedback in the critiques and Q&As. To make the course perfect, they need to be able to answer questions on equipment, especially vendors like Canon. Perhaps Jim M. could facilitate faculty helping each other on equipment Q&As? Thanks for a great 8 weeks!
6/11/2006 5:55:13 PM
 
Tracy Olsen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/3/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2006 11:02:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2006 11:02:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2006 11:02:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2006 11:02:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2006 11:02:30 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course was really fantastic. I thoroughly enjoyed the assignments and learned a lot through them. I also learned a lot from interaction with other students in the course, and from critiques of everyone's work.

Susan and Neil were great - very quick to respond to questions and email, and very quick to critique the photos.

Also, the "Extra Click" photo we were encouraged to upload each week was a real bonus, and a lot of fun. Sometimes I just didn't think my assignment photos were that good, even though the met the assignment criteria. The Extra Click gave me some variety in my shots, and let me enjoy other people's non-assignment photos.

6/5/2006 11:02:30 PM
 
Alfredo C. Franco 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2006 5:54:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2006 5:54:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2006 5:54:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2006 5:54:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2006 5:54:42 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great tips! Learned something new again today. Thanks a lot.
5/4/2006 5:54:42 PM
 
Sue Martin 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 8:11:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 8:11:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 8:11:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 8:11:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 8:11:58 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have really enjoyed your two courses that I have taken. The lessons were all so well written. It was a great experience and I learned lots of things that I am trying to apply.
3/14/2006 8:11:58 AM
 
Walter Manara 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 2:50:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 2:50:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 2:50:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 2:50:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 2:50:09 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you. I wish I had more time to spend on your precious suggestions. I feel I knew nothing when I started the course. I was a point and shoot photographer and now I am more of a a "point and.... mmmhh let's think qnd shoot" one.
Thank you. Best spent money.
3/13/2006 2:50:09 AM
 
Donna Mihelich
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/7/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2006 6:34:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2006 6:34:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2006 6:34:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2006 6:34:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2006 6:34:47 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was the best course I have ever taken. I learned so much in such a short time. It really paid off on my recent vacation. I am really please with the new night shots I took. Withou this class it never would have happened. I now pack my camer in my purse and it goes with me everywear!
3/10/2006 6:34:47 AM
 
Penny Fiedler 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 5:22:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 5:22:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 5:22:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 5:22:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 5:22:29 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Hi Susan and Neil,
I wanted to add my thanks for all you've taught me these past weeks. It was all I expected and more. Your class pushed me to try new things, use the capabilities of my camera much more than I had previously and most of all you brought out a bit more creativity that I had been lacking. At least I'm trying new things now and I'm having fun pushing myself further.
Thanks so much for your comments and suggestions, I will recommend this class to everyone.
3/7/2006 5:22:29 PM
 
Carolyn Collis 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2006 2:43:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2006 2:43:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2006 2:43:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2006 2:43:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2006 2:43:38 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've never been so motivated to actually practice photography. I spent more time with my camera this eight weeks than I had in years.
1/21/2006 2:43:38 PM
 
Patricia A. Wagner 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 7:35:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 7:35:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 7:35:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 7:35:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 7:35:04 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank Susan and Neil and fellow students for taking time to critique my photos and provide so much valuable information. I have learned so much from this course and have enjoyed the assignments. I have successfully learned many of my new camera's function and several ways to pose people for portraits, take scenery photos and night photos. I appreciate all of your time and efforts. I wish you all a very Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!
Pat
12/9/2005 7:35:04 AM
 
Lorrie E. Uherek 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 5:06:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 5:06:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 5:06:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 5:06:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 5:06:25 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am not totally new to photography but I have learned a lot and I feel that my photos have improved because of this class!
12/8/2005 5:06:25 PM
 
Carolyn Collis 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 10:02:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 10:02:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 10:02:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 10:02:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 10:02:03 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
If you ever do a class in Albuquerque, please let me know. Also, if you happen to be here for Balloon Fiesta, I'd love to meet you. And if you have mailings to announce photo workshops, pls add me to your mailing list.

Some of this I remembered in theory, but I'd never been so motivated to actually practice it. I spent more time with my camera this eight weeks than I had in years.
12/8/2005 10:02:03 AM
 
Diane Cramer 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 8:26:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 8:26:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 8:26:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 8:26:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 8:26:11 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks so much for the great beginning photo class. I can’t believe how much I learned. Camera settings, fill flash, framing…I also enjoyed seeing the other students work and how all the images were critiqued. I would love to take another class sometime. Your street photography sounds interesting, however it is rated as a “5” in experience. I don’t feel that I am there yet in terms of knowledge. I have the bug for photography and have a Christmas list filled with photography stuff! Maybe someone will buy me another class! Thanks again and take care!
12/8/2005 8:26:11 AM
 
Dar Eckert 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2005 7:27:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2005 7:27:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2005 7:27:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2005 7:27:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2005 7:27:24 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This course got me on the right track. My goal for taking this course was to become familiar with my camera and I accomplished that. The instructors answered questions quickly and provided critiques in a timely manner. The one shortfall is that the critiques were brief but reviews of others work was helpful. I think a final individual summary of work would be helpful.
6/16/2005 7:27:24 AM
 
Jean-Louis Cornez 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2005 9:37:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2005 9:37:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2005 9:37:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2005 9:37:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2005 9:37:18 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Susan and Neil,
I think everyone in this class will unanimously agree that we all learned something. The best part of this course is that you really learn some of the basics of photography without even noticing it. No boring technicalities but examples and "smooth" clear explanations. As another student said, this course also gives you a chance to "explore" your camera and all its possibilities. Thank you for 8 great weeks of learning and fun. My website is under construction and I have an exhibit lined up for 2006, either January or September. If you are tempted to visit Belgium, I'll gladly send you an invitation. Thank you again, Susan and Neil, for a fun-filled and substantial course.
6/15/2005 9:37:18 PM
 
Barry Pope 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/26/2005 2:35:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/26/2005 2:35:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/26/2005 2:35:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/26/2005 2:35:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/26/2005 2:35:34 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Dear Neil and Susan. Thank you so much for the help and support you have provided. I have become highly motivated to continue to improve my photography and will miss the excitement of critiques from yourselves and the other students. It was amazing to see how we all improved as the course went on. Thanks again. Barry
5/26/2005 2:35:34 PM
 
Victoria L. Hutson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 12:04:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 12:04:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 12:04:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 12:04:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 12:04:00 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
By the way, I want you to know that I am really learning a lot in your course. I am very happy that your lessons require us to use the various
features of our cameras. I'll be sad when the course is over. Once again, thanks for all the guidance and advice you are giving us.
5/24/2005 12:04:00 PM
 
Christy L. Densmore
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/18/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2005 10:50:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2005 10:50:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2005 10:50:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2005 10:50:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2005 10:50:15 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I wanted to let you both know that I have learned more than I dreamed and await your comments each week on all the photos submitted, not just mine. Each lesson pushes us out of that comfort zone so that we can learn the nuts and bolts, which is where I typically start. I will certainly miss this class when it is finished and will probably take the next level. I am hooked.
5/13/2005 10:50:15 AM
 
Maverick Creatives
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/1/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2005 11:42:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2005 11:42:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2005 11:42:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2005 11:42:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2005 11:42:35 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Hello Susan and Neil.
I just wanted to drop a line and let you know how my photography is advancing. I had three photographs (all from the course) printed, two on watercolor paper and one on canvas. All three were eventually sold for a small profit. It's a beginning and I will always remember "my first".
I exchanged my fuji S5000 for a fuji S7000 and am preparing to upgrade next year again to a full fledged slr camera. In the meantime it's still practice practice practice. (right now I'm working with Bryan Peterson's book Understanding Exposure). I was recently granted rights from The Upper Deck Company to photograph kids and adults in sports situations and have them transfered to trading cards. Again it will bring in a small income to help cover the costs associated with this hobby. (business licences, equipment, software, more software, more software) I'm sure you remember when you were starting your careers.
lots of lean days.
I'd like to thank you both again for expressing your enthusiasm and love for photography to your students. If I had not come into contact with you I would not have a dream to follow, thus keeping me out of trouble EH.
2/8/2005 11:42:35 AM
 
Dan F. Deffenbaugh 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2004 8:51:13 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2004 8:51:13 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2004 8:51:13 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2004 8:51:13 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2004 8:51:13 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I want to thank you neil and susan for a well balanced learning experience. I had a real good time. And I want to thank the class for all their efforts and their photos. Thanks again to all.
12/20/2004 8:51:13 AM
 
joanne m. smith 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2004 10:16:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2004 10:16:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2004 10:16:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2004 10:16:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2004 10:16:41 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed the course. The written instructions were very straight forward and it was great to know that I could contact you at any point with questions although I never really took advantage of this I will next time! It would be great to have a report or assessment at the end of the course. For example your thoughts on our strengths and weakness and which courses(s) you think we may benefit from.
12/16/2004 10:16:41 AM
 
Bob Cournoyer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/9/2003
Contact Bob
Bob's Gallery
bobslens.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2004 7:16:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2004 7:16:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2004 7:16:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2004 7:16:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2004 7:16:06 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks Again..!!I would, once again, like to thank Susan and Neil for the excellent instruction/guidance/mentoring they have given me and the class. I'll keep an eye out for a Silverman Digital II offering. And thanks to the class for being a class....:-)
12/8/2004 7:16:06 PM
 
Melissa J. Vance 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2004 3:38:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2004 3:38:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2004 3:38:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2004 3:38:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2004 3:38:27 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Your course has helped me more than you will ever know and I am enjoying
my two periods of digital photography and developing my own material and
assignments. All my students know that I am still learning and I am
completing my photo assignments with them and letting them critique my
work. It's a great learning process.
9/11/2004 3:38:27 PM
 
Karen Sorensen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/21/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2004 3:37:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2004 3:37:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2004 3:37:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2004 3:37:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2004 3:37:17 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you very much for your critique of my pictures today and the other
weeks, I have really appreciated it, helpful in showing what could have
been better and at the same time done in a nice and encouraging way, the
sign of good instruction. I would be glad to meet you both again in
another course.
9/11/2004 3:37:17 PM
 
Ed Heaton
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/13/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2004 9:56:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2004 9:56:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2004 9:56:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2004 9:56:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2004 9:56:14 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I wanted to drop you both a note to let you know how much I have learned from your Photography course at BetterPhoto! It was funny at the time I
didn't seem to be picking things up like I should. But now that I look
back on things it was an extremely good class! I have learned much more
than I really had expected and I am using what you have taught me on a daily basis...Thank you again!
7/14/2004 9:56:14 AM
 
Jennifer Andal 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2004 10:00:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2004 10:00:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2004 10:00:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2004 10:00:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2004 10:00:10 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I don't know, Neil, if you remember calling me on Easter day about my
problem taking these kind of shots, but you did...and you helped me
figure out that even though I want a close-up shot, I can't get CLOSE
UP with my camera. I had to set the camera on a tripod about 3 feet
back and I guess that gave enough space that my camera could focus (I
know you gave me some technical explanation for that, but I certainly
couldn't quote you!).

Anyway...a big thanks! Not just for that call, but for the whole class.
It opened my eyes and taught me a lot.

6/20/2004 10:00:10 AM
 
David j. Brewster 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2004 1:27:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2004 1:27:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2004 1:27:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2004 1:27:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2004 1:27:26 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
thank you:
thanks to everyone for sharing your pics and comments,I will sure miss checking the web site out to see who uploaded new pics, thanks susan and neil,I really learned a lot,tried things I would of never tried before,and the best part is they work, thanks again.
6/8/2004 1:27:26 PM
 
Laura J. Smith
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/1/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2004 12:57:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2004 12:57:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2004 12:57:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2004 12:57:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2004 12:57:07 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
My first camera, my first course...I had doubts about spending money for on-line, am still taking it all in. Learned so much and in reviewing photography books,find that Susan and Neil's lessons are clear and jam-packed at the same time. Your photos are beautiful and I appreciate the personal time you gave beyond critiques, your sense of humor, and the consistent positivity and generosity of spirit...those are hard to find anywhere and made all the difference for my learning. THANKS!!
5/27/2004 12:57:07 PM
 
Maverick Creatives
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/1/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 8:05:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 8:05:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 8:05:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 8:05:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 8:05:40 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks you guys, this course is not only interesting and challenging, it's also fun, just plain fun.
5/1/2004 8:05:40 AM
 
David j. Brewster 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 8:01:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 8:01:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 8:01:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 8:01:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 8:01:41 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Susan and Neil, thanks for your comments, I have to be honest and tell you that when I looked at this pic on my monitor, the yellow bush was a bullseye, what was I thinking? But I really liked the photo so I cropped it how I wanted it and used levels auto fix in digital image pro to adjust colors a little bit. I also would like to say after doing two lessons, I've learned a few things already, so I feel I have already got my moneys worth, now on to challenge #3.
5/1/2004 8:01:41 AM
 
Jennifer Andal 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 7:58:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 7:58:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 7:58:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 7:58:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 7:58:35 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
And thanks Susan & Neil for the compliment. I must say that it is because of this class that I got such an interesting angle on that shot. For the first few shots I took yesterday, I was standing straight up, getting really boring pictures like I usually do. Then I remembered the whole "composition" lesson and got down on the ground to try for a more interesting angle. I think it really worked! Like you said, the wall looks really interesting, and I like the way the sky looks, too. You couldn't even SEE the sky when I was standing up straight!

Anyway...thanks again. I'll now start doing some research on polarizing filters.....

5/1/2004 7:58:35 AM
 
Richard Tauber 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 10:37:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 10:37:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 10:37:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 10:37:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 10:37:50 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Susan and Neil:

Thank you for your continued encouragement throughout the course. I learned quite a bit about my camera, photographic techniques, my "creativity", and myself, during the 8 weeks course. I put quite a bit of time into each lesson and even felt stressed from time to time to finish an assignment, but I always found the work enjoyable. It proved to me for the umpteenth time the validity of the old adage "that you get out what you put in".
3/28/2004 10:37:50 AM
 
Cathy Rosenberger 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 10:30:46 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 10:30:46 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 10:30:46 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 10:30:46 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 10:30:46 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have to agree with Lexie. You have given me a lot of confidence and
really created an interest in photography that I never knew existed. I had a ball in this class. If you had an award for who had the most fun
I would have to be the hands down winner.
3/28/2004 10:30:46 AM
 
Alexandra K. Stevenson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 10:28:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 10:28:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 10:28:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 10:28:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 10:28:40 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I would give the course a ten. I had absolutely no complaints, and
actually decided it had advantages over taking a course locally in that
I had access to the instructors at all times and could review the
critiques - mine and other peoples'- at my leisure, instead of just
during "class time" if the course were at a physical location. Susan
and Neil were friendly and gave great advice, and I met people from all
over the country, and the world, in fact. I plan on taking more
classes.
3/28/2004 10:28:40 AM
 
Nanette Gingo 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2004 10:03:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2004 10:03:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2004 10:03:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2004 10:03:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2004 10:03:07 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Dear Neil and Susan,

I wish to thank you for this truly exciting learning experience. I have
grown so much, just in being willing to try what I have always found
intimidating, while keeping my creative interest. I found you to
be exceptionally kind and encouraging.

I will continue to check the class choices and hope to enroll again
with Betterphoto.

Lastly, I have loved looking at your images. They are amazing, and
you have surely found your calling.

I wish you good days ahead.

3/4/2004 10:03:07 PM
 

66 Reviews  


Enroll

Add to Wishlist