Online PhotoCourse™ - Photographer's Toolbox for Photoshop: Exposure & Color Correction with Lewis Kemper

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

Photoshop Toolbox I: Exposure and Color Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Lewis Kemper
Photoshop Toolbox I: Exposure and Color

Start getting the most out of your Photoshop software with exciting exposure and color-correcting techniques. In this 8-week online course by professional photographer and digital-darkroom specialist Lewis Kemper, you will learn the important lessons for controlling exposure and color correction techniques in the full version of Adobe Photoshop.

Category: Photoshop Courses
Skill Level: 3 - Intermediate
Only $396 USD

Learn more about
Photoshop Toolbox I: Exposure and Color


75 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Denise Aulie
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/19/2007
deniseauliephotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2011 1:55:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2011 1:55:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2011 1:55:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2011 1:55:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2011 1:55:43 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
My photos adjustments dramatically improved with this course. I appreciate that Lewis points out that despite Photoshop updates in the future, these basic tools will never be outgrown. They are staples. Lewis teaches with clarity and sufficient repetition to make the principles stick. I am so glad I took this course and continue to use what has been learned now with new as well as old photos - making them come far more vibrant and colorful in an efficient, logical work-flow. Each lesson is a challenge and takes devoted time to complete. Each lesson builds gradually on previous foundational steps. Work that pays dividends. I feel so much more in control of what happens to the final outcome of the photos I have taken the time and effort to capture. Makes me hopeful that there will be more and more keepers because of this solid help and insight and training. Thank you Lewis.
3/10/2011 1:55:43 PM
 
Sandra L. Maxwell
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/30/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2011 7:10:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2011 7:10:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2011 7:10:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2011 7:10:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2011 7:10:10 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this class. I feel that I have gone off with a lot of valuable information that I can now use on many of my photos. Lewis was on hand almost everyday to answer any questions that our class had and was quick with his critiques. With his new DVD movies that you can watch along with the printouts really made learning very easy for me. I would go back and watch them a few times over while working on the class project. If your looking to learn about layers, masking and color corrections then this is your class.
2/21/2011 7:10:10 PM
 
Bunny Snow
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/16/2004
Contact Bunny
Bunny's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2011 8:45:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2011 8:45:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2011 8:45:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2011 8:45:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2011 8:45:35 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've wanted to take this class for at least three years now, and while Lewis' movies are a blessing and saves one's sanity, I'm still struggling and am far behind with assignments (in part due to injury) but mostly because of short term memory problems. But, I'd take it again, if finances allow and if Lewis could stand me, because it's that good!

Thank you, Lewis for the sanity saving movies.

Bunny Snow

2/18/2011 8:45:35 AM
 
Lyn Darlington
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/21/2010
Contact Lyn
Lyn's Gallery
sabvaningphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2010 6:30:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2010 6:30:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2010 6:30:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2010 6:30:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2010 6:30:41 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent course, lessons are clear and easy to follow, Lewis is an excellent teacher.
8/31/2010 6:30:41 PM
 
Charles W. Stephens
CharlesStephensGalleries.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2010 6:51:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2010 6:51:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2010 6:51:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2010 6:51:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2010 6:51:31 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am a true beginner at photoshop and the Toolbox I course as taught by Lewis Kemper seems a PERFECT course for both a beginner and experieced photoshop user. It would be difficult for me to come up with ANY suggestion to improve either the content of the course or the quality of the instruction unless the course could be FREE! Both the content and the quality of the instruction deserve a 100% rating at every level and every issue one could use to critique a course.
8/29/2010 6:51:31 AM
 
Jen F. Petritz
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/31/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2010 10:35:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2010 10:35:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2010 10:35:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2010 10:35:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2010 10:35:24 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I enrolled in this course to further my photoshop skills, and Lewis helped do just that! There were so many great tips and techniques in this course. The lessons were easy to follow, and Lewis was quick to answer all my questions. I really enjoyed the course and plan to take the next one! I recommend this class to anyone who wants to take their photos to the next level using photoshop!
5/12/2010 10:35:24 AM
 
Amy Horn 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2010 6:33:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2010 6:33:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2010 6:33:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2010 6:33:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2010 6:33:13 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was an excellent course in exposure. Lewis is excellent in showing examples and very clear on suggestions to improve my photos. I was able to take older photos that I thought were great and make them even better!
3/11/2010 6:33:13 PM
 
evelyn m. young 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2010 1:45:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2010 1:45:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2010 1:45:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2010 1:45:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2010 1:45:10 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I loved this course. Lewis is an excellent teacher. He gives clear instructions and quick feedback to all of our questions. I learned a great deal taking his course. I am using all of his lessons on a regular basis now. I highly recommend this course if you want to understand layers and progress in photoshop. EYOung
3/11/2010 1:45:10 PM
 
AEK 
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2009 8:05:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2009 8:05:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2009 8:05:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2009 8:05:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2009 8:05:11 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I believe that this is probably the best Photoshop course that one can find anywhere. I never thought I'd grasp the power of the program, especially the ways in which layers work to enhance color, exposure, and so much more. I credit Lewis Kemper's teaching skills and that's the bottom line. Although I've tried to grasp these concepts by reading books, Lewis has the ability pinpoint the most important information and translate it into simple english. He's an available teacher, no matter his schedule, and will go the extra mile to help. When a classmate had an issue with a topic, he went so far as to make a DVD. Other DVD's are used in class to further simplify material. They are invaluable. I'd rate this course 100, if available. Don't miss it.
11/23/2009 8:05:11 AM
 
Barbara Tobler 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2009 6:50:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2009 6:50:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2009 6:50:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2009 6:50:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2009 6:50:45 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Superb. Masterful presentation of the lessons, awesome and amazing content, this class introduces techniques that improve pictures like no other.
1/15/2009 6:50:45 PM
 
Stefania Barbier
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/1/2006
Contact Stefania
Stefania's Gallery
Stefania-barbier.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2007 10:01:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2007 10:01:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2007 10:01:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2007 10:01:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2007 10:01:53 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Amazing course. Thorough, easy to follow, and incredibly useful. I believe everyone should take this course!
12/8/2007 10:01:53 PM
 
Michelle Smith
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/1/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2007 10:18:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2007 10:18:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2007 10:18:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2007 10:18:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2007 10:18:09 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This was a great class, don't let my number fool you. I went in knowing ALOT about masking already, so alot of this was repeat stuff for me. If you know nothing about masks or how to use them- you are in for a GREAT treat.
We learned wonderful tips on exposure, shadow and highlights, how to make ND filters in PS, selective color, dodging and burning, removing color casts. Overall a great wealth of knowledge for anyone. I know I will refer back to these lessons over and over again.

Lewis provides images for you to work on, which is great. If you don't have time to shoot your own images this can be invaluable. He also allows you to submit your own too- his are somewhat challenging- which make sure you know what your doing.

The only reason I gave it a 4.5 is because so much was review for me and it really would have been so much better in video! I've taken PS courses on video and have found them so much easier to understand and to see and to have the info sink in much better.

I will certainly consider Lewis' courses again.

11/14/2007 10:18:09 AM
 
tom Snowden 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2007 7:34:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2007 7:34:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2007 7:34:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2007 7:34:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2007 7:34:04 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I just completed the course on Photoshop Toolbox #1; taught by Lewis Kemper. I knew very little about the subjects that Mr. Kemper presented. I feel that after completing this course I have become much more competent in the techniques presented in the course. I feel the course was excellently handled. I especially appreciated working on the photos Mr. Kemper used as subjects every week. I look forward to taking more courses on Photoshop and especially those taught by Mr. Kemper. Many thanks.
6/5/2007 7:34:04 AM
 
Penny Nannini 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2007 6:13:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2007 6:13:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2007 6:13:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2007 6:13:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2007 6:13:36 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my first online course and although I had scheduling problems, Lewis was very knowledgable, easy to work with and made the course very user friendly. I have gone back several times already and used the lessons as refrences, and I'm sure with time it will become easy to me.
3/9/2007 6:13:36 AM
 
Bobbi Chamberlain
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/7/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2007 7:24:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2007 7:24:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2007 7:24:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2007 7:24:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2007 7:24:28 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was an excellent class. Even though I had used Photoshop quite a bit before taking the class, I learned a tremendous amount, especially about masking and using layer groups. I really appreciated Lewis' prompt responses to questions.
3/6/2007 7:24:28 PM
 
Carol DuBois 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2007 10:57:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2007 10:57:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2007 10:57:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2007 10:57:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2007 10:57:42 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have to agree with what everyone is saying about Lewis and this course. He is one of the best teachers I have had in any course (and I take a lot of courses). His lessons are step by step,and use great images to show you how and why to do a task.
I was extremely challenged and he was always there to help me get through some of the more difficult material. He even did a special video for us who were having trouble with a particular step. He is awesome, his course is awesome and when you finish with it, you have real-life uses for the material that was taught.

Thank you, Lewis.

3/5/2007 10:57:42 AM
 
Carlton Ward
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/13/2005
Contact Carlton
Carlton's Gallery
carltonwardphoto.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2007 7:52:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2007 7:52:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2007 7:52:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2007 7:52:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2007 7:52:41 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Reading everyone else's reviews of this course is the reason I decided to sign up for this one. I am so glad I did. I found this course demanding and I had my stumbles early on to get in sync but Lewis guided me through. I learned so much and I am now enjoying what I have learned and will use these lessons every time I make any adjustments in PS. Lewis is very patient and thorough and his responses to our questions were answered very quickly as are his critiques.
Thank you Lewis.
2/27/2007 7:52:41 PM
 
Mark R. Glick 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2007 8:57:28 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2007 8:57:28 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2007 8:57:28 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2007 8:57:28 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2007 8:57:28 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course was simply excellent. The lessons were clear & helpful. I learned alot. I was especially amazed at how rapidly and completely all my questions were answred.
2/25/2007 8:57:28 AM
 
Vanessa T. Glover
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/10/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2006 8:26:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2006 8:26:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2006 8:26:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2006 8:26:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2006 8:26:16 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was the best photography course that I have ever taken. We received wonderful instruction, got timely feedback and the information that I learned was priceless. Highly recommended!!!
12/10/2006 8:26:16 AM
 
Jose A. Colindres
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/15/2006
alvarof8.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2006 12:25:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2006 12:25:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2006 12:25:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2006 12:25:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2006 12:25:08 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Lewis Kemper's BP Class Toolbox 1 Exposure and Color Correction is a must class for aspiring photographers. I'm a novice when it comes to Photoshop, but Lewis presented the material in plain English without much technical jargon. His critiques were right on, and the techniques that he shared, enabled me to work with images that I thought were unusable. My pro-photography friends are still wondering how I did it. Lewis is a photoshop guru! As Lewis said, "There's a lot more Photoshop to learn" so I've enrolled in TB 2 and will enroll in TB 3 when it's time. Thank you Lewis for these incredible classes. Jose Alvaro Colindres
12/8/2006 12:25:08 PM
 
John Richlin
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/1/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 7:01:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 7:01:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 7:01:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 7:01:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 7:01:30 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I thought I knew something about using Layers until I took Lewis's Photographer's Toolbox for Photoshop: Toolbox #1 - I really didn't. Now I can truly say: I know something about Layers! This course was designed by a master photographer for photographers. Lewis's course is simply the best. I can't wait to take the next in this series.
12/6/2006 7:01:30 AM
 
George H. Dalsheimer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/13/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2006 5:46:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2006 5:46:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2006 5:46:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2006 5:46:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2006 5:46:41 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a "must" course for those who are seriouly interested in using Photoshop. I found the material difficult but essential to learn and Lewis provides excellent guidance in learning the techniques. He is a gifted teacher - patient, insightful, and supportive. His critiques are extremely valuable and Lewis wants to make sure that the student understands the thinking process that is required to produce excellent results. The key to real understanding is for the student to rework images using Lewis's suggestions.

I plan to take the next course in the sequence and hope to be able to take a workshop with Lewis.

12/5/2006 5:46:41 AM
 
Coralea Breezley 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2006 8:24:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2006 8:24:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2006 8:24:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2006 8:24:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2006 8:24:50 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a very informative class. Lewis Kemper does a great job of explaining the different tools & how to use them. His critics on your images are very helpful. I would highly recommend this class to anyone looking to improve, better understand another tool in PS or create an image more as the naked eye see it. I really can't say enough on how this class has really helped me to see color differently now. Thanks Lewis for all of your help.
12/4/2006 8:24:50 AM
 
Bo F. Thibblin 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 7:08:18 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 7:08:18 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 7:08:18 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 7:08:18 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 7:08:18 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellency! This Class, Toolbox 1, is a must for everyone who is serious about getting a firm know-how about PS.

Lewis Kemper isn't afraid of guiding you through all the hard stuff - thus also helping you to build a consistent workflow. The Critique for every Assignment is very creative.

Lewis's activity and interest in sharing his skill is fabulous! Though an on-line class, he is always there, answering your questions, helping to solve problems that you run into. And the response is fast!

Thanks Lewis for making this class a treasure!

6/3/2006 7:08:18 AM
 
Lucila de Avila
LucilaDeAvila.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 6:18:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 6:18:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 6:18:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 6:18:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 6:18:42 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Just excellent. I am starting to review all my photos in order to apply what I learned. Lewis made it so easy to understand how the tools work! I already took the Toolbox #1 and #2. Can't wait for #3.

Lucila

6/3/2006 6:18:42 AM
 
Wayne T. Fisk
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/12/2005
Contact Wayne
Wayne's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 7:55:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 7:55:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 7:55:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 7:55:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 7:55:53 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The best course on PS that I ever had. I tripled my knowledge and got fair, even, and fast feedback. Although I stumbled on some early assignments, it became 2nd nature to me. I'm so glad I took this course. Thank you betterphoto.com and thank you:Lewis Kemper
His feedback was fair, helpful, and corrective..without being negative. Lewis Kemper's class is a MUST!
I intend to take his next two Toolboxes in between everything else!
Wayne T. Fisk
6/2/2006 7:55:53 AM
 
Janelle Barry
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/11/2001
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2006 1:13:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2006 1:13:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2006 1:13:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2006 1:13:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2006 1:13:50 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
After nine or so years of using Photoshop in a very "tip of the iceburg" manner, learning a very limited range of corrections and enhancements to use directly on my photos, I decided if I ever wanted to get past the look of a "good amateur", I needed to start at the beginning and relearn what I had taught myself - in the right way this time - plus become comfortable with many, many more important tools about which I was clueless. Very fortunately for me, and other BP members, we have Lewis Kemper and his PS Toolbox courses! I have taken several wonderful assorted photography classes in the past from BetterPhoto, but I would have to say that this has been by far the most valuable to me. Not only for "saving" those photos thought lost, due to exposure and color problems, but for making almost any image better and more able to express why I took it in the first place. I also have many "heirloom" photos from grandparents and parents that I have had a great desire to restore and share with interested relatives. Lewis' toolbox courses have helped (and will help even more in the future) accomplish that goal in much less time and with much more skill than I had thought possible for myself. And Lewis is one of the most accessible teachers I have had - very clear in his lessons and critiques, and very prompt with his responses to questions and problems. To sum it up: Lewis Kemper is very user friendly!! I look forward to Toolbox #2!
3/11/2006 1:13:50 PM
 
Jane Scott
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/18/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 3:50:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 3:50:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 3:50:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 3:50:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 3:50:30 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Lewis is truly a gifted teacher. He takes time for every question, is prompt with helpful replys/suggestions, is insightful with his critiques, is enthusiastic and his positive energy is contagious. He made me want to do my best. I have learned a tremendous amount in this class that I'm already using. I don't see how you can have really spectacular digital photos without learning PhotoShop.
3/8/2006 3:50:30 PM
 
Stefanie Silverman 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:27:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:27:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:27:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:27:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:27:39 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Lewis Rocks! He is the most accessible instructor I've had in BP classes. He wants his students to learn and his instructions and critiques are done accordingly. I was very impressed with his quick responses, his detailed lessons and his overall willingness to go the distance with his students. Thank you Lewis, I learned a lot. Highly recommend this class.
3/7/2006 1:27:39 PM
 
Holly Gedert
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/23/2005
Contact Holly
Holly's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2006 11:19:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2006 11:19:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2006 11:19:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2006 11:19:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2006 11:19:08 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
For what could be difficult concepts to learn over the internet, Lewis makes learning Photoshop easy by using clearly worded instructions, good examples, and including a video when visual demonstration is necessary.
Lewis responds to questions and critiques quickly which eases the amount of time required to complete the lessons.
3/5/2006 11:19:08 AM
 
HSIHAO LUNG
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/25/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2006 9:42:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2006 9:42:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2006 9:42:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2006 9:42:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2006 9:42:03 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Before I took this course, I know very little about how to correct exposure and color for my photos using Photoshop. The only thing I know was to use auto level or auto contrast; the curve looked so complicated to me and not even mention how to correct the color. I read couple books and followed the examples come with them; however, I always forgot the exact procedures after couple weeks. I was so clueless about what to do about my pictures and how to enhance them.

This situation totally changed after I had this course with Lewis. Most importantly, it laid down the foundation for me to understand how Photoshop works. Each course material in the course explains very well and I had no trouble to follow it. For each technique he taught us, Lewis always explains the reason behind it. Whenever I had questions, Lewis was always there to help and his response was quick. By the mid of the course, I learned so many choices for exposure correction and remember them all. His critiques were especially helpful, I learned a lot by just reading his critiques for the works from my fellow classmates. In the critique, he alway reiterated the important concepts he taught us in the course materials.

I just cannot resist in giving this course a 5-star and two thumbs up. Thanks, Lewis. I am planning to take tools box #2 and #3.

3/2/2006 9:42:03 AM
 
Katherine Holt
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/28/2005
trinaholtphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 1:43:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 1:43:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 1:43:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 1:43:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 1:43:23 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course has been great. My head is spinning with all the knowledge I have acquired in this class. Each and every lesson introduced valuable techniques for improving my photos. Lewis has a great way of presenting the material that is straightforward and easy to understand. He is readily available to answer any question you may have. His critiques are quite thorough and a learning tool in themselves. I would recommend this class to anyone who wants to learn more about Photoshop. This course has left me eager to take another of Lewis' courses to see what other great Photoshop insights he has to offer.
3/1/2006 1:43:23 PM
 
Terry L. Ellis
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/20/2004
Contact Terry
Terry's Gallery
terryellisphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 1:51:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 1:51:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 1:51:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 1:51:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 1:51:15 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Toolbox #1 with Lewis Kemper is perhaps one the most important classes to take at BP, you cannot do high quality work without it. I especially appreciated Lewis' one on one attention and always helpful tips, his lessons full of practical solutions and his very thoughtful and helpful critiques. I will be taking Toolbox #2 and Toolbox #3 in the near future. Thank you so much, Lewis!
2/28/2006 1:51:15 PM
 
James Hollis
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/27/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 4:50:21 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 4:50:21 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 4:50:21 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 4:50:21 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 4:50:21 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is not an easy course because Photoshop is not a simple program. It is large and powerful. I tried reading books and attacking it that way, for over a year, but didn't get far. I took this course after I'd just about given up. The course covers a lot of ground. Lewis is right there with you, all the way.

Suffice it to say there is a method for submitting your photoshop work product including all the steps used to reach your final result. Lewis personally examined and commented on each and every image I submitted. I was amazed at this instructor's productivity. And pleased at his gentle and patient manner - really essential to get beginners like me through this steepest part of the photoshop learning curve.

I have salvaged dozens of old images I thought were lost due to exposure and color problems. What a great benefit! I plan on pursuing more photoshop tools with this instructor. Highly recommended.

2/28/2006 4:50:21 AM
 
Michael Frisch 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 5:46:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 5:46:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 5:46:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 5:46:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 5:46:14 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I can't help but give this course a "5" rating. Lewis is an excellent instructor who works hard to help his students understand the material. The content was excellent and written in an organized manner with well chosen assignments. I plan to take his other courses in the future. I highly recommend this course.
2/27/2006 5:46:14 PM
 
Frances Saunders
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/5/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 1:06:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 1:06:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 1:06:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 1:06:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 1:06:29 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Cindy did a great job of outlining how much we all valued our lessons with Lewis. This is one powerhouse of a course with an instructor who takes time with each and every student. I've learned so much in just 8 short weeks. This kind of learning revolutionizes the way you approach your photos and if we you have ever floundered around in PS, not really knowing where to go to get the effects you want, then this is the first step in the right direction. Of course, the second and third steps are Toolbox II and III!
2/27/2006 1:06:29 PM
 
Cindy Hamilton
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/4/2005
Contact Cindy
Cindy's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2006 5:41:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2006 5:41:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2006 5:41:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2006 5:41:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2006 5:41:17 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you, Lewis, for your accessibility, for your quick critiques, and for your feedback. At first the course seemed daunting, and demanding, compared to the two courses I took locally at the Community College. In the past few weeks, I have realized that I had learned so many practical applications. As someone said before me, beware if you have a treasure trove of bad pictures. So many of them can be greatly improved following the 8 steps outlined in this course. What I especially appreciated were the critiques that told me the better way to improve a picture rather than the way I had done it. I thought that everything had to be shot in RAW in order to fix it, and I learned that even JPEG pictures could be helped. Now, if only I could quit my day job, I could redo EVERY picture in my gallery!

I've taken a bunch of courses at BP, and this one, Toolbox #1, has been the most practical class of all. Prepare yourself to work hard, because it isn't for babies, and then be prepared for the compliments you'll get for the improvements in your photography ! Honestly, I'm amazed by the power of Photoshop, and by Lewis's careful mentoring. Like any good teacher (and I'm one) Lewis takes time for each student, and the improvement of each class member is apparent. I get as much out of my classmate's uploads and comments as my own. Thank you, thank you.
Cindy Hamilton

2/26/2006 5:41:17 PM
 
Sue Conant
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/11/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 8:01:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 8:01:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 8:01:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 8:01:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 8:01:11 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks Lewis,
It was a great class and I enjoyed learning how to do so much more with Photo Shop.
Thanks for taking it step by step and when we are sitting in the RV with nothing to do, I can go back to my stored original pics. and re-do them all over again, this time a lot better.
I hope to take class 2 and 3, but will take a break for awhile.
Thanks again, Sue
2/24/2006 8:01:11 PM
 
Susan Feulner
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/4/2005
Contact Susan
Susan's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 4:16:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 4:16:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 4:16:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 4:16:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 4:16:17 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I don't know what I can say that hasn't already been said. Loved having images to work on and was able to go back to old photos and improve them. Lewis is a great instructor and very helpful in his criticisms.
2/24/2006 4:16:17 PM
 
Chuck Bull 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 12:18:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 12:18:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 12:18:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 12:18:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 12:18:34 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was a very well designed class. I especially appreciated the opportunity to work through step-by-step examples for provided for each lesson.

I can't wait for Toolbox #2

2/22/2006 12:18:34 PM
 
Jennifer Marshall 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2005 11:03:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2005 11:03:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2005 11:03:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2005 11:03:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2005 11:03:06 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've taken a lot of great courses at Better Photo but, with apologies to the other terrific instructors here, Lewis is THE BEST! The course provides even a total beginner at Photoshop with many tools for improving images. There are great shortcuts, and Lewis even delves into approaches to workflow. He goes into wonderful detail about the various options for each tool, and explains how they impact the image; no need for guesswork. The examples are incredibly instructive. And Lewis is great -- constructive and QUICK to respond to newly posted images. On the rare occassions when he wasn't available to give immediate attention to questions, he always let us know. I can't wait to take PS Toolbox #2. Bravo, Lewis ... and thanks to BP for bringing him to us!
12/15/2005 11:03:06 AM
 
John Acello 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 8:34:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 8:34:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 8:34:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 8:34:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 8:34:10 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I have been taking pictures for years and I finally feel that I have a handle on what I'm doing. Each lesson was packed with information that I can see myself using again and again. I have already signed up for the 2nd class. This course will definitely enhance your abilities in Photoshop, no matter what level you're at.
12/9/2005 8:34:10 AM
 
Sharon Nickodem
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/28/2005
sharonnickodem.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 3:52:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 3:52:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 3:52:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 3:52:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 3:52:07 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the best course I have seen on Photoshop.Although I have not completed all the lessons as yet, the lesson plans are marvelous and I intend to work my way through all of them, more than once!
12/8/2005 3:52:07 PM
 
Barry McFadden 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2005 10:22:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2005 10:22:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2005 10:22:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2005 10:22:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2005 10:22:30 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Warning...Do not take this course if you have a lot of lost cause images. The techniques you learn will make you want to revisit all of them to make them better. Lewis has put together a very information packed course that will take your photography to a higher level. He has well prepared lessons and supplements them with informative, quick responses to any issues you may encounter. I could continue with praises for this course, but I must get back to fixing all those old photos.
11/16/2005 10:22:30 AM
 
Janice K. Wieser 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 12:06:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 12:06:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 12:06:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 12:06:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 12:06:08 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have thoroughly enjoyed this course. My main problems were with navigating the site at first and figuring out how to down and upload photos. The actual course is very well put together with detailed instructions for each step in photoshop. A lot of thought and hard work went into preparing this course and I appreciate that. Also, the instructior was very accessible and answered all my questions, no matter how lame.

I learned techniques in this course which I can actually use. I can make subtle changes and I have already saved a lot of images that I could not fix before without making them look garish. I will be taking the next toolbox courses from Mr. Kemper and I am very grateful!
10/12/2005 12:06:08 PM
 
Marlene Shuman 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 6:02:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 6:02:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 6:02:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 6:02:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 6:02:09 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Lewis is a great instructor making what could be complicated very easy to understand. It was exciting to learn so many methods of improving my photos. His critiques were excellent and he always made sure that we understood the techniques involved. He was also very available for extra help, when needed. Great course. I'd highly recommend it.
8/30/2005 6:02:09 PM
 
Randi Rose
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/2/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 10:48:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 10:48:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 10:48:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 10:48:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 10:48:15 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have the highest praise for Lewis' instruction. His lessons are methodical and thoughtful and he manages to simplify the many complexities of Photoshop. He not only gives the general theory so we can understand his lesson, but he provides tutorials so we can follow along on his images with him. This is a great way to learn and when we work on our own images, we understand the various techniques to create these improvements.

Lewis is patient, calm, and very clear in his individual critiques. And extremely available. I recommend Toolbox 1 to anyone who wants to improve their Photoshop skills.

8/29/2005 10:48:15 PM
 
Kay Beausoleil
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/31/2004
Contact Kay
Kay's Gallery
KayBeausoleilPhotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 5:37:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 5:37:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 5:37:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 5:37:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 5:37:10 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Lewis Kemper is a patient and firm guide who cuts to the chase with the procedures he teaches, eliminating the verbiage found all too often in PS how-to books. Because of this course, I became comfortable with many functions of PS I'd been avoiding. Anyone who can make adjustment layers fun is aces in my book, and he did.

Lewis's critiques are detailed, helpful, and non-intimidating. Reading mine and the rest of the class's, I learned not only what went wrong in a given assignment, but, just as important, what went right. What's more, Lewis was available to us for questions about the assignments, and was remarkably good-natured when answering them.

Like many others, I'll be back for Toolbox 2 and 3.

6/28/2005 5:37:10 PM
 
Virginia A. Ross
virginiarossphotos.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 4:52:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 4:52:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 4:52:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 4:52:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 4:52:08 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Lewis' Photoshop Toolbox #1 was just the course I needed to start UNDERSTANDING the this powerful program, so that I can move beyond "winging it". The lessons are extremely well-prepared, & I found Lewis himself to be one of the most patient & articulate instructors I've had.
6/28/2005 4:52:08 PM
 
Elizabeth Stiles 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2005 6:57:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2005 6:57:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2005 6:57:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2005 6:57:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2005 6:57:33 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I highly recommend this class to those photographers who wants to correct and enhance the exposure and color problems with the images. Lewis' critiques are invaluable. His instruction materials are informative, and the examples are easy to follow.
6/10/2005 6:57:33 PM
 
Frank A. Brown 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 11:27:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 11:27:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 11:27:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 11:27:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 11:27:20 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks Lewis so much. As a beginner in Photoshop, and computer challenged, it was a difficult start. However, with your help, Layers became intelligible. I found rereading and doing the lessons was very helpful. I agree with one of the comments that submitting before and after images to the vault would be helpful Also, if there was a way to submit psd files instead of flattened jpeg one, we could see what other students did to their images. Yes, the course was hard for me, but as usual one gets out of a project what one puts in. For me that has been a lot!
6/7/2005 11:27:20 AM
 
Emily Coffeen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/3/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2005 10:36:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2005 10:36:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2005 10:36:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2005 10:36:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2005 10:36:48 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have to say this class was awesome. I am definitley continuing on with Toolbox 2 & 3. I learned sooo much and really enjoyed every bit. I highly recommend this class. I thought it was really fun watching/making "lost cause" pictures revive into something to be proud of.
6/6/2005 10:36:48 AM
 
Kathy Kult
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/19/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2005 6:16:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2005 6:16:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2005 6:16:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2005 6:16:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2005 6:16:00 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I'm currently only in the 6th week of this course, but I consider Lewis Kemper's Photoshop Toolbox #1 to be the BEST BetterPhoto course I've ever taken. It is was well worth the $$$, because Lewis shows how to save those photos that we consider to be "lost causes". They suddenly come alive when Lewis' techniques in Photoshop are applied to them. It makes me want to go through all of my photos to see what I can save and make into a "Better Photo". :-) I encourage anyone trying to decide on whether or not to take this course, to take Toolbox #1... it's the best thing you can do for your photos!
2/16/2005 6:16:00 PM
 
Kathy Kult
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/19/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2005 6:13:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2005 6:13:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2005 6:13:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2005 6:13:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2005 6:13:18 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I'm currently only in the 6th week of this course, but I consider Lewis Kemper's Photoshop Toolbox #1 to be the BEST BetterPhoto course I've ever taken. It is was well worth the $$$, because Lewis shows how to save those photos that we consider to be "lost causes". They suddenly come alive when Lewis' techniques in Photoshop are applied to them. It makes me want to go through all of my photos to see what I can save and make into a "Better Photo". :-) I encourage anyone trying to decide on whether or not to take this course, to take Toolbox #1... it's the best thing you can do for your photos!
2/16/2005 6:13:18 PM
 
Daryl R. Lucarelli
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/25/2004
daryllucarelli.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2004 8:40:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2004 8:40:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2004 8:40:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2004 8:40:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2004 8:40:04 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
As we say in California....sweeeeetttt!! Lewis was awesome, understanding, patient, constantly offering abouve and beyond help, anser's, insight's, the works. WARNING>>>>do not take this class if you are looking for a "fun photography" class....because it isn't. BUT if you want to learn about images editing, learn how to make you images "pop", if you want to make you images "kicked" up a knotch....then take this class....Lewis does to photoshop editing what Emmil does to cooking....BAM..... take it...you will finially be able to use photoshop when you finish. Thanks Lewis.
12/3/2004 8:40:04 PM
 
RON PENL 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 1:49:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 1:49:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 1:49:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 1:49:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 1:49:41 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have worked with Photoshop for a couple of years in digital imaging but never in a methodical manner. I now have a method to this madness that works. Lewis' lessons are just what I needed. I have taught at the university level for over 15 years and must say that the layout of this course (Toolbox #1) is excellent. Also excellent is Lewis' prompt critiques and suggestions. I've already signed up for the second installment.
9/14/2004 1:49:41 PM
 
Priscilla Rathbone 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 10:18:28 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 10:18:28 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 10:18:28 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 10:18:28 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 10:18:28 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I learned so much from this class. One thing I really appreciated was how the concepts built on each other and how the last lesson reinforced everything we learned. I feel like I got a more solid grasp of the tools that way. I now have many ways to improve a photograph, and more importantly, I know how to improve pictures in a non-destructive way (i.e. use adjustment layers). Thanks for a great course!
9/14/2004 10:18:28 AM
 
Paul R. Johnson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/6/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 8:17:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 8:17:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 8:17:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 8:17:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 8:17:37 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I enjoyed Lewis's course very much and feel much more at home working on my pictures in Photoshop.

My one suggestion is that the personal photos that people work on should always be submitted in both BEFORE and AFTER versions. It would also be nice to see the small .psd files that are sent to Lewis so we could understand what layers people used.

9/13/2004 8:17:37 AM
 
Sam Kaler
samkalerphoto.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2004 5:32:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2004 5:32:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2004 5:32:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2004 5:32:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2004 5:32:58 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have just completed toolbox #2 and am really just beginning to fathom the extraordinary power of photoshop. Lewis is a great guide and teacher. His lessons give you the knowledge and guidance you need to explore the techniques and creative tools available in the program. The effort is well worth it! Bring on toolbox #3!
9/6/2004 5:32:58 PM
 
Charlotte LaBarbera
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/21/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2004 6:26:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2004 6:26:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2004 6:26:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2004 6:26:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2004 6:26:39 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Re: Toolbox #1
Not as much fun as a Photography Class - A lot like being in school - The learning process is tedious.

The Results:
Astounding, amazing, stunning and surprising - More than well-worth the effort. Slightly less than perfect images and images considered to be a lost cause are transformed into first rate photographs using these new-found skills.

Lewis is very patient and very helpful - determined that all of his students be successful.

9/6/2004 6:26:39 AM
 
Karen Beri
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/3/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 5:10:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 5:10:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 5:10:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 5:10:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 5:10:06 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have just completed Toolbox #2, and am absolutely delighted with the amount of information and skills I have learned. The course is tough at times, and you really must be prepared to take the time to read and reread the lesson, but Lewis gives you all the information and tools that you need, and will help you through and answer all your questions. I have signed up for Toolbox #3, and can't wait to start!
9/5/2004 5:10:06 AM
 
Holly Higbee-Jansen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/10/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2004 5:42:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2004 5:42:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2004 5:42:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2004 5:42:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2004 5:42:41 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Hi Lewis:
This was by far the best class I've taken so far. It took a few weeks for me to grasp the concepts, but you made sure that I did. Thank you!! See you in Toolbox #2!


Holly Higbee-Jansen

9/4/2004 5:42:41 AM
 
Louis V. Veltri 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2004 4:23:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2004 4:23:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2004 4:23:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2004 4:23:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2004 4:23:18 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you Lewis. I think your approach to explaining the functions in PS is great. Using real world examples puts the tools in perspective and it helped me to understand the purpose of the tools not just how to use the tools.
9/2/2004 4:23:18 PM
 
Leonid Strizhevskiy 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2004 9:30:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2004 9:30:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2004 9:30:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2004 9:30:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2004 9:30:59 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5

The way Lewis teaches is absolutely great.
Clear cut, thoughtful, and I admired his inexhaustible patience.
A word of caution: those of you, guys, who think they can get away in these courses (I took 2)with something less than full comprehension of all the concepts taught in the courses, forget about it: Lewis will get you!
Once again I want to say my heart felt "Thank you, Lewis"
Leonid Strizhevskiy
9/2/2004 9:30:59 AM
 
Carolyn Keiser
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/15/2003
Contact Carolyn
Carolyn's Gallery
carolynkeiserphoto.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 10:36:21 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 10:36:21 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 10:36:21 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 10:36:21 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 10:36:21 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks, Lewis. The class has exceeded my expectations! I feel I have a good grasp of the concepts. The hard part now is figuring out just what an image needs! I'll see you next fall for the next installment. Now it's time for another photography class!
8/24/2004 10:36:21 AM
 
Corry Berghout 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 10:27:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 10:27:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 10:27:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 10:27:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 10:27:50 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks very much for all the assistance throughout this course. I enjoyed it tremendously, have learned a lot, and gained confidence with Photoshop. Your clear lessons, sample photos, and feedback on how I was doing was great. Perhaps we'll meet again in the fall session.
8/24/2004 10:27:50 AM
 
Robert L. Zakrison 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 10:20:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 10:20:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 10:20:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 10:20:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 10:20:33 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I was taught these techniques in a thoughtful and logical manner. It was great to learn how to work with these more difficult images. I had attempted corrections on this one, for example, several times prior to you course without success. Thank you for sharing your knowledge!
8/24/2004 10:20:33 AM
 
Sherri Conley
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/28/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 10:09:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 10:09:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 10:09:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 10:09:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 10:09:35 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really didn't quite "get it" with this technique until I moved on and did it with the next two photos in the assignment (that you said I did correctly). I think my light finally came on! This course has been extremely challenging for me (that's not a complaint, that's a compliment) and I'm really enjoying learning so much about Photoshop!
8/24/2004 10:09:35 AM
 
RON PENL 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 10:05:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 10:05:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 10:05:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 10:05:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 10:05:41 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
By the way, I've learned so much in this class and am using it constantly in the other 2 classes I have as well as outside of class. I never knew how to use adjustment layers (or even layers very well) and this last part with the AutoColor Correction and RGB channels is fantastic.
8/24/2004 10:05:41 AM
 
Dennis Webb 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 5:59:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 5:59:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 5:59:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 5:59:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 5:59:56 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent course. The best thing (echoed by other reviews) is that most of Lewis's techniques don't require a lot of time. I can greatly improve a photo with just a few minutes work.
6/7/2004 5:59:56 AM
 
Dennis Webb 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 10:43:45 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 10:43:45 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 10:43:45 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 10:43:45 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 10:43:45 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Lewis's class really contained great information that I will use on a regular basis. I plan on revisiting some personal photos that are nice pictures, but have exposure or color problems. Since there are personal memories associated with these, I don't mind spending time on them to make them just so. However, the best thing about Lewis's is that so many of his toolbox tricks don't require a lot of time to really improve the photo. I can now take a marginal photo of a project site and modify it into a usable photo in a minute or two.
3/28/2004 10:43:45 AM
 
Brenda W. LaFleur
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/2/2003
Contact Brenda
Brenda's Gallery
brendalafleur.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 12:10:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 12:10:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 12:10:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 12:10:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 12:10:39 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks again, Lewis. I can't tell you how much I've enjoyed learning from you. I want to go back through all my old photos and re-edit with all my new found skills! I'll be first in line for the next edition of PS for the Photographer!
1/5/2004 12:10:39 PM
 

BetterPhoto Member
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 12:08:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 12:08:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 12:08:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 12:08:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 12:08:24 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Up until now, I usually shot landscapes and never thought of changing or combining pictures. If a slide wasn't "perfect," I just didn't scan it.

You're opening up a whole new range of possibilities for editing and creativity.

In addition to learning technique, it is really helpful to see how you and others have applied the techniques with before and after pictures.

This class is exactly what I needed!

1/5/2004 12:08:24 PM
 
Robert L. Zakrison 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 12:06:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 12:06:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 12:06:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 12:06:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 12:06:51 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am stunned on how much I have learned already. Bravo! And thanks!
1/5/2004 12:06:51 PM
 
Cathy J. Martin
HotshotsbyCathy.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 5:41:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 5:41:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 5:41:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 5:41:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 5:41:35 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I recently completed Lewis Kemper's Photoshop Toolbox course... THANK YOU... THANK YOU... THANK YOU... best online course I have ever been involved with. Lewis, You are right on the money....really does look alot better....I know I keep saying this but....I Love This Course!!Everything I have learned from you thus far is proving to be invaluable. Can't wait for Toolbox #2..#3..and on and on.
1/4/2004 5:41:35 PM
 

75 Reviews  


Enroll

Add to Wishlist