Online PhotoCourse™ - Travel Photography: Capturing a Sense of Place with Brenda Tharp

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

Travel Photography: Capturing a Sense of Place Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Brenda Tharp
Travel Photography: Capturing a Sense of Place

Awaken your wanderlust and create exciting images of your adventures, whether close to home or far abroad. Instructor is master photographer and author Brenda Tharp, who invites you along on this exhilarating online photo course. In this class, you'll learn how to capture the mood of a place, record the action of festivals and everyday life, work with artificial light and fill flash, put together a travel essay, and make cultural portraits.

Category: Nature / Travel
Skill Level: 2 - Serious Hobbyist
Only $396 USD

Learn more about
Travel Photography: Capturing a Sense of Place


25 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Larry M. Mercer 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2010 10:24:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2010 10:24:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2010 10:24:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2010 10:24:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2010 10:24:34 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Almost immediately after completing Brenda's class I took an extended trip to Germany and Holland. The photos I brought back reflect the value I place in this class. I was delighted with the progress I had made in a few short months. The work we did focused on exactly what a traveler would want to bring back - I have improved my ability to do that. Brenda's critiques were honest, helpful and even challenging. This experience fueled my passion for photography - more important gave me confidence.
3/3/2010 10:24:34 AM
 
Jeffrey B. Gibson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/28/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2009 3:44:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2009 3:44:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2009 3:44:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2009 3:44:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2009 3:44:07 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the third course I have taken with Brenda. I have also taken a workshop with her. She is a wonderful instructor. No photo is a bad photo with Brenda. She simply tells you how to improve it. Her critiques make you feel she is a close friend rather than an instructor. If you want to obtain better photos while traveling, or just around home, this is the course to take.
9/7/2009 3:44:07 AM
 
Heather Tucker
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/6/2008
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2009 1:21:06 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2009 1:21:06 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2009 1:21:06 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2009 1:21:06 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2009 1:21:06 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
I'm afraid that I had a similar experience to Carin (previous review) with this course. I was really looking forward to it, especially as it was a birthday gift from my mum. However, the things I remember most about the course is the number of times we were told our photos would be better with a blue sky (kinda difficult in the winter) and that the instructor was away a lot/critiques delayed because of travel and personal commitments. Since this course I haven't taken another BP course, as I was so disappointed with this one.
9/2/2009 1:21:06 AM
 
Rob Langhorst 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2009 1:21:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2009 1:21:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2009 1:21:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2009 1:21:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2009 1:21:50 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I found the course "Travel Photography: Capturing a Sense of Place" very helpful and fun. Brenda Tharp gave concise and to the point feedback on my pictures that really helped to improve my pictures. The co-students were very active as well. I would like to thanks Brenda as well as the "group" for a great learning experience!

Fot anyone considering this course; recommended if you want to improve on the pictures you come back with on your holidays or other travels.

6/25/2009 1:21:50 PM
 
Robin Low 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2009 4:30:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2009 4:30:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2009 4:30:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2009 4:30:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2009 4:30:38 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The structure of the course was great as it built to get us to a level of understanding.

I found Brenda's critiques very challenging - in the right way - she is taking me to another level of photography and I am very pleased that I have taken the course and appreciate greatly Brenda's insights.

Robin

6/11/2009 4:30:38 AM
 
Quy Tran 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2008 7:57:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2008 7:57:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2008 7:57:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2008 7:57:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2008 7:57:44 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class is very useful for me. I am attending this class while traveling. I think I should attend this class before.
Thanks my instructor, Brenda Tharp
QT
2/27/2008 7:57:44 AM
 
Alison McC
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/12/2007
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2008 1:09:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2008 1:09:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2008 1:09:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2008 1:09:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2008 1:09:16 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I found the content of the course and Brenda's comments helpful but I have to agree with other reviewers that Brenda was often without internet access due to her heavy travel/teaching schedule and I felt like this class was just something she would pop into in a great rush- knock out the critiques and get out ASAP. There were prolonged delays in receiving critiques and Q&A responses, the instructor had very frequent lack of internet access, and as a result I felt somewhat disconnected to and unmotivated by the course.
I still think that the course was worthwhile, but I feel a responsibility to let other potential students know about the level of instructor involvement.
1/6/2008 1:09:16 PM
 
Priscilla Rathbone 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2007 1:06:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2007 1:06:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2007 1:06:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2007 1:06:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2007 1:06:34 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was a great class. Brenda's lessons are always clear and easy to follow. Unlike some other instructors, she has the ability to break down a concept into actionable parts that you can put into practice. Her critiques on my pictures were very helpful. She seems to be able to see the intention behind a not-cmpletely-successful picture, while also giving good advice on how to improve it. I would definitely take another course from Brenda.
3/9/2007 1:06:34 AM
 
Carin M. Smolinski
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/24/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2007 8:25:21 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2007 8:25:21 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2007 8:25:21 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2007 8:25:21 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2007 8:25:21 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
This was my 4th BP course, and I was very dissapointed. The photos were not very inspiring, and often used more than once! Brenda's feedback and critiques were shorter and less encouraging than other instructor that I've had, and we had to wait a long time for replies due to her other travel and teaching commitments. Hate to be grumpy, but I look so forward to my courses, and really wanted to take my travel photography to a new level and didn't feel the lessons held a lot of content.
1/2/2007 8:25:21 PM
 
Carsten B. Senholt
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/13/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2006 3:06:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2006 3:06:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2006 3:06:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2006 3:06:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2006 3:06:53 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Photography in a nutshell - The basic message of this class is that excellence in travel shootings is mastering photography in general. In 8 surprisingly easy understandable lessons Brenda guides you through all the basic aspects of photography from composition to portraites of people. Brendas assignment and critiques really gives you the tips and tricks needed for reaching the next level.
12/16/2006 3:06:53 PM
 
Gregory S. Discher 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2006 6:07:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2006 6:07:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2006 6:07:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2006 6:07:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2006 6:07:19 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A great course. If you are looking for excellent feedback to improve your photography, this course is for you. I look forward to implementing the very useful suggestions that Brenda has provided, and taking another course with her. This course, and Brenda, will not only improve your photography, but inspire you to achieve your own next level.
9/23/2006 6:07:19 PM
 
Ernest F. Tiemann
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/23/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2006 2:36:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2006 2:36:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2006 2:36:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2006 2:36:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2006 2:36:15 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A delightful journey through the eyes of an extremely talented professional. If I could only develop a fraction of her ability, I would feel completely satisfied with my photographing. And I believe I have advanced through her keen eye and bright comments about my photos. Position, composition, light, angle, lens - I have become more sensitive to the importance of all of these and more. Knowing that I needed to be directed toward taking better photos, I was in good hands/eyes with Brenda as my guide. Thanks for improving my vision. I look forward to taking more courses and continuing my education.
The only negative about the lessons which were marvelously focused and presented is that as an English teacher and former editor I did notice some typos that had not been appropriately dealt with. Quibble, quibble, nitpick. Sorry! I was compelled by years of reading text.
Thanks again.
9/13/2006 2:36:15 AM
 
Emma L. Harries 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 1:02:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 1:02:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 1:02:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 1:02:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 1:02:40 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this course - especially as Brenda encouraged us to make comments on each others work. I definitely feel like I have been part of a photographic community for the last 8 weeks. Her regular jaunty emails also helped me stay motivated and determined to finish the class successfully. My ambition was to be prepared for a summer trip to the USA and now I feel ready for all those hoodoos and canyons!
6/10/2006 1:02:40 AM
 
Kathy A. Norwood
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/1/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2006 8:46:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2006 8:46:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2006 8:46:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2006 8:46:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2006 8:46:32 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my third course through BetterPhoto.com and I have to say I believe this class was the class that really challenged me to be a better photographer. Brenda has a knack for teaching that really gets you motivated to get your shot right. She stayed in constant contact with us even when she had other commitments and was very thorough with her critiques. Her lessons were enjoyable but also full of great information. My husband and I travel quite a bit and I believe the caliber of my photography has grown by leaps in bounds due to her honest and frank critiques and suggestions to make the photos better. I enjoyed the input from others in the class and would highly recommend this class to all who are serious about improving their photography.
3/15/2006 8:46:32 PM
 
Christian Goltz 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 4:07:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 4:07:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 4:07:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 4:07:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 4:07:26 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course was great fun and I learned a lot. Brenda is a great teacher, she is neither too "friendly" nor too "strict" and, most importantly, she really enjoys looking at one's images! Highly recommended.
3/13/2006 4:07:26 PM
 
Margie Willensky 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2006 5:27:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2006 5:27:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2006 5:27:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2006 5:27:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2006 5:27:09 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A special kudo to Brenda for such a well organized course! Each lesson is clearly explained and the assignments got me to explore my hometown like a tourist. Brenda's comments on our images were thoughtful and thought provoking. Clearly, she spent time on them and I learned so much not just on my images but on others' as well. We asked all kinds of questions in the Questions/Answers (Q&A) and her responses were very thorough. Each session built on the next, so by the end of the course we actually did a mini travel essay! A really enjoyable course with a top rate teacher!
3/10/2006 5:27:09 PM
 
Wales Madden III
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/16/2006
Contact Wales
Wales's Gallery
maddenphotography.net
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 7:11:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 7:11:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 7:11:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 7:11:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 7:11:53 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Whew...the course was great...travel here, travel there, take some photos, stimulate the global economy....its a tough job and we had a blast. May is too crowded with other commitments, or we would be joining the jaut to Italy...no kidding...we liked Brenda's work and teaching that much. I also really appreciate the comments from the others in the class. Next time around, we will endeavor to be better classmates by following their lead.

BT...thank you!

3/9/2006 7:11:53 AM
 
Phyllis J. Woods 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2005 11:16:01 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2005 11:16:01 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2005 11:16:01 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2005 11:16:01 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2005 11:16:01 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Brenda caused me to see and capture my home town in ways that I had never seen before. The course caused me to really open my eyes to my surroundings and to look for ways to capture the heart and character of a place. She pushed to make pictures of people which was hard for me, but a skill I need to develop. I have also, for the most part, ignored my flash, and this course caused me to see its importance and how to control it. Great course. Looking forward to my next vacation!
12/11/2005 11:16:01 AM
 
Kay Beausoleil
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/31/2004
Contact Kay
Kay's Gallery
KayBeausoleilPhotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 7:18:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 7:18:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 7:18:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 7:18:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 7:18:23 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
If you want to see your home town with different eyes, this is the course for you! Brenda's course pushed me to go where I'd never gone before: to take pictures in crowds, to take pictures of people, to do night photography at home, to communicate a sense of place to others.

Her critiques are detailed, and she gently and usefully points out the successes and the not-so-successes of each completed assignment. Brenda's open and available for information, comment and discussion, all a student could want in an instructor.

Now I'm off to practice in foreign places -- look out world!

9/1/2005 7:18:23 PM
 
Cindy Hamilton
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/4/2005
Contact Cindy
Cindy's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 8:25:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 8:25:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 8:25:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 8:25:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 8:25:40 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Brenda's course became more and more costly, since by about the fifth week, I longed to be photographing something other than my hometown. At the same time, I began to revisit parts of town I had forgotten about and festivals and "happenings". It became a game for me to submit only local pictures taken during the course, rather than pulling out lavender and sheep pictures taken on previous trips. I now appreciate how difficult it is to edit pictures and make decisions about pictures that I may personally love, but which may not fit the criteria of a travel gem. I am beginning to learn subtle tricks with my cameras, and am finally departing from a programmed mode of shooting, no easy task! I have loved every minute of Brenda's course, and am truly sorry that it's ending. The expensive part is that I leave next week for 2 weeks in the French Alps and a week in Provence, laden with two cameras and my computer. It's all Brenda's fault!

Betterphoto is a fabulous website, and I keep directing my friends to it. Thank you. Now, which course to take next...Exposure or Photoshop...???

Cindy Hamilton

6/7/2005 8:25:40 AM
 
Patricia A. Cale
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/25/2002
photosbyphotobug.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 10:50:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 10:50:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 10:50:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 10:50:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 10:50:23 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I signed up for this class because I wanted to learn to take shots of river towns for a project I am working on. I didn't know what to expect and found that I learned quite a lot. Now I can focus on the important parts of a scene and capture the spirit of the place, thanks to Brenda's instruction.

Brenda is a good, thorough and patient instructor whose critiques are extremely honest; but, at the same time, constructive and helpful.

9/13/2004 10:50:23 PM
 
Joann Cablas
joann-cablas-photography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 7:28:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 7:28:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 7:28:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 7:28:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 7:28:23 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
After viewing Brenda's online Photo Gallery I was anxious to learn from her experience and artful talent. I also wanted to improve my photography techniques and composition in preparation for an upcoming trip to Italy. I was pleasantly surprised at how fun, exciting and comfortable Brenda made the class. She's direct honest yet gentle in her critiques. The class was fun and helpful in their feedback and suggestions. Brenda has taught me to look at shooting in a whole new and exciting way.

Thank you Brenda!!

Joey (Joann) Cablas

9/10/2004 7:28:23 PM
 
Patricia A. Gordon 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 10:38:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 10:38:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 10:38:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 10:38:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 10:38:58 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Brenda: I want you to know that I've truly enjoyed this course. The course content has been extremely helpful to me. Your critiques are very instructive and understandable.
6/23/2004 10:38:58 AM
 
Karrel Buckingham
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/28/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2004 6:34:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2004 6:34:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2004 6:34:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2004 6:34:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2004 6:34:12 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
As a frequent traveler with your typical ho-hum photos I took this course in anticipation of our upcoming Alaskan cruise. I don’t want to come back with lackluster photos from this most-likely once-in-a-lifetime trip. I have learned a lot in this course. I think the most important thing I learned was to look at travel magazines and SEE the type of photos that get published. Now I know what type of pixs to take and how to put together my scrapbooks and slideshows so they spark interest. I have also learned about cropping out unwanted details. I am guilty of wanting to record everything I see so I don’t forget. But I am learning, thanks to Brenda, that the telling is in the details, not just the "big" picture. Furhtermore, I have learned to pay attention to the people of the region. I can’t wait to see the pictures I take in Alaska and on other future trips, I know they will benefit greatly from having taken this course. Thanks Brenda – come on down to Tampa, we have a lot to show you!
6/6/2004 6:34:12 AM
 
David Galloway 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 3:31:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 3:31:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 3:31:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 3:31:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 3:31:06 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Having just returned from a holiday immediately following the end of Brenda's course, I thought I would write and tell you how much I appreciated it. It got me out of my comfort zone, had me taking lots of pictures (it may be a cliché, but if you don't take pictures, you don't get any better!), and provided me with some excellent constructive feedback, all delivered in an open, friendly manner.

Well done on an excellent product. My only concern now is deciding which of your other courses to sign up to!

1/1/2004 3:31:06 PM
 

25 Reviews  


Enroll

Add to Wishlist