Online PhotoCourse™ - Travel Photography: Capturing a Sense of Place with Brenda Tharp

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

Travel Photography: Capturing a Sense of Place Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Brenda Tharp
Travel Photography: Capturing a Sense of Place

Awaken your wanderlust and create exciting images of your adventures, whether close to home or far abroad. Instructor is master photographer and author Brenda Tharp, who invites you along on this exhilarating online photo course. In this class, you'll learn how to capture the mood of a place, record the action of festivals and everyday life, work with artificial light and fill flash, put together a travel essay, and make cultural portraits.

Category: Nature / Travel
Skill Level: 2 - Serious Hobbyist
Only $396 USD

Learn more about
Travel Photography: Capturing a Sense of Place


First 10 of 25 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Larry M. Mercer 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2010 10:24:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2010 10:24:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2010 10:24:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2010 10:24:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2010 10:24:34 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Almost immediately after completing Brenda's class I took an extended trip to Germany and Holland. The photos I brought back reflect the value I place in this class. I was delighted with the progress I had made in a few short months. The work we did focused on exactly what a traveler would want to bring back - I have improved my ability to do that. Brenda's critiques were honest, helpful and even challenging. This experience fueled my passion for photography - more important gave me confidence.
3/3/2010 10:24:34 AM
 
Jeffrey B. Gibson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/28/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2009 3:44:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2009 3:44:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2009 3:44:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2009 3:44:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2009 3:44:07 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the third course I have taken with Brenda. I have also taken a workshop with her. She is a wonderful instructor. No photo is a bad photo with Brenda. She simply tells you how to improve it. Her critiques make you feel she is a close friend rather than an instructor. If you want to obtain better photos while traveling, or just around home, this is the course to take.
9/7/2009 3:44:07 AM
 
Heather Tucker
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/6/2008
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2009 1:21:06 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2009 1:21:06 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2009 1:21:06 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2009 1:21:06 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2009 1:21:06 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
I'm afraid that I had a similar experience to Carin (previous review) with this course. I was really looking forward to it, especially as it was a birthday gift from my mum. However, the things I remember most about the course is the number of times we were told our photos would be better with a blue sky (kinda difficult in the winter) and that the instructor was away a lot/critiques delayed because of travel and personal commitments. Since this course I haven't taken another BP course, as I was so disappointed with this one.
9/2/2009 1:21:06 AM
 
Rob Langhorst 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2009 1:21:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2009 1:21:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2009 1:21:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2009 1:21:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2009 1:21:50 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I found the course "Travel Photography: Capturing a Sense of Place" very helpful and fun. Brenda Tharp gave concise and to the point feedback on my pictures that really helped to improve my pictures. The co-students were very active as well. I would like to thanks Brenda as well as the "group" for a great learning experience!

Fot anyone considering this course; recommended if you want to improve on the pictures you come back with on your holidays or other travels.

6/25/2009 1:21:50 PM
 
Robin Low 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2009 4:30:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2009 4:30:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2009 4:30:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2009 4:30:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2009 4:30:38 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The structure of the course was great as it built to get us to a level of understanding.

I found Brenda's critiques very challenging - in the right way - she is taking me to another level of photography and I am very pleased that I have taken the course and appreciate greatly Brenda's insights.

Robin

6/11/2009 4:30:38 AM
 
Quy Tran 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2008 7:57:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2008 7:57:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2008 7:57:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2008 7:57:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2008 7:57:44 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class is very useful for me. I am attending this class while traveling. I think I should attend this class before.
Thanks my instructor, Brenda Tharp
QT
2/27/2008 7:57:44 AM
 
Alison McC
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/12/2007
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2008 1:09:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2008 1:09:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2008 1:09:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2008 1:09:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2008 1:09:16 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I found the content of the course and Brenda's comments helpful but I have to agree with other reviewers that Brenda was often without internet access due to her heavy travel/teaching schedule and I felt like this class was just something she would pop into in a great rush- knock out the critiques and get out ASAP. There were prolonged delays in receiving critiques and Q&A responses, the instructor had very frequent lack of internet access, and as a result I felt somewhat disconnected to and unmotivated by the course.
I still think that the course was worthwhile, but I feel a responsibility to let other potential students know about the level of instructor involvement.
1/6/2008 1:09:16 PM
 
Priscilla Rathbone 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2007 1:06:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2007 1:06:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2007 1:06:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2007 1:06:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2007 1:06:34 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was a great class. Brenda's lessons are always clear and easy to follow. Unlike some other instructors, she has the ability to break down a concept into actionable parts that you can put into practice. Her critiques on my pictures were very helpful. She seems to be able to see the intention behind a not-cmpletely-successful picture, while also giving good advice on how to improve it. I would definitely take another course from Brenda.
3/9/2007 1:06:34 AM
 
Carin M. Smolinski
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/24/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2007 8:25:21 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2007 8:25:21 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2007 8:25:21 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2007 8:25:21 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2007 8:25:21 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
This was my 4th BP course, and I was very dissapointed. The photos were not very inspiring, and often used more than once! Brenda's feedback and critiques were shorter and less encouraging than other instructor that I've had, and we had to wait a long time for replies due to her other travel and teaching commitments. Hate to be grumpy, but I look so forward to my courses, and really wanted to take my travel photography to a new level and didn't feel the lessons held a lot of content.
1/2/2007 8:25:21 PM
 
Carsten B. Senholt
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/13/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2006 3:06:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2006 3:06:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2006 3:06:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2006 3:06:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2006 3:06:53 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Photography in a nutshell - The basic message of this class is that excellence in travel shootings is mastering photography in general. In 8 surprisingly easy understandable lessons Brenda guides you through all the basic aspects of photography from composition to portraites of people. Brendas assignment and critiques really gives you the tips and tricks needed for reaching the next level.
12/16/2006 3:06:53 PM
 
Gregory S. Discher 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2006 6:07:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2006 6:07:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2006 6:07:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2006 6:07:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2006 6:07:19 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A great course. If you are looking for excellent feedback to improve your photography, this course is for you. I look forward to implementing the very useful suggestions that Brenda has provided, and taking another course with her. This course, and Brenda, will not only improve your photography, but inspire you to achieve your own next level.
9/23/2006 6:07:19 PM
 

First 10 of 25 Reviews  (see all user reviews)


Enroll

Add to Wishlist