Online PhotoCourse™ - Studio Portrait Lighting with Vik Orenstein

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

Studio Portrait Lighting Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Vik Orenstein
Studio Portrait Lighting

Whether you want to create compelling head shots, professional group or family portraits, or interesting self-portraits, you can learn how to successfully light subjects in an indoor, controlled studio environment. Vik Orenstein, a successful professional photographer (and celebrated author), will teach you how to make the most of studio lights. What's more, she will individually critique your photos!

Category: People Courses
Skill Level: 3 - Intermediate
Only $396 USD

Learn more about
Studio Portrait Lighting


52 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Thomas C. Geyer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/14/2008
tomgeyerphotography.com
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2012 6:12:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2012 6:12:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2012 6:12:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2012 6:12:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2012 6:12:03 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I've learned a lot from this class and Vik. All information was very clear and understandable. I have a new understanding of different ways to light a subject and can't wait to put it into more practice. Thanks!
1/11/2012 6:12:03 AM
 
Juventa E. Vezzani 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2011 3:13:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2011 3:13:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2011 3:13:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2011 3:13:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2011 3:13:24 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Before taking this class I had never even turned on a studio strobe. I have learned SO much!!!! Vik was very patient and yet her constructive critiques were extremely helpful. I loved her humor and wit as well as her quick feedback. I would recommend this class to ANYONE who wants to learn more about studio lighting!!!! Absolutely wonderful!!!! Thanks:)
5/5/2011 3:13:24 PM
 
Shelia Earl
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/30/2008
searlphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2011 6:20:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2011 6:20:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2011 6:20:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2011 6:20:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2011 6:20:14 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my second class with Vik and as before, her instruction is top notch. She challenged me to do more with studio lighting than I ever thought possible. Her evaluations were clear and she always showed you how to make the corrections so that you could improve every week. I haven't worked so hard on a course before, but I started with knowing very little about studio lighting to being able to create shots that I can be proud of. I have taken lots of classes with BP and this one is definitely at the top of my list! I am a better children/family photographer because of her!
3/28/2011 6:20:14 AM
 
Holly Gedert
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/23/2005
Contact Holly
Holly's Gallery
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2011 5:17:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2011 5:17:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2011 5:17:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2011 5:17:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2011 5:17:33 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Studio Portrait Lighting is an excellent course for those needing to go through a variety of lighting exercises with in depth and extensive critiques. Vik does a wonderful job of presenting the course material, and helping you with your assignments, making extended suggestions, and responding to any questions about all aspects of lighting and the studio.
3/26/2011 5:17:33 PM
 
Aaron Corn
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/19/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2010 11:43:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2010 11:43:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2010 11:43:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2010 11:43:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2010 11:43:31 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
As with all of the classes I have taken with Better Photo, Vik Orenstein was fantastic. Her suggestions and comments were invaluable, and her observations and critiques have improved all my photo skills. I would highly recommend this class.
Aaron Corn
12/31/2010 11:43:31 AM
 
Karen Anderson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/19/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2010 5:10:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2010 5:10:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2010 5:10:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2010 5:10:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2010 5:10:01 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Vik's class has pushed me to the next level. Her evaluations were suburb and really got to the heart of taking better photos. I worked on each lesson all week long trying to perfect what she asked in each assignment. I've taken lots and lots of classes from you guys and this one is definitely at the top of my list! Vik is tuff (yet compassionate), the assignments are difficult, the evaluations are very, very honest, and I absolutely loved it! I am a better portrait photographer because of her!
3/11/2010 5:10:01 PM
 
Troy Hostetler
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/22/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2008 3:05:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2008 3:05:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2008 3:05:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2008 3:05:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2008 3:05:15 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I wanted to thank you very much for your time and well thought out lessons, they have added alot to my understanding of portraits as have your books. (if you have not read her books, I'd suggest it!).
6/10/2008 3:05:15 PM
 
Troy Hostetler
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/22/2008
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2008 2:49:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2008 2:49:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2008 2:49:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2008 2:49:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2008 2:49:42 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I found this class to be very useful.

The lessons were well thought out and crafted and Vik was always helpful with any questions I had.

I would recommend this class to anyone that wishes to know more about taking better portraits. I took many things away that improved my vision and skills by 100%

6/3/2008 2:49:42 PM
 
Jen Coet 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2008 7:19:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2008 7:19:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2008 7:19:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2008 7:19:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2008 7:19:06 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Vik is a wonderful teacher. In eight weeks I learned far more than I could have on my own - the class is highly recommended!

I just wish Vik would write another studio lighting class to continue on to. Thanks for your patience and expertise!

3/13/2008 7:19:06 AM
 
Barb Rathbun
barbrathbun.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2008 5:59:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2008 5:59:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2008 5:59:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2008 5:59:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2008 5:59:34 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Vik is a wonderful, patient and positive teacher. She gives sensitive critiques and quick and thorough responses to questions. I learned a tremendous amount about studio lighting and have a lot more confidence in my ability to take pictures in the studio. I wish we could convince Vik to do a follow-up class!
3/12/2008 5:59:34 PM
 
Laura Lynne Daniels
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/8/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2007 10:34:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2007 10:34:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2007 10:34:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2007 10:34:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2007 10:34:55 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was one of the best classes that I have taken at BP.. Vik is great,she is very responsive to Q&A and gives great critiques, she really knows how to help you to fine tune the photos. I took this class mainly for pet photography, but in the process of doing it, I also learned (and now love) people photography... Before her class I have never done any studio lighting.. after her class..I can't have enough of it!

Thanks so much for a great class, Vik!!!

12/26/2007 10:34:55 AM
 
Teri Soares
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/2/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2007 3:51:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2007 3:51:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2007 3:51:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2007 3:51:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2007 3:51:07 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Vik is a wonderful instructor. Her critiques are in depth and her assistance is just an email away. Even when you need to redo a lesson, she will commend you on what you did right and guide you as to how to correct what you missed.

I've made portraits I never expected to be able to take! Very worthwhile course.

11/14/2007 3:51:07 PM
 
Michael N. Knapp 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2007 8:16:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2007 8:16:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2007 8:16:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2007 8:16:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2007 8:16:24 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I can not believe how much I did not know. You have opened up a whole new world for me with this class.

Since I started my work has evolved so much and my sales are going way up too.

Thank you!

8/28/2007 8:16:24 AM
 
Jill Love 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2007 9:08:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2007 9:08:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2007 9:08:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2007 9:08:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2007 9:08:23 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I feel 100% more confident in the studio than I did before I took the class. Thank you BIG! :)
6/21/2007 9:08:23 AM
 
Tara Brooks 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2007 2:10:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2007 2:10:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2007 2:10:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2007 2:10:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2007 2:10:50 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you once again Vik for an excellent class. I only wish I had the time to finish the last couple of lessons. I've learned a lot from you and the other classmates! I hope to work w/you once again in the future. I think my favorite lessons were the very first one, lighting a white drop and the black drop! I know I'll use those a lot in the future!
6/20/2007 2:10:50 AM
 
MaryAnn Ryan
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/24/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2007 6:58:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2007 6:58:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2007 6:58:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2007 6:58:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2007 6:58:36 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my 4th BetterPhoto course, and my 2nd with Vik. She is amazing! Her eye for color and exposure are paramount to none. She always knows how to take that "what you think is perfect photo" and make it 100% better!

I knew zip about studio lighting when I started this class, and now I feel I have a good base to start to develop my own unique style.

My only suggestion is that I wish BetterPhoto would have more courses on studio lighting set-ups, and more in-depth courses on lighting and composition in the studio setting.

6/18/2007 6:58:36 AM
 
Jill Love 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2007 4:55:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2007 4:55:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2007 4:55:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2007 4:55:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2007 4:55:25 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent class. Comprehensive and complete instructions. Fair and honest critiques. Most helpful. Highly recommend. Worth the $$
6/9/2007 4:55:25 PM
 
Kim Cagle
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/12/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2007 8:56:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2007 8:56:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2007 8:56:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2007 8:56:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2007 8:56:10 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have learned so much from this class that my head is swimming. Thank you for all the interesting and thought provoking assignments.
6/8/2007 8:56:10 AM
 
Sandra H. Ralston 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2007 3:56:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2007 3:56:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2007 3:56:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2007 3:56:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2007 3:56:28 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class not only guided me through lighting set-ups to try out, but encouraged me to experiment with my own ideas as well. Vik's critiques were constructive, enouraging and her editing suggestions added ideas for improving the work. She was very accessible, answering questions promptly via email or the Q&A section. With input from fellow class members and teacher, this felt much like a private tutoring session. What a great way to learn!
3/8/2007 3:56:28 PM
 
Judie Shephard 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2006 6:52:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2006 6:52:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2006 6:52:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2006 6:52:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2006 6:52:05 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you Vik for a wonderful learning experience! I had my doubts about learning lighting online - but I am so glad I gave it a try. It was everything I was looking for and more!
12/15/2006 6:52:05 PM
 
Wheeler McDougal Jr.
wheelermcdougal.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2006 11:58:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2006 11:58:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2006 11:58:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2006 11:58:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2006 11:58:15 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I just wanted to drop you a line, now that the Studio Lighting course is over, to thank you for a very fine experience. Your class is the forth one that I have taken from Betterphoto.com and was by far the best. You answered my questions and the classes’ questions promptly and fully and for the first time I feel that I have really mastered the fundamentals of studio lighting. Your assignments were not only instructional but a great deal of fun and I personally found them to be challenging and to the point.
12/12/2006 11:58:15 AM
 
Carol A. Tondreau
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/27/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 8:43:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 8:43:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 8:43:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 8:43:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 8:43:57 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I learned a lot from this class. In the beginning I had no clue how to position my lights and how to read a meter. I was so confused and frustrated with the first assignment, I was ready to quit! But Vik and the other students kept guiding me and low and behold, I finally got it! In fact I feel I have come a long way and have a decent grasp on lighting now.

I also feel as though this has helped me with my outdoor portraits as well.

My only complaint about the course is with myself for holding such a busy schedule outside of class that I was scurrying at the last minute to get studio sessions completed.

Vik always amazed me with her “tweaking” advise for photos – just add 10% more blue! How does she know to do that?

Thanks BP and Vik for another great course.

9/11/2006 8:43:57 PM
 
Loralie Johnson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 12:33:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 12:33:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 12:33:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 12:33:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 12:33:49 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great course!

I learned even more about studio lighting than I could have imagined.

I did the course with three Nikon Speedlights in wireless mode with a softbox and was able to complete all assignments.

I liked the structure of the lessons and felt they covered a great range of studio lighting techniques.

Vik was very helpful and responsive and I learned a lot from her as well as the other participants.

6/20/2006 12:33:49 PM
 
James Boyden 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 1:44:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 1:44:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 1:44:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 1:44:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 1:44:45 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Just a final note to say that I learned a LOT from your course. I have
appreciated your supportive and corrective critiques. It has been fun.

Jim

6/8/2006 1:44:45 PM
 
KD Sowers 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 9:13:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 9:13:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 9:13:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 9:13:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 9:13:00 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am glad I took this course. This was the first BP course or any internet course I have taken and I am not disappointed! My questions were answered promptly and Vik's words were really encouraging! I will def. take another class! Thanks!
6/7/2006 9:13:00 AM
 
Sheryl M. Kirksey 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 9:23:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 9:23:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 9:23:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 9:23:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 9:23:28 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Vik,
You get a big POW !! Thanks so much for all the encouragement and help with the studio lighting class. I so enjoyed it to the point I'm sad this class is ending. But none the less, I will be here from time to time I am eager to learn all I can to better this craft I've been given. God bless all!!! Thanks Sheryl
6/2/2006 9:23:28 PM
 
Michael Mettey
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/5/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 2:31:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 2:31:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 2:31:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 2:31:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 2:31:05 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks Vik - your words are encouraging. I like this assignment the best so far. Actually, I like them all. I am learning so much, not only from you but from the other students as well. This type of forum is wonderful, I wish I had done it sooner. My goal is to learn what I can in the next three years, try to come up with a unique style and hopefully be able to start my own studio business. There isn't an advanced lighting course on the list, but if you ever decide to create and teach one, let me know, I'll definitely sign up for that one. - Mike
5/5/2006 2:31:05 PM
 
Petra Roth
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/14/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 2:27:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 2:27:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 2:27:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 2:27:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 2:27:27 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Loving this course!
Just wanted to share how happy I am with this course! I was looking for a similar (traditional face to face) course here in Finland but (luckily) could not find anything that would have suited my needs. I'm no longer afraid of my bees!


Although my toddler still exits the studio area quite rapidly, I have managed to capture some decent shots of her. Thanks for all the valuable questions, feedback and tips so far!

5/5/2006 2:27:27 PM
 
Diane Dupuis-Kallos
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/27/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 3:32:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 3:32:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 3:32:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 3:32:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 3:32:39 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my third BP course. I find that although both instructors that I have had have been fine, who else is in the class makes or breaks it for me. We had a great group of people in this class, who were helpful and provided important feedback. I truly appreciate that.
I knew nothing about portrait lighting, and now I feel I at least have a clue. Vik is a very personable, friendly instructor, who I believe responded rather quickly to Q&A and critiqued fast enough except for the final lesson (but then again I was late...).
The two film based lessons MUST GO!!! It's time to change and although she gave us another option to do for those two - they were not real assignments with instructions etc... It's time to update the lesson books and go completely digital - especially when all the students are shooting digital.

3/16/2006 3:32:39 AM
 
David L. Froelich
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/15/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2006 8:21:48 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2006 8:21:48 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2006 8:21:48 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2006 8:21:48 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2006 8:21:48 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This was my first BP course. I learned new things but not very much from the instructor...more from the other photographers. It was a beginning course, I would have liked more info on some basics like using a light meter and light setup theory. The film lessons NEED to be removed, must of us now shoot digital. This made two of the eight lessons fairly obsolete. The course then seemed outdated. I am sure Vik is very busy as a business owner..but she also must spend the appropriate time on her commitment to BP and its students. Based on this course I would not take another one. Based on other reviews of other courses however I think I would try again. I expected more indepth critiques and reccomendations do base improvements on. Late in the course there was not much feed back to go on.
Bottom line I did learn new things...that was my primary goal.
3/12/2006 8:21:48 AM
 
Sky Pate
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/8/2005
swskysphoto.com
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 8:37:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 8:37:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 8:37:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 8:37:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 8:37:53 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My goal in taking this class was to be able to confidently and consistently create appropriate lighting for my images. I feel like I have learned so much! Vik, I really appreciate your constructive critiques and personalized attention.
The lessons were interesting, the lighting diagrams are very useful and easy to understand. As I looked back over my own work there are several lessons that I will challenge myself to try again because I know I can do better now--particularly the white seamless. I've learned so much from you and all the others in our class!!
I do agree with the others that the film lessons should be replaced with other assignments but I enjoyed the alternative assignments you gave us and viewed it as an opportunity to be creative.
This is my first class and I enjoyed it enough to sign up for 2 more. Thanks for a great experience!!
3/9/2006 8:37:53 PM
 
Mary DeGreve
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/3/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 10:21:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 10:21:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 10:21:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 10:21:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 10:21:49 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Before I took this class my lighting scheme consisted of main and fill at 45 degrees, key at f/8 and fill at f/5.6. That was my comfort zone. I'd never used a hairlight or backlight or subtractive panels or much in the way of reflectors.

After taking the class I feel like I had added several different lighting schemes that I could use on a regular basis. I feel that I benefited most from the lessons on high-key and learning the subtractive value of light in creating dramatic portraiture. The lesson on groups was good for practicing my posing technique. I know I will hang on to my notes about lighting mottled canvas to refer to proper placement and ratios in the future.

I liked the lessons that included diagrams the most. I was really hoping to master natural/window light and would have preferred some type of diagram to work off of. I do think the 2 film lessons should be replaced with new lessons. I myself am very interested in full-length low-key lighting for children where the face seems to glow but the rest of the scene stays very low-key and I would have liked to learn more about different ways to use a hairlight to achieve different effects.

This was my first Better Photo class so I have nothing else to compare it to but I was pleasantly surprised with the level of group interaction, support and useful advice. Overall I know I am more comfortable trying new things with my lights and hopefully I have expanded my lighting skills beyond my initial comfort zone. Vik's class forced me to try new things and hopefully I will continue to build on that. I would recommend this class to others who have a little knowledge of lighting but are wanting to expand on their skills.

3/9/2006 10:21:49 AM
 
Melanie Adamson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/18/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 5:16:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 5:16:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 5:16:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 5:16:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 5:16:04 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great course...I learned a lot.

I would have liked more detailed assignments with "things to avoid" or somethiing like that. I found always got it wrong the first attempt and if their had been a bit more instruction I might have felt much less frustrated and wasted a lot less time.

I do feel strongly that the film elements MUST be removed from this class in the future, it is very irrelevant for 95% of participants.

Getting critiques so late was a bit frustrating as I wanted to learn while it was still so fresh in my mind, I know Vik did her best but were there maybe too many people in the class?

Overall very good learning tool for me, my work has gone in leaps and bounds and I will certainly be doing more courses in the future.

Thanks Vik!

3/8/2006 5:16:04 PM
 
Terry Tarantelli-Louison
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/21/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 2:34:13 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 2:34:13 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 2:34:13 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 2:34:13 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 2:34:13 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I was disappointed with this class because it felt outdated to me, and only one of the eight lighting lessons was spectacular. I was very disappointed to have two of the lessons be based on shooting film when the entire class (or most all of us) were shooting digital. Definitely not worth the money, and I'm not sure if I'll take another course at Better Photo.
3/7/2006 2:34:13 PM
 
Erica Murphy
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/25/2003
Contact Erica
Erica's Gallery
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:51:46 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:51:46 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:51:46 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:51:46 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:51:46 PM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
This is the only BP class I've taken where I feel like I didn't get what I paid for. The lessons were short and vague. Two of the lessons didn't apply at all. The critiques were always late and photos often lumped together for one critique instead of one for each assigned photo. I've heard nothing but good things about this instructor so I was very disappointed with this class. I also feel horrible that I asked a friend to join me in this class. This was her first BP class and now she won't be taking another one.
3/7/2006 1:51:46 PM
 
Kathleen Miller 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:21:45 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:21:45 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:21:45 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:21:45 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:21:45 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
I was disappointed in this class. It was outdated and lacked detail. Critiques were late and uninspiring. I wish I would have dropped out but I thought things would get better. Two of the assignments were on film when 100% of the class is digital. I don't think I will take another class. Sorry.
3/7/2006 1:21:45 PM
 
Kathleen M. Lord 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:20:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:20:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:20:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:20:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:20:18 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my second class with Vic and I can't imagine not having taken it! Vic is so talented and giving of her knowledge and advice. My studio shots are improving with each project and she answers all and any questions in quick time with encouragement and honesty. Thank you Vik!! I'm feeling that much better and sure of my skills... and intuitions... and can't wait to take another class with you.
3/7/2006 1:20:18 PM
 
Paige Pearson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2006 5:45:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2006 5:45:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2006 5:45:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2006 5:45:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2006 5:45:22 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Vik - Thank you so much for your kind comments. What a boost of confidence!
I have always wanted to take a photography class and I'm so glad I finally stopped thinking about it and did it! Starting a small photography business has also been a dream of mine for a while. Taking this class and learning so much from you and the other students has given me the confidence I need to move forward. Thank you so much everyone!!!
3/6/2006 5:45:22 PM
 
Pat Wimpee 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 8:05:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 8:05:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 8:05:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 8:05:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 8:05:09 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I'd have to agree with all of you on that. I can actually feel like I know
what I'm doing when I'm moving lights around, instead of guessing. AND I
finally understand my light meter!!!! Thanks so much Vik for your insight
and great critiques. I;ll definately be taking another one of your classes.
9/9/2005 8:05:09 AM
 
Janet L. Skinner
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/31/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 7:51:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 7:51:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 7:51:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 7:51:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 7:51:30 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A Huge Thanks!
I feel I got exactly what I needed from this class. I definitely feel more comfortable with my studio equipment.
9/9/2005 7:51:30 AM
 
Tammy M. Pelliccia 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2005 11:33:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2005 11:33:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2005 11:33:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2005 11:33:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2005 11:33:10 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank You So Much!
Even though I wasn't able to complete all the assignments, what I've learned
is incredible. I am so happy I decided to take this class. Most of all, thank you for helping me RELAX!!! I got so stressed about how my photos will turn out. This has been a real confidence booster. Thank you so much for everything.
6/17/2005 11:33:10 AM
 
Lucinda  M. McCullough 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2005 9:05:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2005 9:05:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2005 9:05:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2005 9:05:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2005 9:05:47 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks Vik for such a wonderful class. I have learned so much. It really has
inspired me to take my photography to a new level and possibly open my own
studio!
6/16/2005 9:05:47 AM
 
Thomas Ehlers
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/20/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2005 1:39:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2005 1:39:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2005 1:39:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2005 1:39:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2005 1:39:50 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I just want to say "thankyou" for a very enlightening class, no pun
intended. I learned so much and plan on going ahead with learning lighting.
have a great summer and maybe I'll see ya around.
6/15/2005 1:39:50 PM
 
Susan E.  Patrick Harris
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/9/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 1:31:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 1:31:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 1:31:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 1:31:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 1:31:39 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
great class.
great instructor.
great opportunity to develop my photographic muscles.
i believe I am ready for my course!
thanks vik!!!
6/13/2005 1:31:39 PM
 
Amy Johnson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/2/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 12:55:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 12:55:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 12:55:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 12:55:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 12:55:52 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Vik,
I thoroughly enjoyed the class - thanks! You gave me the confidence to
move my lights and try new things. I'm very excited (actually obsessed)
and am mourning the end of the class. Oh well, time to move on. Thanks
again!
3/22/2005 12:55:52 PM
 
Kayleene Ball
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/29/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2004 7:10:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2004 7:10:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2004 7:10:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2004 7:10:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2004 7:10:05 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you Vik,
I just love this b&w image of Laura, and this effect! I have seen this
expression on her face so many times.
I think though, (if I had never enrolled in this class), that I would never of tried this lighting effect, or felt that I could have done it!!
Doing some of the assignments that I was not to sure about, or uncomfortable
with, challenged me, and helped me discover some lighting effects that I
really like!
Thanks Vik!
12/8/2004 7:10:05 PM
 
Nora Bonosky
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/12/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 4:05:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 4:05:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 4:05:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 4:05:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 4:05:19 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is Nora from your betterphoto studio lighting class. I wanted to ask
you a couple of questions about your "business of photography" class, but first I have to tell you how incredible your studio lighting class has been for me. Your teaching style is just terrific - clear, simple, supportive andencouraging. I have not only learned a tremendous amount about lighting, but I now feel a little more adventurous about taking the next step towards a professional career.
11/30/2004 4:05:19 PM
 
Raquel S.
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/22/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2004 8:57:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2004 8:57:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2004 8:57:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2004 8:57:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2004 8:57:27 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I LOVED the class...I learned so much. I never considered doing portrait
photography before, but now that's all I want to do. Give Jim Miotke my
thanks for offering this class..and kudos to Vik for being so patient and a
wonderful teacher.
6/21/2004 8:57:27 AM
 
Penelope Pereira
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/28/2003
Contact Penelope
Penelope's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2004 3:36:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2004 3:36:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2004 3:36:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2004 3:36:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2004 3:36:54 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
THe studio lighting course has been fantastic. I didn't know the first thing about studio lighting. I feel like I have learned so much. The lighting diagrams, the information and Vik's advice and comments were just wonderful. It is so nice when someone who knows what they are doing can give you direction. What I really like is that you can do this course from home and even on a remote little island like St Martin. I will definitely do another course sometime later in the year.

3/10/2004 3:36:54 PM
 
Michele A. Katcher
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/27/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:28:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:28:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:28:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:28:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:28:17 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Vik Orenstein's teaching style and ability to always find positive aspects in some otherwise mediocre portraits, gave me the confidence as one of her students to "dig a little deeper" and express myself creatively, all the while gaining new perspectives and incredible knowledge from her experience in the field of portraiture.

Never before have I absorbed so much insight and technical information from an instructor in such a short period of time.

1/4/2004 12:28:17 AM
 
Teresa L. Bernard
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/14/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:25:26 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:25:26 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:25:26 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:25:26 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:25:26 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have just gotten into photography since first of this year. I became interested when seeking out a local professional to photograph my young
son.

My first class with BetterPhoto was Vik's Children's Photography. In that course, another student raised the question of how to potentially sell classwork to clients. Vik's reply in effect was to stamp photos with name & copyright, give them a set of proofs, along with one 8 x10 of the best shot, and see what happens. Explaining if they liked your work, they would re-order or pass your name on. So armed with her advice, I solicited a couple friends to let me photograph their children. They liked my work. Framed it and displayed it in their homes and businesses.

I've since created a little brochure entitled "Be My Model" and distributed via family and friends, explaining I needed models for assignments, the free 8 x 10 and a price list for re-prints. Most of my clients have made a purchase from the initial shoot. Several have came back for additional re-prints. This week alone, I have had 4 calls for photo sessions, and MY FIRST call for print/ad work TODAY! In the past month I have applied and gotten my state tax ID account, registered a business name, and am working on a website gallery to further my business.

I am now enrolled in Vik's Studio Lighting class. Her classes are a lot of fun, and a lot of hard work. I am addicted! I can't wait to see what the next class assignment is, how my photos compare to the rest of the class, and what constructive critique will be given. Vik also offers good advice about other areas of photography in Q & A. She just offered advice today with my questions about my print work inquiry.

I AM INSPIRED... Vik is very good at her craft.

1/4/2004 12:25:26 AM
 
Juliette` Colpa-Thomas
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/11/2003
Contact Juliette`
Juliette`'s Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:17:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:17:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:17:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:17:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:17:15 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the second on-line course I've taken of Vik's and I find them to be terrific! Vik really breaks the instructions down in a way that I can really understand. I get the impression that she really wants me to grasp the lessons, and encourages me to re-submit photos after critiqing them.
1/4/2004 12:17:15 AM
 

52 Reviews  


Enroll

Add to Wishlist