Online PhotoCourse™ - Studio Portrait Lighting with Vik Orenstein

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

Studio Portrait Lighting Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Vik Orenstein
Studio Portrait Lighting

Whether you want to create compelling head shots, professional group or family portraits, or interesting self-portraits, you can learn how to successfully light subjects in an indoor, controlled studio environment. Vik Orenstein, a successful professional photographer (and celebrated author), will teach you how to make the most of studio lights. What's more, she will individually critique your photos!

Category: People Courses
Skill Level: 3 - Intermediate
Only $396 USD

Learn more about
Studio Portrait Lighting


First 10 of 52 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Thomas C. Geyer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/14/2008
tomgeyerphotography.com
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2012 6:12:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2012 6:12:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2012 6:12:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2012 6:12:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2012 6:12:03 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I've learned a lot from this class and Vik. All information was very clear and understandable. I have a new understanding of different ways to light a subject and can't wait to put it into more practice. Thanks!
1/11/2012 6:12:03 AM
 
Juventa E. Vezzani 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2011 3:13:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2011 3:13:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2011 3:13:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2011 3:13:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2011 3:13:24 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Before taking this class I had never even turned on a studio strobe. I have learned SO much!!!! Vik was very patient and yet her constructive critiques were extremely helpful. I loved her humor and wit as well as her quick feedback. I would recommend this class to ANYONE who wants to learn more about studio lighting!!!! Absolutely wonderful!!!! Thanks:)
5/5/2011 3:13:24 PM
 
Shelia Earl
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/30/2008
searlphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2011 6:20:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2011 6:20:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2011 6:20:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2011 6:20:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2011 6:20:14 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my second class with Vik and as before, her instruction is top notch. She challenged me to do more with studio lighting than I ever thought possible. Her evaluations were clear and she always showed you how to make the corrections so that you could improve every week. I haven't worked so hard on a course before, but I started with knowing very little about studio lighting to being able to create shots that I can be proud of. I have taken lots of classes with BP and this one is definitely at the top of my list! I am a better children/family photographer because of her!
3/28/2011 6:20:14 AM
 
Holly Gedert
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/23/2005
Contact Holly
Holly's Gallery
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2011 5:17:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2011 5:17:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2011 5:17:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2011 5:17:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2011 5:17:33 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Studio Portrait Lighting is an excellent course for those needing to go through a variety of lighting exercises with in depth and extensive critiques. Vik does a wonderful job of presenting the course material, and helping you with your assignments, making extended suggestions, and responding to any questions about all aspects of lighting and the studio.
3/26/2011 5:17:33 PM
 
Aaron Corn
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/19/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2010 11:43:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2010 11:43:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2010 11:43:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2010 11:43:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2010 11:43:31 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
As with all of the classes I have taken with Better Photo, Vik Orenstein was fantastic. Her suggestions and comments were invaluable, and her observations and critiques have improved all my photo skills. I would highly recommend this class.
Aaron Corn
12/31/2010 11:43:31 AM
 
Karen Anderson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/19/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2010 5:10:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2010 5:10:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2010 5:10:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2010 5:10:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2010 5:10:01 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Vik's class has pushed me to the next level. Her evaluations were suburb and really got to the heart of taking better photos. I worked on each lesson all week long trying to perfect what she asked in each assignment. I've taken lots and lots of classes from you guys and this one is definitely at the top of my list! Vik is tuff (yet compassionate), the assignments are difficult, the evaluations are very, very honest, and I absolutely loved it! I am a better portrait photographer because of her!
3/11/2010 5:10:01 PM
 
Troy Hostetler
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/22/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2008 3:05:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2008 3:05:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2008 3:05:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2008 3:05:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2008 3:05:15 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I wanted to thank you very much for your time and well thought out lessons, they have added alot to my understanding of portraits as have your books. (if you have not read her books, I'd suggest it!).
6/10/2008 3:05:15 PM
 
Troy Hostetler
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/22/2008
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2008 2:49:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2008 2:49:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2008 2:49:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2008 2:49:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2008 2:49:42 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I found this class to be very useful.

The lessons were well thought out and crafted and Vik was always helpful with any questions I had.

I would recommend this class to anyone that wishes to know more about taking better portraits. I took many things away that improved my vision and skills by 100%

6/3/2008 2:49:42 PM
 
Jen Coet 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2008 7:19:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2008 7:19:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2008 7:19:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2008 7:19:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2008 7:19:06 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Vik is a wonderful teacher. In eight weeks I learned far more than I could have on my own - the class is highly recommended!

I just wish Vik would write another studio lighting class to continue on to. Thanks for your patience and expertise!

3/13/2008 7:19:06 AM
 
Barb  Rathbun
barbrathbun.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2008 5:59:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2008 5:59:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2008 5:59:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2008 5:59:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2008 5:59:34 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Vik is a wonderful, patient and positive teacher. She gives sensitive critiques and quick and thorough responses to questions. I learned a tremendous amount about studio lighting and have a lot more confidence in my ability to take pictures in the studio. I wish we could convince Vik to do a follow-up class!
3/12/2008 5:59:34 PM
 
Laura Lynne Daniels
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/8/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2007 10:34:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2007 10:34:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2007 10:34:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2007 10:34:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2007 10:34:55 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was one of the best classes that I have taken at BP.. Vik is great,she is very responsive to Q&A and gives great critiques, she really knows how to help you to fine tune the photos. I took this class mainly for pet photography, but in the process of doing it, I also learned (and now love) people photography... Before her class I have never done any studio lighting.. after her class..I can't have enough of it!

Thanks so much for a great class, Vik!!!

12/26/2007 10:34:55 AM
 

First 10 of 52 Reviews  (see all user reviews)


Enroll

Add to Wishlist