Online PhotoCourse™ - Photographing Children with Vik Orenstein

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

Photographing Children and Babies Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Vik Orenstein
Photographing Children and Babies

Learn to capture unique, creative, and exciting pictures of kids. Instructor Vik Orenstein, the celebrated author of Creative Techniques for Photographing Children will help you get great pictures of newborns, babies, toddlers, teenagers - kids or grandkids of all ages - before they grow up. If you want to become a skilled family, child, newborn, or baby photographer, join this exciting online course.

Category: People Courses
Skill Level: 2 - Serious Hobbyist
Only $396 USD

Learn more about
Photographing Children and Babies


74 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Natasha M. Rigg
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/28/2011
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2012 11:14:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2012 11:14:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2012 11:14:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2012 11:14:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2012 11:14:05 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This was a great course and I gained a lot of understanding on how best to capture my always-moving daughter! Portrait photography has never been my strength, but now I feel very confident in capturing awesome pictures of my daughter. Thanks Vic for your feedback and insight on the process!
9/19/2012 11:14:05 AM
 
Shannon Whit
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/8/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2012 6:41:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2012 6:41:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2012 6:41:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2012 6:41:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2012 6:41:32 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've taken six classes so far here on Better Photo. To date, this one is by far my best! I have learned so much from Ms. Vik... Things that I never imagined to learn. It has made me look at my subjects so differently than I did before and I've been told by close friends and family members, "When did I become so picky with taking pictures? and "Why am I always making sure 'stuff' is just right in the photo?" Once they see the pictures created the oooohs and ahhhhs begin. Thank you so much BP for having a teacher as picky and totally open about our shots. I love her style and her "take it with a grain of salt" critiques!!
3/12/2012 6:41:32 PM
 
Cathy Fiebelkorn
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/28/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2012 3:19:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2012 3:19:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2012 3:19:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2012 3:19:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2012 3:19:32 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
LOVED this course and did not want it to end. Vik's lessons were full of practical tips and written in a way that often had me laughing. I feel like I've learned so much. Outstanding course & instructor!
3/1/2012 3:19:32 PM
 
Scott H. Hoffmann
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/5/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2011 12:08:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2011 12:08:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2011 12:08:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2011 12:08:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2011 12:08:20 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent class. I think I really learned a lot in this class about taking photographs of children. Vik is a very good instructor and provided very constructive comments on my photography. She often took the time to edit my photos to better make her point.
9/12/2011 12:08:20 PM
 
TERRI HINKLEY 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2011 11:14:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2011 11:14:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2011 11:14:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2011 11:14:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2011 11:14:35 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I now have beautiful pics of my little ones! Thanks Vik! The class is a must for anyone wanting to capture children in their element. My pics have definitely improved.
3/24/2011 11:14:35 AM
 
Kylie M. Winder
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/29/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2010 1:49:28 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2010 1:49:28 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2010 1:49:28 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2010 1:49:28 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2010 1:49:28 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Absolutely tops course Vik. Loved every minute of it. Was disappointed when it finished cos I wanted it to keep on going, and going.

Fully recommended to everyone.

Waiting for Vik to tutor even more courses.

12/23/2010 1:49:28 AM
 
Denise Aulie
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/19/2007
deniseauliephotography.com
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2010 4:14:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2010 4:14:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2010 4:14:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2010 4:14:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2010 4:14:46 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This course was a delight to take. Vik explains concepts in a very enjoyable and practical way. It went way beyond my expectations in depth and scope. Vik gives clear explanations and injects her great humor in each lesson. I grasped anew many concepts of photography even apart from the compositional aspect so it is really a 2x1 course dealing with exposure as well as composition. I most definitely would recommend this course to any aspiring child photographer...or any individual wanting to learn how to make unforgettable memories of the fleeting childhood years. It was one of the best decisions of my photographic year to take this course.
11/23/2010 4:14:46 PM
 
Rebecca Venteicher 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2010 11:33:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2010 11:33:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2010 11:33:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2010 11:33:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2010 11:33:37 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I learned a lot from the class. It was fun and challenging, and I learned some new skills along the way. I would highly recommend this instructor and class to a friend. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 star is because I wish I could have gotten a little more technical help. For example, the edit suggestions were helpful but a screen shot showing exactly how the edits were made in Photoshop would have been a little more informative. All in all - great class! Thanks Vik!
11/12/2010 11:33:37 AM
 
Fiona C. Murdoch 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2010 9:10:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2010 9:10:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2010 9:10:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2010 9:10:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2010 9:10:09 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have thoroughly enjoyed this course from start to finish. The critiques have been extremely helpful and the feedback from the rest of the group has been very encouraging. I have been amazed at how much I can accomplish without a studio space! Vik has been very accomodating with answering questions and being available in a timely manner. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to improve their portrait skills and wants to work with children.
11/11/2010 9:10:09 AM
 
Gayle Johnson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/23/2008
Contact Gayle
Gayle's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2010 5:51:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2010 5:51:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2010 5:51:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2010 5:51:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2010 5:51:02 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This class has been very informative. Vic not only encouraged everyone through out the class, but gave numerous tips and suggestions on how to take and edit photos. I would highly recommend it to anyone, especially new parents (as well as Grandparents). Would not hesitate to sign up for another class with her.
11/7/2010 5:51:02 PM
 
Kerry Dorcheus 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2010 9:10:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2010 9:10:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2010 9:10:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2010 9:10:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2010 9:10:56 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A wonderful course, I have learnt so much in the past two months and I have come out with so much more confidence. The lessons are intresting and full of great points and tips, I enjoyed every assignment and am really sad this is my last week.
Vic is a wonderful teacher, I could go to her with any question and she would always give me helpful advice.
I would 100% recommend this course to anyone:)
11/1/2010 9:10:56 AM
 
Marta Lesniak 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2010 10:07:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2010 10:07:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2010 10:07:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2010 10:07:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2010 10:07:20 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I liked the course, it made me realise new ways to capture children's expressions and gave me some hints about how to deal with kids during the sessions. It's 4 instead of 5, because I expected more technical advise and tougher and quicker critiques :)
10/27/2010 10:07:20 AM
 
anne l. hill 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2010 6:49:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2010 6:49:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2010 6:49:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2010 6:49:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2010 6:49:43 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class was really helpful for me. As a very novice photographer with a 1 year old son, I really learned some great tips that I'll be able to treasure as he grows. The feedback is great to grow from.
3/17/2010 6:49:43 PM
 
Milly Houchins 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2010 4:56:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2010 4:56:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2010 4:56:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2010 4:56:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2010 4:56:16 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
My pictures have improved so much. The critiques were so helpful. I learned to look for things that I hadn't considered before. Great class!
3/14/2010 4:56:16 AM
 
Samantha A. Franz
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/6/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2010 10:31:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2010 10:31:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2010 10:31:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2010 10:31:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2010 10:31:25 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course was so useful to me as a mom of 3 young children. I learned so very much and am so disappointed it has come to an end. My skills have greatly improved not only in shooting photos but also in editing. More and more my snapshots are now "portraits", capturing moments, expressions, and telling a story. My only regret is that I didn't take this class years ago. I would also add that I greatly benefitted from taking Jim Zuckerman's Fundamentals of Photography course prior to this. It is important to be familiar with camera settings and have a basic idea of composition prior to taken on this material.
3/11/2010 10:31:25 AM
 
Pamela L. Moore
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/30/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2010 3:42:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2010 3:42:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2010 3:42:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2010 3:42:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2010 3:42:19 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I loved this class!! I think Vik made it fun and yet challenging. The assignments were exactly what I was looking for and I feel I walk away with the ability to take much better childrens pictures. I would love an advanced class. I don't want it to end!!
3/2/2010 3:42:19 PM
 
maryann stanger 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2009 6:34:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2009 6:34:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2009 6:34:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2009 6:34:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2009 6:34:05 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Simply Amazing! With 12 grandchildren to photograph... I definetely needed help. With the 8 week course, I received 8 unique ways to capture images of my 12 favorite little people plus thru my many classmates and their approaches to the lessons, I learned even more! Would I recommend this course? Absolutely!
12/12/2009 6:34:05 AM
 
Elaine R. Turso
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/11/2009
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2009 9:35:53 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2009 9:35:53 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2009 9:35:53 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2009 9:35:53 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2009 9:35:53 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I was very glad that I took this class. I recently expanded my established scrapbooking business to include photography and really have enjoyed learning everything about being a photographer. Its so much more than just 'pointing and shooting'! Because I am so new at this, I would LOVE to have had more visual aids or videos. For example, when we were doing our lighting assignment, I would have loved to see a picture of the photographer taking the pictures and using diffusers or reflectors just so that I could really get an idea of how those tools could be best used. Overall, I appreciated the constructive criticism and liked some of the photo edits I received, but would also like to know how I could do those myself, what tricks/ settings were used. For example when the edit says that you adjusted a "1/2 stop" or to try a different 'focal length' I have no clue what that means and how to make those adjustments myself in the future :) which really means that I need more camera training.
I do feel alot more comfortable behind the camera now than I did when we started, so I think this class was a wonderful stepping stone for me!
Thanks for answering all of my 'newbie' questions Vik and classmates!
12/11/2009 9:35:53 PM
 
Charlotte R. Bellamy
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/5/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2009 1:36:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2009 1:36:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2009 1:36:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2009 1:36:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2009 1:36:39 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A fantastic course. After having waited for nearly a year and a half for this course to fit into my schedule it has been worth the wait. The lessons were clear and easily digested, and assignments were great and very relevant to taking photos of children in every situation. I pushed myself in some new areas and with class mates and tutor support my knowledge has expanded considerably and my confidence has grown. Can't rate highly enough.
12/7/2009 1:36:39 PM
 
Patricia Shewchuk 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2009 8:25:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2009 8:25:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2009 8:25:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2009 8:25:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2009 8:25:03 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I was skeptical with learning photography online, but was pleasantly surprised with how much I learned from Vik on photographing children. Her critiques were all about making you a better photographer. Friends and family have been impressed with my new skills as well and have asked me to photograph their children... thanks Vik!
9/26/2009 8:25:03 AM
 
Cynthia P. Dugan 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2009 8:15:18 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2009 8:15:18 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2009 8:15:18 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2009 8:15:18 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2009 8:15:18 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
What a great class. I already had Vik's book, Photographing Children, and was pleased to many of the ideas and concepts in this class were not covered, in her book, or were covered in a a different way.

Although I was unable to submit images each week - I learned a lot from following the lessons and reading the critiques she wrote for other students.


9/3/2009 8:15:18 AM
 
Hannah J. Ellis 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2008 3:47:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2008 3:47:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2008 3:47:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2008 3:47:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2008 3:47:21 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class was Great! I have learned so much about photographing babies and children. I have recently started my own photographing business and am amazed at how this course helped me become more self-confident in portriats. My husband, who can be very harsh about quality, has even made comments on how my photos have improved. Thanks so much Vik for allowing me the opportunity to learn from such a great inspiration! You are Awesome!
11/5/2008 3:47:21 PM
 
Shelia Earl
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/30/2008
searlphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2008 9:29:21 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2008 9:29:21 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2008 9:29:21 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2008 9:29:21 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2008 9:29:21 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the best course I have taken. I learned so much more than just photographing Children and Babies - like composition, editing techniques, creative expression, etc. Vik's instruction is superior and the personal feedback and editing tips are fantastic. Because of this course, I am continuing with two new courses in November.
10/30/2008 9:29:21 AM
 
Ali Leitner 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2008 7:29:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2008 7:29:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2008 7:29:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2008 7:29:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2008 7:29:49 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I LOVED this class and Vic ROCKS! I learned so much from this class - more than I expected and a lot that wasnt necessarily specific to children and babies(eg/photoshop suggestions). Vic's style of teaching is amazing (and she was rediculously patient with all my questions!). She is open to any type of question and readily helps in any way she can! My only disappointment (if I can even say I was disappointed) was that the lessons were very short. I wanted to read as much as I could and soak up as much info as possible. Thinking about it though, how much can you really say? I believe this class is more hands on than it is burying your face in reading a lesson. My expectations were to be ripped into about my photos. )Being only at level 2, I have SO MUCH to learn.) Vic knows how to be gentle yet lets you know where you can improve and offers multiple suggestions, with a grain of salt of course ;) .

2 thumbs up for Vic! I look forward to taking more of her classes in the near future!

10/15/2008 7:29:49 PM
 
Kelly J. Mitchell
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/3/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2008 6:56:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2008 6:56:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2008 6:56:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2008 6:56:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2008 6:56:20 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
an awesome course adnd fantastic instructor! I am in the process of planning my photography business and hope to make chldren my primary subjects! this course was wonderful and vik was fantastic about participating in the discussions, offering advice, and even giving edit suggestions to make our shots even better. I would highly recommend this class!!!!
10/9/2008 6:56:20 AM
 
Ronald Scarbel 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2008 8:34:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2008 8:34:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2008 8:34:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2008 8:34:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2008 8:34:09 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my first course with BetterPhoto.com, other then the free course and I absolutely loved it. My primary focus in photography has been photographing my children and this course was a tremendous help. Vik is an excellent instructor and I have enjoyed not only the assignments but her critiques of my work as well. Vik's critique's have been insightful and helpful. I would highly recommend not only this course but Vik Orenstein as an instructor.

Excellent course, Excellent instructor!

10/7/2008 8:34:09 PM
 
Lori Molzan
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/19/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2008 2:03:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2008 2:03:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2008 2:03:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2008 2:03:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2008 2:03:35 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've had Vik's course on my wish list for almost a year! Finally, I felt I was ready to enroll and WOW-OH-WOW, did I learn a bundle! I now feel like I'm on a solid platform to continue my interests in Children, Babies and Family photography!

I highly recommend her course to anyone who at all interested in photographing Children and Babies. What you learn in this course, you can carry over into many other fields of portrait photography....

She is an amazing instructor, offers constructive critiques and support and I can't say enough good things about her style of teaching! Thank You to Better Photo for making this outstanding course available!!!!

Lori Molzan

9/6/2008 2:03:35 PM
 
Mindy Stevens 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2008 7:20:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2008 7:20:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2008 7:20:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2008 7:20:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2008 7:20:42 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I took this course to get better at taking photos of children and I finished this course a much better photographer. I got a lot more out of it than I ever could have imagined. Thanks Vik.
6/30/2008 7:20:42 PM
 
Clayton T. Williams
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/16/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2008 7:37:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2008 7:37:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2008 7:37:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2008 7:37:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2008 7:37:25 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course broke my fear of photographing people and children and babies.
6/20/2008 7:37:25 PM
 
Thomas Hammond 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2008 10:38:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2008 10:38:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2008 10:38:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2008 10:38:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2008 10:38:35 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great! Very accessible instructor. Techniques outlined were applicable to most situations and feedback was very useful. As with any class, I think you have to read all critiques and not just your own to get enough feedback but there's plenty there if you want it!
3/23/2008 10:38:35 PM
 
Robert Yih
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/20/2007
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2008 8:25:26 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2008 8:25:26 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2008 8:25:26 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2008 8:25:26 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2008 8:25:26 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This was my first online photography class, but I have taken a couple at a local college. I found the lessons to be very light and did not teach you much. The material was a couple of pages, not like a full chapter of a book. The first assignment was to take a picture of a child not looking at the camera and then another with them looking directly at the camera. I don't know what this accomplishes. The next assignment was to take closeups of baby parts and make a collage. I did this a few years ago on my own, so again it didn't teach me anything new.

I also felt that everyone is given a positive review on their assignments, no matter how the pictures came out. Although it makes you feel good about yourself, it doesn't give you the advice you need to become much better children's photographer.

I was hoping for more tips and "secrets" that the pros use. I was hoping the class would be more technical, but in all fairness this is a level 2 class. I feel you can learn more on this subject by buying a book or on online forums.

I know everyone is different and I must stress that these are my views based on what I expected to get out of the class. If you are a beginner you may find this class very helpful. Overall I feel I did not get my money's worth and requested a refund.

1/22/2008 8:25:26 AM
 
Jody Goldstein 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2008 11:08:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2008 11:08:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2008 11:08:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2008 11:08:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2008 11:08:24 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed this class with Vik Orenstein. I've taken several BP classes and her lessons were the ones I most anxiously awaited. While her material is actually quite basic, she gets you thinking about shots and angles you might not have thought about otherwise. Her critiques were always positive and her edit suggestions were always incredibly helpful. I will definitely take another class with her in the future.

Jody Goldstein

1/8/2008 11:08:24 AM
 
Summer a. Minor
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/13/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2008 7:11:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2008 7:11:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2008 7:11:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2008 7:11:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2008 7:11:20 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I loved this course and I loved Vics review of the pictures we submitted. The course is not a super technical class but it gets you out there and makes you look at taking pictures in a different way. The technical part comes in Vics reviews of the pics which she does a great job at!! Loved it and would take another class from her!
1/4/2008 7:11:20 AM
 
Virginia L. Allison
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/15/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2007 1:27:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2007 1:27:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2007 1:27:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2007 1:27:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2007 1:27:03 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Vik, I came into this class not liking "people photography" AT ALL. After these weeks of photographing children, I must say, I love it. Not just because I am lucky enough to have a new grandson but it was just FUN. What wonder and joy in the eyes and expressions...I think photographing these children gives us "adults" a feeling of "kid" all over again (at least it brought out some kid in me). Thanks for offering such a great class.
12/11/2007 1:27:03 PM
 
Christine Welsand
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/4/2006
Contact Christine
Christine's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2007 6:47:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2007 6:47:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2007 6:47:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2007 6:47:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2007 6:47:06 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was a fantastic course! It was so helpful to have feedback from Vik and other students as well on photos. I learned lots of tips and tricks in photoshop as well. This class definitely helped me increase my skills, strengthened what I already knew, and clarified some things I was fuzzy on. I would highly recommend! Well worth the money and effort!
12/5/2007 6:47:06 PM
 
ELISA G. B.
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/3/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2007 6:01:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2007 6:01:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2007 6:01:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2007 6:01:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2007 6:01:49 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I loved this class. Vik is a wonderful instructor and her work is very inspirational. I enjoyed her feedback and that she was alwasy readily available to answer questions.
12/5/2007 6:01:49 PM
 
Debbie E. Payne
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/21/2006
Contact Debbie
Debbie's Gallery
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2007 8:30:06 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2007 8:30:06 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2007 8:30:06 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2007 8:30:06 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2007 8:30:06 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I enjoyed the course and Vik is an excellent child photographer. I would class her as more of a mentor than an instructor. Her lessons were very short; leaving us to basically figure the assignment out for ourselves and interact with children to develop a style of our own. This is not necessarily a bad thing, because it teaches us self-knowledge and discipline. I would only say that I was expecting a bit more in the areas of direction, technique and posing.
9/5/2007 8:30:06 PM
 
Natasha Gammel 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2007 8:58:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2007 8:58:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2007 8:58:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2007 8:58:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2007 8:58:12 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you so much Vic for all of the valueable critiques. The course has been great and made me think more about composition rather than just shooting. Can't wait to take another of your courses.
6/8/2007 8:58:12 AM
 
Keri E. Pinney
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/7/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2007 1:58:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2007 1:58:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2007 1:58:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2007 1:58:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2007 1:58:40 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you Vik - this has been an amazing course! Not only have you been a wonderful mentor, but you have inspired me to keep pursuing my dream of turning this passion into a business. I can't thank you enough for your time and your encouragement. I learned more than I ever thought I would in 8 weeks and I am chomping at the bit to take another one of your courses!
6/7/2007 1:58:40 PM
 
Amy S. Junge 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2007 1:06:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2007 1:06:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2007 1:06:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2007 1:06:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2007 1:06:29 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I loved this class. Vik is a great teacher and I learned so so much from my classmates too. I especially appreciated Vik's careful critiques and suggested edits. My photos have improved and I'm enjoying photography and the editting process more because of this class.
3/9/2007 1:06:29 PM
 
Julie A. May 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2007 3:50:10 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2007 3:50:10 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2007 3:50:10 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2007 3:50:10 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2007 3:50:10 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
On the good side, this course helped broaden my horizon on the vast variety of pictures to take of my children, and I loved that aspect of it. It also was fun to see the work of classmates.

Unfortunately, I was not impressed with the information given for the class. The average lesson was less than 3 pages long and filled with a lot of fluff. For example, the lesson on capturing motion focused on being one with the moment with NO information given on recommended shutter speed appropriate for a given activity. The lesson on eliminating distractions discussed her experience at a train yard yet not a single picture of the event was included for example...

Finally, I was disappointed that the focus was continually placed on 'fixing' pictures in photoshop rather than on how to make camera adjustments to improve the shot.

Overall, I would only recommend this class with great reservation.

3/8/2007 3:50:10 PM
 
Tara Brooks 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2007 2:22:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2007 2:22:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2007 2:22:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2007 2:22:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2007 2:22:27 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am SOOO impressed w/this course. Vik was amazing and I enjoyed every aspect of this course. A big "thank you" to all my fellow classmates as well. What can I say, I've signed up for Vik's next course too! Thanks again!
3/8/2007 2:22:27 PM
 
Kurt Ebel
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/8/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2007 9:20:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2007 9:20:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2007 9:20:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2007 9:20:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2007 9:20:48 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks Vik,
I have enjoyed this class so very much. I am sad to see it end. I have learned so much from this class, and even about Photoshop. Your critiques and comments on not only my photos but everyones was so valuable of a learning tool. Thanks so much.
3/6/2007 9:20:48 AM
 
Barbara Williams 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2007 9:38:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2007 9:38:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2007 9:38:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2007 9:38:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2007 9:38:25 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course was amazing and I loved every minute and every assignment. This has opened up many new horizons for my photo experience and I greatly appreciate Vik's critiquing and knowledge on Children's photography. Hope she has another more advanced childrens photography course with Better Photo.
2/27/2007 9:38:25 AM
 
Carin M. Smolinski
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/24/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2007 8:02:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2007 8:02:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2007 8:02:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2007 8:02:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2007 8:02:39 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Awesome class! I learned so much, and Vik was a super teacher.
1/2/2007 8:02:39 PM
 
Judie Shephard 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2006 7:03:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2006 7:03:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2006 7:03:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2006 7:03:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2006 7:03:03 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Learning at its best! Clear instructions, prompt feedback, plenty of encouragement and fun :)
12/15/2006 7:03:03 PM
 
Suzanne C. Hockridge 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2006 2:11:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2006 2:11:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2006 2:11:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2006 2:11:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2006 2:11:20 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course was amazing! I was so disappointed when it ended. Vik's approach to Photographing children is so fresh and fun! I learnt so much and now take amazing shots of my son. I hope in the future that Vik will lead another course in Advanced Photographing Children and take what I have learnt to a more advanced level.
12/12/2006 2:11:20 PM
 
Jen Coet 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 5:18:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 5:18:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 5:18:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 5:18:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2006 5:18:48 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Vik was such a great teacher with an eye for detail! I learned more than I had hoped and wish I could be mentored by Vik daily. Thank you for all you've taught me...
12/6/2006 5:18:48 PM
 
Carin M. Smolinski
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/24/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2006 7:58:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2006 7:58:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2006 7:58:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2006 7:58:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2006 7:58:47 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Vik was absolutely amazing as a teacher! This class was excellent, as were the critiques. I can't reccomend enough!

Carin Smolinski

9/13/2006 7:58:47 PM
 
Jamie  Krishnan 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 7:44:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 7:44:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 7:44:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 7:44:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 7:44:24 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Dear Vik,
Thank you so much for answering my emails.I truly appreciate
your comments and effort in responding to them. Your advice was frank and
encouraging as usual. WYBO is my new slogan.You inspired it actually - It
stands for Work Your Butt Off!

I know that I need to hone my skills some more and I am making a plan with
my goals and just working towards it. If you think that there are any other
courses I would benefit from, please let me know.

Just so you know, you are an amazing teacher. I love that there are no
frills and frou frouness from you. I mean you are world renowned
professional photographer and yet you can make the most 'amateur'
photographer feel confident to learn,try harder and improve their
photography at the same time. I really respect that and think that is so
fantastic!

Thanks again!

2/20/2006 7:44:24 AM
 
Anonymous Anonymous
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/11/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2005 4:50:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2005 4:50:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2005 4:50:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2005 4:50:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2005 4:50:24 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I can't highly recommend this course enough!! I got so much more out of it than I expected. Vik is an excellent and supportive teacher. She teaches not only how to capture children's emotions and compose the shots, but she offers excellent advice on how to improve every aspect of your photography. My photography skills improved 100% by taking this course. I thoroughly enjoyed the assignments and hated to see the classes end. I will definitely take more classes taught by Vik in the future!!
12/17/2005 4:50:24 PM
 
Ann M. Shackleton
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/15/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2005 8:54:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2005 8:54:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2005 8:54:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2005 8:54:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2005 8:54:05 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Vik's course was such a great experience. She truly has an amazing eye for photography and I'm so glad I found this class. Looking back through my previous portraits and my recent shots I am thrilled at what I have accomplished...Thanks Vik!!!
12/16/2005 8:54:05 PM
 
Cat Thisius 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2005 12:13:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2005 12:13:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2005 12:13:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2005 12:13:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2005 12:13:55 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you Vik for your photographic talents and guidance! I have enjoyed your class so much and have learned a great deal these last 8 weeks. I am going to miss our class!
12/16/2005 12:13:55 PM
 
Sarah Yale 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2005 5:13:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2005 5:13:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2005 5:13:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2005 5:13:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2005 5:13:42 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you Vik for teaching such a wonderful course. I learned a lot and your critiques are very inspiring. You are a great patient teacher. Thank you so much.
12/14/2005 5:13:42 PM
 
Alana Ibe
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/23/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 12:11:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 12:11:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 12:11:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 12:11:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 12:11:23 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this course. I felt Vik really gave practical tips on photographing children, which really changed my progress in photography when I applied them. She also has a real down to earth approach which I appreciated. I also felt she was easily accessible when I emailed her with questions.
12/12/2005 12:11:23 PM
 
Randi Markowitz
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/4/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 9:35:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 9:35:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 9:35:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 9:35:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 9:35:40 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Vik is an incredible teacher and wonderful source of information. One of the great things about Vik is she explains what you need to do and why. This class has made me a better photographer and Vik teaches for every skill level. She should really consider teaching a children's photography part II! I know I would be excited to be a part of it.
12/9/2005 9:35:40 PM
 
Julie P. Torregrossa
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/23/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 11:45:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 11:45:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 11:45:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 11:45:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 11:45:53 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Wow! What an amazing experience. This class was fantastic. Vik is a wonderderful teacher who can push you to do more than you've done before without making you feel initimated. I highly recommend this class to anyone who enjoys photographing children. It has greatly improved my skills and answered many questions I had involving technique. I only wish there was a Photographing Children-Part Two!
12/9/2005 11:45:53 AM
 
Stephanie E. Rue 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 9:40:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 9:40:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 9:40:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 9:40:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 9:40:27 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was amazing class. I have recommended it to so many people. There is a night and day difference in my pictures. The best part is that I have become much more consistent. The assignments pulled me out of my comfort zone and forced me to try new things. I think this is a geat class for anyone intersted in children's photogrpahy. I only wish it wasn't over so soon.
12/9/2005 9:40:27 AM
 
Mandy Hank
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/8/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 7:01:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 7:01:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 7:01:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 7:01:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 7:01:30 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I loved the class and really found it to be helpful for me in the areas I need to work on. I also had a completly different view at how to look at children. It was great! Thanks so much!
12/9/2005 7:01:30 AM
 
Sharon M. Harding 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 5:06:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 5:06:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 5:06:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 5:06:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 5:06:19 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was a wonderful course. I learned a lot about "home made" lighting and reflecting techniques. It saved a lot of money. Vik is a wonderful instructor that answered every question that was asked and put it in terms that everyone could understand. Overall, a wonderful class.
12/9/2005 5:06:19 AM
 
Brandy M. Arias 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 4:35:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 4:35:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 4:35:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 4:35:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 4:35:51 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Although I didn't get to finish the course because of a family emergency I feel that the 5 weeks I was involved taught me more than I could have learned on my own in years. The assignments forced me to learn about my camera, lighting situations and getting to know my subjects in a way I would have never thought to. Although I always thought I took pretty good pictures they were more of the snap shot variety. I've learned enough to bump it up a notch. I only wished I could have finished. Thank you, Brandy Arias
12/8/2005 4:35:51 PM
 
Karen Kulin 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2005 11:25:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2005 11:25:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2005 11:25:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2005 11:25:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2005 11:25:05 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you!!
Vik,

I just want to say a HUGE thank you to Vik for a fabulous eight weeks. Here
it is Wednesday and I'm at my computer anxiously waiting for a lesson (I've
been trained) and feeling disappointed that all good things have to come to
an end. I've loved the class and want to take it again. Vik, have you ever
considered "Photographing Children, Part II?" Thanks for your patience and
understanding when assignments were not in on time and for providing the
"recipes" to adjust my coloring.

9/7/2005 11:25:05 AM
 
Teri A. Fiske
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/26/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2005 11:31:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2005 11:31:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2005 11:31:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2005 11:31:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2005 11:31:10 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class has been so wonderful! I wasn't sure how it would be doing a
photog class online, but this was an amazing experience. Being able to learn
not only from Vik, who is such a talented photographer and teacher. But also being able to learn from everyone taking the class! We had a very talented bunch here! I've learned so much from all of you!

Vik, THANK YOU!!! This really has been such a wonderful class! You've taught
me so much! I look forward to seeing more of your work, including books! I'm
sure I'll be here quite a bit from now on if the other instrucors are on the
same par as you! Again, Thank you!

6/17/2005 11:31:10 AM
 
Susan E.  Patrick Harris
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/9/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 9:36:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 9:36:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 9:36:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 9:36:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 9:36:45 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I want to tell you all at BP that I LOVED THIS CLASS!!!
I learned so much and gained a better understanding of how many gifted artists capture images.
Vik is great. She is personable even through the keyboard.
I felt sort of intimidated by all the experience many students already had under the belt but I kept on doing things and I have grown tremendously throughout the course.
Thanks again to everybody at BP.
6/13/2005 9:36:45 AM
 
Kevin Reaves
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/6/2004
Contact Kevin
Kevin's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 12:58:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 12:58:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 12:58:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 12:58:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 12:58:31 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you Vik for a great class and for your wonderful insight on
photographing children. This class has given me a great foundation to build
from for photographing my children. I hope to take another class from you
again sometime.
Also wanted to say thank you to all of the people who were involved in
the class and to those I corresponded with. It has been a lot of fun
getting to know some of you and to see all of the great photographs of all
of the children. Hope to meet up with you again.
3/22/2005 12:58:31 PM
 
Jayme S. Hall
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/23/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2005 2:59:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2005 2:59:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2005 2:59:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2005 2:59:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2005 2:59:57 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Since this was my first class at BetterPhoto.com, I was a bit anxious. Vic was not only very accessible for questions, but her critiques and suggestions were just what I was looking for. She has a very friendly style of teaching that makes you feel comfortable, I like that. I did buy Vic's book on photographing children and I highly recommend it! I would recommend this class for all levels of photographers who want to capture better photos of children. I wish I had read Vic's book before I took this class, as I now have more questions to ask her. Maybe there should be a Photographing Children Part II! Thanks Vic, terrific class!
3/19/2005 2:59:57 AM
 
Carolina Zygmuntowicz
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/13/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2005 7:15:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2005 7:15:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2005 7:15:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2005 7:15:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2005 7:15:44 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I wanted to take a moment to thank you for teaching such a wonderful class.
Photographing children is my passion and this class has really taken this
passion to another level. I regret not being involved so much with all the
other students which by the way are also so great, supportive and excited to be in this class. Having a photography business and 4 great children does't leave me much time to play which is what I fell this class has been, just a wonderful grownup playground with kids all ages who just love what I love. Thanks again and I can't wait to start all over again.
3/17/2005 7:15:44 AM
 
Penni Royston
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/20/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 11:39:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 11:39:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 11:39:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 11:39:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 11:39:51 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Vik,

Thanks for your time to critique my photos this week. I've learned so much
already but can't wait for more tips! I enjoy reading the suggestions and
comments about others too. What a fantastic course this is!!!

I look forward to the next sessions!

1/24/2005 11:39:51 AM
 
Barbara Sherman
barbarashermanphoto.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 4:04:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 4:04:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 4:04:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 4:04:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 4:04:04 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks to Vik !
No question.... just wanted to publicly say thanks to Vik for a job well done. This was such a well run course and I have learned soooooo much. Thank You Vik! Also a big thnaks to all the other participants who asked questions, answered questions, commented on photos and just helped me learn by being there with all their great photography. I have enjoyed this class.
Thanks All!
9/7/2004 4:04:04 PM
 
TRACY A. JOHNSTON 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 11:57:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 11:57:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 11:57:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 11:57:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 11:57:19 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I absolutely loved taking this course! Vik was so wonderful as an instructor. I learned so much and I have so many pictures to show for it!!

Tracy Johnston

7/7/2004 11:57:19 AM
 
Danny Maple 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:13:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:13:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:13:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:13:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:13:53 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I just wanted to take a moment and comment on what a wonderful course this is turning out to be! Vik is responsive and critiques all of the photos we submit, she never seems to run out of helpful hints. I will be back for more!

By the way, I work at a local community college and you could teach us a thing or two about online courses. This really has been great!

1/4/2004 12:13:53 AM
 
Colleen Baz 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:12:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:12:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:12:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:12:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:12:01 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
As a first-time 'online student' I was a bit intimidated by the process, the forum and by the fact that I was in the early stages of my career development in photography.

Vik has a very encouraging, enthusiastic and humorous approach to teaching that is very welcoming.

I learn from her critiques and her skilled eye has made me really 'see' before I click.

1/4/2004 12:12:01 AM
 
Dede Carver 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:10:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:10:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:10:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:10:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:10:23 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've taken two on-line courses from Vik and have her book as well! Her ablility to capture a child's mood through photography is phonimanial.

Vik's clear cut and motivational teaching style inspires photographers at every level!

1/4/2004 12:10:23 AM
 
Stevie M. Sturla
sturladesign.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:06:13 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:06:13 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:06:13 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:06:13 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:06:13 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Vik has an impeccable eye for photography, and is always able to give constructive evaluations and suggestions. Her comments about composition, lighting, cropping, and color have inspired me to improve my photographs.
1/4/2004 12:06:13 AM
 

74 Reviews  


Enroll

Add to Wishlist